28 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.
1 person marked this as a favorite.
Many people believe the intent of the developers is that invisibility should not grant a bonus to stealth checks. The purpose of this thread is to find out what the intent of the rule is (and possibly get the rule changed if it needs to be in order to reflect the intent).
Is invisibility intended to grant a bonus to stealth checks?
If you would like to see this officially addressed, please click the FAQ button on the upper right corner of this post.
Please do not use this thread to argue whether or not invisibility does grant a bonus to stealth checks. What the rules currently state is not the point. Please keep discussion as to whether, ideally, being invisible should grant a bonus to stealth checks.
A natural magus wields magic through understanding the innate powers that reside within all living things. These magi spurn the tomes and tools of their brethren, finding all that they need within themselves.
Weapon and Armor Proficiency: A natural magus is proficient with the following weapons: bolas, dart, net, and sling. A natural magus is also proficient with leather and hide armor. He can cast magus spells while wearing such armor without incurring the normal arcane spell failure chance. A natural magus cannot cast spells while wearing a shield. This replaces the normal magus weapon and armor proficiency as well as the medium and heavy armor class abilities.
Spells: A natural magus casts arcane spells drawn from the magus spell list. He can cast any spell he knows without preparing it ahead of time, assuming he has not yet used up his allotment of spells per day for the spell's level.
To learn or cast a spell, a natural magus must have a Wisdom score equal to at least 10 + the spell level. The Difficulty Class for a saving throw against a natural magus' spell is 10 + the spell level + the natural magus' Wisdom modifier.
A natural magus can cast only a certain number of spells of each spell level each day. His base daily spell allotment is given on Table: Magus. In addition, he receives bonus spells per day if he has a high Wisdom score (see Table 1–3 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook).
A natural magus' selection of spells is extremely limited. He begins play knowing four 0-level spells and two 1st-level spells of his choice. At each new natural magus level, he gains one or more new spells as indicated on Table: Natural Magus Spells Known. (Unlike spells per day, the number of spells a natural magus knows is not affected by his Wisdom score. The numbers on Table: Natural Magus Spells Known are fixed.)
Upon reaching 5th level, and at every third natural magus level thereafter (8th, 11th, and so on), a natural magus can choose to learn a new spell in place of one he already knows. In effect, he “loses” the old spell in exchange for the new one. The new spell's level must be the same as that of the spell being exchanged, and it must be at least one level lower than the highest-level magus spell he can cast. A natural magus may swap out only a single spell at any given level and must choose whether or not to swap the spell at the same time that he gains new spells known for the level.
This replaces the normal magus spells and spellbooks class features.
[Editor's Note: "Table: Natural Magus Spells Known" is identical to "Table: Bard Spells Known" from the core rulebook.]
Cantrips: A natural magus learns a number of cantrips, or 0-level spells, as noted on Table: Natural Magus Spells Known under “Spells Known.” These spells are cast like any other spell, but they do not consume any slots and may be used again. This ability replaces cantrips.
Eschew Materials (Ex): A natural magus gains Eschew Materials as a bonus feat at 1st level. He can also use this ability to cast spells with a focus component costing 1 gp or less without needing that component. This ability replaces knowledge pool.
Unarmed Strike (Ex): At 1st level, a natural magus gains Improved Unarmed Strike as a bonus feat. There is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a natural magus striking unarmed. He may thus apply his full Strength bonus on damage rolls for all his unarmed strikes. A natural magus can choose to deal nonlethal damage with his unarmed strikes, taking no penalty on his attack roll. If he chooses to do so, any spell damage that attack delivers is also considered nonlethal.
A natural magus also deals more damage with his unarmed strikes. His unarmed strikes deal damage as that of a monk, except that his effective monk level is equal to his natural magus level - 4 (minimum 1). If he has levels in monk, these levels stack. This ability replaces improved spell recall.
Arcane Pool (Su): At 1st level, a natural magus can use his arcane pool to grant an enhancement bonus to his unarmed strike. At 5th level and above, he can only add special abilities that can apply to an unarmed strike. He cannot use his arcane pool to enhance a manufactured or natural weapon. A natural magus uses wisdom instead of intelligence to determine the number of arcane pool points. The pool refreshes once per day when the magus readies his mind to cast his daily allotment of spells. This ability modifies the Arcane Pool class feature.
Natural Spell Combat (Ex): This ability functions as Spell Combat, except the light or one-handed weapon is instead an unarmed strike. The natural magus must still keep one hand free to cast his spell, and the spell must be one from the magus spell list that he knows. He must also have a different limb available in order to make his unarmed strike(s). This ability replaces Spell Combat.
Natural Spellstrike (Su): This ability functions as Spellstrike, except he can only use it to deliver the spell through an unarmed strike. The spell must be one from the magus spell list that he knows. This ability replaces Spellstrike.
Magus Arcana: A natural magus may not select arcana that reference prepared spells. A natural magus may select the following arcana:
Rage Power (Ex): The natural magus can select a rage power in place of a magus arcana. The natural magus can select this talent multiple times. The magus must be at least 4th level before selecting this arcana.
Primitive Wrath (Ex): At 4th level, a natural magus may cast spells and use his abilities while under the effects of natural or magical rage. Add rage to the natural magus spell list as a 2nd level spell.
Natural Spell Recall (Su): This ability functions as Spell Recall, except the natural magus regains use of the spell slot, rather than having the spell prepared. This ability replaces spell recall.
Arcane Chrysopoeia (Su): At 5th level, a natural magus can expend 1 point from his arcane pool as a swift action to grant his unarmed strikes the ability to bypass DR/slashing and DR/piercing for one minute.
Monk Training (Ex): Starting at 10th level, a natural magus counts 1/2 his total magus level as his monk level for the purpose of qualifying for feats. If he has levels in monk, these levels stack. This ability replaces fighter training.
Natural Spell Access (Su): At 19th level, the magus gains access to an expanded spell list. He learns 7 spells from the wizard's spell list as magus spells of their wizard level. He also learned 4 spells from the druid's spell list as magus spells of their druid level. These spells may be of any level he can cast. This ability replaces greater spell access.
81 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.
6 people marked this as a favorite.
Spell Combat is it's own full-round action, not a full-attack action.
Spell Combat (Ex): "To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action"
Question 1) When "he can make all of his attacks" does this mean all attacks he would be granted as if he were making a full-attack? As written, since Spell Combat is not a full-attack, it does not benefit from the extra attack granted by haste, despite having access to the Hasted Assault arcana, and the haste spell itself.
Question 2) All of those attacks are made "with his melee weapon", does this specifically mean the light or one-handed melee weapon in his other hand, or can they be made with any mixture of weapons he is wielding so long as his other hand remains free?
Question 3) Can an unarmed strike be considered "in his other hand" or does Spell Combat require a manufactured weapon? Can he use a manufactured weapon which does not use a hand, for instance a boulder helmet, barbazu beard, or armor spikes?
Question 4) If the attack portion of Spell Combat is intended to work like a full-attack, does this only include attacks made with that specific melee weapon, or could he also make attacks with secondary natural weapons, so long as they don't share a limb with either of his hands?
Feel free to discuss, however clicking the FAQ request flag would be greatly appreciated.
Full disclosure: There were previous FAQ requests here, but it was requested that I make a new thread specifically about this issue in order to gain a wider audience.
A Zombie is not a living creature, so it's not a valid target for Vampiric Touch. What happens if you cast the spell, then touch the zombie with your free touch attack?
A) The spell discharges, with no effect
B) Nothing happens, the spell doesn't discharge, and you hold the charge
C) You are prohibited from attempting the touch attack
What if you're holding the charge of such a spell?
Holding the Charge: "If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges."
What if you use an unarmed strike or natural weapon to deliver the held charge? Does the unarmed/weapon damage apply, along with harmlessly discharging the spell? Does the invalid target negate the unarmed/weapon damage? Or are you prevented from even attempting the attack?
I would like to view a list of things I've flagged for the FAQ. Maybe a tab in my profile, like favorites, where I can see a list of the posts where I've hit the FAQ button. Just thread title, and if possible, current FAQ status. (IE: 'you and x others have flagged for FAQ' or 'staff response: no reply required')
Alternatively, being able to do a messageboard search for posts I've flagged for FAQ would be fine.
In the update today (part of removing GM stars?) the list of threads changed. I don't know if it's the font or the spacing, but in a list of threads (like Website Feedback it looks all weird.
It looks weird inside threads, too, but I assume that was an intentional change. (names are touching the horizontal rule under them, titles lost their parenthesis, subscriber info is under the line bumping down avatars, etc.)
