Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
Recruitment Play-by-Post Play-by-Post Discussion
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Kingmaker

Game Master Dreaming Warforged

Bold and just adventurers exploring and settling the Stolen Lands.
Now at the beginning of vol. 4 - Blood for Blood


2,501 to 2,531 of 2,531 << first < prev | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | next > last >>

Male Elf Cleric 10: AC 24, Hit Points 57/57, Perception +17, Initiative +3

Balcony?

What are the walls behind us made of? Can we still wind walk?


Spoiler:
Init +10, Perception +18(+22), AC: 20/14/17, F+9, R+10, W+10, hp: 72/72

Don't worry guys, I prepped Dimension Door. I can get us all out from behind the wall of force. But in the mean-time, it's a nice protection for anyone who wants to, say, summon up something/s that can teleport itself/themselves.


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness

Yay! Dimension door! If you can get Kriger out of there, that would be great. :)

Wait, can you use Dimension door on another player? I thought that was one of those spells that was a "You" target type spell.


Male Elf Cleric 10: AC 24, Hit Points 57/57, Perception +17, Initiative +3

Do I need line of effect to summon? Or just line of sight?

Wall of Force is invisible so I am good to go!


Spoiler:
Init +10, Perception +18(+22), AC: 20/14/17, F+9, R+10, W+10, hp: 72/72

I'm not sure if we can summon something on the other side of a Wall of Force. That's DW's call, but signs don't look good from what I've read.

Dimension Door lets me take up to one willing creature per three caster levels with me, so I can take Kriger, Malaswyn and Luca. No fuss, no muss. You guys can act after we teleport, which I guess opens up the question of whether Malaswyn can cast his spell uninterrupted while I Dimension Door him. Maybe DW will let me make a spellcraft check on that or something.


Spoiler:
Init +10, Perception +18(+22), AC: 20/14/17, F+9, R+10, W+10, hp: 72/72

Ok, so I read through line of effect, dimension door, summon monster and concentration rules. I think, as long as Malaswyn's willing, I can take him with me on a dimensional journey to the other side of the wall of force. Concentration check rules indicate that Malaswyn can concentrate and maintain his spell as long as he makes a concentration check with a DC of the non-damaging spell (dimension door, which has no save unless you're an object) plus the spell level, so, a DC 5 concentration check, unless I'm mistaken.

Does Merten need a spellcraft check to figure that out?


HP -10/67, AC 23/18/15, F/R/W 10/9/10, At: +12 1d6+5, Init: +4, Per: +1

OM - did Raveneau's attacks hit or miss?


Storyteller of the Greenbelt

Shoot! It got lost in the long list of posts...

Let me check when I get home. From memory, at least one attack hit, though he is blurred, so I (or you if you prefer) will roll for it as well.


HP -10/67, AC 23/18/15, F/R/W 10/9/10, At: +12 1d6+5, Init: +4, Per: +1

Assuming low is miss (1-20):
Blur Roll 1: 1d100 ⇒ 30
Blur Roll 2: 1d100 ⇒ 49
Blur Roll 3: 1d100 ⇒ 75

If the blur concealment is higher somehow Raveneau also gets a reroll from Blindfight.


Storyteller of the Greenbelt

Ok, good news is they all potentially hit. More when I get home.


HP -10/67, AC 23/18/15, F/R/W 10/9/10, At: +12 1d6+5, Init: +4, Per: +1

OM - the acid fog (green circle) blocks line of sight doesn't it? - so Raveneau can't physically see the Baron or the rest of them, correct?


Storyteller of the Greenbelt

Yes, no line of sight through the fog.


Storyteller of the Greenbelt

Fights get much deadlier as we go up in levels. And a few bad rolls and things can go either ways...

Please look at all your bonuses and special abilities for your saves. I know that for some of you, it's the difference between out and out for good...

Also, if you die, please let me know in the ooc whether you'd want to be resuscitated.


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness

What is that toward the south of the map? The square with the grey border. It encompasses E 6 - 8, E F G H 6, and H 6 - 8.

Can we freely walk across that? If it was described earlier I missed it.


Anyone know what happened to Malaswyn? We could probably use some divine aid right about now.


Storyteller of the Greenbelt
Javell DeLeon wrote:

What is that toward the south of the map? The square with the grey border. It encompasses E 6 - 8, E F G H 6, and H 6 - 8.

Can we freely walk across that? If it was described earlier I missed it.

the brown square is the pit, and the grey edge is the zone where you have to save or slip down.


HP -10/67, AC 23/18/15, F/R/W 10/9/10, At: +12 1d6+5, Init: +4, Per: +1

Other Mastermind:
As the spell cast was Chain Lightning targeting Merten, and Raveneau was 35 ft away from him, shouldn't he have been an invalid target for the spell?

From the PRD: You choose secondary targets as you like, but they must all be within 30 feet of the primary target

Happy to leave it as is if you prefer to avoid any retconning or I'm wrong and there was another kind of effect that allowed him to extend the spell. Though obviously I'd be fighting harder if Raveneau hadn't made his save ;)


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness

I'm curious, if there's no line of sight within the fog(as per a few posts up), would Stroon be able to see Kriger? Or Malaswyn or Luca?

I ask due to this as per chain lightning: You choose secondary targets as you like, but they must all be within 30 feet of the primary target.

It reads that other targets are chosen. If that's the case he shouldn't be able to see Kriger through the fog, I would initially gather.

