>>Ask *Mark Seifter* All Your Questions Here!<<


Off-Topic Discussions

6,551 to 6,600 of 6,818 << first < prev | 127 | 128 | 129 | 130 | 131 | 132 | 133 | 134 | 135 | 136 | 137 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Mounted Combat says "Your mount acts on your initiative count as you direct it", if the rider can acts in surprise round, how does the mount?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Mark,
I constantly find myself coming back to the idea of a Sensei Monk for PFS. Unfortunately, over the many years I’ve wanted to do this, I’ve never received a clear picture of how the Mystic Wisdom advice works. Specifically, does it cost both Ki and Advice/Perfomance uses to activate, and does it take the Ki ability’s action, or does it also take the Advice action? Or is it usable while maintaining Advice?

For a specific illustrative example, let’s use a 6th level sensei trying to Mystic Wisdom his +20’ speed ability to an ally. What does this cost in actions, in Ki, and in Advice rounds? Are there any prerequisites (like currently maintaining an advice power) or caveats (like automatically ending a lingering/maintained advice power)?

Thanks!

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Drake Roberts:

Your advice is a separate pool from your Ki pool. Your advice pool is your wis modifier + level. Your activation would follow as per bardic performance. Before level 7, it is a standard action. At level 7 you can activate advice as a move action or a standard action, at level 13 you can activate your advice as a swift action, or move action, or standard action.

“At 6th level, a sensei may use his advice ability when spending points from his ki pool to activate a class ability (using the normal actions required for each) in order to have that ability affect one ally within 30 feet rather than the sensei himself.”

Mystic wisdom lets say for 20 ft speed:

“By spending 1 point from his ki pool, a monk can do one of the following:
Increase his speed by 20 feet for 1 round
Each of these powers is activated as a swift action.”

So what happens is you designate your target for your mystic wisdom, as a swift action, say the fighter, Smashy. Smashy gains 20 ft movement speed. As part of activating your mystic wisdom, you may activate your advice, but you still are required to spend the action required to activate your advice (standard action at level 6). The funny thing is the entire party will get your advice (since bardic performance is for everyone and advice functions identical to bardic performance), but only Smashy gains 20ft move speed for 1 round. You spend both advice pool(as per activation of advice as well as maintenance of it should you maintain), as well as ki pool(for use of Mystic Wisdom).

Lingering performance/maintained advice would extend the advice duration(since it functions as bardic performance), but not mystic wisdom, as mystic wisdom is not part of advice.

So at 10th level, instead of the default mystic wisdom abilities of these:

•Make one additional attack at his highest attack bonus when making a flurry of blows attack, or
•Increase his speed by 20 feet for 1 round, or
•Give himself a +4 dodge bonus to AC for 1 round.

The Sensei, when advice is active (probably via a move action or standard action), can use 1 point from his ki pool as a swift action to give his ally one of the following abilities: evasion, fast movement, high jump, purity of body, or slow fall.

At level 14, the ability improves such that by spending 2 points of his ki pool as a swift action, everyone 30 ft around the Sensei can gain one of the following abilities: evasion, fast movement, high jump, purity of body, or slow fall, diamond body, diamond soul, or improved evasion . The ability selected must be the same for all allies.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Mark

What skills can an oozemorph use in their base form? I'd assume any of the charisma skills are out of the question, but what about the others?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hello,Mark
If I have a burrow speed(from my 15th bloodline power,but not earth glide),can I use burrow speed to burrow through solid stone?

Here are those ability:
Sandwalker (Ex): At 15th level, you gain you gain a burrow speed of 30 feet and tremorsense with a range of 60 feet.

Earth Glide (Ex) A burrowing earth elemental can pass through stone, dirt, or almost any other sort of earth except metal as easily as a fish swims through water. If protected against fire damage, it can even glide through lava. Its burrowing leaves behind no tunnel or hole, nor does it create any ripple or other sign of its presence. A move earth spell cast on an area containing a burrowing earth elemental flings the elemental back 30 feet, stunning the creature for 1 round unless it succeeds on a DC 15 Fortitude save.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

From Movement types

Burrow
A creature with a burrow speed can tunnel through dirt, but not through rock unless the descriptive text says otherwise.

Sorry, you can't pass through solid stone as all you gained was a burrow speed. Burrow said you can only tunnel through dirt, but not through rock unless description said otherwise.

Solid stone is not dirt. More like rock.

Paizo Employee Designer

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Atalius wrote:
Hi Mark, it's Atalius the necromancer here. How's your weekend going? I was just wondering is there anything on the horizon to increase the choice of wild shape options for Druids. Not that there aren't a lot already, but any talk about allowing gargantuan shape forms or even huge shape forms for the cave druid in ooze form. Or is the issue with that it would be too OP? As always I appreciate your time, have a good weekend!

A long weekend was good, but very busy with a stressful office move (we all switched sides of the building over the past few weeks) means I could use another one!

We generally don't reveal anything that hasn't been announced yet in forum posts, but it seems likely that druid options will continue to expand via the release of new monsters, which provide plenty of new options.

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Crest wrote:
Hi Mark, Daring Teamwork by Guiding Blade wrote "A guiding blade regains panache whenever an ally reduces a creature to 0 or fewer hit points, instead of when she herself does so",does need her ally using a Light or One-Handed Piercing Melee Weapon like a Swashbuckler?

Just a Mort is right; panache for any ally dropping a (sufficient eligible) foe.

