Hawk

Hawkmoon269's page

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber. Venture-Lieutenant, Online—ACG 6,927 posts (10,091 including aliases). 2 reviews. 7 lists. 2 wishlists. 13 Organized Play characters. 26 aliases.


RSS

1 to 50 of 6,927 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Yeah, I'm not really sure what causes it. Paizo pdfs are pretty much the only pdfs I ever access inside zipped files, so I don't really have much to compare it to. And for me, sometimes the file will open, but the next time I get that message. The possibilities I've been able to consider include are either (1) the zipped file is in a protected area or (2) the file name or length create some problem when creating temporary data.

With (1), I've considered things related to Microsoft OneDrive, but haven't figured anything out.

Basically, unzipping them works and it hasn't seemed worth it for me to spend the time to figure out the root cause.

But glad that helped you. Enjoy your PDFs!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

There was an FAQ for this.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thanks for everything Dennis. It was super fun! And it seemed to work out really well. I look forward the ACG being part of future events for interactive specials.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I sometimes get this message too when trying to open the PDF while it is still zipped (i.e. navigating inside the zip file and double clicking the pdf). Did you try right clicking the zip and extracting it then opening from the unzipped folder?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Mike Selinker wrote:
I'll bring the PACG Core/Curse set and we can set up a game or two after dealer hours. I'd love it if you folks got a chance to play it.

That would be awesome. Thanks Mike.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

So, what would be good to run? Options I can think of:

Scenarios from the first adventure of a season? (Perhaps Tapestry's Tide)
Season of the Goblins (we could maybe do both adventures over the weekend)
The Factions's Favor "unlock" scenarios
A capstone (asuming we have enough characters ready for one)

Some combo of the above?

Perhaps I'll set up a survey. But before I do, can anyone think of another category I should put on it?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Please also consider avatars of the adventure card game characters. There is a play by post community for the card game too, but not all characters are available as avatars.

Thanks.


2-4E: 1d20 ⇒ 2


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Congrats!


Yeah. The Rage thread is a bit of a headache to read. I cringed when I linked to it. So, the Rage FAQ was because it also requires the character you play it on to do something to make it meaningful: they have to bury a card. So the FAQ was to get around the "affecting the situation rule".

MM Rulebook p9 wrote:

RULES: AFFECTING THE SITUATION

In some situations, you are limited to playing cards or using powers that affect or otherwise relate to the current situation. In these cases, the things you do cannot require anyone to do something else for your action to be meaningful—the things you do must directly affect the situation.

Without saying you could play it during an encounter, you couldn't because it would have required someone else to do something to make playing it meaningful. The FAQ wasn't about addressing that you can't play a "display this card" during an encounter.

The "using the same card twice" is about revealing cards. There is a rule about only using a card's power once per check or step. But I really don't think you are playing it twice. I think you are completing the power. Which is what the rules instruct you to do:

MM Rulebook p8 wrote:

When a card has multiple powers, you must choose

one of them, and you must do everything that power says when possible.

Granted, these cards don't have multiple powers, but I think the "do everything that power says" part has to be true of cards that have one power just as much as ones that have multiple powers. And that is what I think you are doing when you play a "display this card" kind of card during an encounter. You are gaining the effect from displaying it and you must do everything it says, which includes using that effect.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

See this FAQ. Most likely, your card is failing address match verification. The processor Paizo uses is very picky about an exact match.

What you see on your bank statement is a hold placed by your bank, not a finalized charge. It will eventually age out. Paizo can put a reversal request through to help speed up that process.

Double check the address you entered for the card exactly matches the address your bank has on file.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Sure. You can do that, as long as you aren't using more than 6 characters in a scenario. You'll also need to be aware that in order for a character to gain the adventure reward that character needs to complete all the scenarios in that adventure. You can always make a house rule for that though.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

No. Adding a skill isn't the same as using a skill.

MM Rulebook p11 wrote:
If a power adds an additional skill or die to a check, that skill or die is not added as a trait to the check.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I wish Nok-Nok had been included in this set, so I could pick up the single to use with his Card Game character. Any plans for him to appear at some point?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Who is going to PAX Unplugged this year? I am. There aren't any scheduled events for PACG in the society room, but there will be a table set aside for PACG. I'd like to make use of that table. So, I'm wondering who is going, and for which days? Is anyone interested in getting together and running some scenarios? If so, I'd like to try and plan out which ones.

So let me know if you are going and what you'd like to try and do.


Hey all. Tyler had something come up and won't be able to post tonight.


Hey all. Tyler had something come up and won't be able to post tonight.


4-4A
Hawkmoon269: 1d20 ⇒ 6

Venture-Lieutenant, Online—ACG aka Hawkmoon269

Oops. Yeah. That should obviously be 1/4/19. I won't have the time travel machine I'm working on done in time for it to be 1/4/18.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Seltyiel wrote:
Choose a weapon that doesn’t have the 2-Handed trait and a spell that has the Attack trait. When you play one for your combat check, you may recharge the other to add 1d6 and that card’s traits to the check.

