
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

I hate to chime in and be 'that guy' (as I very much appreciate the attention you all have brought to this issue), but there's a few companions that I think slipped under the radar. Specifically, the Monstrous Mounts from Inner Sea Combat. Here's a link for convenience. Again, just wanted to express my gratitude and appreciation! I'm sure you guys put a lot into this, but my planned worg build wants love too!
(as an aside, are worgs that are acquired through the Monstrous Mount feat still Neutral-aligned, as per normal animal companions? The prerequisite of compatibility with NE and the Int of 6, not to mention the languages strikes me as an odd hole in the rules)

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

When you gain a familiar, you may exchange one of its feats for Extra Item Slot for free.
Edit: having previously been following Brock's ruling, I hadn't realized this language was included in the Additional Resources without the "free" text. So... one extra item slot per familiar it is. I think. That still leaves the question of retraining for familiars--is that a legal thing? Was still hoping to keep both the Cloak of Resistance and the Talisman of Life's Breath on the Riddywhipple familiar, but maybe hoping to have the little guy survive is a bit much. I suppose he could just hang around in a familiar satchel the whole time instead.
Additionally, does this override previous guidance on familiar slots and the Extra Item Slot feat? I imagine it does, but it would be nice to have confirmed that--otherwise there's a fair bit of uncertainty floating around.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Additionally, does this override previous guidance on familiar slots and the Extra Item Slot feat? I imagine it does, but it would be nice to have confirmed that--otherwise there's a fair bit of uncertainty floating around.
Since this is the most recent, wouldn't it by default override?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I'm glad to see some of the more recent boon familiars added to the list that can use wands. Now to go back and check what characters have those chronicles on them.
I'm curious for further clarification on the Extra Iten Slot feat as well. Also regarding the familiar Terminalmancer mentioned...
I suppose the same question goes for other boon familiars. Are they considered unique, or can they swap feats for Extra Item Slot or another Familiar feat?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
7 people marked this as a favorite. |

Quote:When you gain a familiar, you may exchange one of its feats for Extra Item Slot for free.Edit: having previously been following Brock's ruling, I hadn't realized this language was included in the Additional Resources without the "free" text. So... one extra item slot per familiar it is. I think. That still leaves the question of retraining for familiars--is that a legal thing? Was still hoping to keep both the Cloak of Resistance and the Talisman of Life's Breath on the Riddywhipple familiar, but maybe hoping to have the little guy survive is a bit much. I suppose he could just hang around in a familiar satchel the whole time instead.
Additionally, does this override previous guidance on familiar slots and the Extra Item Slot feat? I imagine it does, but it would be nice to have confirmed that--otherwise there's a fair bit of uncertainty floating around.
"For free" means that you can retrain one of a familiar's feats to Extra Item Slot without paying a prestige or gold cost. You may still retrain additional familiar feats into Extra Item Slot as per the retraining rules in Ultimate Campaign.
This ruling does override the old guidance in that particular thread. There were several different sets of guidelines posted in different places. If you purchased items for your Improved Familiar following the guidance in that thread that you no longer wish to keep, you may sell them back for full price.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
6 people marked this as a favorite. |

I'm glad to see some of the more recent boon familiars added to the list that can use wands. Now to go back and check what characters have those chronicles on them.
I'm curious for further clarification on the Extra Iten Slot feat as well. Also regarding the familiar Terminalmancer mentioned...
** spoiler omitted **
The Extra Item Slot swap applies to all familiars, including unique ones received from Chronicle sheet boons.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Terminalmancer wrote:Quote:When you gain a familiar, you may exchange one of its feats for Extra Item Slot for free.Edit: having previously been following Brock's ruling, I hadn't realized this language was included in the Additional Resources without the "free" text. So... one extra item slot per familiar it is. I think. That still leaves the question of retraining for familiars--is that a legal thing? Was still hoping to keep both the Cloak of Resistance and the Talisman of Life's Breath on the Riddywhipple familiar, but maybe hoping to have the little guy survive is a bit much. I suppose he could just hang around in a familiar satchel the whole time instead.
Additionally, does this override previous guidance on familiar slots and the Extra Item Slot feat? I imagine it does, but it would be nice to have confirmed that--otherwise there's a fair bit of uncertainty floating around.
"For free" means that you can retrain one of a familiar's feats to Extra Item Slot without paying a prestige or gold cost. You may still retrain additional familiar feats into Extra Item Slot as per the retraining rules in Ultimate Campaign.
This ruling does override the old guidance in that particular thread. There were several different sets of guidelines posted in different places. If you purchased items for your Improved Familiar following the guidance in that thread that you no longer wish to keep, you may sell them back for full price.
That's perfect. Thank you Linda!

