Imrijka

strangepork's page

RPG Superstar 9 Season Star Voter. Organized Play Member. 157 posts. 63 reviews. 1 list. No wishlists. 32 Organized Play characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 157 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>
Dark Archive

BigNorseWolf wrote:
strangepork wrote:

what FAQ? i see no FAQ update, just ppl complaining/discussing it??

very bottom of last page

sorry i edited my post, but thx for that!

thats post #250 in a thread complaining about the FAQ change. what i mean is how did people get clued in to the FAQ change in the first place? i monitor the paizo blog and didnt recall seeing it, just checked and it was not in there.

ty in advance

Dark Archive

what FAQ? i see no FAQ update, just ppl complaining/discussing it??

EDIT - i see the change in the FAQ of course. what i mean is, it was not mentioned in the paizo blog. other than seeing a zillion ppl posting about this, how/where should i have known the FAQ had been updated before being surprised by this at a con?

Dark Archive

extradimensional spaces are also extraplanar spaces, if that helps.

core rulebook page 501

this brings up the odd case I recently had come up where a player wanted to cast Dismissal on a human inside a portable hole and as far as i could tell it was legal =/

Dark Archive

Ok ill win the booby prize... these updates are to what FAQ? Only http://paizo.com/organizedplay/faq correct? Campaign Clairifications hasnt changed since january? Do these above changes (thanks!!!) affect any FAQs other than the organized play FAQ?

thx in advance

Dark Archive

+1 !!!!!!!!!!

Dark Archive

very disappointing news

Dark Archive

no audible.com this time? i dont even see pre order =(

Dark Archive

i completely disagree that it helps with difficult terrain. It says move normally, and paying double cost for difficult terrain are the normal movement rules.

If it did ignore any hindrances to movement, then the whole second section mentioning water is redundant. the fact they mention water means its an additional effect.

Dark Archive

I have had a ton of monsters thwarted bc they are based on grab then all kinds of horrors. last night it was 15 advanced remorhazes trying to swallow whole people, which dones insane damage as their bellies are basically pure fire.

but they cant grab, so they cant swallow whole, so they are just a wimpy bite attack (one) per round. it was a joke.

it just seems legal that if a colossal creature shows up and tries to swallow a gnome, it auto fails.

i get the spell was meant to allow characters to move, esp underwater. remove hindrances. i have a hard time believing the spirit of the rules was to make the character immune to a gigantic list of special attacks.

this thread seems to be in a state of limbo, but ill post anyways. anyone have a way for their to be some way for stuff like swallow whole to work?

Dark Archive

Wow i pooched that. Missed word Additional, so yes 4th, and the penalties are not on all attacks but get worse. Let me try again.

-2 flurry of maneuvers
-2 grappled
-4 one handed

1st and 2nd maneuvers no penalty
3rd is -3
4th is -7

lvl of 15 replaces BAB

Full Round Action
- Grapple at d20+7
- chokehold at d20+2 (chokehold is -5)
- Steal at d20+4
- Steal at d20+0

Dark Archive

The penalties would be awful, and as I read it, you can only do 3 max, at lvl 15

You replace you BAB of 11/6/1 with your monk lvl, 15

-2 for flurry of blows
-2 grappled condition
-4 one handed
-7 attempting 3 maneuvers under flurry of maneuvers
-5 for Chokehold

Full Round Action
action 1 - Grapple at d20+0
action 2 - Chokehold at d20-5
action 3 - Steal at d20+0

you do not get a 4th action, assuming you are 15th level. You dont have flurry of blows so you dont get an extra attack - you gave up flurry of blows to get flurry of maneuvers, which is very specific about 3 total maneuvers at 15th lvl

Dark Archive

thanks all!

Dark Archive

sure the yget opp attacks for threatening squares, but they are not solid. but i cant find RAW for this. help please

Dark Archive

the book boons seem to be avail under the book entry itself, but not from addl resources page (fyi)

Dark Archive

yuss!!

Dark Archive

bump regarding missing traits

Dark Archive

thanks!

Dark Archive

So a player stumped me last night, asking me "what are the three things that damned house thrune?"

