
LoneKnave |
He loses scaling weapon damage and free weapon focus (accuracy).
He exchange proficiency with a possibly good weapon for IUS (a bad weapon).
Sacred weapon is also an accuracy boost, which Ki is not. Giving up your versatile combat feats for TWF on a 3/4th BAB class (that just lost yet another accuracy boost) is the trappiest trap to ever trap. Traptrap.
EDIT: also, I'll go ahead and say that I think the warpriest is actually quite meh unless you abuse 1 or 2 tricks, and didn't mind the sacred fist being a bit of an upgrade.

Gisher |

So can someone explain if the Feral Hunter archetype’s Feral Focus is worse than the normal hunters? Namely that the normal hunter can apply it's dead companions thing always and then activate another as a swift. It looks like the feral one has one permanent, but doesn't say anything about the swift action one.
There was a previous PDT post that addressed this issue by eliminating the second Feral Focus.
First the Feral Hunter, who still had two powers that didn't do anything, loses those to gain some cool benefits:
Tentative Errata wrote:In the Feral Hunter’s Feral Focus ability, in the last sentence, after “animal focus, ” add “second animal focus, ”. In the Precise Summoned Animal ability, in the first sentence, change “if the hunter chooses OutflankAPG as a bonus feat, she grants it” to “the hunter grants all her teamwork feats”. In the Summon Pack ability, after the third sentence, add “She may increase the duration of any one summon nature’s ally spell affected by this ability to 1 minute per level. She may only have one spell with a duration increased by this ability active at a time.”
It looks like the "add second animal focus" didn't make it into the errata even though the rest of the changes did. Without that change it would seem that the second Feral Focus is still there, but I have no idea how you use it.
Mark, did this tentative change get left out on purpose?

![]() |

Mark Seifter wrote:I took a look. The iconic medium is not adding it on thrown damage, since it isn't being used as a melee weapon then. That seems right to me.Has it been pointed out that the medium is using a piercing weapon with Slashing Grace?
In Pathfinder, daggers are type: P or S. So with the new ruling on the feat, it should work out.

![]() |

graywulfe wrote:Xethik wrote:Something tells me that in the many edits this went through something got deleted/reworded here. I would suggest that after they officially announce the errata, first make sure they have not fixed this already, and if not post a FAQ thread.Page 140—In the Pummeling Style entry, change the
Benefit entry to read “Combine your unarmed strikes
together”.Huh... That's a really bad feat! Does nothing.
Xethik is quoting a change to the feat's listing on the feat table, not the actual errata to the feat itself.
The actual errata for Pummeling Charge reads as follows:
Change the Pummeling Style feat’s introduction to “Your unarmed strikes weave together in an effortless combo, focusing on the spots you’ve weakened with the last hit.” Change its Benefit section to “Benefit: Whenever you use a full-attack action or f lurry of blows to make multiple attacks against a single opponent with unarmed strikes, total the damage from all hits before applying damage reduction. This ability works only with unarmed strikes, no matter what other abilities you might possess."
So actually, its a flat nerf to any builds that were using Feral Combat Training in conjunction with the feat, but that's about it.
Wait, does the change to the Benefits section change the entire feat, or just clarify how the stacking of damage works? i.e. Does the "one crit becomes a full crit" part of the feat get taken away?

shroudb |
Alexander Augunas wrote:Wait, does the change to the Benefits section change the entire feat, or just clarify how the stacking of damage works? i.e. Does the "one crit becomes a full crit" part of the feat get taken away?graywulfe wrote:Xethik wrote:Something tells me that in the many edits this went through something got deleted/reworded here. I would suggest that after they officially announce the errata, first make sure they have not fixed this already, and if not post a FAQ thread.Page 140—In the Pummeling Style entry, change the
Benefit entry to read “Combine your unarmed strikes
together”.Huh... That's a really bad feat! Does nothing.
Xethik is quoting a change to the feat's listing on the feat table, not the actual errata to the feat itself.
The actual errata for Pummeling Charge reads as follows:
Change the Pummeling Style feat’s introduction to “Your unarmed strikes weave together in an effortless combo, focusing on the spots you’ve weakened with the last hit.” Change its Benefit section to “Benefit: Whenever you use a full-attack action or f lurry of blows to make multiple attacks against a single opponent with unarmed strikes, total the damage from all hits before applying damage reduction. This ability works only with unarmed strikes, no matter what other abilities you might possess."
So actually, its a flat nerf to any builds that were using Feral Combat Training in conjunction with the feat, but that's about it.
yeah that doesnt exist anymore.
actually, pummeling style isn't a "single" attack anymore at all (so making it crit all wouldn't make sense in the new style). you just count all the damage toghether for DR purposes ONLY
edit:
i'm pretty sad at the rogue nerfs though... unwarranted
(twist away and surprise maneuvers mostly)

Gisher |

They made the same change to Picaroon. Which would be nice, if they hadn't also made sure that a Picaroon can't benefit from Slashing Grace. (Although I suppose that since Fencing Grace will never be changed, all Picaroons will now just have to use rapiers.)
I suppose you could also use a scimitar with Dervish Dance, but I feel your pain. I really wanted to build an Investigator who used Slashing Grace to TWF with daggers. My first build used Arcane Strike instead, but the termination of the SLA option killed that.