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Ferious Thune wrote:The Extra Item Slot swap applies to all familiars, including unique ones received from Chronicle sheet boons.I'm glad to see some of the more recent boon familiars added to the list that can use wands. Now to go back and check what characters have those chronicles on them.
I'm curious for further clarification on the Extra Iten Slot feat as well. Also regarding the familiar Terminalmancer mentioned...
** spoiler omitted **
Thank you!

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

So, I have a CORE Wizard so don't have access to Extra Item Slot until it is printed in the Organized Play Guide, however I want to play my wizard until then. My Improved Familiar has a Necklace of Adaptation currently in a Play by Post game am I am super willing to trade out a feat to give it an Extra Item Slot.
As well, if I were to play him again before the guide, I wouldn't be able to get Extra Item Slot due to being CORE.
What do I do?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Where do leshys fit on this please?
They're plants, but they're bipedal, and some are depicted with hands, some with claws, and some with blunt stumps.
Just check the lists :)
Biped [hands]* (all item slots): leshy (any)
They are also in both the lists for familiars that can use wands/scrolls and carry items in their hands.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
11 people marked this as a favorite. |

So, I have a CORE Wizard so don't have access to Extra Item Slot until it is printed in the Organized Play Guide, however I want to play my wizard until then. What do I do? My Improved Familiar has a Necklace of Adaptation currently in a Play by Post game am I am super willing to trade out a feat to give it an Extra Item Slot.
As well, if I were to play him again before the guide, I wouldn't be able to get Extra Item Slot due to being CORE.
What do I do?
Go ahead and print out this blog (and this post) to use as a legal source in the interim.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

An animal companion has access to the armor and neck magic item slots automatically, as long as its body shape is eligible for these slots. They can also unlock additional magic item slots that their shape allows. See below for a list of which body slots each companion is eligible to unlock. Plant and vermin companions do not gain automatic magic items slots. All three kinds of companions may carry slotless magic items.
...
Available slots followed by either (saddle) or (horseshoes) in the table below denote that creatures of that body type can only wear magic items in those slots if they are saddles or horseshoes, respectively. Creatures without these notes cannot wear saddles or horseshoes.
Animal companions are also limited by their individual anatomies. In Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild, animal companions always have access to barding and neck-slot items so long as they have the anatomy. For example, a horse and pig can always have access to barding and neck-slot items. A snake does not have access to either. However, an item called out to be used by a specific animal is usable by that animal regardless of slot.
So, under the new rules, you need to spend a feat to allow your horse to use magical horseshoes? Is that correct?

Bigguyinblack |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

On a related topic what is the cost for armors for a large animal companion? For example the core chart says x2 for large and x2 for non humanoid. With a total of x4 for a large non humanoid. So mithral chain (1,100 gp) barding for a large tiger would in theory be 4,400 gp. But apparently the question has been on the FAQ request for years because people argue it should cost less.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Available slots followed by either (saddle) or (horseshoes) in the table below denote that creatures of that body type can only wear magic items in those slots if they are saddles or horseshoes, respectively. Creatures without these notes cannot wear saddles or horseshoes.
The way the bolded text reads, indicates those animals can only where saddles and horseshoes. But the second sentence does clarify this is not the case.
This sentence could use some rewording.
Perhaps:
...only creatures of that body type can wear magic saddles and horseshoes in those slots...

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
4 people marked this as a favorite. |

During the research leading up this blog, I raised some other questions that didn't get answered here. Would it be possible to get an answer to these as well?
1) By default, the Improved Familiar feat requires the master and familiar to be within one alignment step of one another. Some Bestiary entries however list a more specific alignment. For example, if a familiar requires a Chaotic Evil master, can a Chaotic Neutral character take that familiar? I would assume not.
2) Some familiars refer to "an evil", "a good" or "a neutral" master. Does that mean "any Good" or "Neutral Good", and "any Neutral" or "True Neutral"? The Brownie is an example.
3) The CRB says that familiars use your skill ranks. What happens with a familiar sharing your ranks in Linguistics? Does it learn the same languages you learned with those ranks in Linguistics?
4) The CRB says familiars can use Dexterity on natural attacks instead of Strength to hit. The Hedgehog doesn't have natural attacks. If it's delivering touch spells for its master, does it need to use Strength?
5) How much do armor and weapons for Tiny or smaller familiars cost? How much do they weigh?
6) Can a familiar wear nonmagical armor without Extra Item Slot? Does its body type matter?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