Paizo Employee Designer

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Joana wrote:
Does a wild-shaped druid display an aura to detect magic? What if the druid has magic items on her natural form that have melded into her wild shape? Does it make a difference if the magic item is one that provides a constant bonus and thus continues to function in wild shape vs. one that is just melded and inactive?

One of the most troublesome things to deal with strictly is when someone has an ability that is clearly like a spell (and says it is like a spell) but isn't a spell or even spell-like, which would seem it definitionally should be. In this case, you have to decide whether the supernatural ability that is as the spell works like a generic supernatural ability or works like the spell once it's activated but just has no AoOs/concentration to activate it. This came up in my group most directly with a sky druid who had a whole bunch of these Su spell-likes, and PCs were wondering if they could dispel them. It becomes even weirder if the spell-duplicating-but-not-spell-like-supernatural ability is duplicating a spell with other special rules from the magic chapter like light or darkness (does it, and if so how does it, cancel the opposite kind of spell even though it's maybe not a spell with a spell level?) or in this case polymorph.

So decide that big question for your group. Once you do, I can answer:

If you say that these weird Su spells do act like the spell they say they act like, then you would detect as magic for sure, and the melded items would likely detect as well. If it doesn't, then you wouldn't detect as magic via an Su, though arguably the items, or at least the active items would still detect. The only thing that's certain is that items like polymorphic pouch would detect no matter what.

Paizo Employee Designer

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Crest wrote:
Mounted Combat says "Your mount acts on your initiative count as you direct it", if the rider can acts in surprise round, how does the mount?

As I've said a few times in this thread, mounted combat is one of the top three places that the rules alone can't give you a coherent picture without resolving some of the issues as a group, or at least I can't seem to find one. This is the tip of the iceberg, and our hunter in Ironfang Invasion is out of that particular gray area since he has Lookout, but trapped in an adjacent gray area: If he notices the ambush but his hawthorn plant companion mount doesn't, since our group rules that mount acting on your initiative means you can get it to move for you on the surprise round, does that mean he and the mount both get full round actions (our group unanimously ruled no, that if the mount didn't notice, it doesn't count for providing the full round action even though we allowed it to act anyway without Lookout).

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
DrakeRoberts wrote:

Mark,

I constantly find myself coming back to the idea of a Sensei Monk for PFS. Unfortunately, over the many years I’ve wanted to do this, I’ve never received a clear picture of how the Mystic Wisdom advice works. Specifically, does it cost both Ki and Advice/Perfomance uses to activate, and does it take the Ki ability’s action, or does it also take the Advice action? Or is it usable while maintaining Advice?

For a specific illustrative example, let’s use a 6th level sensei trying to Mystic Wisdom his +20’ speed ability to an ally. What does this cost in actions, in Ki, and in Advice rounds? Are there any prerequisites (like currently maintaining an advice power) or caveats (like automatically ending a lingering/maintained advice power)?

Thanks!

It's ambiguous, and while Just a Mort gives a reasonable breakdown, I'm inclined to read the main ambiguity slightly differently: the crucial part of the initial ability is "a sensei may use his advice ability when spending points from his ki pool to activate a class ability in order to..."

Since this is asking you to use advice (and not a particular performance) specifically when spending points, it seems akin to saying something like "a bard may use his bardic performance ability when casting a spell in order to change its target." Now the timing is quite odd, and either of these is significantly sloppy wording, but it seems to be asking for you to use advice as part of the same action that costs ki (presumably 1 round of advice I guess?), not to separately have another advice active (in either case, it would be much better if it was more explicit).

But here's the twist! The 10th level ability (where Just a Mort was explaining) asks you to do something completely different (spend a swift action and a ki point while advice is currently active) to grant an ally one of those passive abilities for 1 round.

Paizo Employee Designer

3 people marked this as a favorite.
GodsBlister wrote:

Mark

What skills can an oozemorph use in their base form? I'd assume any of the charisma skills are out of the question, but what about the others?

Probably most skills, including many Charisma-based skills (Intimidate to demoralize, Bluff to feint, Disguise to Disguise as a different ooze, Handle Animal if the animal is trained to listen to you as an ooze, UMD for an appropriate magic device). Unfortunately, it is true that many of the rules are written in a really humanocentric way assuming that you are a bipedal creature with two hands and two feet that is equally inconvenienced as a human would be when unable to bring those limbs to bear, and they sometimes require adjustment or adjudication for any creature that doesn't fit those specifications (for instance, if you insist on strict reading of the skills, a cat couldn't climb a tree, as it has no hands and no climb speed, nagas have no hands and so wouldn't be able to cast their sorcerer spells, etc). I dealt with this in the kineticist class by talking about prehensile limbs which wound up being its own source of ambiguity, so it seems there's no clean way to deal thoroughly in all cases with non-standard body types without making the rules really tough to understand for a new player just trying to play a human-like creature. It's one of the many reasons why it's great that Pathfinder has game groups who can work out something sensible together in those cases!

Paizo Employee Designer

3 people marked this as a favorite.
AL.Z wrote:

Hello,Mark

If I have a burrow speed(from my 15th bloodline power,but not earth glide),can I use burrow speed to burrow through solid stone?

Here are those ability:
Sandwalker (Ex): At 15th level, you gain you gain a burrow speed of 30 feet and tremorsense with a range of 60 feet.

Earth Glide (Ex) A burrowing earth elemental can pass through stone, dirt, or almost any other sort of earth except metal as easily as a fish swims through water. If protected against fire damage, it can even glide through lava. Its burrowing leaves behind no tunnel or hole, nor does it create any ripple or other sign of its presence. A move earth spell cast on an area containing a burrowing earth elemental flings the elemental back 30 feet, stunning the creature for 1 round unless it succeeds on a DC 15 Fortitude save.