21 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the errata.
2 people marked this as a favorite.
You are able to use a weapon to perform a Disarm, Sunder, or Trip combat maneuver, and when doing so, gain the weapons enhancement bonuses and relevant feats to the combat maneuver check. Natural weapons and unarmed strikes are considered weapons for this purpose. (See Blog)
Disarm and Trip can both be made in place of a melee attack. Sunder can be made in place of a melee attack as part of an attack action.
When Holding the Charge of a Touch Spell, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) and if that attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges.
Questions:
If you succeed at a Trip combat maneuver with a natural weapon while holding the charge of a touch spell, what happens?
Does the touch spell discharge on the target? Does it dissipate? Or does it remain held?
If you succeed at a Sunder combat maneuver with a natural weapon while holding the charge of a touch spell, what happens?
Does the touch spell discharge on the object, and if so, does any damage caused by the spell apply along with the normal sunder damage? If the spell deals energy damage, is that damage halved (assuming that type of damage is not "particularly effective" against that type of object)? Or does the spell discharge against the creature, instead of the targeted object? Does the spell dissipate instead? Or does the spell remain held?
If you succeed at a Disarm combat maneuver with a natural weapon while holding the charge of a touch spell, what happens?
Does the touch spell discharge on the object, and if so, does any damage caused by the spell apply to that object? If the spell deals energy damage, is that damage halved (assuming that type of damage is not "particularly effective" against that type of object)? Or does the spell discharge against the creature, instead of the targeted object? Does the spell dissipate instead? Or does the spell remain held?
Anthropomorphic Animal: "You transform the touched animal into a bipedal hybrid of its original form with a humanoid form, similar to how a lycanthrope's hybrid form is a mix of a humanoid and animal form. The animal's size, type, and ability scores do not change. It loses its natural attacks except for bite (if it had one as an animal), all types of movement other than its land speed, and special attacks that rely on its natural attacks. One pair of its limbs is able to manipulate objects and weapons as well as human hands do; limbless animals like snakes temporarily grow a pair of arms. The creature's Intelligence increases to 3, and it gains the ability to speak one language you know. It is not considered proficient in any manufactured weapons. It can attack with unarmed strikes, dealing unarmed strike damage for a creature of its size (unless it has a bite attack, which is a natural attack)."
If a snake is anthropomorphized, can it wear boots?
If an eagle is anthropomorphized, can it wear rings or gloves?
If those answers are yes, can they wear magical items of those same types? (IE: Does the new bipedal hybrid of animal and humanoid grant the normal humanoid-shaped body magic item slots?)
With an intelligence of 3, and knowing a language, could it activate command-word magic items? (Assuming it was told what the command word was, and either wanted to or was told to activate it, using a handle animal check if necessary)
The FAQ on Intelligent Animals mentions two roadblocks to intelligent animals wielding weapons: physical ability (lack of thumbs) and choice (why use stick when have good claws?). If the limbs are able to manipulate objects as well as human hands, then physical ability is taken care of. As for choice, it's not only intelligent, it knows a language (even though intelligent animals are capable of learning language, the FAQ says they often don't have the correct anatomy of speech, and often won't care to learn - the spell takes care of both of those) so if a trusted ally asks it to wear an item or wield a weapon, (using a handle animal check if needed) is there anything prohibiting it from doing so? (Remember, proficiency doesn't prohibit use, it just applies a penalty.)
The level 2 cleric/paladin spell Shield Other has the following components:
"V, S, F (a pair of platinum rings worth 50 gp worn by both you and the target)"
Does that mean:
A) The focus item is a pair of rings, worth 50 gp, that have been worn by both you and the target
or
B) The focus item is a pair of rings, worth 50 gp, one of which is currently being worn by you, and the other is currently being worn on the target
Before answering, keep in mind the rules:
Casting Spells: "To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any)."
Shield Other has Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels), so if the target is wearing half of the focus item, you are unable to manipulate it at range.
There is precedent for focus items to be prepared before casting (IE: the material/focus line can be past-tense) -
Freedom of Movement can be cast as a touch spell. As such, the charge can be held. However, the material component "(a leather strip bound to the target)" needs to be manipulated as part of casting, which you can't do if you need to be actively binding it to the target at the time of casting. Past tense is the only way it makes sense.