I cant find anything on google that spells out the three, or where the commonplace nickname comes from. Abrogail I sold her soul, was killed by her son... i mean a lot of these are speculation

anyone have the actual lore on this moniker?

thanks

Dark Archive

Brilliant, thanks!

Dark Archive

As part of my goal to read all novels, the PDFs for sale, and then the Free Web Fiction, I have been thoroughly enjoying the free web fiction!

However when i click on A knightly Mission by Dylan Birtolo, it goes to a page that should list off all of the chapters and their individual links. Instead it just hows chapter 1.

I read chapter 1, wondering if maybe it was just a short piece, but no, the end clearly says (not to mention the story context) that there is more content that is missing.

thanks in advance!

Dark Archive

yes, thank you!

Dark Archive

thank you! amazing reply

Dark Archive

That wiki link had not a single word about the burners.

Can anyone else help?

Dark Archive

So i just read the fantastic short story "Certainty" by liane mercial (well was like a dollar on Audible, so glad paizo stuff is on audible now).

anyways, they run into a variant Iomedae priest who is basically burns anyone suspected of evil at the stake. their holy symbol is slightly different (flames not wings) etc.

Ive tried googling it, and all i got was one mention on these forums of someone saying "check out iomedae burners" which is what i am trying to do hehe

- are there rules in some AP i havent read?
- i cant find anything in the wiki
- do these variants get spells as inquisitors?

basically any info or references to this Mendevian burner sect are appreciated, hopefully rules info but ill take any story, novel, AP, or lore too!

thanks!

Dark Archive

I have a question about the Libertys Edge season 7 faction CARD. I am asking it here bc it came up in this scenario, and I do not want to post spoilers in a general faction card discussion (besides, ppl go off the rails instantly)

Did anyone give credit for

Liberate one or more slaves, captives, or hostages during an adventure

The speech Cassiel gives makes me at least consider it, but this hasnt come up before. Since allips are formed by suicide I am leaning strongly towards not allowing it but hoped for some feedback.

And also about undead/trapped/imprisoned souls in general. I had always thought of Libertys Edge as only dealing in humans, but the general mandate about corruption made me think a cleric of pharasma who was lib edge could make claims to returning souls to the River of Souls by freeing them from undeath... etc.

But ya, School of Spirits. Right now my Libertys Edge PC got a nice boon on his chron sheet but zippo on the faction card and i am trying (within the rules) to find out more specifically what a slave, captive or hostage is.

Dark Archive

ya i am in agreement, ty all for helping me clarify thoughts. Also ultimate intrigue having tremorsense expansion is pretty neat, ty.

since you cant see a target, you cant use spring attack.

Dark Archive

If i have tremorsense and spring attack, i know what square is occupied. I still have a 50% miss chance though.

Can i spring attack into that square? Do they get no AoO? No AoO if i make my 50% An AoO no matter what bc technically i cannot "target" them?

I dont think id allow someone cast say magic missile just based on tremorsense (tell me if i am wrong on that one too), so im confused by the definion of "the target of the attack" if I am using tremorsense to attack into a square.

Im leaning towards ruling i cannot spring attack and hope to get lucky, but looking for people who know RAW better than i do.

thanks in advance!

Dark Archive

Found it, page 213! TY for the specific text, made the search of PDF very painless!

Dark Archive

I had assumed ones with a gp costs were consumed. I went to verify this, and see nothing about it in the RAW. I thought there was some section saying that materials with a cost, except for Focii, were consumed, but i seem to have old dnd bleeding in.

- does the ship splinter required by Locate Ship get consumed?
- does the 25gp offering for Divination?
- if so, what about the 1000gp mirror for Scry?

I cant find rules that say any material is consumed. It seems absurd that the 25gp for Divination isnt consumed, but looking for RAW.

So sure you need a 5000 gp diamond for raise dead - but where does it say it is consumed and lost?

I think ive been making a lot of assumptions.

Dark Archive

Will the PDFs I own already be updated with the revised content, or will i need to re-buy the PDF of the 6-in-one new hardcover?