I agree with Just a Mort. Basic burrow is not through solid rock.


Mark, thank you for the answer above.Here are two more questions about the Furious Finish feat.
1, Can I declare to use the feat after hit? If not, when the attack didn't hit, will I end rage and become fatigued?
2, The feat says "when you use the Vital Strike feat", does it apply to Improved Vital Strike or Greater Vital Strike feats?

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Crest wrote:

Mark, thank you for the answer above.Here are two more questions about the Furious Finish feat.

1, Can I declare to use the feat after hit? If not, when the attack didn't hit, will I end rage and become fatigued?
2, The feat says "when you use the Vital Strike feat", does it apply to Improved Vital Strike or Greater Vital Strike feats?

1) The choice is made when you are rolling damage, which despite best practice for quick combat, is technically something you don't do until after you hit, so yes.

2) Weirdly, and I had to check this to notice, IVS and GVS don't refer to their parent but instead reiterate all the rules with more dice added on, particularly odd since it would save a lot of unnecessary words to handle it the other way around. However, due to this fact, technically you are not using the Vital Strike feat when using its stronger versions. Nonetheless, it's pretty likely that the author of Furious Finish forgot that IVS and GVS were written in this unusual way, as it seems very unlikely to intend to block off these uses. Nonetheless, most other feats use tighter language (for instance, the Vital Strike feats in Advanced Class Guide all specify they work with VS, IVS, and GVS).


3 people marked this as a favorite.

I know I used "any Vital Strike feat" for one of my first feats, and listed them all out for the heritor knight. Can't remember what I did for more recent stuff...


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
DrakeRoberts wrote:

Mark,

I constantly find myself coming back to the idea of a Sensei Monk for PFS. Unfortunately, over the many years I’ve wanted to do this, I’ve never received a clear picture of how the Mystic Wisdom advice works. Specifically, does it cost both Ki and Advice/Perfomance uses to activate, and does it take the Ki ability’s action, or does it also take the Advice action? Or is it usable while maintaining Advice?

For a specific illustrative example, let’s use a 6th level sensei trying to Mystic Wisdom his +20’ speed ability to an ally. What does this cost in actions, in Ki, and in Advice rounds? Are there any prerequisites (like currently maintaining an advice power) or caveats (like automatically ending a lingering/maintained advice power)?

Thanks!

It's ambiguous, and while Just a Mort gives a reasonable breakdown, I'm inclined to read the main ambiguity slightly differently: the crucial part of the initial ability is "a sensei may use his advice ability when spending points from his ki pool to activate a class ability in order to..."

Since this is asking you to use advice (and not a particular performance) specifically when spending points, it seems akin to saying something like "a bard may use his bardic performance ability when casting a spell in order to change its target." Now the timing is quite odd, and either of these is significantly sloppy wording, but it seems to be asking for you to use advice as part of the same action that costs ki (presumably 1 round of advice I guess?), not to separately have another advice active (in either case, it would be much better if it was more explicit).

But here's the twist! The 10th level ability (where Just a Mort was explaining) asks you to do something completely different (spend a swift action and a ki point while advice is currently active) to grant an ally one of those passive abilities for 1 round.

So then, given the line of spending the action for each, would you say that you need to spend 1 round of Advice + 1 Advice-length action (standard, later move and the later swift) + action for ki power (say swift for speed boost, for example) + Ki cost of ability (for example, 1 for speed boost)? Later at level 10 it is the same for all allies, or if you are doing the newly available single-target options then it becomes spend 1 ki point + Swift action + need to spend Advice points and action to activate a new chosen Advice power OR currently have an ongoing one (like Inspire Courage) active?

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
DrakeRoberts wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
DrakeRoberts wrote:

Mark,

I constantly find myself coming back to the idea of a Sensei Monk for PFS. Unfortunately, over the many years I’ve wanted to do this, I’ve never received a clear picture of how the Mystic Wisdom advice works. Specifically, does it cost both Ki and Advice/Perfomance uses to activate, and does it take the Ki ability’s action, or does it also take the Advice action? Or is it usable while maintaining Advice?

For a specific illustrative example, let’s use a 6th level sensei trying to Mystic Wisdom his +20’ speed ability to an ally. What does this cost in actions, in Ki, and in Advice rounds? Are there any prerequisites (like currently maintaining an advice power) or caveats (like automatically ending a lingering/maintained advice power)?

Thanks!

It's ambiguous, and while Just a Mort gives a reasonable breakdown, I'm inclined to read the main ambiguity slightly differently: the crucial part of the initial ability is "a sensei may use his advice ability when spending points from his ki pool to activate a class ability in order to..."

Since this is asking you to use advice (and not a particular performance) specifically when spending points, it seems akin to saying something like "a bard may use his bardic performance ability when casting a spell in order to change its target." Now the timing is quite odd, and either of these is significantly sloppy wording, but it seems to be asking for you to use advice as part of the same action that costs ki (presumably 1 round of advice I guess?), not to separately have another advice active (in either case, it would be much better if it was more explicit).

But here's the twist! The 10th level ability (where Just a Mort was explaining) asks you to do something completely different (spend a swift action and a ki point while advice is currently active) to grant an ally one of those passive abilities for 1 round.

So then, given the line of spending the action for each, would you say that you...

It appears to be several different abilities in one. I'll separate them out as best I can see (with my dash of interpretation on the level 6/12, as it's less clear):

6) No action, done during whatever action your ki thing is, spend the normal cost and a round of advice (which then presumably ends your other advice)
12) As 6, but AoE, no additional cost (bonus confusion point: is "rather than himself" clear enough in excluding the sensei to deal with the "you vs allies" ambiguity?).

10) Swift action, costs 1 ki, done during advice (no extra advice cost though), to give only these new abilities for a round.

14) As 10 except costs 2 ki and is either AoE with the 10 abilities or single target with one of the 14 abilities.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
DrakeRoberts wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
DrakeRoberts wrote:

Mark,

I constantly find myself coming back to the idea of a Sensei Monk for PFS. Unfortunately, over the many years I’ve wanted to do this, I’ve never received a clear picture of how the Mystic Wisdom advice works. Specifically, does it cost both Ki and Advice/Perfomance uses to activate, and does it take the Ki ability’s action, or does it also take the Advice action? Or is it usable while maintaining Advice?

For a specific illustrative example, let’s use a 6th level sensei trying to Mystic Wisdom his +20’ speed ability to an ally. What does this cost in actions, in Ki, and in Advice rounds? Are there any prerequisites (like currently maintaining an advice power) or caveats (like automatically ending a lingering/maintained advice power)?

Thanks!

It's ambiguous, and while Just a Mort gives a reasonable breakdown, I'm inclined to read the main ambiguity slightly differently: the crucial part of the initial ability is "a sensei may use his advice ability when spending points from his ki pool to activate a class ability in order to..."

Since this is asking you to use advice (and not a particular performance) specifically when spending points, it seems akin to saying something like "a bard may use his bardic performance ability when casting a spell in order to change its target." Now the timing is quite odd, and either of these is significantly sloppy wording, but it seems to be asking for you to use advice as part of the same action that costs ki (presumably 1 round of advice I guess?), not to separately have another advice active (in either case, it would be much better if it was more explicit).

But here's the twist! The 10th level ability (where Just a Mort was explaining) asks you to do something completely different (spend a swift action and a ki point while advice is currently active) to grant an ally one of those passive abilities for 1 round.

So then, given the line of spending the action for
...

Thanks... now can we get a rewrite/republish that clarifies without nerfing? :)

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Greetings, Mark, as a new Pathfinder player, I quite puzzle about the description of 【blunt arrow】 in Ultimate Equipment and have a few questions about it.

1,According to the statement of these ammunitions, their blunt arrowheads are made of wood. Thus I wonder whether blunt arrows with metal arrowheads are leagl in games. (Although it seems make sense in reality.)

1,I check the whole Ultimate Equipment and didn't find any description about "blunt bolts" or "blunt type" of other ammunitions. Does it means that only "arrows" has blunt version in Pathfinder games?

Looking forward to you reply.

Paizo Employee Designer

3 people marked this as a favorite.
DrakeRoberts wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
DrakeRoberts wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
DrakeRoberts wrote:

Mark,

I constantly find myself coming back to the idea of a Sensei Monk for PFS. Unfortunately, over the many years I’ve wanted to do this, I’ve never received a clear picture of how the Mystic Wisdom advice works. Specifically, does it cost both Ki and Advice/Perfomance uses to activate, and does it take the Ki ability’s action, or does it also take the Advice action? Or is it usable while maintaining Advice?

For a specific illustrative example, let’s use a 6th level sensei trying to Mystic Wisdom his +20’ speed ability to an ally. What does this cost in actions, in Ki, and in Advice rounds? Are there any prerequisites (like currently maintaining an advice power) or caveats (like automatically ending a lingering/maintained advice power)?

Thanks!

It's ambiguous, and while Just a Mort gives a reasonable breakdown, I'm inclined to read the main ambiguity slightly differently: the crucial part of the initial ability is "a sensei may use his advice ability when spending points from his ki pool to activate a class ability in order to..."

Since this is asking you to use advice (and not a particular performance) specifically when spending points, it seems akin to saying something like "a bard may use his bardic performance ability when casting a spell in order to change its target." Now the timing is quite odd, and either of these is significantly sloppy wording, but it seems to be asking for you to use advice as part of the same action that costs ki (presumably 1 round of advice I guess?), not to separately have another advice active (in either case, it would be much better if it was more explicit).

But here's the twist! The 10th level ability (where Just a Mort was explaining) asks you to do something completely different (spend a swift action and a ki point while advice is currently active) to grant an ally one of those passive abilities for 1 round.

So then, given the
...

That's a bit of an odd question, as anything is relative compared to how you were currently interpreting it. For instance, we might agree on this thread to go with what I'm saying in my post as a fair reading, but if there's someone else out there who is reading this ability to mean something like "At level 12, I can spend a swift action and 1 ki to start inspire courage, hand out evasion to everybody because my level 6 thing advanced to level 12 even though I'm not level 14 yet, and also give everyone an AoE barkskin from my qingong ki power, including me, all for that one swift action" they haven't made the same call we did and I don't find that interpretation particularly convincing, but I can see where some overly creative interpretations, possibly dosed with wishful thinking, would have led them down those roads (combining the action from the level 10 ability in with the level 6/12, then the AoE expansion of 6/12 in with the 10, assuming they get both and that this starts a new advice). And to that person, just posting a FAQ of what we were thinking in this thread would be a "nerf."

Honestly it's one of the reasons why I strongly prefer a rapid flurry of spot FAQs shortly after a book's release. Make exactly the same interpretation when a book is fresh and most people are trying to figure out what it does, and many people will accept it, but wait until there's been enough time that people all made their own different rulings for their own games and moved on, and all but one of those rulings is going to be contradicted, every time.