Terrain Bond treats the terrain you're in as a favored terrain, but requires "(a pinch of earth taken from your most favored terrain)" If it must be taken at the time of casting, then you can only cast it while in your favored terrain, and thus it does nothing.
Dust Form requires "(a pinch of dust gathered from a gravestone or sacred shrine)" which means if you must gather it at the time of casting, you can only ever cast it in a graveyard or shrine.
There is further precedent for a spell to work in a manner similar to option B:
Protection from Spells says "F (One 1,000 gp diamond per target. Each subject must carry the gem for the duration of the spell. If a subject loses the gem, the spell ceases to affect him.)" which seems like a much better wording if the intent is for the subject to have to wear the ring(s) for the duration of the spell.
Does anyone have any rules evidence to suggest that option A is incorrect?
19 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Question unclear.
390 people marked this as a favorite.
Hi folks,
This is my understanding of how these things work individually, and when used all together. I would appreciate any corrections or suggestions, both in spelling/grammar/style as well as content. Should this guide prove useful to anyone, a revised version might be posted in a more permanent location some day.
My goal is one (lengthy) item that someone can read and fully understand how these things work, by bringing together plain text explanations and the various rules that are scattered about various parts of the books. Also be sure to see This FAQ Item. (Thanks Sean!)
[Revision History
0.1a initial guide posted
0.2a added citation [4] and reference
0.3a changed sparky to melvin in part 2, re: unarmed strike
0.4a changed clunky to bumpy in Simple Example Time]
Part 1: You got the Touch, you got the Power!
The foundation of this guide is Touch spells. This section will deal entirely on how touch spells really work. Without it, Spellstrike will be a confusing mess. You're only cheating yourself if you skip ahead. Of all the problems I've seen people have with the Magus, half of them are due to not really understanding how touch spells work.
We'll start with some relevant rule citations:
1) Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action.[1a] You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target.[1b] You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.
2) Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely.[2a] You can continue to make touch attacks round after round.[2b] If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge.[2c] In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.[2c]
3) Touch Spells and Holding the Charge (Magic Chapter): In most cases, if you don't discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round until the spell is discharged. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.
4) “Armed” Unarmed Attacks: Sometimes a character's or creature's unarmed attack counts as an armed attack. A monk, a character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell, and a creature with natural physical weapons all count as being armed (see natural attacks).
Sparky the Sorcerer spies Clunky the Orc standing ten feet away. He wants to zap him! Sparky casts Shocking Grasp, a spell with a range of Touch. As part of casting this spell, Sparky gets to touch as a free action[1a] and can move before doing so[1b]. He moves up to Clunky, and touches him. He rolls his attack: a d20, and adds 1 because Sparky has 12 Strength. His result is 16, not bad! Clunky's Touch AC is 10, so Sparky has sucessfully touched Clunky, and the spell discharges. Zap!
Lets try this example again with some different results.
Sparky the Sorcerer spies Clunky the Orc standing sixty feet away. He wants to zap him! He casts Shocking Grasp, and moves thirty feet towards Clunky. He is out of reach, so he can't make his free touch attack that was granted by casting the Touch spell[1a] so he Holds the Charge[2a]. Clunky moves up and attacks Sparky, but misses.
Round 2! Sparky still wants to zap the Orc, and is holding the charge[2]. He uses his standard action to make a melee touch attack against Clunky[2b]. Because of the held charge, he is armed, and doesn't provoke an attack of opportunity[4]. He rolls his attack: a d20, and adds 1 because Sparky has 12 Strength. His result is 4, that's terrible! Clunky's Touch AC is 10 so Sparky has missed. Sparky gives up his move action and ends his turn. Clunky attacks Sparky again, but misses.
Round 3! Sparky is tired of this Orc, he uses his special sorcerer Draconic Bloodline power to grow claws as a free action. Now he uses a full-round action to make a full attack. He is still holding the charge, so if one of these attacks hit, it will deal damage as well as delivering the spell[2c]. He rolls his first claw attack: a d20, and adds 1 because Sparky has 12 Strength. His result is 18, terrific! Clunky's AC is 14 so Sparky has hit. (Note: This attack is against Clunky's normal AC, not his Touch AC, because Sparky is making a melee attack, not a touch attack) Sparky deals his claw damage (1d4+1) and also discharges his Shocking Grasp, Zap! If Clunky still lives, Sparky can finish his full-attack with his second claw, which will deal only normal claw damage if it hits. If Clunky is dead, however, Sparky can abandon the rest of his full-attack and take a move action instead, to get away from the stinky orc corpse.
