
Ounce Felicitas |

The mystic is the exception to the rule about switching PPE and ISP. Ounce can drawn ISP and use it for PPE, as long as she does it at the time of casting, which is a free action.

Ounce Felicitas |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Since Burgurk's player is moderating a couple of SW games I'm in and just announced the use of newly published 5th printing of SWADE, I have both the 4th and 5th printing. The Protection Power was diminished in 5th edition, removing the modifiers of More Armor and Toughness. This appears to make it so the most armor one can add with a power is 2 points. On a raise this is added to toughness instead of armor.
Please let me know if we are going to continue using rules as written in 4th printing of SWADE or if 5th is going to be the official source, as it is obviously going to make a difference. I left Ounce with relatively low toughness on the assumption I could pump it up with the protection power for combat situations. If I can only boost her armor/toughness level by 2, that will leave her somewhat underarmored for combat, given the MEGA damage many will be using.

DM ShadowBloodmoon |

I will look into that further, but for now let's stick with the 4th printing version. As Burgurk said, this is RIFTS and everything should be over the top.

DM ShadowBloodmoon |

After looking into the Protection thing, I think they changed it to be more in line with the Greater Protection Mega-Power Modifier, which for 3 extra PP, gives you a straight +6 MDC to either Armor or Toughness depending on your roll. Ounce has access to this modifier as a Mystic. 1 PP for +2 Basic Protection and 4 PP for +6 MDC Protection seems a pretty good trade to me. We can still use the 4th edition version, if you like though.

Jingμ |

Hey, sorry for the extended absence. I'm going to try and get back into my games and get caught up. Can anyone summarize what I missed? Basically everything after the new party showed up.

Ounce Felicitas |

I'll take the update version. In 4th ed with a raise on the casting roll gave Ounce +6 toughness for 3 PP, but getting +6 with only a basic success on the casting roll seems better for just an extra PP.

DM ShadowBloodmoon |

@Ounce- Sounds fair to me. I think that was their intention when they changed it.
@Jingu- Welcome back. Basically the teams joined forces to liberate the slaves and now the Coalition is on their way to pick them up. we have drawn initiative for the first round of a square chase map. I'll let you get caught up and we'll continue from there. Most everyone goes before the CS anyway.

Ounce Felicitas |

Note that the map can usually only be edited from a PC rather than a device that uses a touch screen.

Burgurk |

If shot at, or attacked, I will take a reaction to activate my PSI shield, and power it to protect vs MDC.
Just curious, AFAIK a "reaction" isn't a thing in SW. Is it maybe a RIFTS thing?

Terry Jamieson |

So direct from the book.
PSI-SHIELD
Requirements: Seasoned, Cyber-Knight
Cyber-Knights with this Edge can summon a Psi-Shield, granting +3 Parry and a −4 Cover penalty to ranged strikes against her, see Shields in Savage Worlds.
The Psi-Shield costs no ISP and can be summoned as a free action. While activated, the Psi-Shield can be used to bash for Str+2d4 damage, and
provides the wielder's Spirit in MDC Armor if an enemy attempts to shoot through it.

DM ShadowBloodmoon |

Free actions that are "reactions" such as resisting opposed rolls or powers, are unlimited and occur each time the situation presents itself.
Putting up a shield is definitely a "Reaction".

Burgurk |

Ok, I understand all that, but "If shot at, or attacked, I will take a reaction to..." just made it sound like you could take that Action on the Turn of the attacker, when by-the-book you couldn't do that until your next Turn.
Technically, a RAW "reaction" is a die roll made by the player in response to any action taken by an attacker that requires an opposed roll, and that action declares the specific Trait roll the player must make. So in that sense, I don't see how Terry's "I will...activate my Psi shield" could be a "reaction".

Ounce Felicitas |

It might need to be activated during the character's turn, after which it is available whenever attacked. While activation is a free action, it might need to be done on the character's turn rather than as a reaction to an attack.

DM ShadowBloodmoon |

I can see that by RAW, and I could also argue that free actions can be taken on anyone's turn, but to keep things fair, let's say that at the end of his attack, Terry activated his shield, so it's up if and when he gets attacked.

Burgurk |

DMSBM - I was going over old posts, and discovered : Burgurk has a jetpack!
Your specs were : It is essentially a modified Falcon 300. 120MPH max, Handling +0, Range 700 miles. Can be used for three hours straight before needing to be cooled for 1d6 hours. In combat speed is 12” without a maneuvering roll or 24” if you want to get crazy…
If I were to use this in this combat, how many squares could I cover in a Round without a Raise?
You didn't mention that it could hover - can it?

DM ShadowBloodmoon |

I completely forgot about that too. No worries. The way the rules work is that you can only still make one square without a raise on a square chase, but because of your high speed, you get a +2 to your maneuvering roll every turn for free. If you maneuver as one of your actions, it's +4 total, a guaranteed two squares. This is how the Sky Cycles are able to move two squares every round. As far as hovering goes, yes, jetpacks can certainly hover.

Gummitch |

I'm getting over a cold. I'll try to make Gummitch's post soon, but feel free to 'bot him if it's holding things up.