>>Ask *Mark Seifter* All Your Questions Here!<<


Off-Topic Discussions

6,651 to 6,700 of 6,818 << first < prev | 127 | 128 | 129 | 130 | 131 | 132 | 133 | 134 | 135 | 136 | 137 | next > last >>
Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Did we ever find out what Starfinder design feature was decided on a round of rock-paper-scissors?


Hi Mark, I have a few questions about the double crossbow(APG) (and, to an extent, the minotaur double crossbow(CMR))
In the double crossbow's description, it says that the Crossbow Mastery allows you to reload both bolts as move action. It also states that Rapid Reload allows reloading a single bolt as move action.

My question is, are the benefits of Rapid Reload already taken into accounts in the statement about Crossbow Mastery ? Since there are ways to get Crossbow Mastery without Rapid Reload (a ranger with crossbow/archery combat style), does this mean :

A - a character with Crossbow Mastery can reload 2 bolts in one move action, then pick Rapid Reload to reduce this to a free action ? or

B - a character with Crossbow Mastery can reload 2 bolts in a standard action, then reduce it to a move action thanks to rapid reload ? (in this case the statement in Crossbow Mastery has already taken Rapid Reload into account).

And also, is Minotaur double crossbow legal in PFS or is it an oversight ? (minotaur is currently PFS legal) and how would crossbow mastery affect it ? free action reload as per the feat description ??? (Minotaur double crossbow was printed earlier than Crossbow Mastery, it seems...)

allowing full attack with double crossbows would be too crazy (like the old double-barreled firearms)...
Thanks !

Grand Lodge

Hey Mark!
I'm pretty curious about the data model behind feats.
For example,Weapon Focus provides +1 bonus on AB,and meanwhile,Beastmaster Ire provides +2 morale bonus on AB and +4 morale bonus on DMG,and the bonuses come from Beastmaster Ire have chance to be doubled.
So…How can Beastmaster Ire be designed much more powerful than Weapon Focus?They're both feats,right?


Hi~ Mark, I have a question about Cavalier's mount tricks.

Mount (Ex):The mount is always considered combat trained (which include attack, come, defend, down, guard, and heel).
These are extra tricks? And mounts can get other tricks based on their int? (such as a horse at level 1:combat trained plus other 6 tricks).

I was play a First mother’s fang, so got a constrictors as mount. But GM said it can only learn 3 tricks(1 int), so can't get combat trained...(same problem with Vermin Tamer, get a vermin companions as mount which mindless)

Thanks and looking forward to your reply.


Hi Mark!
Can I make ready an action in raging?

"While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration."

Casting Spells or Cavalier's Challenge says need concentration, then which actions need patience? For example Slayer's Studied Target?


Hey Mark~

So there's Boon Companion which works with animal companions and familiars. Then there's Phantom Ally, which does the same thing with phantoms. Is there a reason eidolons don't have a similar feat, or has it just been an oversight? Similarly, why make a whole new feat for phantoms when you could have just added them to Boon Companion?

Dark Archive

Hi Mark! What's your opinion on what weapons are available for the Phantom weapon class ability of the Phantom Blade spiritualist archetype and how do they work with spell combat?

The ability says:
"A phantom blade begins play with an ectoplasmic sentient weapon known as a phantom weapon whose weapon type is chosen by the phantom blade. The weapon type must be one with which the phantom blade is proficient. A phantom weapon functions similarly to the black blade of the bladebound magus archetype except as noted on the Phantom Weapon Progression table."

The author, Luis Loza's intent was:
"As for the type of weapon available for the phantom weapon, my intent was to allow any weapon with which you are proficient. i.e. If you have longbow or greataxe proficiency, you can use a phantom longbow or phantom greataxe. That's why the artwork features the pantom greataxe."
(source: http://paizo.com/cgi-bin/WebObjects/Store.woa/wa/browse?path=%2Fproducts%2F btpy9qhr%2Fdiscuss&page=18#864)

It reads like you could choose to use longbow, or two-handed weapon, as your phanbtom weapon while casting spells through spell combat.
HOWEVER: the abilities reference the Black Blade of the Bladebound Magus archetype, which states that "A black blade is always a one-handed slashing weapon, a rapier, or a sword cane."