As a side note, Sparky could have done the same thing using his unarmed strike, instead of his claws, though without the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, he would still provoke an attack of opportunity. Even though he's holding the charge on a touch spell, the action would still provoke because Sparky's unarmed strike normally does[2c].
Part 2: Player Two has Joined the Battle!
Melvin the Magus has arrived to show Sparky how it's done. As a Magus, Melvin has access to Shocking Grasp, and can do everything Sparky just did, with the exception of growing claws. Instead of using his Claws, Melvin can use his Unarmed Strike, because he took the Improved Unarmed Strike feat for some reason. So you can repeat everything above with Melvin, just substitute an unarmed strike in place of the claws. (Applying two-weapon fighting penalties where appropriate)
Even though Melvin is a Magus, not a Sorcerer, he still follows all of those rules about Touch Attacks.
However, Melvin can do more than that. He's got Magus Stuff! He's level 1, so he only has Spell Combat, not Spellstrike. Ignore Spellstrike for now. Really, just ignore it, pretend you've never heard of it.
Spell Combat (Ex): At 1st level, a magus learns to cast spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty). If he casts this spell defensively, he can decide to take an additional penalty on his attack rolls, up to his Intelligence bonus, and add the same amount as a circumstance bonus on his concentration check. If the check fails, the spell is wasted, but the attacks still take the penalty. A magus can choose to cast the spell first or make the weapon attacks first, but if he has more than one attack, he cannot cast the spell between weapon attacks.
So we know the following:
Spell Combat is a full-round action. This means the only movement Melvin can make during Spell Combat is a 5' step, and he can do so before, during, or after the action.
One hand wields a weapon, the other hand is empty. Melvin has a Longsword.
When using Spell Combat, Melvin can make his normal full-attack with his weapon, and he can also cast a Magus spell with a casting time of 1 standard action. He can do this in any order, spell then sword, or sword then spell.
So, lets start off easy.
Melvin is surprised by Clunky the Orc! Clunky the orc uses his surprise round to move in next to Melvin. (He doesn't charge because there's a rock in the way) Round 1: Melvin takes a full-round action to use Spell Combat. He starts by casting Shield, and doing so defensively. He makes his concentration check, so now he has a shield bonus to AC. Great. Now he makes his normal full-attack with his weapon. He rolls his attack: a d20, and adds 1 because Melvin has 12 Strength, and he also includes his -2 penalty for using Spell Combat. His result is 13, d'oh. Clunky has an AC of 14, so Melvin has missed. Clunky attacks Melvin, missing, because Clunky sucks.
Round 2: Melvin decides to put the hurt on Clunky. He takes a full-round action to use Spell Combat. He starts by making his regular attack, foolishly believing that it might kill Clunky and save him a spell. Melvin makes his normal full-attack with his weapon. He rolls his attack: a d20, and adds 1 because Melvin has 12 Strength, and he also includes his -2 penalty for using Spell Combat. His result is 16, hooray. Clunky has an AC of 14, so Melvin hits. Melvin deals 1d8+1 damage. Clunky still stands! He laughs, in fact. Ha HA! But Melvin isn't done yet, he still gets to cast a spell because he's using Spell Combat. He casts Shocking Grasp, defensively. Melvin makes his Concentration check. Now, we follow the rules above for Touch Spells. Because Melvin just cast a Touch spell, he gets a free touch attack[1a]. He reaches out and touches Clunky. He rolls his attack: a d20, and adds 1 because Melvin has 12 Strength, and he also includes his -2 penalty for using Spell Combat. His result is 11, that is... acceptable. Clunky's Touch AC is 10 so Melvin lands his touch, and discharges the Shocking Grasp. Zap!
With the death of Clunky, Melvin goes up a level! (DING) In addition to some stat changes and stuff, Melvin gains the ability to use Spellstrike.
Spellstrike (Su): At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of "touch" from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack. Instead of the free melee touch attack normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon (at his highest base attack bonus) as part of casting this spell. If successful, this melee attack deals its normal damage as well as the effects of the spell. If the magus makes this attack in concert with spell combat, this melee attack takes all the penalties accrued by spell combat melee attacks. This attack uses the weapon's critical range (20, 19–20, or 18–20 and modified by the keen weapon property or similar effects), but the spell effect only deals ×2 damage on a successful critical hit, while the weapon damage uses its own critical modifier.
