Ancient Dream Dragon

ckdragons's page

Organized Play Member. 873 posts. 1 review. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 873 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Dark Archive

:) Appreciate the replies. I knew I wasn't thinking this right. There's no way this was missed after so many years. LOL! :)

Dark Archive

Further, further, the Goblin Warchanter should have 10 hit points.

Bard 1 (8) + Con 13 (1) + FCB (1) = 10 hp

If I'm wrong, please let me know where. Thanks! :)

Dark Archive

Further, the Goblin Commando should have 13 hit points.

Ranger 1 (10) + Con 15 (2) + FCB (1) = 13 hp

Ranger is a PC class, receives max hit points at 1st level and FCB.

Is this correct? :)

Dark Archive

I'm scratching my head on this...

Just started Rise for a group of new players, and using the errata. How are the goblin warriors calculated at 7 hp? By my math, 1d10 (5 [5.5 rounded down]) + Con 12 (1) = 6. They are not entitled to a FCB as Warrior 1. NPC classes don't get FCB by RAW, unless I misread that section.

Thanks.

Dark Archive

Yeah... :)

Dark Archive

Thank you. That's how we played it. A was able to Charge X, though X received Cover to AC from that attack.

Just confirming I didn't overlook a rule that prevented a Charge in this situation.

Dark Archive

Character A is standing in a long 5 ft wide hallway. Character B is standing beside the doorway in a larger room, not using Stealth. Normal light throughout the hallway and room.

How far away does Character A need to be before he spots Character B?

My group has been playing that as long as there is sufficient light, there is no maximum distance in this situation.

=============================
================= B
A|<----distance?---->|
=================
=============================

Dark Archive

To clarify, Player A is charging to the space before Player B (not the space beyond in the room. Player A will finish his charge while still in the hallway, at the opening to the room. Player A will be attacking Enemy X around a hard corner at the end of the charge. Enemy X has cover from this attack.

Is this valid for a charge action?

Dark Archive

Player A wants to use a charge action to move/attack Enemy X. Player A is 30 ft from the square next to Player B. The 5 ft wide hallway opens into a room 15 ft wide. Can Player A charge to the square next to Player B, and attack Enemy X with cover? Would this be allowed?
x
x
x
--------------------------
---------------|X
A..................B
---------------|Y
--------------------------

Dark Archive

Did the last set of PF1 logos get released? Thanks.

Dark Archive

@cap708 - I use this generator very frequently. Thank you for all the work you did with this program!

Dark Archive

When will the last of the 1st Edition logos get updated/released? Thanks.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Will there be a "final" series of FAQs released for the 1st Edition books? Thought it would be nice for this with the release of Pathfinder 2nd Edition and no further 1st Edition books being released.

Dark Archive

I would also PDFs of the Ultimate Spells/Feats books, that would be a single source of every spell and feat found in PF1. An added bonus would be their original source be included in the spell/feat description.

Yes, there are websites with similar information but d20pfsrd is unofficial and I'm not fond of the search page on Archives. Having a single pdf for each to search would be best for me.

Dark Archive

Please, please, please finish the 1st edition logos :)=

Dark Archive

Do opposite spells automatically cancel each other or does the casted spell have to specifically target the active spell to act as a counterspell?

For example, a demon casts deeper darkness on itself, adjacent to a character with an active continual flame. Does the deeper darkness spell automatically cancel the continual flame, resulting in normal light conditions? Or does the demon have to specifically cast his spell as a counterspell to continual flame? What if the character's active spell was light instead of continual flame?

Another example, the party walks into a room with haste active. Recognizing this, the BBEG casts slow on the party. Is the party's haste automatically negated, removing the buff? Do the PCs get a save against the slow to see if their haste is removed? Or (which I don't think happens, but could be wrong) the party loses haste and is affected by slow if they fail their save?

Thanks.

Dark Archive

I believe it's meant to be a single item valued up to 20k. Providing multiple items totaling 20k may provide the PCs with a bit too much balanced power. IMO

Dark Archive

1. Spoiler-type questions should be posted in the appropriate forum. In this case, Pyramid of the Sky Pharaoh (GM Reference).

2. Hakotep can only have 1 shield other active on him. The other 3 shield guardians have their shield other castings available to use in the event the active one on Hakotep is dispelled.

3. All damage, regardless of whether it's from a critical hit, is halved. 50% on the target (Hakotep), and 50% caster (shield guardian). If an odd amount of damage is dealt, the extra point is taken by the target. For example, 101 points of damage is dealt, target would take 51 points and caster would take 50.

Hope that helps!

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can this deck be used with 1E?

Dark Archive

Normal NPC CRs are 1 less than HD. Those NPCs with PC-level wealth have CRs equal to HD.