Paizo Employee Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Lico wrote:

Greetings, Mark, as a new Pathfinder player, I quite puzzle about the description of 【blunt arrow】 in Ultimate Equipment and have a few questions about it.

1,According to the statement of these ammunitions, their blunt arrowheads are made of wood. Thus I wonder whether blunt arrows with metal arrowheads are leagl in games. (Although it seems make sense in reality.)

1,I check the whole Ultimate Equipment and didn't find any description about "blunt bolts" or "blunt type" of other ammunitions. Does it means that only "arrows" has blunt version in Pathfinder games?

Looking forward to you reply.

Question 1: It says they are made of wood, so by strict rules they surely are made of wood. However, if you want to dig deeper and enter the deep end of gray areas, you could try to stick your wooden arrow over a fire and melt a metal weapon blanch onto it somehow without harming the wood. Perhaps fire protection magic would help? (it usually protects your gear too)

Question 1 (the second Question 1): This is also technically true, though blunt bolts are not exactly a stretch either if your group is cool with them.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
Lico wrote:

Greetings, Mark, as a new Pathfinder player, I quite puzzle about the description of 【blunt arrow】 in Ultimate Equipment and have a few questions about it.

1,According to the statement of these ammunitions, their blunt arrowheads are made of wood. Thus I wonder whether blunt arrows with metal arrowheads are leagl in games. (Although it seems make sense in reality.)

1,I check the whole Ultimate Equipment and didn't find any description about "blunt bolts" or "blunt type" of other ammunitions. Does it means that only "arrows" has blunt version in Pathfinder games?

Looking forward to you reply.

Question 1: It says they are made of wood, so by strict rules they surely are made of wood. However, if you want to dig deeper and enter the deep end of gray areas, you could try to stick your wooden arrow over a fire and melt a metal weapon blanch onto it somehow without harming the wood. Perhaps fire protection magic would help? (it usually protects your gear too)

Question 1 (the second Question 1): This is also technically true, though blunt bolts are not exactly a stretch either if your group is cool with them.

Sincerely thanks for your suggestion, sorry for my mistake of "Second Question 1" XD


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
Crest wrote:

Mark, thank you for the answer above.Here are two more questions about the Furious Finish feat.

1, Can I declare to use the feat after hit? If not, when the attack didn't hit, will I end rage and become fatigued?
2, The feat says "when you use the Vital Strike feat", does it apply to Improved Vital Strike or Greater Vital Strike feats?

1) The choice is made when you are rolling damage, which despite best practice for quick combat, is technically something you don't do until after you hit, so yes.

2) Weirdly, and I had to check this to notice, IVS and GVS don't refer to their parent but instead reiterate all the rules with more dice added on, particularly odd since it would save a lot of unnecessary words to handle it the other way around. However, due to this fact, technically you are not using the Vital Strike feat when using its stronger versions. Nonetheless, it's pretty likely that the author of Furious Finish forgot that IVS and GVS were written in this unusual way, as it seems very unlikely to intend to block off these uses. Nonetheless, most other feats use tighter language (for instance, the Vital Strike feats in Advanced Class Guide all specify they work with VS, IVS, and GVS).

What happens if make a crit while using Furious Finish? Is the critical damage maximized?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Mark, I have a few questions about the Brawler:

1) "A brawler’s unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that modify either manufactured weapons or natural weapons."
"A monk’s unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons."
What is the difference between "modify" and "enhance or improve"?

2) Blade Lash targets your melee weapon, can I use this spell to unarmed strike of a brawler or a monk?

3) If I get Martial Flexibility twice from Brawler and Warsighted, can I get two combat feats by two move actions? Can I use one of these feats to meet a prerequisite of the second feat?

4) In PFS "human" is not a legal choice for the Dedicated Adversary feat, but a human ethnicity such as "Ulfen" is legal. Then if I use Martial Flexibility to get Dedicated Adversary feat, how can I know the ethnicity of the enemy?

5) If I use Brawler`s Flurry by a two-Handed weapon, what's the penalty on melee attack rolls?

Silver Crusade

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Dear Mark,

I recently gained acces to an apparatus of the crab at reduced cost, but how does it work in combat when piloting it?

Do you use the stats as is, does it count as an object for the purposes of energy and ranged attacks?
Or things like a treants double damage vs objects?
Can it make saving throws due to being piloted or does it get it's own saving throws because it's a magic item?
Does it have a strength score for the purpose of breaking doors and the like?
Are enemies considered to have line of effect from you when you are piloting it?
Can it be broken with a strength check?
What is it's size for the purpose of animating it

It's a fun item to use but there are a lot of things that are not clear about it, wich is a shame because driving a tank around is a picture I cannot get out of my head, especially for a tech obsessed alchemist.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Crest,

1) No difference when used in this context.

2) Yes.

"A brawler’s unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that modify either manufactured weapons or natural weapons."

You can argue the increased range and ability to trip is a modification.

4) Ask your GM if he'll let you knowledge(local) it.

The other questions the answers are less clear cut so I will decline to answer them, lest I create some misconceptions.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey Mark, simple question this time.

In Starfinder, whenever the core rulebook says something like, "You pay 110% of the item's base cost", does that mean you simply pay an additional 10% over the item's base cost or do you actually pay double the item's cost and then 10% extra?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

How to calculate the Carrying Capacity of the [Snake, Constrictor]?
I have a [Snake, Constrictor](Strength 24,Large),how to calculate the Carrying Capacity?
It's Carrying Capacity is 699/1398/2100 ?

