Lem

Darrell Impey UK's page

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber. ** Pathfinder Society GM. 1,074 posts. No reviews. 3 lists. 1 wishlist. 14 Organized Play characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 1,074 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

If I have a character who has proficiency in heavy weapons but not in grenades, and they fire a grenade launcher, do they receive a non-proficient penalty to attack or not?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I was a little confused that some traps had a higher DC if the character was Legendary skill level than they do if they are Master.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Ectar wrote:

Reading the stat blocks on Nethys, the Necrohulk Flailer had the following feature:

Alchemical Cartridge (alchemical) Critical hits rupture the necrohulk's alchemical cartridge. The first time the necrohulk takes a critical hit, it loses its regeneration. The second time it takes a critical hit, it takes 15 persistent acid damage that it can't heal unless the cartridge is stitched back into place.

Problem is, the stat block doesn't have regeneration.
Since I don't have a copy of the book yet, is this a problem with AoN, did the regeneration get removed from the stat block, or was the regeneration left off by mistake?

Edit- the necrohulk smasher has a similar situation.

The stat blocks in the adventure both have regeneration listed; 15 deactivated by acid in both cases.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Does anyone have any guesses why a number of the hazards and similar list their damage as (for example) Success: 4d, Failure: 8D, Critical 16D, rather than just half, full, double?

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

(Thread resurrection.)

With Fame now long gone, how do PCs pay to get out of prison?

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thanks.

(Every time I think that I've got the system cracked I get confused again.)

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

As I understand it, despite the note on page 104 of the Lost Omens Pathfinder Society Guide that, "Members of the Pathfinder Society have access to this item", because it is listed as Uncommon and not called out on the Character Options web page we can only access it via a boon?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Do you mind if I ask again about pricing for 'Society adventures please?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

You've listed Quests & Bounties, but no word on Organised Play adventures; will they be being covered in the OP blog?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Nothing there, or GM shared Prep either.

Still, a positive test from one of my players means it all a moot point anyway...

Thanks Nefreet.

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Given that the 1st Edition Iconic psychic Rivani was clearly modelled on a south Asian woman, and a few years ago one of Pazio higher-ups (can't recall which at this time) made a big point about seeing a young south-Asian girl and her mother staring open mouthed at the huge poster of Rivani at Gen Con and how important that the representation was, why the change in direction?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Wondered about that one, but this is a creature in a SFS game that has been lifted wholesale from an Adventure Path, and neither source covers the problem...

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Nefreet wrote:
Numbing Cold (Ex) wrote:
An ice elemental’s slam has the staggered critical hit effect.
Staggered wrote:
The target must succeed at a Fortitude save or be staggered (see page 277) for 1 round.
I would probably suggest just using the creature's CR in place of item level to determine the DC.

So 10+(CR÷2)+STR. Makes sense, thanks.

(Should probably be spelled out somewhere though.)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Ice elemental, natural slam attack.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

If a monster's attack has a critical effect listed (eg stagger) is there a saving throw, and if so how is it calculated

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Sasha Laranoa Harving wrote:


The product image for the front of the pin, which looks like the Organized Play logo, is on the right-hand side.

Ah! (Thanks.)

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Alex Speidel wrote:
Darrell Impey UK wrote:
Any chance that someone can get the page for the Organised Play pin updated? Whilst I'm sure that the image of the back of it is accurate, it's not very helpful. :)
Page looks fine to me, maybe a caching issue on your end?

OK, I accept that you may be joking, but; even in your image that is the wing-clips on the back of the pin.

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Any chance that someone can get the page for the Organised Play pin updated? Whilst I'm sure that the image of the back of it is accurate, it's not very helpful. :)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

So, chapter 2 finished, a few weeks break and they're off to arrest Pythareus.

But...

I have a feeling that my players are just going to either walk through the front door (or just stand outside it) and say something along the lines of "Maxillar Pythareus, we have a warrant for your arrest." Which tye adventure really doesn't seem set up to handle properly.

As written he would enter a verbal duel with the PCs (apparently with the soldiers of the Pillar as a third member of the duel).

This will probably create a wonderful roleplaying session with/for my group, and should end with them winning both. Though this apparently won't result in him surrendering, just abandoning his claim to the crown.

Now, as such I have no real problem with this, but...

... it will pretty much reduce the final chapter to a single session. It removes all of the encounters that are scattered around the fortress from the adventure, as the group won't end up sneak/fighting their way around. They may have arrested/killed him, but that doesn't give them the right to loot the place. The lesser issue with this is dropping them behind the xp/gp curve for the story - I can fix that without you much effort. The bigger issue is them not discovering things like the existence of Maxilar's paperwork or that Stavian III lives.

So (tldr) where do you think I should go from here? (There?)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Given that there are now (as of last Saturday) corpses laying in a tea shop and a cake/coffee shop in my world, word is going to start spreading of an underground cafe war...

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Bryan Stephens wrote:

I am Belrik BTw

Don't always get it right on the phone.

I also don't see why, if the characters are in disguise, anyone would show up against them. It does not follow and I don't plan to use it.

The way that I interpret it is that that it's not necessarily aimed directly at the PCs. The increased violence etc levels lead to increased patrols by the Sentinels which leads to a higher probability of the PCs having trouble. Obviously the higher Suspicion levels lead to direct action, but unless they have been continuously changing identities then they will slowly draw attention to themselves anyway.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I'm a little confused about the river below the shrine in chapter 2.

The side-on map clearly shows that the lower level is still well above ground level away from the hill, yet as far as I can tell the river cuts in through the side of the hill (60 feet above the floor of the lower level) and flows out the other side of the complex. Am I reading this right?

Also, it appears from various room descriptions that the place where the river cuts into the hill is visible and accessible from the outside, allowing direct access to room 22, even pointing out that this is extremely dangerous should the PCs try. Does this mean that the whole river outside suddenly enters a cavern on the side of the hill, or am I misimagining this?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Suspicion, page 17;
"As the PCs draw attention to themselves, they accumulate Suspicion Points as a group. The group’s Suspicion Point total imposes a penalty on all Bluff, Diplomacy, and Disguise checks the PCs attempt in and around Zimar as wary locals scrutinize them ever more intensely. It also grants Zimar Sentinels and Vault and Chain templars actively opposing or investigating
the PCs a bonus on initiative checks, as they become increasingly on edge and reactionary. As the PCs’ aura of suspicion increases, they also draw additional resistance, investigations, and even assassins. The PCs’ Suspicion Point total represents a general pall over the city, rather than being tied to specific identities; the PCs maintain their Suspicion Point total even if they swap identities."

Nothing actually says what the penalty/bonus actually is. Making it equal to the point value seems a little extreme, as the table that accompanies it allows for it to exceed 20.

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Kishmo wrote:
Good news, this one has come up before, and been FAQ'd!

That's more than I expected, thanks.

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

(I'm full of stupid questions currently I am...)

I assume that if I am playing a race that requires I slot a Personal Boon to unlock it, and then there's a rules shift which opens it to everyone, then I not longer need to use that slot? I mean it seems obvious to me, but...

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Alex Speidel wrote:

Let me prove you wrong then: we didn't intentionally remove them. To be honest, I dunno where they went for everyone else, because they're still on my page with the rest of my points.

We have filed a ticket with tech to see where they went and how to get them back. In the meantime, continue tracking replays on paper as you were (and likely will continue to do).

Did anything ever come of this?

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thank you both. Yeah, I was aware that Allowed Resources was saying yes, but I had others telling be that it said the opposite. Don't think that they/I knew that there had been a change, which explains everything. :)

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Could somebody confirm that this rule is allowed for play please? I'm being given conflicting information. Ta.

Grand Lodge

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Leon Aquilla wrote:
Maybe a lagofir is an otter + rabbit but the writer is assuming you're unfamiliar with otters?