If you play the Cutlass by revealing and use Force Missile for the power, you would roll:

1d8+3+1d6+1d6 (you could also discard the Cutlass for an extra d6)
The check would have these traits:
Strength, Melee (from your skill)
Sword, Melee, Slashing, Finesse, Swashbuckling, Basic (from the Cutlass)
Magic, Arcane, Attack, Force,Basic (from Force Missile via Seltyiel's power)

If you played Force Missile and used Cutlass for the power, you would roll:

1d8+3+2d4+1d6
The check would have these traits:
Arcane, Intelligence (from your skill)
Magic, Arcane, Attack, Force,Basic (from Force Missile)
Sword, Melee, Slashing, Finesse, Swashbuckling, Basic (from the Cutlass via Seltyie's power)

So, you'd get slightly different dice. Trait wise, the difference would just be Strength vs Intelligence. You can roll higher if you discard the cutlass for playing it and recharge Force Missile for the power. Or you can potentially roll fairly high by playing Force Missile and recharging the Cutlass (and hoping that you make the check to recharge Force Missile). So, you can weigh the dice vs the cost:

Reveal Cutlass, Recharge Force Missile:
Avg 14.5, Max 23

Discard/Recharge Force Missile*, Recharge Cutlass
Avg 16, Max 25

Discard Cutlass, Recharge Force Missile
Avg 18, Max 29

*Keep in mind you'd have a second chance to recharge Force Missile at the end of your turn thanks to Seltyiel's other power.

So, you can pay a higher cost, moving from reveal to "maybe recharge maybe discard" to discard to get better dice results.

You also aren't technically playing the card you use for his power. So you'd still be free to play a card of that type. You could play a Spell like Black Spot or Magic if you played the Cutlass and used Force Missile for Seltyiel's power.


If the card has the same name and same type, everything on it should be the same except the deck number. So that seems a mistake. I'm guessing it should not have the bard trait, but can't say for sure.

I forgot about he adventure reward. It is that you unlock Crowe.

Adventure Reward
Each player unlocks the ability to play Crowe from the Wrath of the Righteous Character Add-On Deck using the Magus Class Deck.

You also each get a die bump for completing the adventure.

Venture-Lieutenant, Online—ACG aka Hawkmoon269

1 person marked this as a favorite.

As part of RetroCon, we will be running The Cosmic Captive ACG Special. We are looking for people interested in being Box Runners. We don't know how many tables we will have, and won't until we get player signups, so at this point we are just looking interest. We'll let you know later whether or not we have a table for you.

The event will run approximately 1/4/18 to 3/8/19.

If interested, please fill out this form.

Note: This is just a signup for Box Runners. Player signups will be at a later date.

For more on RetroCon, go here.


As part of RetroCon, we will be running The Cosmic Captive ACG Special. We are looking for people interested in being Box Runners. We don't know how many tables we will have, and won't until we get player signups, so at this point we are just looking interest. We'll let you know later whether or not we have a table for you.

The event will run approximately 1/4/18 to 3/8/19.

If interested, please fill out this form.

Note: This is just a signup for Box Runners. Player signups will be at a later date.

For more on RetroCon, go here.

Venture-Lieutenant, Online—ACG aka Hawkmoon269

Hi Michael. We are planning to do Cosmic Captive. The RPG VOs were kind enough to do some extra work to make that possible.

As for how ACG works in Play by Post, we use a database to manage the game. Players themselves can use some kind of deck handler (we have a google sheet version that is by far the most common). You can put the info about your cards into the sheet and it will shuffle, draw, etc all the cards for you. It also generates a little tag to go at the bottom of your post to let others know what you skills, powers, and cards are.

The database manages all the locations and includes some random cards in each post in case the players need one. If on a turn a location gets shuffled, we just use a die roll to randomize until the person running the db has a chance to catch it up to the actions in the forum.

Aside from that, we make lots of notes for each other, like "feel free to use my blessings, but leave me 1 for my turn." It is also fairly common to rely on Google Hanouts to help facilitate some quick communication.

You can check out an example of a gameplay thread here. Feel free to post in the link Christine gave you or contact me if you have more question.


9-00A
Hawkmoon269: 1d20 ⇒ 2


9-00B
Hawkmoon269: 1d20 ⇒ 13


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Those old posts used the {list} tag, which is not working currently. If/when {list} is returned to functioning how it did previously, they should display properly.

For now, if {list} is used, only the first bullet will display. If {*} is used without {list} all the bullets display.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I made this post in a gameplay thread, as the overseer of the event:
My post

It was a pretty standard post. But something about it "broke" the display of that post and seemingly the ones below it. The "header" part of the post isn't formatted properly and wraps across multiple lines. I made the exact same post on multiple threads, so I don't think it was my post. But I'm not sure what it was.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Hmm... I do not personally know. From reading up on it, it sounds like it is so that sites can design alternative style sheets so that visitors can customize their experience. But that's all I can figure out.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I see 4 dots in all of them.