Further: Phantom Blade's Spell Combat says:
"A phantom blade can cast spells and wield her phantom weapon at the same time. This functions as the magus’s spell combat class ability."
However, Magus spell combat says:
"To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand."

The intent of the author was, as stated, that the phantom weapon could be ANY kind of weapon, even ranged or two-handed, so it seems safe to assume that the spell combat of phantom blade would work with those as well: "can cast spells and wield her phantom weapon at the same time."
This isn't consistent with how the abilities referenced are working, though.

Sorry for the long post, but would really, really appreciate your input on this matter. Even if it isn't binding or official, it could help with some wildly warying table variation.

Thanks in advance!


Hi Mark, there several questions about potions and oils.

CRB says "The person applying an oil is the effective caster, but the object is the target."
But also says "A character can carefully administer a potion to an unconscious creature as a full-round action, trickling the liquid down the creature’s throat. Likewise, it takes a full-round action to apply an oil to an unconscious creature."

1) If a spell only target to a creature, can it be made into an oil?
2) Can I administer a potion or apply an oil to an awake creature? If yes, what action does it take?
3) Can I deliver an item to a friendly character? If yes, what action does it take?


Hello Mark :).

I have a little question on attunement from automatic bonus progression if you can help. I'll include a quote as you're likely swimming in PF2 rules.

Quote:
In this system, magic weapons, armor, and shields never have enhancement bonuses of their own; those bonuses are granted only through attunement. Any weapon, armor, or shield special abilities on attuned items count against a character’s enhancement bonus from attunement. To determine an attuned magic item’s enhancement bonus, subtract the cost of its special ability from the enhancement bonus granted by attunement. (This applies only to special abilities whose cost is equivalent to an enhancement bonus, not to those that cost a flat amount of gold pieces.) For example, if a character with a +3 enhancement bonus from weapon attunement wields a keen scimitar, she subtracts 1 point of her enhancement bonus (for the cost of keen), leaving her with a +2 keen scimitar. If a character doesn’t have enough of an enhancement bonus to afford the special ability (such as a 4th-level character with a vorpal longsword), she can still use the weapon’s power on its own, but the weapon gains no enhancement bonus.

I get that you still get the special abilities of an item, even if your attunement bonus is less than their cost. My question is do you actually need to attune with a weapon/armour at all to use their special abilities?

For example, if my big-spender 17th-level is going around with a pair of vorpal shortswords, and has "weapon attunement +4/+3 or +5" to allocate, is the better choice to attune +5 to the masterwork longbow slung across their back as a back-up should things get ranged, as the +4/+3 will just get "swallowed up" by the vorpal enhancements and make no difference? Or do the vorpal enhancements only "turn on" while they're attuned to them?

The example's use of a 4th-level character, the level you first gain the attunement bonus in the default progression, seems deliberate, but maybe it's a coincidence. I would appreciate your insight on it either way :).


I have a request Mark. When/if you guys are finished with the new Ed, and thus put up a PRD for it, can you PLEASE leave the old PrD somewhere so those of with a 1st campaign can still reference it?

Thanks.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
DrDeth wrote:

I have a request Mark. When/if you guys are finished with the new Ed, and thus put up a PRD for it, can you PLEASE leave the old PrD somewhere so those of with a 1st campaign can still reference it?

Thanks.

Pretty sure that's been officially confirmed somewhere or other as the plan. (They're still going to be selling PF1 stuff for the foreseeable future, even after PF2's release. So it's not like they're pulling all content, just not publishing new stuff).

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

Can an oozemorph fire a kinetic blast?

While the oozemorph can't hold items, it does seem they can create limbs and probably prehensile ones for opening doors and such?

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Hi Mark, this question has been coming up since the Advanced Players Guide came out, and a new thread popped up in the Rules Questions forum a day or two ago: how do spontaneous divine casters (oracle, hunter) recover their spell slots each day?

