Returning Totem Spear


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Should the second line in this Returning Totem Spear be freely? It's adding to a check, which would tick the box if I was converting it from a different set.

Returning Totem Spear
Weapon 4 (CotCT)
For your combat check, reveal to use Strength, Dexterity, Melee, Ranged, or Survival + 1d8+2 and the Piercing or Slashing trait.

If proficient, on a local combat check or your Acrobatics check, reload to add 1d8.

After playing this weapon, you may not play an Offhand boon this encounter.

Looking at similar weapons it's definitely missing that second line about using when previously revealed...so maybe not.

Returning Throwing Knife
For your combat check, reveal to use Strength, Dexterity, Melee, or Ranged + 1d6+1.
If proficient, on a local combat check, freely reload to add 1d6. You may use this power even if you have previously revealed this card this check.

Returning Throwing Axe
For your combat check, reveal to use Strength, Dexterity, Melee, or Ranged + 1d6+1.
If proficient, on a local combat check, freely reload to add 1d6. You may use this power even if you have previously revealed this card this check.

Thoughts?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

That's a pretty good sounding argument to me.


Rulewise I would agree with Hawk (as usual), but from a logic point of view, especially for an Acrobatics check, I'm much more hesitating.

I don't see how you could IRL use both a Quarterstaff of Vaulting and a Spear to get double help for the same jump.

So because throwing knives and axes are only useful in combat, you cannot really make a full argument due to the specifics (Acrobatics checks) of the spear.

Interestning...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Returning Totem Spear All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion