Sajan Gadadvara

Crest's page

** Pathfinder Society GM. 10 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 10 Organized Play characters.


RSS


Hi Mark, there several questions about potions and oils.

CRB says "The person applying an oil is the effective caster, but the object is the target."
But also says "A character can carefully administer a potion to an unconscious creature as a full-round action, trickling the liquid down the creature’s throat. Likewise, it takes a full-round action to apply an oil to an unconscious creature."

1) If a spell only target to a creature, can it be made into an oil?
2) Can I administer a potion or apply an oil to an awake creature? If yes, what action does it take?
3) Can I deliver an item to a friendly character? If yes, what action does it take?


Hi Mark!
Can I make ready an action in raging?

"While in rage, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except Acrobatics, Fly, Intimidate, and Ride) or any ability that requires patience or concentration."

Casting Spells or Cavalier's Challenge says need concentration, then which actions need patience? For example Slayer's Studied Target?


Hi Mark
The challenge of Order of the Eastern Star says "He must be wearing light armor and carrying no more than a light load to receive these bonuses."
If I wearing no armor, can I receive these bonuses?


Mark Seifter wrote:
Crest wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
Crest wrote:

Mark, thank you for the answer above.Here are two more questions about the Furious Finish feat.

1, Can I declare to use the feat after hit? If not, when the attack didn't hit, will I end rage and become fatigued?
2, The feat says "when you use the Vital Strike feat", does it apply to Improved Vital Strike or Greater Vital Strike feats?

1) The choice is made when you are rolling damage, which despite best practice for quick combat, is technically something you don't do until after you hit, so yes.

2) Weirdly, and I had to check this to notice, IVS and GVS don't refer to their parent but instead reiterate all the rules with more dice added on, particularly odd since it would save a lot of unnecessary words to handle it the other way around. However, due to this fact, technically you are not using the Vital Strike feat when using its stronger versions. Nonetheless, it's pretty likely that the author of Furious Finish forgot that IVS and GVS were written in this unusual way, as it seems very unlikely to intend to block off these uses. Nonetheless, most other feats use tighter language (for instance, the Vital Strike feats in Advanced Class Guide all specify they work with VS, IVS, and GVS).

What happens if make a crit while using Furious Finish? Is the critical damage maximized?
That's part of the damage, so personally I'd say it would be.

So what about bane weapon or sneak attack? Do them works the same way?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Mark, I have a few questions about the Brawler:

1) "A brawler’s unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that modify either manufactured weapons or natural weapons."
"A monk’s unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons."
What is the difference between "modify" and "enhance or improve"?

2) Blade Lash targets your melee weapon, can I use this spell to unarmed strike of a brawler or a monk?

3) If I get Martial Flexibility twice from Brawler and Warsighted, can I get two combat feats by two move actions? Can I use one of these feats to meet a prerequisite of the second feat?

4) In PFS "human" is not a legal choice for the Dedicated Adversary feat, but a human ethnicity such as "Ulfen" is legal. Then if I use Martial Flexibility to get Dedicated Adversary feat, how can I know the ethnicity of the enemy?

5) If I use Brawler`s Flurry by a two-Handed weapon, what's the penalty on melee attack rolls?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
Crest wrote:

Mark, thank you for the answer above.Here are two more questions about the Furious Finish feat.

1, Can I declare to use the feat after hit? If not, when the attack didn't hit, will I end rage and become fatigued?
2, The feat says "when you use the Vital Strike feat", does it apply to Improved Vital Strike or Greater Vital Strike feats?

1) The choice is made when you are rolling damage, which despite best practice for quick combat, is technically something you don't do until after you hit, so yes.

2) Weirdly, and I had to check this to notice, IVS and GVS don't refer to their parent but instead reiterate all the rules with more dice added on, particularly odd since it would save a lot of unnecessary words to handle it the other way around. However, due to this fact, technically you are not using the Vital Strike feat when using its stronger versions. Nonetheless, it's pretty likely that the author of Furious Finish forgot that IVS and GVS were written in this unusual way, as it seems very unlikely to intend to block off these uses. Nonetheless, most other feats use tighter language (for instance, the Vital Strike feats in Advanced Class Guide all specify they work with VS, IVS, and GVS).

What happens if make a crit while using Furious Finish? Is the critical damage maximized?


Mark, thank you for the answer above.Here are two more questions about the Furious Finish feat.
1, Can I declare to use the feat after hit? If not, when the attack didn't hit, will I end rage and become fatigued?
2, The feat says "when you use the Vital Strike feat", does it apply to Improved Vital Strike or Greater Vital Strike feats?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Mounted Combat says "Your mount acts on your initiative count as you direct it", if the rider can acts in surprise round, how does the mount?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi Mark, Daring Teamwork by Guiding Blade wrote "A guiding blade regains panache whenever an ally reduces a creature to 0 or fewer hit points, instead of when she herself does so",does need her ally using a Light or One-Handed Piercing Melee Weapon like a Swashbuckler?


A Swashbuckler can regains panache when "Critical Hit with a Light or One-Handed Piercing Melee Weapon" or "Killing Blow with a Light or One-Handed Piercing Melee Weapon" by herself.

"A guiding blade regains panache whenever an ally reduces a creature to 0 or fewer hit points, instead of when she herself does so."

Q1:does her ally must reduces a creature to 0 by a Light or One-Handed Piercing Melee Weapon for she regains panache?

Q2:When make a Critical Hit with a Light or One-Handed Piercing Melee Weapon herself, can she regains panache?