- like clerics, with an hour of prayer/meditation, but no requirement for rest?
- like sorcerers and bards, with 15 minutes of concentration but only after 8 hours of rest?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi mark, quick question me and my GM have been unable to decide on

Does the alchemy subdomain improvised potions follow the normal potion restrictions, or just the restrictions mentioned in the domain power?

P.S love your work, super excited for the future


In what order would you rate all of Paizo's APs (including from Dungeon), by personal favorites and not public ratings/sales?


Will we ever get Second Darkness: Anniversary Edition, if not, at least a Compiled Errata document? Even an unoffial document by one of the designers?


If a spell is cast on you, and you fail the save, do you know a spell was cast on you if it doesn't have obvious physical effects? Specifically things like Charm spells or mind altering things like that.

Dark Archive

Is the FAQ done with no further updates until 2nd Edition is released?

Paizo Employee Designer

6 people marked this as a favorite.
ckdragons wrote:
Is the FAQ done with no further updates until 2nd Edition is released?

We do have more of them queued up and rough drafted (particularly for Ultimate Wilderness stuff like tyrant totem), and we do plan on releasing them hopefully soonish. We're just coming out of the playtest CRB copyfitpocalypse of long hours and working weekends, but we can see the light at the end of that tunnel!

Grand Lodge

Mark Seifter wrote:
We do have more of them queued up and rough drafted (particularly for Ultimate Wilderness stuff like tyrant totem), and we do plan on releasing them hopefully soonish. We're just coming out of the playtest CRB copyfitpocalypse of long hours and working weekends, but we can see the light at the end of that tunnel!
Crystal Frasier, circa 2009 wrote:

Like a fancy show octopus with a mastery of sign language, a well laid-out product is a joy to look upon and easy to understand. While the prose might make a book beloved, its layout makes it popular, and often the only difference between a bestseller and a discount special is how well each page presents itself. Without good layout, even well-written books would languish in exile, their hideous countenances creating a wall between themselves and the general populace. Resentment would set in, and as their numbers grew alongside their discontent, murmurs of revolution would spread. Cries of "Viva la Composicion!" would echo through the winding streets, followed by bloody, horrific riots. Heads of editors and writers alike would roll as the dispossessed texts yearned for justice, but settled for vengeance.

To dodge that bloodshed, make sure to follow up your writing and editing with a loving layout. The bourgeoisie will thank you for your effort.


In Pathfinder Unchained under the variant multiclassing it says:
"Variant Multiclassing
.......Once selected, this choice is permanent....."
Does that mean that you must multiclass all the say to 20, or does it mean you can't retrain the class away and take feats instead, or something else?


wraithstrike wrote:

In Pathfinder Unchained under the variant multiclassing it says:

"Variant Multiclassing
.......Once selected, this choice is permanent....."
Does that mean that you must multiclass all the say to 20, or does it mean you can't retrain the class away and take feats instead, or something else?

I can actually answer that one :D. From here up at the top.

Quote:
Under the core rules, multiclassing can lead to a wide disparity in character ability. With this system, each character can choose a secondary class at 1st level that she trains in throughout her career, without giving up levels in her primary class. Once selected, this choice is permanent (though if using the retraining rules from Ultimate Campaign, the secondary class can be retrained by paying half the cost of retraining all her class levels). A character who selects this option doesn't gain feats at 3rd, 7th, 11th, 15th, and 19th levels, but instead gains class features from her secondary class as described on Table: Multiclass Character Advancement. It is probably a good idea to use either this variant system or normal multiclassing, but it's possible for the two systems to be used together. In a game using both systems, a character can't take levels in the secondary class she gains from this variant.

So you can retrain, but you can't "get off" the secondary class halfway, much like how with an archetype you're all-in on every change they make.

Grand Lodge

Can a hunter's animal companion use the 'Bolster Companion' skirmisher trick?

Or, would it require it's own animal companion?


Kristal Moonhand wrote:

Hey Mark~

So there's Boon Companion which works with animal companions and familiars. Then there's Phantom Ally, which does the same thing with phantoms. Is there a reason eidolons don't have a similar feat, or has it just been an oversight? Similarly, why make a whole new feat for phantoms when you could have just added them to Boon Companion?