BUT, there could easily be something I'm missing because I know extremely little about arcane. Plus, I obviously have no idea the special abilities(or magical gear, etc, etc...) of this guy, so, if that's the case, then just ignore me. :P


Storyteller of the Greenbelt

Raveneau:
I have misread (or read too fast...) and assumes (wrongly) that every target had to be within 30 feet of one another...

That's one of the reasons i had guard 4 fried. If it's ok, i'd prefer move on, as the battle will soon be over. Let me know if you'd prefer I review the last round.


Storyteller of the Greenbelt
Javell DeLeon wrote:

I'm curious, if there's no line of sight within the fog(as per a few posts up), would Stroon be able to see Kriger? Or Malaswyn or Luca?

I ask due to this as per chain lightning: You choose secondary targets as you like, but they must all be within 30 feet of the primary target.

It reads that other targets are chosen. If that's the case he shouldn't be able to see Kriger through the fog, I would initially gather.

BUT, there could easily be something I'm missing because I know extremely little about arcane. Plus, I obviously have no idea the special abilities(or magical gear, etc, etc...) of this guy, so, if that's the case, then just ignore me. :P

I don't know much either, unfortunately, and as the game gets to higher levels, more of this is to be expected...

I had decided that Stroon just opted to fry anything within reach, letting the spell's area work for him (as it would with other area effect spell). That's one of the reasons I had guard 4 fallen victim to the spell.

I agree with your reading though, and both interpretations could probably be argued.

If it's ok with you, I'll let things stand as is, but keep your comments in mind for the future.


HP -10/67, AC 23/18/15, F/R/W 10/9/10, At: +12 1d6+5, Init: +4, Per: +1

Other Mastermind:
No worries at all - happy to just let it sit as is so we can charge forward.


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness

Actually, I would prefer a retcon on it, to be honest.

When this game gets this high, yes, I totally agree, things like this are to be expected from BOTH sides of the screen because the game does become more difficult, it's a lot to keep up with, and is more dangerous.

And as such, I believe retcons are going to become more necessary. Especially with this kind of damage involved. I mean, you yourself have been asking Merten about Concentration checks and such to make sure he's doing what he's suppose to be doing. Which is the absolute proper thing to do. If I do something that needs correcting, I would want someone to tell me what that is. And that's player or DM, I don't care which, and I'll fix it. It's that simple. I don't see that as a problem.

All I'm asking is the same from you. Nothing more. Anyway, I don't feel like that's asking a lot, but, there it is. *Shrugs*


Storyteller of the Greenbelt
Javell DeLeon wrote:

Actually, I would prefer a retcon on it, to be honest.

When this game gets this high, yes, I totally agree, things like this are to be expected from BOTH sides of the screen because the game does become more difficult, it's a lot to keep up with, and is more dangerous.

And as such, I believe retcons are going to become more necessary. Especially with this kind of damage involved. I mean, you yourself have been asking Merten about Concentration checks and such to make sure he's doing what he's suppose to be doing. Which is the absolute proper thing to do. If I do something that needs correcting, I would want someone to tell me what that is. And that's player or DM, I don't care which, and I'll fix it. It's that simple. I don't see that as a problem.

All I'm asking is the same from you. Nothing more. Anyway, I don't feel like that's asking a lot, but, there it is. *Shrugs*

Adjusted in IC.


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness

Obviously I don't understand the concept of a retcon. I was under the impression that those not chosen(or unable to be chosen) would simply be left out, yet, everything else remain the same.

Wouldn't that have been easier? Didn't realize it was going to be a complete scene changer.


Well, we're still waiting on 2 rounds worth of actions from Malaswyn. Hopefully he'll use some of that to heal Kriger.


Storyteller of the Greenbelt
Javell DeLeon wrote:

Obviously I don't understand the concept of a retcon. I was under the impression that those not chosen(or unable to be chosen) would simply be left out, yet, everything else remain the same.

Wouldn't that have been easier? Didn't realize it was going to be a complete scene changer.

Well, I chose your interpretation, which meant that it wouldn't have been the spell that Stroon would have opted for.


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness
Other Mastermind wrote:
Well, I chose your interpretation, which meant that it wouldn't have been the spell that Stroon would have opted for.

It's not mine, it's the spells. Let's call it what it is.


Spoiler:
Init +10, Perception +18(+22), AC: 20/14/17, F+9, R+10, W+10, hp: 72/72

Since Geraint is MIA, can we get some botted healing on Kriger? What I do next is really going to depend on whether he's up or not.


Storyteller of the Greenbelt

The problem is that Malaswyn is in the Acid Fog, so he can't see so well.

Keep in mind Kriger didn't get hit by the lightning bolt, as it got revised. So he should have more hp than listed last.


Spoiler:
Init +10, Perception +18(+22), AC: 20/14/17, F+9, R+10, W+10, hp: 72/72

Ah, ok, I was unclear on that. I'll get actions for Luca and Merten posted soonish.


Male Elf Cleric 10: AC 24, Hit Points 57/57, Perception +17, Initiative +3

Hello, sorry for the out.

I have been dealing with a lot of RL business... but I guess we're in a life or death struggle so I'd better pull on my holy symbol and get to work.

2,501 to 2,531 of 2,531 << first < prev | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Community / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / Scipion del Ferro's Kingmaker Discussion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.