IMO (RAW IIRC), how the NPC's stats are built don't affect the NPC's CR, whether you use 20-point buy or NPC heroic build (15, 14, 13, 12, 10, and 8).

Full write-up on building NPCs from scratch can be found at d20PFSRD - Creating NPCs

Dark Archive

Bumping... haven't gotten a response is over 9 months.

Dark Archive

Bumping... haven't gotten a response is over 1 week.

Dark Archive

I'm also wondering the same thing. Posted a concern, issue with my account last Monday (Jun 17). Haven't seen a reply.

Dark Archive

Downloaded today. Still no Return of the Runelords or Tyrant's Grasp logos. :(

Dark Archive

Cannot find the Bonus Bestiary. I added the free PDF in Oct 2009, and again today. It's not in my list. Was it removed? Thanks.
Bonus Bestiary

Dark Archive

Holy Necro, Batman! 8 year old thread...

Dark Archive

1) Yes. Shriezyx will almost use its bite attack if it's allowed only a single attack (best damage and poison). It will use all 5 attacks in a full round action if possible.

2) No. Only attacks that specifically mention touch are considered touch attacks against touch AC. Examples...
*** Melee incorporeal touch +5 (1d6) *** -or - *** Melee tongue +5 touch (Str damage) ***

3) No. Bite and claws are considered primary attacks and do not have -5 as secondary attacks.

Dark Archive

Curious about the chains that hold Thybidos. With the chains appearing to be self-healing, a character has to do 40 points of damage to destroy a chain (hardness 10, 30 hp) to free him, or destroy all the 6 chains individually? Does a successful Disable Device release all chains or only 1 chain?

I'm sure I could run it how I want, but I'm wondering how James intended the mechanics of the events. Should make it 6 attempts to be absolutely sure the party wants to free Thybidos? I'm fairly certain they'll be in for a surprise if they release him because they were lead to believe Thybidos will help them after the dream from Sorshen.

Dark Archive

Strife2002 wrote:

As for CMB, from what I can tell you're correct and it should be "+27", however mentioning haste is unnecessary since that spell doesn't affect CMB at all. Adding that to the master doc.

You're also right about CMD, and in that case mentioning haste as a possible reason it was listed incorrectly is valid. Adding to the master doc.

I believe you are incorrect about haste not adding to CMB. Page 199 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook says, "When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects."

Dark Archive

OmniMage wrote:

No. It would be HD * change in constitution modifier. So a 5 HD character suffering 2 points of con damage would lose 5 hit points.

If you didn't already know, you get extra hit points for having a high constitution score. Constitution modifier * HD.

Yes, I already knew that, and our group plays the way you mention. However, the wording on Archives, which is now the official Pathfinder source, suggests -5 hit points per HD per point of Constitution damage, not -5 hit points per HD per 2 points of Constitution damage.

Dark Archive

Am I reading this right? If a 5 HD character takes 3 points of Constitution damage, his hit points are lowered (current and max) 15 hit points?

AoN Ability Damage
...
Constitution: Damage to your Constitution score causes you to take penalties on your Fortitude saving throws. In addition, multiply your total Hit Dice by this penalty and subtract that amount from your current and total hit points. Lost hit points are restored when the damage to your Constitution is healed.
...

Also, does ability damage affect the # of uses per day of an ability? For example, a Monk 6 with a 16 Wisdom has pool of 6 Ki points. If this Monk takes 4 points of Wisdom damage, does his Ki pool reduce by 2 points?

Dark Archive

This is awesome video! Wish I had this when I rad Return of the Runelords a few years ago. :)

Dark Archive

No movement cost or Fly check needed if changing flying direction at the beginning of the character's turn, in same manner as a character moving on the ground. The movement costs and Fly checks only apply when the character attempts to make a move other in a straight line during his movement.

For example, a flying with flying 30 ft can move forward 60 feet as a full round move in a straight line, and turn 180 degrees at the start of its next turn to return to its previous position, all with no fly checks.

However, if the same flying wants to turn 180 degrees during its turn while moving, let's say after 30 feet (move action) to return to his starting position with its other move action, that character would be required to speed the movement cost and make the Fly check. If it fails, it continues to move forward instead of making the turn.

Dark Archive

Thank you. I completely missed Sean's post when I searched for an earlier answer. Appreciate the link. :)

Dark Archive

Thank you for your grab bag of questions! Appreciate all your answers.

I missed your live broadcast and wasn't able to post another rule question I had. Possible to humor me with your opinion on this? Thanks.

Using a weapon enchantment to bypass special material DR, does the weapon need the actual enchantment bonus or the enchantment bonus equivalent?

+3 longsword or +2 flaming longsword to bypass DR/silver?
+5 longsword or +3 flaming burst longsword to bypass DR/good?