Eidolons are much more powerful. It's not an oversight since they can fight better than fighters if built to do so.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

If a character has both the shifter wild shape and the druid wild shape class features, do they stack into one ability or do you get 2 seperate wild shapes?

Liberty's Edge

Hi Mark,

You're awesome!

Please release more FAQ's soon if you all get the chance when you reach the end of this tunnel. Thanks!

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

A recent forum post has me questioning how we use acrobatics in our group (and several others, AFAIK).

The discussion was about passing through a square occupied by an enemy.

PRD - Acrobatics wrote:
In addition, you can move through a threatened square without provoking an attack of opportunity from an enemy by using Acrobatics. When moving in this way, you move at half speed. You can move at full speed by increasing the DC of the check by 10. You cannot use Acrobatics to move past foes if your speed is reduced due to carrying a medium or heavy load or wearing medium or heavy armor. If an ability allows you to move at full speed under such conditions, you can use Acrobatics to move past foes. You can use Acrobatics in this way while prone, but doing so requires a full-round action to move 5 feet, and the DC is increased by 5. If you attempt to move through an enemy's space and fail the check, you lose the move action and provoke an attack of opportunity.

My newfound doubt is:

Where it gives the ability to pass through an occupied space?
and the reply:
Nowhere, you have to default to the general rules about moving through an occupied space.

PRD wrote:

Moving Through a Square

You can move through an unoccupied square without difficulty in most circumstances. Difficult terrain and a number of spell effects might hamper your movement through open spaces.

Friend: You can move through a square occupied by a friendly character, unless you are charging. When you move through a square occupied by a friendly character, that character doesn't provide you with cover.

Opponent: You can't move through a square occupied by an opponent unless the opponent is helpless. You can move through a square occupied by a helpless opponent without penalty. Some creatures, particularly very large ones, may present an obstacle even when helpless. In such cases, each square you move through counts as 2 squares.

Ending Your Movement: You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.
Overrun: During your movement, you can attempt to move through a square occupied by an opponent (see Overrun).
Tumbling: A trained character can attempt to use Acrobatics to move through a square occupied by an opponent (see the Acrobatics skill).
Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.
Square Occupied by Creature Three Sizes Larger or Smaller: Any creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories larger than itself.
A big creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories smaller than it is. Creatures moving through squares occupied by other creatures provoke attacks of opportunity from those creatures.

Designated Exceptions: Some creatures break the above rules. A creature that completely fills the squares it occupies cannot be moved past, even with the Acrobatics skill or similar special abilities.

I have used and seen other people using acrobatic to try to pass through squares occupied by creatures that have less than 3 sizes of difference from the one moving, but now I think that was a mistake.


Diego Rossi wrote:

A recent forum post has me questioning how we use acrobatics in our group (and several others, AFAIK).

My newfound doubt is:
Where it gives the ability to pass through an occupied space?
and the reply:
Nowhere, you have to default to the general rules about moving through an occupied space.

PRD wrote:

Moving Through a Square

You can move through an unoccupied square without difficulty in most circumstances. Difficult terrain and a number of spell effects might hamper your movement through open spaces.

Friend: You can move through a square occupied by a friendly character, unless you are charging. When you move through a square occupied by a friendly character, that character doesn't provide you with cover.

Opponent: You can't move through a square occupied by an opponent unless the opponent is helpless. You can move through a square occupied by a helpless opponent without penalty. Some creatures, particularly very large ones, may present an obstacle even when helpless. In such cases, each square you move through counts as 2 squares.

Ending Your Movement: You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.
Overrun: During your movement, you can attempt to move through a square occupied by an opponent (see Overrun).
Tumbling: A trained character can attempt to use Acrobatics to move through a square occupied by an opponent (see the Acrobatics skill).
Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.
Square Occupied by Creature Three Sizes Larger or Smaller: Any creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories larger than itself.
A big creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories smaller than it is. Creatures moving through squares occupied by other creatures provoke attacks of opportunity from those creatures.