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Snakes have no legs. I would put them as default - under medium bipedial creatures.

Bigger and Smaller Creatures: The figures on Table: Carrying Capacity are for Medium bipedal creatures. A larger bipedal creature can carry more weight depending on its size category, as follows: Large ×2, Huge ×4, Gargantuan ×8, Colossal ×16. A smaller creature can carry less weight depending on its size category, as follows: Small ×3/4, Tiny ×1/2, Diminutive ×1/4, Fine ×1/8.

For medium creatures:

24 233 lbs. or less 234–466 lbs. 467–700 lbs.

So you x 2 for all, and you get...

466 lbs or less, 468-932, 934 - 1400


1 person marked this as a favorite.

so after it came up talking with some friends, has the desinging team ever played around with the idea of a cleric archetype that gets more domains?

or something similar?

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

What class do you think Sonic The Hedgehog would have?
What about Knuckles the Echidna?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey,Mark! I have a problem about the spell Merge with Familiar. It explicitly says, "the target can separate or merge at will as a move action." Does it mean the familiar merged still have its own action? If so, what exactly can it do? Can it cast spells? Can it use magical items? Can it use domain power?Can it split the damage for its master?

Besides, what happens if a familiar casts shield other to its master or someone else and then merge?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hello again, Mark. Here is 2 questions about spell combat.

1. Consider the Wand Wielder arcana. Can a two-armed magus use spell combat while wielding a longsword in one hand and a wand in the other hand? If the answer is no, what's the purpose of the arcana?

2. Consider the skirnir archetype. Its shielded spell combat class feature says a skirnir gains the spell combat ability only when wielding his bonded shield, and may use his shield hand to perform somatic components for magus spells. Does it implies a two-armed skirnir CAN'T use spell combat when wielding a longsword in one hand and his bonded shield in the other hand,since a shield hand is not free even if the shield is a buckler? If the answer is no, does it implies that a two-armed skirnir can ONLY use spell combat with shield bash or a weapon wielding in the buckler hand?

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Hello Mark! I haz a question ^w^

Illusory Wall wrote:
This spell creates the illusion of a wall, floor, ceiling, or similar surface. It appears absolutely real when viewed, but physical objects can pass through it without difficulty. When the spell is used to hide pits, traps, or normal doors, any detection abilities that do not require sight work normally. Touch or a probing search reveals the true nature of the surface, though such measures do not cause the illusion to disappear. Although the caster can see through his illusory wall, other creatures cannot, even if they succeed at their Will save (but they do learn that it is not real).
Quote:
Saving Throw Will disbelief (if interacted with)

... how the hell does this work? :3

It's an Illusion, so it can't bar you if you fail the save.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This thread truly is a boon and thanks for doing this for so long Mark. I had a question which seems to have a mixed consensus. We play a homebrewed game and wanted to ask you about this domain power and metamagic feat and how they interact with one another. Since you are the authority I would love to hear from you. It is in regards to casting Touch Of Chaos (For the next round, anytime the target rolls a d20, he must roll twice and take the less favorable result) and a Quickened Persistent Spell (Whenever a creature targeted by a persistent spell or within its area succeeds on its saving throw against the spell, it must make another saving throw against the effect) together. Would that force the enemy to make four saving throws or?

Thanks Mark for all you do.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Rysky wrote:

Hello Mark! I haz a question ^w^

Illusory Wall wrote:
This spell creates the illusion of a wall, floor, ceiling, or similar surface. It appears absolutely real when viewed, but physical objects can pass through it without difficulty. When the spell is used to hide pits, traps, or normal doors, any detection abilities that do not require sight work normally. Touch or a probing search reveals the true nature of the surface, though such measures do not cause the illusion to disappear. Although the caster can see through his illusory wall, other creatures cannot, even if they succeed at their Will save (but they do learn that it is not real).
Quote:
Saving Throw Will disbelief (if interacted with)

... how the hell does this work? :3

It's an Illusion, so it can't bar you if you fail the save.

Not Mark but:

They can step through the wall, they just can't see through it. So anyone behind the wall still has total concealment, you can't see the spikes at the bottom of the pit without sticking your head through the wall. Once you step through the wall though you can of course see what's on the other side, it's just knowledge of the wall's illusory nature doesn't make it disappear or become semi-transparent.

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Hey Mark,

Question one

This has come up a few times in a few different ways, do you count as your own ally for teamwork feats? Or, is this an area that would "make no sense or be impossible."

For example can broken wing gambit be used solo?

I lean towards no as teamwork is "the the combined action of a group of people" but it keeps coming up.

Question two

How does the urban barbarian's rage (+4 STR) interact with amplified rage?

Thanks!

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
DM_aka_Dudemeister wrote:
Rysky wrote:

Hello Mark! I haz a question ^w^

Illusory Wall wrote:
This spell creates the illusion of a wall, floor, ceiling, or similar surface. It appears absolutely real when viewed, but physical objects can pass through it without difficulty. When the spell is used to hide pits, traps, or normal doors, any detection abilities that do not require sight work normally. Touch or a probing search reveals the true nature of the surface, though such measures do not cause the illusion to disappear. Although the caster can see through his illusory wall, other creatures cannot, even if they succeed at their Will save (but they do learn that it is not real).
Quote:
Saving Throw Will disbelief (if interacted with)

... how the hell does this work? :3

It's an Illusion, so it can't bar you if you fail the save.