ZanThrax |

ZanThrax wrote:They made the same change to Picaroon. Which would be nice, if they hadn't also made sure that a Picaroon can't benefit from Slashing Grace. (Although I suppose that since Fencing Grace will never be changed, all Picaroons will now just have to use rapiers.)I suppose you could also use a scimitar with Dervish Dance, but I feel your pain. I really wanted to build an Investigator who used Slashing Grace to TWF with daggers. My first build used Arcane Strike instead, but the termination of the SLA option killed that.
DD won't work for Picaroon though; it already required that you not have a weapon or shield in your offhand. Plus, it's at least implied that you're supposed to be doing a spinny dance, which isn't very piratical, imo.

Melkiador |

Sacred weapon is also an accuracy boost, which Ki is not. Giving up your versatile combat feats for TWF on a 3/4th BAB class (that just lost yet another accuracy boost) is the trappiest trap to ever trap. Traptrap.
You are making a false assumption that Sacred Weapon is usually useful. Sacred Weapon collects dust unless you run out of spells/fervor.
But this argument may just confuse this thread. Maybe it can be continued in some other thread.
And I'd say the only thing "meh" about the warpriest is that he should have had 4 skill points instead of 2. When you are pretty much assumed to have knowledge religion and spellcraft, it leaves you with no actual choices in your skill points.

Gisher |

Gisher wrote:DD won't work for Picaroon though; it already required that you not have a weapon or shield in your offhand. Plus, it's at least implied that you're supposed to be doing a spinny dance, which isn't very piratical, imo.ZanThrax wrote:They made the same change to Picaroon. Which would be nice, if they hadn't also made sure that a Picaroon can't benefit from Slashing Grace. (Although I suppose that since Fencing Grace will never be changed, all Picaroons will now just have to use rapiers.)I suppose you could also use a scimitar with Dervish Dance, but I feel your pain. I really wanted to build an Investigator who used Slashing Grace to TWF with daggers. My first build used Arcane Strike instead, but the termination of the SLA option killed that.
Ah, right. I forgot about DD's restriction regarding the other hand.

Gisher |

ZanThrax wrote:They made the same change to Picaroon.Those archetypes were pretty clearly in error before. In the playtest, the finesse didn't come until 2nd level, so the archetypes also assumed it didn't come till 2nd.
That explanation makes sense. I have been baffled by this since the book came out.

Gisher |

Alexander Augunas wrote:I took a look. The iconic medium is not adding it on thrown damage, since it isn't being used as a melee weapon then. That seems right to me.Here's a new question for you then, Mr. Seifter!
I was reading the changes to Slashing Grace, and was pleased that it now applies to my daggers. The way that the post-errata Slashing Grace is worded, it makes no distinguishment between ranged attacks and melee attacks with the selected weapon.
So if I'm a flying blade and I pick dagger, would Slashing Grace allow me to add my Dexterity modifier to my dagger's damage when I throw it?
(I figured you might know considering that the Iconic Medium uses a starknife and apparently has Slashing Grace.)
Starknives are light piercing weapons. So when Slashing Grace says "Choose one kind of light or one-handed slashing weapon..." that means that I can pick a one-handed slashing weapon or any light weapon regardless of the damage type? I can pick shortsword even though it is piercing or light mace which is bludgeoning? I'm hoping this is true, but that sentence, together with the name of the feat, really does suggest that the only valid light weapon choices are those that deal slashing damage. Could we get some clarification on this issue?