Designated Exceptions: Some creatures break the above rules. A creature that completely fills the squares it occupies cannot be moved past, even with the Acrobatics skill or similar special abilities.

I have used and seen other people using acrobatic to try to pass through squares occupied by creatures that have less than 3 sizes of difference from the one moving, but now I think that was a mistake.

Check the bolded area. The only ones that can't be moved through are the Designated Exception ones.


Hey Mark, what legacy mechanics leftover from 3.5 are you happy about getting rid of or changing in PF2E?

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thank you for being so responsive in answering questions Mondays and Fridays in the blog posts.

Dark Archive

Hi Mark, hope you can answer a rule question for my group....

To use a weapon enchantment to bypass special material DR, does the weapon need the actual enchantment bonus or the enchantment bonus equivalent?

+3 longsword or +2 flaming longsword to bypass DR/silver?

+5 longsword or +3 flaming burst longsword to bypass DR/good?

Does the bane enchantment actually increase the actual enchantment +2 against the specific creature type?

+2 dragon bane longsword against a red dragon with stoneskin (DR/adamantine)?

Dark Archive

Hi Mark,

Is your team done with 1st Edition and any further FAQs? This is meant as an honest question. I understand the excitement 2nd edition is bringing, rightfully so. May we expect any further for 1st Edition rule clarifications? There hasn't been a new FAQ for months, and you've last been seen on this forum in April indicating there was new stuff to release.

Thank you.


Mark,

Magical maneuvers have always bothered me. Take Telekinetic Maneuvers (Aether kineticist utility wild talent), for example. Does my character’s (the kineticist) size modifier to their CMB apply? Another question along the same lines: if I use that talent to grapple someone, what is the escape CMD they are aiming for? Is it my normal CMD, do I use my Con instead of str, do I use my caster level in place of the BAB, does my size modifier apply? The more I play my kineticist, particularly now that I have Telekinetic Maneuvers (although Bowling Infusion / size modifier always confused me too), the more I feel like I must be missing something.

Thanks for your insights!


Mr. Mark Seifter,

Is there any chance that during the playtest we might get other multi class options in the form of a blog post?

Dark Archive

Hi,Mark.
I have a question about Extra Hex for shaman.
Extra Hex
You have learned the secrets of a new hex.
Prerequisites: Hex class feature.
Benefit: You gain one additional hex. You must meet the prerequisites for this hex. 【If you are a shaman, it must be a hex granted by your spirit rather than one from a wandering spirit.】
Special: You can take this feat multiple times. Each time you do, you gain another hex.
Can I want to make sure whether I can select some Hex from shaman list, such as Chant, Misfortune?


Hello! It's been a while since I last was in this tread. But I'm curious about the Energize Weapon infusion wild talent from the Elemental Masters handbook. Shouldn't it also work with Positive Blast? I mean, I know Positive Blast was published after Energize Weapon, but maybe it should have been specified that the aforementioned blast could be used with the infusion?

And while we are on the topic of Energize Weapon, it kind of prevents you from using Gather Power? Was that on purpose or was Gather Power not considered when designing that Infusion?


First Of All, thanks for your time,
I am sorry for the question since i cannot find a answer.

Does basic telekinesis, with tk Haul (kineticist) can or cannot lift a canoe, or a raw boat with people inside.

I ask this for several reasons and doubts, first if we see basic kinesis:
"This ability is similar to mage hand, except you can move an object that weighs up to 5 pounds per 2 kineticist levels you possess (minimum 5 pounds), and you can move magical objects." it changes the targeting system making usable targeting attended objects.
{there is people that refered to this, and they were from the pathfinder society}

Also there is no definition for a attended object, if the target is in a raw boat with a sword in the belt. and me at 30' distance. Can i lift it the raw boat. But i can steal the sword using the TK finesse (when also does not mention that the basic kinesis can target attended object.
Is it considered that a unattended object is only a object that is being used? SO steal a object is possible, lifting a raw boat is possible unless it's phisically being used by the target.