On a related topic what is the cost for armors for a large animal companion? For example the core chart says x2 for large and x2 for non humanoid. With a total of x4 for a large non humanoid. So mithral chain (1,100 gp) barding for a large tiger would in theory be 4,400 gp. But apparently the question has been on the FAQ request for years because people argue it should cost less.
I agree with your assessment, but some people believe that the Mithral cost is not multiplied, thus resulting in a cost of 1,400gp.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Also, thank you for clarifying things!
This seems to clearly allow familiars:
Drinking potions
Applying Oils (I'm thinking Shield Other)
Using Poisoner's Gloves
Probably:
Activate a Amulet of Might Fights of Spell Storing (this looks Use activated without a command word?)
Very muddled:
Activating Vibrant Purple Prism Ioun Stone (it's not clear if this involves a command word, and then it's not clear whether "can activate Ioun stones" overrides "cannot require a command word.")
Unclear:
Activate a Ring of Spell Storing (is this Command word activated, or Use activated?)
Probably not:
Cloak of the Hedge Wizard ("on Command" sounds more explicitly like it requires a command word?)
Not Allowed:
Turning on a Merciful Amulet of Mighty Fists.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Yup, little known CRB fact.
Size: Tiny or smaller, divide armor bonus by 2. Armor and shields for unusually big creatures, unusually little creatures, and nonhumanoid creatures (such as horses) have different costs and weights from those given on Table: Armor and Shields. Refer to the appropriate line on Table: Armor for Unusual Creatures and apply the multipliers to cost and weight for the armor type in question.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Darrell Impey UK wrote:Where do leshys fit on this please?
They're plants, but they're bipedal, and some are depicted with hands, some with claws, and some with blunt stumps.
Just check the lists :)
Quote:Biped [hands]* (all item slots): leshy (any)They are also in both the lists for familiars that can use wands/scrolls and carry items in their hands.
Ah, I'd only looked for them in the companion list, not the familiar one. Thanks.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Bigguyinblack |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Bigguyinblack wrote:On a related topic what is the cost for armors for a large animal companion?You could be the 200th person to FAQ it!
Done.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
4 people marked this as a favorite. |

While we're on the subject of Retraining Familiar feats, Mike Brock initially ruled that if you traded out Weapon Finesse (a redundant feat for a tiny-sized Familiar), that you could no longer use that Familiar's Dexterity for melee-based attacks.
Is that still the case? Whatever the ruling is, it should be added to this FAQ.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Yup, little known CRB fact.
Equipment - Armor - Armor for Unusual Creatures wrote:Size: Tiny or smaller, divide armor bonus by 2. Armor and shields for unusually big creatures, unusually little creatures, and nonhumanoid creatures (such as horses) have different costs and weights from those given on Table: Armor and Shields. Refer to the appropriate line on Table: Armor for Unusual Creatures and apply the multipliers to cost and weight for the armor type in question.
So much for my idea of putting a mithral chain shirt on my druid's monkey familiar. Wand of Mage Armor (and pray there's an arcane caster at the table), here I come.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Nefreet wrote:Done.Bigguyinblack wrote:On a related topic what is the cost for armors for a large animal companion?You could be the 200th person to FAQ it!
The cost modifiers are listed in the "Armor for Unusual Creatures" portion of the armor section in the Core Rulebook. Large, non-humanoid armor costs 4x cost and have 2x weight.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Bigguyinblack wrote:The cost modifiers are listed in the "Armor for Unusual Creatures" portion of the armor section in the Core Rulebook. Large, non-humanoid armor costs 4x cost and have 2x weight.Nefreet wrote:Done.Bigguyinblack wrote:On a related topic what is the cost for armors for a large animal companion?You could be the 200th person to FAQ it!
Try clicking the link and seeing what the issue is.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

The cost modifiers are listed in the "Armor for Unusual Creatures" portion of the armor section in the Core Rulebook. Large, non-humanoid armor costs 4x cost and have 2x weight.
Its a matter of order of operations. Do you make it barding that then has a material cost or material armor that is then barding?
So if i make a chain shirt mithral, then 4x it for large and oddly shaped i get 4,400.
If i make large barding , and then make it mithral i get large barding= 400 gp + mithral = 1,400.
To me, it always made sense to increase the material cost for size but not for shape. A horse doesn't use any more mithral than an ogre to make the chain shirt.
chain shirt [(200 gp + 1,000 mithral] X2 for size.
RAW you can add these in any order.