Chess Pwn |

I'm thinking that, if designers haven't come in and confirmed that this is how it's supposed to be, that it's not clear to me that precise strike is dead for magi.
Quote:Even if he gains a panache pool through another means, the magus is not considered to have at least 1 point in his panache pool for the purpose of deeds selected with arcane deed, and his effective swashbuckler level for determining such a deed’s effect is 0.This is convoluted wording, but it seems to me that this indicates that taking a feat such as amateur swashbuckler or levels in swashbuckler don't let you use the panache points or the swashbuckler levels from that class level or feat for the deeds you get from arcane deed. Your magus levels and arcane pool still count for that purpose.
Maybe I'm wrong and they wanted to make flamboyant arcana and arcane deed another one of the 90% of utterly useless crap in the magus arcana options. I don't think that's the case though. They let daring champion keep it, so they don't seem to want to make it purely a swashbuckler-only thing.
a magus never counts as having at least 1 point in their pool and they are a lv0 swashbuckler. they really wanted the magus to not do the swashbuckler thing.

Chess Pwn |

Mark Seifter wrote:Starknives are light piercing weapons. So when Slashing Grace says "Choose one kind of light or one-handed slashing weapon..." that means that I can pick a one-handed slashing weapon or any light weapon regardless of the damage type? I can pick shortsword even though it is piercing or light mace which is bludgeoning? I'm hoping this is true, but that sentence, together with the name of the feat, really does suggest that the only valid light weapon choices are those that deal slashing damage. Could we get some clarification on this issue?Alexander Augunas wrote:I took a look. The iconic medium is not adding it on thrown damage, since it isn't being used as a melee weapon then. That seems right to me.Here's a new question for you then, Mr. Seifter!
I was reading the changes to Slashing Grace, and was pleased that it now applies to my daggers. The way that the post-errata Slashing Grace is worded, it makes no distinguishment between ranged attacks and melee attacks with the selected weapon.
So if I'm a flying blade and I pick dagger, would Slashing Grace allow me to add my Dexterity modifier to my dagger's damage when I throw it?
(I figured you might know considering that the Iconic Medium uses a starknife and apparently has Slashing Grace.)
we already got clarification, it's a light slashing weapon or a one-handed slashing weapon. It was clarified for the swashbuckler when it says "a light or one-handed piercing weapon"

Bandw2 |

Gisher wrote:we already got clarification, it's a light slashing weapon or a one-handed slashing weapon. It was clarified for the swashbuckler when it says "a light or one-handed piercing weapon"Mark Seifter wrote:Starknives are light piercing weapons. So when Slashing Grace says "Choose one kind of light or one-handed slashing weapon..." that means that I can pick a one-handed slashing weapon or any light weapon regardless of the damage type? I can pick shortsword even though it is piercing or light mace which is bludgeoning? I'm hoping this is true, but that sentence, together with the name of the feat, really does suggest that the only valid light weapon choices are those that deal slashing damage. Could we get some clarification on this issue?Alexander Augunas wrote:I took a look. The iconic medium is not adding it on thrown damage, since it isn't being used as a melee weapon then. That seems right to me.Here's a new question for you then, Mr. Seifter!
I was reading the changes to Slashing Grace, and was pleased that it now applies to my daggers. The way that the post-errata Slashing Grace is worded, it makes no distinguishment between ranged attacks and melee attacks with the selected weapon.
So if I'm a flying blade and I pick dagger, would Slashing Grace allow me to add my Dexterity modifier to my dagger's damage when I throw it?
(I figured you might know considering that the Iconic Medium uses a starknife and apparently has Slashing Grace.)
so the iconic is wrong then?

Chess Pwn |

Chess Pwn wrote:So can someone explain if the Feral Hunter archetype’s Feral Focus is worse than the normal hunters? Namely that the normal hunter can apply it's dead companions thing always and then activate another as a swift. It looks like the feral one has one permanent, but doesn't say anything about the swift action one.There was a previous PDT post that addressed this issue by eliminating the second Feral Focus.
PDT wrote:First the Feral Hunter, who still had two powers that didn't do anything, loses those to gain some cool benefits:
Tentative Errata wrote:In the Feral Hunter’s Feral Focus ability, in the last sentence, after “animal focus, ” add “second animal focus, ”. In the Precise Summoned Animal ability, in the first sentence, change “if the hunter chooses OutflankAPG as a bonus feat, she grants it” to “the hunter grants all her teamwork feats”. In the Summon Pack ability, after the third sentence, add “She may increase the duration of any one summon nature’s ally spell affected by this ability to 1 minute per level. She may only have one spell with a duration increased by this ability active at a time.”
It looks like the "add second animal focus" didn't make it into the errata even though the rest of the changes did. Without that change it would seem that the second Feral Focus is still there, but I have no idea how you use it.
Mark, did this tentative change get left out on purpose?
well I wasn't asking about the ability second animal focus. I was asking about the Minutes per day use of the animal focus ability that you get at lv1.