Not Mark but:

They can step through the wall, they just can't see through it. So anyone behind the wall still has total concealment, you can't see the spikes at the bottom of the pit without sticking your head through the wall. Once you step through the wall though you can of course see what's on the other side, it's just knowledge of the wall's illusory nature doesn't make it disappear or become semi-transparent.

That's the crux of my question, what is the Will save for if it doesn't do anything apparently.

Or to put it another way, if something goes through the wall I can get a bonus on the save to disbelieve, but I can still fail the save, in which case... what does that mean?

EDIT: ah! Nevermind, I had misread the Illusion section.

Saving Throws and Illusions (Disbelief) wrote:

Creatures encountering an illusion usually do not receive saving throws to recognize it as illusory until they study it carefully or interact with it in some fashion.

A successful saving throw against an illusion reveals it to be false, but a figment or phantasm remains as a translucent outline.

A failed saving throw indicates that a character fails to notice something is amiss. A character faced with proof that an illusion isn’t real needs no saving throw. If any viewer successfully disbelieves an illusion and communicates this fact to others, each such viewer gains a saving throw with a +4 bonus.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hello, Mark. A friend of mine has decided to build an archer-like Warpriest, and seems to have a bit of a wonder about how two~three feats interact. Specifically the Point-blank Master, blind-fight, and Snap-shot.

My friend wants to know if Point-blank master can gain the rerolling benefit of blind-fight if they missed via concealment if the enemy is within 5ft of them due to invisibility(Or the like). Or is it specifically Melee only, since point-blank master still means you're firing off an arrow instead of stabbing them with an arrow or the like, or that snap-shot can still 'threaten each other' if within 5ft.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
Protoman wrote:

Hey Mark, quick questions about kineticist wild talents (specifically with form infusions) that deal with area effects centered on the kineticist.

Back during the playtest you said that the aerokineticist's Cyclone's "All creatures and objects within a 20-foot-radius burst centered on you take half your blast’s normal amount of damage" shouldn't hurt the kineticist itself, but allies should clear out.

Is that still applicable post-playtest? Or is the kineticist considered damaged also now?

What about Detonation from Psychic Anthology? "Flames explode outward from your body, dealing your blast damage to all creatures and objects within a 20-foot radius." Would the pyrokineticist be hurt inside the radius like everyone else? Or because the flames explode away from the body, he doesn't get hurt? Or should it be like the Detonate spell, where it's auto-success on the saving throw for half damage?

Generally, centered on you effects that smack you will mention it, like the detonate spell does. The self-centered kineticist abilities should spare you their wrath, but like most self-centered things, they're not the best with friends.

Thanks for the input, Mark! Puts my mind to ease about picking up Detonation for the pyrokineticist.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Hey ya Mark I have a question for ya well more of a clarification needed as I have a couple possible answers.

Previous thread: Hardness of Silkweave?

So I am currently making a character in Pathfinder that wears a Spider-silk Bodysuit

Looking in The special materials section the closest thing I can find that matches the description of Spider-silk is Silkweave

Unfortunately in both there and Damaging and breaking objects there is nothing stating a Hardness of Silkweave armors or things made of Alchemically treated spider silk.

Answer 1: Zarius Stated: I'd fall back to the hardness/HP of leather or cloth. There's a 3pp (Silk, Aranea) that has stats, though... 5 HP per inch, 0 hardness. Which is fair, since it's 2.5x the HP of cloth, but easier to damage than leather.

Answer 2: Dark Midian Stated: The trouble though is that it specifically says that silkweave is super durable. I would also recommend going with the rules for leather for the hardness and HP.

With a further Reply from Graystone: I'd go a bit further than that once you take into account the price of the armor [850gp]: for me that puts it up there with Darkleaf Cloth [750gp + armor cost] and that's 20 hit points per inch of thickness and hardness 10. Note that the description of darkleaf says it's "tough as cured hide", and hide has 5hp/inch and 2 hardness so the number are greatly skewed towards the special materials.

So my question I guess is Which of these if Either are correct for the hardness of Silkweave and or Spider-Silk Bodysuit? Thanks for your time!

Paizo Employee Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Lico wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
Lico wrote:

Greetings, Mark, as a new Pathfinder player, I quite puzzle about the description of 【blunt arrow】 in Ultimate Equipment and have a few questions about it.

1,According to the statement of these ammunitions, their blunt arrowheads are made of wood. Thus I wonder whether blunt arrows with metal arrowheads are leagl in games. (Although it seems make sense in reality.)

1,I check the whole Ultimate Equipment and didn't find any description about "blunt bolts" or "blunt type" of other ammunitions. Does it means that only "arrows" has blunt version in Pathfinder games?

Looking forward to you reply.

Question 1: It says they are made of wood, so by strict rules they surely are made of wood. However, if you want to dig deeper and enter the deep end of gray areas, you could try to stick your wooden arrow over a fire and melt a metal weapon blanch onto it somehow without harming the wood. Perhaps fire protection magic would help? (it usually protects your gear too)

Question 1 (the second Question 1): This is also technically true, though blunt bolts are not exactly a stretch either if your group is cool with them.

Sincerely thanks for your suggestion, sorry for my mistake of "Second Question 1" XD

No worries! :)

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Crest wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
Crest wrote:

Mark, thank you for the answer above.Here are two more questions about the Furious Finish feat.

1, Can I declare to use the feat after hit? If not, when the attack didn't hit, will I end rage and become fatigued?
2, The feat says "when you use the Vital Strike feat", does it apply to Improved Vital Strike or Greater Vital Strike feats?