"Lagofirs are semiaquatic omnivores that resemble a rabbit the size of a large dog. ... Lagofirs have a stout body, rounded back, large hind legs, long ears, and a short, fluffy tail. Their powerful incisors are capable of cracking through clam shells, chitin, and bone"

The picture is literally an otter with floppy rabbit ears. It's even eating a fish.

Body does widen slightly towards the hips, but front and back legs seem similar lengths.

Long, wet, furry otter's tail.

Small, pointy teeth with long canines (you know, for catching and eating fish), rather than rodent incisors.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Lagofir, page 86. Either the artist or the writer doesn't know the difference between a rabbit and an otter. Picture and description are very different.

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Alex Speidel wrote:
Yep.

Thank you.

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

According to the character options lists, all of Grand Bazaar is standard access with a few exceptions. The familiar/master abilities and familiars on pages 34 & 35 have no rarity noted, which should mean that they are common, and standard+common means open access.

Am I reading this right?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

"including a solarian’s solar manifestation, but not spells or other special abilities of any kind"

The last bit.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The text for deadly aim specifically says,
"When you take the attack or full attack action with weapons (including a solarian’s solar manifestation, but not spells or other special abilities of any kind)".
Which would eliminate the ability to use it with the Vanguard's Entropic Strike. Has there been an FAQ/errata or similar (maybe a new feat?) that works around this?

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thank you!

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

A friend just recommended that we play through the "Celita / Historia 7 storyline", as they felt that it was one of the best; they couldn't remember which adventures contributed to it, but "it should be easy to find online".

Well, I've done some light digging (I want to avoid spoilers), and all that I can come up with is the single adventure The Many Minds of Historia 7. What am I missing please?

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Nefreet wrote:
It's still a thing.

Thank you!

(I swear that that site gets harder to navigate every time I visit it.)

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Coming back to PFS 2nd Ed after quite a break, and I have a quick question.

In PFS1 there is a rule that any character can retrain pretty much anything as long as they haven't been played at 2nd level or higher; has this been completely replaced in PFS2 by the CRB retraining rules and the rebuild boon, or is it still an option?

Ta.

Grand Lodge 2/5 *

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Just to confirm then; a character with 11 sessions prior to the cut-off should have somewhat more than 8 AcP?
[EDIT: Don't worry about this bit, I'd forgotten about the "hidden" Refresh button.]

And where do we sit with characters with remaining Fame on completed Chronicles that don't get played again prior to December 31st? Can they spend on their next Chronicle, or are they just out of luck?

Whilst I remember, I've also got a character with two Adventure Path Chronicles on hold for them to reach high enough level; what happens to the Fame on them?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thank you.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I put my new card details in a couple of months ago and I still can't find a way of deleting the expired one. I wouldn't worry but the system keeps defaulting to the old card for payment. What am I missing please?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Order 36607346

Just to let you know that my order is showing at over $11 shipping for a single AP volume, more than double what if was last time I just had a 1lb package. (It's showing as Mail Innovations International.)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Actually, judging by the email I just received, it may have been to do with the fact that my credit card expires today, and the replacement doesn't start until tomorrow. i.e. No overlap.

Hey ho.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Hi again.

The payment for this order has been sitting listed as "pending" on my credit card for about five days now, and suddenly today it vanishes completely. Is something going on at your end? Ta.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

OK my June order has just hit my credit card, and it appears to be the same amount that I was advised before customer services started looking into it. (Slightly more actually, but I'm putting that down to exchange rate fluctuations.)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Yes, mine did the switch to USPS priority too.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Oh yes, and it is listed as USPS Priority instead of the usual Standard Postal Delivery.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Please temporarily suspend it, will this stop the pdfs being released?

BTW there is no itemisation on the order of the $10 shipping reduction; is the $55 before or after it?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thank you.

I meant that it was the same weight as the three previous packages combined, whereas it was c66% more than the postage combined. If that makes more sense?

Is this linked to your "! June 2021 Subscription Shipping Errors" post?

1 to 50 of 1,074 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>