
GM Super Zero |

Please fill out the Slides (linked above) with your character's token and information and your marching order.
Remember that while you can get Starfinder Society credit for this adventure, it's not actually a Society scenario. That means the character you play in this game doesn't have to be the same as the Society character getting credit. Make sure RPG Chronicles is filled out for your SFS character's information, who can be any level (although that's probably a moot point right now).
And, uh, that's about it. Go ahead and dot in or introduce your characters.

![]() |

GM Super Zero |

GM - is our equipment confiscated?
(I would assume yes...)
Yes, but I wouldn't be terribly concerned about it.
Noticing there are actual specific pregens for this, I'll go with Chk Chk then :)
I said that! The one in the adventure is based on the playtest rules though, so you probably want to use the one on the website. Though there are a lot of character notes if you want to look at those.

Friendly Neighborhood Pregen |

Noticing there are actual specific pregens for this, I'll go with Chk Chk then :)I said that! The one in the adventure is based on the playtest rules though, so you probably want to use the one on the website. Though there are a lot of character notes if you want to look at those.
A fair point :p
Also, I will assume its been enough time in the 'brig' all together that Chk Chk has gotten his Mystic Bond linked with the other ill-fated prisoners.

GM Super Zero |

Absolutely.
We still need tokens and information for most of you on the Slides.

![]() |

I have a minor rules question regarding one of Jock's class feats, Quick Swap. The rules state, "You can switch weapons in stressful situations so that you quickly set yourself up to punish incoming foes. You stow your current weapon and draw another two-handed weapon."
It seems that if you can draw another two-handed weapon, you could also instead draw a one-handed weapon. Is that correct?
No.
It would say “weapon” if it meant that.

![]() |

Hey gang,
Dr. Kulkorr is 2 AC points short due to the expensiveness of heavy armor, and looking at the slides, I see that our other Soldier and our Operative have top ACs.
Unless there is strong objection, I’m going to grab the force field!

![]() |

We've had some bad news at home that's making it a bit of a struggle to get in the right frame of mind to post. (Our 12 year old tom cat has cancer; he's not suffering bad effects yet, but we don't want to put him through chemotherapy or surgery, so we're going to give him a steroid that may help slow the progression and make the most of the time we have left with him.)
So if you need to 'bot me, go ahead.

GM Super Zero |

is it too late for a total noob to hop in?
Everyone is, the game just came out.
But I am afraid we're full, yes.

![]() |

Does throwing a grenade require a d20 roll to place it where you want to explode or is it like other area weapons where you can position the center of the burst anywhere within the first range increment without a strike roll?
Also, the adventure lists the frag grenades as having a 30' range, but p. 280 of the Starfinder Core Rules lists grenades as having a range of 70'. None of the grenade descriptions mention any other range values for individual grenades. It probably won't matter in this adventure, but which range is correct?

![]() |

Does throwing a grenade require a d20 roll to place it where you want to explode or is it like other area weapons where you can position the center of the burst anywhere within the first range increment without a strike roll?
Also, the adventure lists the frag grenades as having a 30' range, but p. 280 of the Starfinder Core Rules lists grenades as having a range of 70'. None of the grenade descriptions mention any other range values for individual grenades. It probably won't matter in this adventure, but which range is correct?
Click “equipment” and “grenades” for general rules / answers to your questions!

![]() |

That's what I was looking at. It has since occurred to me that this adventure was using the playtest rules, so the update to all grenades having range 70' was probably a change from the playtest.

![]() |

◆ Strike with area attack weapon
◆◆) Area Fire w/ Suppressing Fire w/ Primary Target vs Captain
Some links for you!

![]() |

Navasi's shot misses, but Firestorm isn't ready for the blast from Jock's weapon. She staggers as it hits her.
Hit, so [dice=Stellar Cannon Damage, primary target]1d10
[dice=Firestorm Reflex]1d20+5 Failure for 9 damage. That bloodies her.
Since this is my first time running this character and using this attack mode, I want to make sure I understand it.
Jock's previous post, the one that included the extra action of a stride, did make a 1d10 roll for damage and got a 9. Was the 1d10 roll made by the GM replacing that roll or was that for something else?
Damage was 9. Was that from Jock's damage roll or was it the 1d10 roll for 7 + 2 for something else?

GM Super Zero |

You rolled for the area effect, but not your primary target strike. You hit so you get both. Did I add it wrong? Not impossible. I'll double-check.
And come to think of it, you should get the +1 from Get 'Em.
Edit: Oh, no you shouldn't. Different targets.

![]() |

I made the primary target roll and got an 18. Then I rolled damage. It is my understanding you don't make a strike roll for an area attack. Enemies just roll saves.

GM Super Zero |

Right. I did't roll another attack, just damage.
You hit with the area and the primary attack bonus strike, so you needed two damage rolls.

![]() |

Primary Target
You can focus fire on a single target when unleashing the full devastation of your powerful area weaponry. Before you make an area attack with a weapon (such as from the Area Fire (◆◆) or Auto-Fire (◆◆) actions), you can make a ranged Strike as a free action with the same weapon against a single creature in the area, who's selected as your primary target. If your attack is a burst, you must select the creature closest to the center of the attack. If your attack is a cone or line, you must select the creature closest to you. If two or more creatures are equidistant, you can choose which one is your primary target. On a hit, if your primary target rolls a success against your Area Fire or Auto-Fire action, they get a failure instead. This Strike doesn't count toward your multiple attack penalty.
My previous understanding is that it doesn't give you two damage rolls, just one "more-assured" damage roll. Am I shortchanging myself?

GM Super Zero |

It says "make a Strike" and doesn't say not to roll damage. So you'd follow the normal rules for a Strike, and a Strike normally deals damage.

![]() |

Okay. I was confused because the weapon has an area trait which normally doesn't require a strike roll.
I'm still not clear on how the saves apply. If the Primary Target strike hits, does that damage apply entirely, just like any attack vs. AC? Or does the target get a reflex save and if so, do they have to make two reflex saves, one for each rolled damage amount, or just one save for the combined amounts?

GM Super Zero |

You hit with your strike. I also rolled a save against your area damage and failed.

GM Super Zero |

Oh, I should've told you to make downtime checks if you want.
Well, I'm already late with these so I'll just let you handle that yourselves, then. You do get eight days of downtime.
Chronicles sent!