1) The choice is made when you are rolling damage, which despite best practice for quick combat, is technically something you don't do until after you hit, so yes.

2) Weirdly, and I had to check this to notice, IVS and GVS don't refer to their parent but instead reiterate all the rules with more dice added on, particularly odd since it would save a lot of unnecessary words to handle it the other way around. However, due to this fact, technically you are not using the Vital Strike feat when using its stronger versions. Nonetheless, it's pretty likely that the author of Furious Finish forgot that IVS and GVS were written in this unusual way, as it seems very unlikely to intend to block off these uses. Nonetheless, most other feats use tighter language (for instance, the Vital Strike feats in Advanced Class Guide all specify they work with VS, IVS, and GVS).

What happens if make a crit while using Furious Finish? Is the critical damage maximized?

That's part of the damage, so personally I'd say it would be.

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Crest wrote:

Mark, I have a few questions about the Brawler:

1) "A brawler’s unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that modify either manufactured weapons or natural weapons."
"A monk’s unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons."
What is the difference between "modify" and "enhance or improve"?

2) Blade Lash targets your melee weapon, can I use this spell to unarmed strike of a brawler or a monk?

3) If I get Martial Flexibility twice from Brawler and Warsighted, can I get two combat feats by two move actions? Can I use one of these feats to meet a prerequisite of the second feat?

4) In PFS "human" is not a legal choice for the Dedicated Adversary feat, but a human ethnicity such as "Ulfen" is legal. Then if I use Martial Flexibility to get Dedicated Adversary feat, how can I know the ethnicity of the enemy?

5) If I use Brawler`s Flurry by a two-Handed weapon, what's the penalty on melee attack rolls?

1) Looks like if there was a spell called "Your Claw Sucks Now" that made a natural attack count as one size category lower, it would work on the brawler but not the monk maybe?

2) Whether it means only a manufactured weapon or not, either way it seems like it should work for a brawler.

3) If you have two separate ways to get temporary bonus feats (whether called "Martial Flexibility" or not), it would likely seem that they would be independent of each other, and you could probably use them to piggyback since Martial Flexibility can do that with itself. That said, you could work with your GM and your group to come up with other options, such as stacking it all together into one big flexibility.

4) You would use Knowledge (local), I suppose.

5) Whatever TWF feats say. Since the "off-hand" weapon isn't light, that's normally -4/-4.

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Richter Harding wrote:

Dear Mark,

I recently gained acces to an apparatus of the crab at reduced cost, but how does it work in combat when piloting it?

Do you use the stats as is, does it count as an object for the purposes of energy and ranged attacks?
Or things like a treants double damage vs objects?
Can it make saving throws due to being piloted or does it get it's own saving throws because it's a magic item?
Does it have a strength score for the purpose of breaking doors and the like?
Are enemies considered to have line of effect from you when you are piloting it?
Can it be broken with a strength check?
What is it's size for the purpose of animating it

It's a fun item to use but there are a lot of things that are not clear about it, wich is a shame because driving a tank around is a picture I cannot get out of my head, especially for a tech obsessed alchemist.

I'd use the stats as is, and it does seem like an object to me, not a construct. Whether it's attended enough to get a save bonus from you or not is a fascinating question; I don't think the rules are clear enough that you do (since the pilot could change even within the same round if multiple people pull levers), but I'd find a way to allow it in my game because it's not like it's that powerful an item. It doesn't seem to have a Strength score, in that its damage doesn't have a bonus or anything. It's kind of a weird item. You and opponents look like you have total cover from each other, as best I can see, since it's a sealed barrel-like chamber in there. If a Strength check can bust something that massive, I imagine it would have to be extremely high. I guess it's Large since it fits two Medium creatures inside? If you animate it, just fully replace with the stats of animated object; be aware that animate objects specifies that it's nonmagical in the text, so you'd need something else (of which there's at least one option I know).

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Dark Midian wrote:

Hey Mark, simple question this time.

In Starfinder, whenever the core rulebook says something like, "You pay 110% of the item's base cost", does that mean you simply pay an additional 10% over the item's base cost or do you actually pay double the item's cost and then 10% extra?

I am really really not an official source for Starfinder, even more so than being not an official for Pathfinder. That said, 110% of something mathematically means 10% more than full.

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
sal wattre wrote:

How to calculate the Carrying Capacity of the [Snake, Constrictor]?

I have a [Snake, Constrictor](Strength 24,Large),how to calculate the Carrying Capacity?
It's Carrying Capacity is 699/1398/2100 ?

Theoretically they aren't a quadruped, so they might have to use the default table, but if the idea is that creatures with a more stable body shape to the ground can handle more weight than those with two points of contact to the ground for weight distribution, in a home game I would probably let legless creatures use quadruped. I'm biased because I love snakes.

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
CivMaster wrote:

so after it came up talking with some friends, has the desinging team ever played around with the idea of a cleric archetype that gets more domains?

or something similar?

One of my favorites in that regards is the ecclesitheurge. Mechanically it can be tricky to build one with good AC because it can't wear armor (monk dip is tasty though...), but you actually get to swap one of your two domain spell lists each day to another from your deity, which can open up a lot of options if your deity has a versatile set of domain lists.

6,551 to 6,600 of 6,818 << first < prev | 127 | 128 | 129 | 130 | 131 | 132 | 133 | 134 | 135 | 136 | 137 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Gamer Life / Off-Topic Discussions / >>Ask *Mark Seifter* All Your Questions Here!<< All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.