are spell components consumed in casting?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

I had assumed ones with a gp costs were consumed. I went to verify this, and see nothing about it in the RAW. I thought there was some section saying that materials with a cost, except for Focii, were consumed, but i seem to have old dnd bleeding in.

- does the ship splinter required by Locate Ship get consumed?
- does the 25gp offering for Divination?
- if so, what about the 1000gp mirror for Scry?

I cant find rules that say any material is consumed. It seems absurd that the 25gp for Divination isnt consumed, but looking for RAW.

So sure you need a 5000 gp diamond for raise dead - but where does it say it is consumed and lost?

I think ive been making a lot of assumptions.


It is mentioned briefly in one place.

Material (M): A material component consists of one or more physical substances or objects that are annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process. Unless a cost is given for a material component, the cost is negligible. Don't bother to keep track of material components with negligible cost. Assume you have all you need as long as you have your spell component pouch.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

'Materials' are consumed. A 'focus' is not.

Rules for the different spell components:
Components

A spell's components explain what you must do or possess to cast the spell. The components entry in a spell description includes abbreviations that tell you what type of components it requires. Specifics for material and focus components are given at the end of the descriptive text. Usually you don't need to worry about components, but when you can't use a component for some reason or when a material or focus component is expensive, then the components are important.

Verbal (V)

A verbal component is a spoken incantation. To provide a verbal component, you must be able to speak in a strong voice. A silence spell or a gag spoils the incantation (and thus the spell). a spellcaster who has been deafened has a 20% chance of spoiling any spell with a verbal component that he tries to cast.

Somatic (S)

A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand. You must have at least one hand free to provide a somatic component.

Material (M)

A material component consists of one or more physical substances or objects that are annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process. Unless a cost is given for a material component, the cost is negligible. Don't bother to keep track of material components with negligible cost. Assume you have all you need as long as you have your spell component pouch.

Focus (F)

A focus component is a prop of some sort. Unlike a material component, a focus is not consumed when the spell is cast and can be reused. As with material components, the cost for a focus is negligible unless a price is given. Assume that focus components of negligible cost are in your spell component pouch.

Divine Focus (DF)

A divine focus component is an item of spiritual significance. The divine focus for a cleric or a paladin is a holy symbol appropriate to the character's faith. The divine focus for a druid or a ranger is a sprig of holly, or some other sacred plant.

If the Components line includes F/DF or M/DF, the arcane version of the spell has a focus component or a material component (the abbreviation before the slash) and the divine version has a divine focus component (the abbreviation after the slash).

Dark Archive

Found it, page 213! TY for the specific text, made the search of PDF very painless!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / are spell components consumed in casting? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.