Third,
If the Boat is not at the moment of the cast of the spell with someone. And after that in mid air a person move to it. standing. Does the ability end? and the boat falls? Or the check is only made in the begining?
{Also there were people referring to this since spells like Haste are only checked on the casting of the spell, and it would be possible}

Thanks for your time.
Just for the fun and the questions above are a no.
If i pick up a obelisk of 9 tons in mid air a sea eagle decides that the obelisk is a fun place to rest a bit. and touch down to it. If falls... Or failing to lift a ship because there is a bird touching it. or a rat.


Hey, mister Seifter. I know Im beating on a dead horse, but this dead horse refuses to stay dead.

You said a while ago that:

Quote:
5 ft emanations for Medium creatures are absolutely supposed to apply to only those other 3 squares, for certain (I can assure you because I know what the discussion entailed, so I know it was a wording snafu, just like the spurious "Answer:"). Spells like emergency force sphere are already strong enough.

But if you check this link, here we are discussing effects "centered on you", and I couldn't help but notice that this problem is still present in 2nd edition of Pathfinder, as pointed by my comment:

Quote:
Curiously, I went to check how 2e handled this. And surprisingly, we have some effects that say "Area 10-foot burst centered on one corner of your space", but many others still have the same wording as EFS, and worse, we now have effects saying "centered on your weapon's range" and "centered on the touched creature" (wait, what?).

Has the developer team discussed this in any way. Do you have any idea on how we should fix their wording so these spells doesn't sound broken in our games?


I honestly thought Mark stopped checking this thread, since the last reply was almost five months ago.


Firs of all, sorry for the english, not my main language ok, first time doing this, i realy need a answer to this, Mark help me here for god's sake ( or if someone know where the answer is)

I know that you can't Use Vital Strike with Kineticist Kinetic Blast, but with infusion like Kintic Blade/Whip, that's says you create a weapon, and "as part of an attack action, a charge action, or a full-attack action in order to make melee attacks with your kinetic blade."
Would it be possible to use it like that, as now i "holding" a weapon ?

And while grappled, do i need to make a concentration check to attack with a light blade create by Kinetic Blade, i know that Kinetic Blast is (SP), But in infusions say (SU), and i'm holding a weapon, so i realy need to make this check?

And the last one, the infusion Wall says "The wall appears within 30 feet and can be either up to 10 feet high and up to 120 feet long or up to 20 feet high and up to 60 feet long." but there is no shape, so can i shape the way i like as long i don't bypass thoses limits, or it's need to be a straight line like my GM claims to say ?

Please i rly need a answer to this, it's been like 2 weeks that me and my GM are arguing about these, don't let those questions die here...


Unfortunately (or, perhaps, fortunately? I imagine it’s mixed), Mark can be a super-busy guy. The best thing to do with a rules question is make a thread in the Rules sub forum. He rocks and has generously donated his time in the past, but most of the AMA threads seem unattended of late - probably due to gearing up for PF2. Good luck, though!

Also: you are rockin’, Mark! Happy Thanksgiving, and/or whenever you get this!


Hello Mark, I know that you might never answer me this question (I hope that you actually asnwer me lol). There is a question that I got regarding Battering Blast, is this spell considered ''simultaneous'' just like scorching ray?

This spell can create multiple attacks depending your caster level, so do these balls hit ''simultanoeus'' just like the socrching ray or hellfire ray?

I ask this because these spells (scorching ray and hellfire ray) have the word ''simultaneous'' included in their info but not battering blast, altho they both shoot multiple attacks.

Were I'm going with all this? well for example sneak attack, it dosen't apply to scorching ray because the rays are ''simultaneously'' (per FAQ) but what about Battering Blast, there is nothing in the text that states that this spell shoots all balls simultaneous!.

Another example would be ''Mages crossbow'', this item gives you an enhancement bonus to your spell to hit and damage ... so it does give the bonus on each ball of force but would it give battering blast a bonus to damage on each ball as well? or just the first ball?

I know that there is a rules question forum but I just want to know what was the intent, how did you really wanted this spell to work, how do you actually use this spell in your table and how do you let it interact in your table.