Chess Pwn |

Chess Pwn wrote:so the iconic is wrong then?Gisher wrote:we already got clarification, it's a light slashing weapon or a one-handed slashing weapon. It was clarified for the swashbuckler when it says "a light or one-handed piercing weapon"Mark Seifter wrote:Starknives are light piercing weapons. So when Slashing Grace says "Choose one kind of light or one-handed slashing weapon..." that means that I can pick a one-handed slashing weapon or any light weapon regardless of the damage type? I can pick shortsword even though it is piercing or light mace which is bludgeoning? I'm hoping this is true, but that sentence, together with the name of the feat, really does suggest that the only valid light weapon choices are those that deal slashing damage. Could we get some clarification on this issue?Alexander Augunas wrote:I took a look. The iconic medium is not adding it on thrown damage, since it isn't being used as a melee weapon then. That seems right to me.Here's a new question for you then, Mr. Seifter!
I was reading the changes to Slashing Grace, and was pleased that it now applies to my daggers. The way that the post-errata Slashing Grace is worded, it makes no distinguishment between ranged attacks and melee attacks with the selected weapon.
So if I'm a flying blade and I pick dagger, would Slashing Grace allow me to add my Dexterity modifier to my dagger's damage when I throw it?
(I figured you might know considering that the Iconic Medium uses a starknife and apparently has Slashing Grace.)
Most likely, iconics often have things wrong with them.

![]() |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

(Moved to this thread)
I am still confused about the Hunter teaching the Animal Companion skirmisher tricks:
1. Can any tricks be taught, and we simply replace the word "ranger" with "animal companion"
2. OR Can the hunter only teach the few skirmisher tricks that mention animal companions?
I told my players to use interpretation #1. But some of the talents don't make sense or are confusing when used for the AC:
All the immediate action ones: for Catfall and Second Chance Strike: would the Hunter use an immediate action as well as the AC?
Cunning Pantomime: I can't imagine we mean to give the AC tongues
etc
Interpretation #1 seems simpler at first glance, but it opens up a host of difficulties. #2 is a lot more limiting but easier to implement. And I have no idea what the intent was with this to begin with.

![]() |

TriOmegaZero wrote:Insain Dragoon wrote:Then when you stop moving you don't have an immediate action to spend on charmed life when someone casts any spell on you. Yeah, I know how it works.No, you don't. Immediate actions are available after your turn ends. The immediate action you use on your turn does not deny you your next immediate. Your immediate denies your next swift. Regardless, Charmed Life is pretty s@@~ty.
Immediate Action wrote:You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn).Using an immediate action on your turn actually changes the action type to swift. And if you parried the last round you thus cannot do it.
But yeah, charmed life isn't that awesome
Does it really? I guess I shouldn't have bothered editing swift to immediate in my response.

![]() |
shroudb wrote:Does it really? I guess I shouldn't have bothered editing swift to immediate in my response.TriOmegaZero wrote:Insain Dragoon wrote:Then when you stop moving you don't have an immediate action to spend on charmed life when someone casts any spell on you. Yeah, I know how it works.No, you don't. Immediate actions are available after your turn ends. The immediate action you use on your turn does not deny you your next immediate. Your immediate denies your next swift. Regardless, Charmed Life is pretty s@@~ty.
Immediate Action wrote:You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn).Using an immediate action on your turn actually changes the action type to swift. And if you parried the last round you thus cannot do it.
But yeah, charmed life isn't that awesome
More or less, yeah. From the CRB (bolding mine):
Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

Cyrad RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16 |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

I don't understand the change to Flamboyant Arcana and Arcane Deed. It seems much more convoluted than it already was.
I'll be depressed if they gut the one decent thing the magus got from this book. The errata didn't fix Eldritch Scion, a lesson in how to create a broken, horribly written, overcomplicated, and unfun archetype.

![]() |

i'm pretty sad at the rogue nerfs though... unwarranted
(twist away and surprise maneuvers mostly)
Help me understand the nerf to Surprise Maneuvers.
A) Did they just break it so that it can only be used by creatures who can take free action combat maneuver checks after making an attack??
...after all, it does say "dice rolled" now. Nobody gets to roll their sneak attack dice on a combat maneuver check. So it must apply to people who can make a check at the same time, or as a free action / triggered after an attack that could get sneak...
or
B) There is no real nerf, "dice rolled" might as well still say "number of dice", because as written "dice rolled" either means nothing new or it means nobody can use the feat at all without the GM allowing them to use it on a free action / subsequent attack for the few PCs that get Grab (hello Tetori) or whomever... (see above)
or
C) The feat just don't work now. Even Grab or whatever wouldn't help you because a strict RAW (read: PFS) GM will say that your free action Combat Maneuver check is happening after your attack that got Sneak Attack dice, so basically there's no way to actually use this.
Or am I totally missing something here?
Thanks,
-Goh

