DC's on scrolls,wands, and staves


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Can you guys help? Im having trouble finding in the core book where it tells the DC's for scrolls wands and staves. Also can anyone who is trained use "use magic" device to activate scrolls or wands?


See page 459 of the Core rulebook for the saving throws of magic items, 2nd column, labeled "Saving Throws against magic Item powers".

For Use Magic Device, yes, you can activate scrolls and wands with it if you have training in it. The DC for these checks is in the skill description, on page 108 of the Core rulebook, 2nd column.

Liberty's Edge

4 people marked this as a favorite.

In the magic item section, toward the front of the chapter is the following:

"Saving Throws Against Magic Item Powers
Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.

Staves are an exception to the rule. Treat the saving throw as if the wielder cast the spell, including caster level and all modifiers to save DCs.

Most item descriptions give saving throw DCs for various effects, particularly when the effect has no exact spell equivalent (making its level otherwise difficult to determine quickly)."

So, for a first level wand of grease, it would be 11 (10+ spell level of 1 +0 (minimum casting stat of 11 is modifier of 0)).

Staves use the casting stat modifier and other modifiers of the caster.

Yes, anyone who is trained in UMD can attempt to use a scroll or wand. It doesn't have to be on their spell list, nor do they even need to be a spell caster. It's a common schtick for rogues, for example.

Grand Lodge

Thanks to both of you-found it

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / DC's on scrolls,wands, and staves All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.