All I want to know is if ''Mages crossbow'' enhancemenet bonus to hit and damage works for each battering blast attacks.

Thank you again and I pray to God that you read this and atleast answer me something simple lol. I will just use your call for personal use only, I will not disclosure this info on the forums!.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

With PF2 on the horizon, the PF1 rules forum has started to get several posts arguing against what have been basic, established rules about how PF1 works. Since FAQs are unlikely in the near future (I hold out hope for at least a last round of cleanup FAQs for PF1 after PF2 settles in), I’m wondering if you might have thoughts on one of those questions to avoid misinterpretation of the rule becoming widespread.

The FAQ on Temporary bonuses vs Permanent bonuses has been used to argue that a character can select a feat during character advancement provided that they are under a temporary bonus at the time of character advancement. So, for example, a character with a 12 STR getting bull’s strength cast on them and then selecting Power Attack as their third level feat, knowing that it will only function when they have a bonus to strength. Jason Bulmahn posted on this topic in 2011, but the FAQ is from 2013, and the date is being used as part of the justification to say his stance is no longer valid. Or if that FAQ was meant to change how prerequisites work, that would be helpful to know going forward.

Can temporary ability score bonuses or feats (from paragon surge, for example) or any other temporary option (less than 24 hours duration) be used as prerequisites for selecting feats and other character options during character advancement?

Paizo Employee Designer

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Ferious Thune wrote:
With PF2 on the horizon, the PF1 rules forum has started to get several posts arguing against what have been basic, established rules about how PF1 works. Since FAQs are unlikely in the near future (I hold out hope for at least a last round of cleanup FAQs for PF1 after PF2 settles in), I’m wondering if you might have thoughts on one of those questions to avoid misinterpretation of the rule becoming widespread.

I had an idea sort of related to this general topic but haven't had time to pursue it yet due to grueling hours on PF2. But maybe I'll get a chance eventually.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi Mark, I'm hoping you can shed some light on a question regarding Natural Attacks using Str or Dex to hit. I notice that several creatures in the bestiary which have high Dex and low Str seem to use Dex rather than Str to make their Natural Attacks. They don't have Weapon Finesse listed as a feat so I thought it might be a special circumstance for Natural Attacks but I can't find anything in the Combat or Universal Monster Rules to explain this. Do these creatures have Weapon Finesse and it just isn't listed? Or do Natural Attacks generally use whichever Ability score is higher for the creature? I thought I'd read about this before, but it came up in a game and I can't find it.

Ex: http://legacy.aonprd.com/bestiary2/badger.html#badger


2 people marked this as a favorite.

That particular monster's +1 to hit probably comes from it being size small rather than having a 13 Dex.

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
kadance wrote:
That particular monster's +1 to hit probably comes from it being size small rather than having a 13 Dex.

Yup. If it were using DEX to hit, it'd have a +2.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Mr. Mark Seifter,

Have you ever had anyone come up and start talking to you in song lyrics?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Hi~ Mark, I have a question about Druid's Wild Shape.

The problem is very simple, that is, what is the DC for wild shape? for example, some animal's poison.

After my search, this question has been asked in the forum many times, starting from 10 years ago, there are many answers, but there has been no official answer.

Thank you!


Since PF1 is ending I'd like to get your opinion on what the rule would be if an official ruling were to be made.
----------------------------------------------------------------
If a character is charging and there is an obstacle can the charger jump over the obstacle to continue the charge?

If it matters the duelist has this ability, which was used as proof that normally you can't jump and continue a charge.

Pathfinder SRD wrote:

Acrobatic Charge (Ex)

At 6th level, a duelist gains the ability to charge in situations where others cannot. She may charge over difficult terrain that normally slows movement. Depending on the circumstance, she may still need to make appropriate checks to successfully move over the terrain.

There was one other rule I wanted the answer to, but my brain is foggy.

6,651 to 6,700 of 6,818 << first < prev | 127 | 128 | 129 | 130 | 131 | 132 | 133 | 134 | 135 | 136 | 137 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Gamer Life / Off-Topic Discussions / >>Ask *Mark Seifter* All Your Questions Here!<< All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.