Picture

Is it possible some browser extension is causing the problem? Could you try another browser or an incognito mode to check?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Papa-DRB wrote:

Please provide a complete character sheet for a first level character including, description, personality, look ahead (where you see your character going, ie. multi-class, prestige classes, etc.), history, which includes a good tie in to your campaign trait. You are 1st level characters, so no need for pages of history. No need for an alias yet. Only selected characters will be required to set one up.

Character Creation Guidelines

  • 20 point character buy. All scores 10 or greater after racial adjustments.
  • Sources, Races, Classes allowed: Core Rule Book (CRB), Advanced Players Guide (APG).
  • One other trait, no drawbacks.
  • Alignment. LG, NG preferred. CG, LN, TN, CN acceptable. NO Evil.
    ==================================

    Still doesn't work. Change the lead "(" to a "[" (no list in the code) and there is "dots" do not appear.

    -- david

  • Hmm... It works for me. I changed the bracket in the quote generated by clicking the reply link. If you click reply to this post does it not generate dots for you?


    Dennis is clearing up some confusion on the RPG side about the preparation tasks (which involve skill checks) that can be performed during mustering. Players were confused as to whether they could only choose one task to complete, or could they attempt each task.


    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    As a workaround, the dots appear if your remove the list tag altogether.

  • Appraise
  • Craft (any)
  • Knowledge (engineering, geography, history, nobility)
  • Linguistics
  • Perform (any)
  • Profession (any)

    You could also use unicode characters

    Combine that with a unicode blank space and you can make indented lists.
    •List Item 1
      •Sublist Item 1
      •Sublist Item 2
    •List Item 2
    •List Item 3


  • Reward?: 1d20 ⇒ 14

    Is anyone playing their character in Assault on Absalom?


    I personally don't look at the monster added to the Warrens. I'm just noting that you can make a case that it would be ok to do so. (I don't look at the blessings either.)

    I'll look at my cards in the morning to tell you which one it was I was going to take.


    I'm the ACG overeer. I'm asking ACG tables to check in now and set up their tables.


    Zarlova~ wrote:

    Either way for the Royal Naga, both spells have the exact same attack bonuses so it's not a huge deal.

    Zarlova has no weapons.

    Yeah. I figured it didn't matter much.


    Caustic Fog is fine. And yes, the wording should be:

    "Display this card. While displayed, you may add 1d8 and the Acid trait to a combat check by a character at your location; you may play another spell on that check. After that check, you are dealt 1 Combat damage. At the end of your turn, if you do not have the Divine skill, banish this card; otherwise, you may succeed at a Divine 13 check to recharge it instead."


    Yes, you can apply the boon to any character, (unless the boon itself states some kind of restriction.

    4-4A Boon
    Hawkmoon: 1d20 ⇒ 5


    Ally 3: 1d1000 ⇒ 50


    2-3C Reward
    Hawkmoon: 1d20 ⇒ 9


    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Thanks Virginia!


    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Thanks!


    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Looking at this further, it looks like lists that had blog posts as item lost those items. Lists with messageboard posts or store items are fine.


    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    I had a wishlist (really a list) of all the iconic character blogs. I'd added details such as which source book they'd appeared in, which miniatures products and pawns products they were in, which adventure card game products they were in as well as their class, race, etc. I just noticed today the list is empty.

    http://paizo.com/people/Hawkmoon269/wishlists/v5748l939kwtj

    Any idea what happened to it? Is it recoverable?

    Thanks.


    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Assault on Absalom is now available for sale. Does it include the card game portion? If not, can that portion be made available?

    It also might be good if the description mentioned that there was a card game portion for anyone looking to run the event.


    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Does this include the card game portion? If not, could that be made available too?

    It might also be good if the description mentioned there was a card game portion for anyone looking to run the special.

    I'll post in CS forum as well.


    It looks like Salim's top choices would be...

    Salim
    Blessing 3: 1d1000 ⇒ 671
    Ally 3: 1d1000 ⇒ 269
    Weapon 3: 1d1000 ⇒ 195

    His power feat is to upgrade for 1d4 to 1d8 for his non-combat checks against banes.


    1 person marked this as a favorite.

    I'd say that the rule about cards above your tier applies to when you build and rebuild your deck. It does NOT apply to replacement cars or traders any more than it applies to a card you acquire during a scenario.


    2 people marked this as a favorite.
    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
    Xexyz wrote:
    If you take 4 damage before you act from the Elemental Construct (I think it's called the elemental construct; it's the deck 4 monster that does 1 fire, cold, acid, and electricity damage before you act. It looks like a spider) do you lose 4 cards from locations?

    Elemental Arachnid. And I've played that it costs your multiple cards.

    1 to 50 of 6,927 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>