Dark Archive

Yeah it seems he has switched to just being Mayor of Pex but i still find it odd he doesnt own a ship. Im going to spin it as he has enemies and is trying to keep people guessing. thanks all

Dark Archive

I can find all pirate lords but this one. thanks in advance!

Dark Archive

Aha, i found in on feb 6th entry for backers only on this page. Not posting direct link so that only backers can see it as author intended

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/89095698/aethera-campaign-setting/upda tes

Dark Archive

link in text not working, can find no working link. please help

Dark Archive

Wow thank you for the Command Undead reply justaworn. I am indeed discussing the feat, so it wasnt 100 pct relevant in this case, but that was info that is good to know in general, ty.

Ty to all who replied with rules responses

Dark Archive

Well you can command undead on mindless undead so i dont consider it mind control. But food for thought.

There wont (i doubt) be a day 2. they just came across some, the cleric resisted the babble, and owned them. I assume my players will find a way to eliminate them long before a day 2 takes place.

It was just pretty weird seeing them so powerful against creatures with 130+hp and absolutely deadly attacks, i wanted to double check there was no "Creatures with 10 or more HD have their natural attacks count as magical" or some other dnd-ish thing i had missed.

Seems like, in this very limited case, they got lucky. time to find a megalodon or dinosaur herd.

Dark Archive

I didnt write the adventure. I avoided mentioning its title to avoid spoilers.

Cool, i dont mind them beating the giant plants so long as its legal. i just had some sinking feeling there was a rule or exception i was overlooking.

thanks for the fast replies!

Dark Archive

So please tell me I am missing something here.

My groups cleric now controls 2 allips. they are incorporeal.

1) is there no rule that creatures of massive size can hit them? As far as I can tell, unless a monster has a feat, these 12 HD giant plants and animals just cant do damage to them.

2) There is no save against the Allips wisdom drain. It isnt listed as a SLA or SP so SR doesnt apply. I cant find anything that says creatures immune to mind-affecting things are immune, so as far as i can tell, these can drain plants.

What stops a CR3 Allip from just walking up to a CR10 plant and draining its wis to 0 with touch attacks, immune to any counter attacks?

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Ive been wanting to play some Ashen Stars but dreading teaching players a new system. this is fantastic!

Dark Archive

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Hmm, the Decemvirate is revealed by name. Clearly Shadow Lodge is back.

Dark Archive

any solution yet to this only granting players one module of prestige (and the Gm only 2 tables of credit) for three adventures that award three levels worth of xp and prestige? the scenario tracker is still saying

Player has already run scenario

when they play part 2 and 3 (and the bonus chron) if they have played part 1 =/

Dark Archive

this is going fantastically so far. the players noticed Takonihepsu had purple (aka amethyst) eyes, and are convinced she is the ancient Amethyst Sage, who has set up the pathfinder guild to take the fall as she loots this hall. they are making plans to murder her when they see her next

awesome.

Dark Archive

I am surprised no one has asked this, maybe i am just dense -

Did you tell your players about preservation points, and tell them when they earned or lost them? Or was it secret GM stuff? I am about to run this and had planned to keep it secret, but I am expecting my group to bumrush thru it esp after they realize things are disappearing, and end up ticked off at the end that they were undersold on the preservation aspect.

Of course ill try to emphasize it from both the VC and Tahonikepsu that they preserve, but did you fellow GMs literally tell them about the scoring system?

Dark Archive

OK, lava it is

Dark Archive

so into the lava? instant death for all but one? Seems a bit harsh Witches

Dark Archive

If the Party uses spire tokens to arrive at lvl 10 (if they bargained with the mistress of thorns), the lava level... where the heck do they appear?

Dark Archive

I found the answer - -6270 AR or there abouts

Dark Archive

I swear i saw it but can no longer find it. Any help and source appreciated pls.

Dark Archive

Creating a new thing and "borrowing" one are very different.

Ive only had a player summon an devil once, and that was bc it could ethereal jaunt and kill some phase spiders for the party that were hiding and spying on them. Since Xill love to do that anyways, and the summoner told her to lay eggs in them if she wanted, i went with it.

Woops my example wasnt PFS.

Dark Archive

fantastic thank you

1 to 50 of 157 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | next > last >>