Does the bane enchantment actually increase the actual enchantment +2 against the specific creature type?

+2 dragon bane longsword against a red dragon with stoneskin (DR/adamantine)?

Dark Archive

So, the ability damage and penalties are added sequentially? In my above example, the wizard would be unconscious if he took another point of Strength damage from the poison, but no further Strength penalties can apply (such a hit from ray of enfeeblement)?

Dark Archive

Ability Damage can cause a character to fall unconscious if the damage is greater than their ability score.
Ability Penalties can't lower an ability score below 1.

What if a Wizard has 10 Strength. He has had some really bad luck with a poison that has done 8 points of Strength damage. He is then hit with a ray of exhaustion, but makes his save making him fatigued. Fatigue applies a -2 penalty to Strength and Dexterity.

Does the Wizard fall unconscious?
Is the penalties applied in order gained?
Is the fatigue penalties applied before the poison ability damage?
Is the poison ability damage applied before the fatigue penalties?

Source for Ability Damage, Drain, and Penalty PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 555

Love to read you opinion on this and whether you were able to find an FAQ on this.

Thanks <3

Dark Archive

These are amazing work. I do have a suggestion to use a grey-colored grid instead of white. Can still see the grid but it doesn't detract as much from the artwork of the map.

Dark Archive

APs generally have 150% to 200% WBL treasure because the developers assume the characters may skip areas.

For ABP, those items still work for baddies as normal (because I'm lazy and don't want to redo stat blocks) and they mysteriously disappear when defeated. The PCs never find those specific items when looting. This generally helps keeping the PCs at 50% WBL with looting only non-ABP items.

However, just like in a normal treasure campaign, as the GM, you will need to keep track of the treasure value the characters acquire, and adjust the available loot accordingly. It's never going to be spot on perfect. PCs are going to be PCs with those characters either searching and looting EVERYTHING... or... just following the flow and skipping some areas.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
wraithstrike wrote:
ckdragons wrote:

Hi Mark, thank you for these weekly discussions.

I have an unrelated question regarding Minor Ring of Inner Fortitude. Was this item meant to provide a DR to ability damage and drain, applying the reduction with with each hit? Or was this meant to negate damage/drain to the overall total?

For example, character wearing this ring is hit twice for 3 points of Strength damage with each hit.

1) Does the ring negate the first 2 points of damage of each hit, with the character taking 2 points of Strength damage total.

2) Does the ring negate the first 2 points of damage total, with the character take 4 points of Strength damage total.

Thanks!

It's a per hit basis. Otherwise it would have a daily cap.

Doesn't necessarily need to have a daily cap for the 2nd option. The ring could negate the first 2 points of ability damage (or 1 point of ability drain) that character has accumulated until the damage/drain is healed.

Dark Archive

Hi Mark, thank you for these weekly discussions.

I have an unrelated question regarding Minor Ring of Inner Fortitude. Was this item meant to provide a DR to ability damage and drain, applying the reduction with with each hit? Or was this meant to negate damage/drain to the overall total?

For example, character wearing this ring is hit twice for 3 points of Strength damage with each hit.

1) Does the ring negate the first 2 points of damage of each hit, with the character taking 2 points of Strength damage total.

2) Does the ring negate the first 2 points of damage total, with the character take 4 points of Strength damage total.

Thanks!

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey Mark, where are you going to be posting your new write up on simulacrum? You mentioned you were going to do this in your episode.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thank you so much!

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm hoping someone was able to record the episode and will post it somewhere. :)

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

This is awesome! Thank you for doing this, Mark. Sadly, I'm going to miss your first broadcast. I'm hoping I can watch the video after the event.

Dark Archive

It's very possible. I've had fights end unexpectedly with a bad save, especially with many save-or-die spells at that level. As a GM, I would look at the DCs of your abilities against the saves of the BBEG, and then consider fudging the 2nd or 3rd save if I need 18-20 to make the save. This would be only to make it last a another round or so to make it more climatic.

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as a favorite.
YogoZuno wrote:
I'd prefer to skip remakes in favour of new and interesting content...why rehash the past over and over again?

While I don't disagree with your opinion, I was appreciating the hardcover releases of their old APs.

1. Updated rules/stat blocks to Pathfinder (from 3.5).

2. Updated encounters and information where player reviews indicated there were some difficulties, all for a better experience.

I would definitely purchase updated PF1 editions of Second Darkness and Legacy of Fire, if Paizo released them.

Dark Archive

Thank you! Appreciate the follow up.

Dark Archive

You can always use Pirate Cheat (Pirates of the Caribbean movie) or Craps.

Dark Archive

*Bump* Anyone from Paizo able to reply?

1 to 50 of 873 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>