Alric Rahl |
I just want to mention about the Swashbucklers Parry and riposte ability, you had to spend an available AoO too to use the ability, so if you only had lets say 3 AoO's available for a round (due to low Dex but with Combat Reflexes, yes I know a Swash would have this higher) and you were attacked by 4 people, or 1 person with 4 attacks and then attacked by more people in the same round you still only got those 3 Parries. I dont get why people are saying you could get infinite free attacks.
EDIT: Upon re reading the ability it is even less viable. It says upon a successful parry and you have at least 1 panache you can spend an Immediate action to make an attack against the aggressor. Since you only have 1 Immediate/Swift action a round, if you use it to make the attack you can only Parry the rest of the attacks, you wont get another free attack since you have no more immediate actions.

The Green Tea Gamer |
10 people marked this as a favorite. |

"We want dex to damage"
"But that will wreak mechanical havoc on the system. Look, I know it's not perfectly balanced, but a big deal is how for melee strength is used for d amage and dex for AC...and most skills...and ranged attacks. It really puts too much on one attribute to do dex based damage. We gave you a feat for accuracy. Isn't that enough?"
"My precious concept needs to be exactly as viable as all others! Gimme! Don't care about anything but my CONCEPT!"
"Here. Dervish dance. Dex to damage and accuracy, and a pretty easy prerequisite. Shut up now."
"Waaah, it's only one weapon!"
"Ugh, geeze, fine, here, slashing grace. Can you please shut up now?"
"Rapiers make more sense than battleaxes, though."
"Okay, good point. Here. Fencing grace. Now you can choose from like a quarter of the weapons in the game between these three feats. Surely that should keep you happy. Right?"
"Feat tax! Scandalous! What about blunt weapons? We want EVERYTHING!"
"But if everything is dex-able, there will be no point to 1-handing anything with strength."
"Don't care. Concept before all, even game balancing mechanics. Also...light weapons with slashing grace?"
"Ooh, good catch on slashing grace. Let's change that so it says light instead. Makes more sense. Also, here's a new rogue that can dex to damage just about anything that makes sense. Sound good?"
"I DON'T WANT TO PLAY A ROGUE! NOW I CAN'T USE A SMALL SUBSET OF SLASHING WEAPONS THAT ARE OBSCURE!! I HATE YOU!!"
*sigh*

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I posted this question in another thread:
In the Steadfast Personality entry, change the
Benefits entry to “Use your Charisma modifier on saves
against mind-affecting effects”.
In the Steadfast Personality feat, change
the Benefit section to “Benefit: Add your Charisma
modifier instead of your Wisdom bonus on Will saves.
If you have a Wisdom penalty, you must apply both your
Wisdom penalty and your Charisma modifier.”
Will saves, or Will saves against Mind-affecting effects?

shroudb |
shroudb wrote:And if you cannot use your swift then you cannot use your immediate in your turn by extensionYeah, but you provoke on your turn, use your immediate, your turn ends, and you have your NEXT turns swift available again, allowing you to immediate action whatever you want.
For a single round yes.
Round 1: you provoke and riposte on your turn (use your swift(
Round1: you parry opponent (immediate)
Round 2: you don't have a swift available, so you cannot riposte on your turn, only on your opponents turn.

Chess Pwn |

I don't understand the change to Flamboyant Arcana and Arcane Deed. It seems much more convoluted than it already was.
I'll be depressed if they gut the one decent thing the magus got from this book. The errata didn't fix Eldritch Scion, a lesson in how to create a broken, horribly written, overcomplicated, and unfun archetype.
flamboyant arcana makes most deeds not work. You never have 1 point remaining in your pool and you have a swashbuckler level of 0 so precise strike adds 0 damage

![]() |

Please note that I never said infinite attacks. We can quibble over how "it's not free, you have to spend actions and AoOs" but every one I've come across has had Combat Reflexes, so they get to parry plenty of times a round.
For a single round yes.
Round 1: you provoke and riposte on your turn (use your swift(
Round1: you parry opponent (immediate)
Round 2: you don't have a swift available, so you cannot riposte on your turn, only on your opponents turn.
This has nothing to do with my refutation of Insain Dragoon's claim that you can't use Charmed Life after provoking to get an extra attack. You're also wrong about parry and riposte both costing actions as well as have the order backwards. Parry just costs an AoO, not an action.
Turn 1: Move, provoke, parry, riposte on successful parry.
Between Turn 1 and Turn 2: Immediate action for Charmed Life.