
TapTap |

Honestly, Kerruk's charm spell seems the best option.

TapTap |

Since its my first combat the simplification of no map is not entirely unwelcome.

GM Nayr |

Hehe...well said. Very good then.
The cutlass is fine with weapon finesse - Jack cleared that with me while making his character. It looks to me like you got it right - use your Base att bonus, plus your deck bonus, the. Damage is just damage, but it should be 1d4. You use the M damage for weapons since you are Med size.

TapTap |

I helped with Jack's character development, and I think I wrote down TapTap's weapon stats. You are right, he should have rolled a 1d4

TapTap |

Clarification: I read: Unarmed Attacks: Striking for damage with punches, kicks, and head butts is much like attacking with a melee weapon, except for the following: Attacks of Opportunity: Attacking unarmed provokes an attack of opportunity from the character you attack, provided she is armed. The attack of opportunity comes before your attack. An unarmed attack does not provoke attacks of opportunity from other foes, nor does it provoke an attack of opportunity from an unarmed foe.
Since Jack is armed and was attacked by an unarmed pirate, does Jack get an attack of opportunity?

GM Nayr |

No problem at all Sara! It's a bit unusual to see finesse for the cutlass, so it was a good question:).
We'll continue on as-is. Please let me know if anyone needs more detail about the layout. The lower berths have stacked hammocks throughout much of the room, so if you move back towards them, some other mechanics would come into play.

TapTap |

I wonder whether Jack should have attacked without a weapon. These brutes aren't....
If there is a weapons prohibition on board, or should a pirates die, I'm not sure of the consequences.

TapTap |

Jack: Look to using a panache point to parry attacks and getting an attack of opp in return: GM: how would he handle that, before or after you post pirate rolls.

TapTap |

Too late now TapTap.
I'm curious how feinting works, because it sort of looks like I would have to forgo my attack to use it.
I'm definitely new to combat round action types etc.
As far as that its too late to not use your dagger: Well, you cannot hide that you had a dagger, true...but you might avoid killing him...which might have bad repercussions from the officers.I mean, the guy is attacking you with non-lethal force, but is capable of making lethal unarmed attacks. I'd reciprocate the favor and wisdom.
Now that it seems likely that you dealt a total of 5 dmg, you might switch to hitting with the hilt (i.e. non-lethal damage, -4 attack roll penalty though), or drop it (free action) and attack with fists.)
The same advice goes for anyone else using lethal force (Kerruk)
Else I might have to use cure-light wounds on these guys just so you dont have to be keel hauled for murder

xeyed-jack |

I misunderstood the distinction between lethal and non-lethal damage (or rather, I assumed that non-lethal was normal damage, and lethal was just "extra" damage e.g from rolling natural 20). My bad. Of course, I had no way of knowing before hand whether lethal punches were being thrown my way.
If I deal non-lethal damage with my dagger, is the non-lethal damage still 1d4?

TapTap |

GM Nayr: Are there any other rolls we need to make?

GM Nayr |

All good on rolls, and now onto the next!
No worries Jack; you have to specify if you want to use nonlethal, and if you do, you have to take a -4 to your attack roll. I'd suggest that you keep the lethal damage that you've already done, and if you want to move forward with nonlethal damage, take the -4 from here on.
Kerruk - a 20 indicates crit hit potential, which requires a reroll for the additional damage. It's not an auto-double like D&D used to be. Sorry for the crap roll!

TapTap |

Looking at Jack's Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex) out of curiosity, I am confused.
Does the parry cost 1 panache, and the riposte cost an additional panache point?
for ref:
Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. The swashbuckler makes an attack roll as if she were making an attack of opportunity; for each size category the attacking creature is larger than the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler takes a –2 penalty on this roll. If her result is greater than the attacking creature's result, the creature's attack automatically misses. The swashbuckler must declare the use of this ability after the creature's attack is announced, but before its attack roll is made. Upon performing a successful parry and if she has at least 1 panache point, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action make an attack against the creature whose attack she parried, provided that creature is within her reach. This deed's cost cannot be reduced by any ability or effect that reduces the number of panache points a deed costs.

Kerruk Gahar |

hazarding a guess re Parry&Riposte, I think the initial parry costs a Panache point. If this expenditure uses the last of Jack's Panache, he can't make the attack. if he still has some left, he can attack. This doesn't cost a point but there must be points left. A bit like Orisons/Cantrips and Spell Slots, I'm thinking.
of course, that could be totally wrong.

TapTap |

Not to be nosy, but I don't understand the bonuses applied to Arden's attack.
Flurry of Blows 1: 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (7) + 3 = 10; 1d6 + 2 ⇒ (3) + 2 = 5
Str bonus +2 Tap's song +1. Attack roll seems fine, but dmg is missing +1.
Flurry of Blows 2: 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (8) + 3 = 11; 1d6 + 2 ⇒ (5) + 2 = 7
Doesn't second attack have a -2 to attack roll? Also +1 missing from dmg

TapTap |

Ah.that explains the rolls, and all bonuses...but unless Arden is deaf, she should have +1 on attack and dmg rolls from Taps Inspire Courage Performance.

TapTap |

Q: Is Tap cornered, or is there a 5-ft step, or square reachable by movement where I'd not be threatened?

GM Nayr |

Sorry Tap, no backwards movement left, unless you take a retreat action to go back through the hammocks, or take a lateral 5-foot step, but with that you'll still be threatened.
Kerruk's interpretation of the party and riposte is correct, at least as far as I can tell. So...that means that's the house rule;). PF does a great job managing an immense amount of info, but every now and again there are items like this that are clear as mud.
Sorry if I've been missing those bonuses Arden! I'll start going over these a bit better; been remiss in checking.

TapTap |

You can just sheath your knife. Probably invokes an attack of opportunity (AoO). Parry it, and counter attack...better than -4, better than killing him.

TapTap |

Well, at least I think you can parry an attack of opportunity
Knowledge: 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (8) + 6 = 14
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2tiv3?Parry-and-Riposte-an-Attack-of-Opportunit y

TapTap |

Speaking of which. Its hard to tell (no map) can I cast grease in a 10' square area that wont effect my players but will get multiple enemies?