So we know the following:
In order to use Spellstrike, the following conditions must be met - A) Melvin must have cast the spell. B) The spell must have a range of "touch". C) The spell must be on the Magus spell list.
Once A, B, and C have been met, then Spellstrike may apply. If any of those three conditions are not met (such as casting a Cleric spell, or using a wand to cast a Magus spell) then Spellstrike will not work.
So, Melvin decides to cast Shocking Grasp, which is a Touch spell, and on the Magus spell list. Excellent. What now?
Now, Melvin can deliver that spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack. He does not have to! He "can" deliver it, meaning it's his choice. He still has all of the options listed above to deal with delivering his spell just like Sparky.
But why be a Magus if you're just going around groping orcs? Bah! Put them to the sword! So, what does Spellstrike actually do?
It lets you deliver that touch spell through a weapon, as part of a melee attack. This means multiple things:
1) You use a weapon, not your touch. Any bonuses you have using that weapon will apply. Magic enhancement bonuses, weapon focus, etc.
2) The attack will be against the opponents normal AC, not his Touch AC. This usually means the opponent will be harder to hit.
3) When you land the attack, you deal weapon damage in addition to discharging the spell.
4) The attack has a critical threat range based on the weapon used. Melvin's longsword threatens a critical hit on a roll of 19–20. If Melvin confirms a critical hit when using Spellstrike, both the weapon damage AND the spell damage will double. (If Melvin was using a Battleaxe instead of a Longsword, the spell damage would still only double, even though the Battleaxe is an x3 weapon)
Sparky walks up, demanding an explanation. "So when can this happen? It says something in there about a free attack! What the heck, dude?"
It's simple. Any time Melvin could normally deliver a touch spell, he has the option of using his sword to do so. This means 1-4 above will apply. The rules for Spellstrike specifically call out being able to use Spellstrike in place of the free attack granted from casting the spell. (Remember point [1a] from the very top?) However, that is not a limitation, that is just point out that, in addition to being able to deliver his normal touch spells with his sword, he ALSO can deliver the FREE touch spell granted by casting it. If the rules did not spell this out, it would not be clear that Melvin is able to swing his sword more than once per round. This point is important, and it's thrown a lot of people off-track.
So, once more, all those times that Sparky could deliver his touch spell? (Free attack from casting, touch attack with held charge, full-attack with held charge and weapons) Melvin can do all of those things, and he ALSO has the option of doing any or all of those things with his sword, instead of his hand or claw or fist. That is what Spellstrike does.
Spellstrike is not an action. It's not a 'free' attack. It's not anything. All it does is let you use your sword instead of your hand.
Simple example time:
Bumpy the Orc appears, and he wants revenge! He stands 30 feet from Melvin, and calls him a sissy. Round 1: Melvin casts Shocking Grasp, which is a touch spell, and on the magus spell list. (A, B, and C fulfilled!). Melvin then moves 30 feet to get adjacent to Bumpy. Now, Melvin has a free attack as a result of casting the spell[1a]. He has two options: He can make a melee touch attack against Bumpy's Touch AC. This is more likely to hit, but all it will do it Zap Bumpy, and it will only critically hit if Melvin rolls a 20. His other option is to use Spellstrike to deliver that touch with his sword. That's what he's going to do! He rolls his attack: a d20, and adds 1 because Melvin has 12 Strength, adds another 1 because he has +1 BAB. His result is 17, quite good. Bumpy has an AC of 14, so Melvin hits. Melvin now deals weapon damage (1d8+1) and discharges Shocking Grasp, Zap!
Now, I know what you're thinking. "That's too easy. I fully understand how touch spells work, and those magus abilities make sense! My noodle is not yet baked!"
Well hold your horses. You have yet to experience the brain-melting horror that is Combining Spell Combat with Spellstrike! Tables have been flipped, Mountain Dew bottles scattered to the four winds, and DMs everywhere have torn out hair by the fistful, by simply trying to figure out how exactly this all works. But not you! No! You have the benefit of a full understanding of Touch Spells. You know how to Hold the Charge. You understand in what cases can someone discharge those touch spells. You even know what Spellstrike does, and that's a heck of an accomplishment. So lets put them all together.
The heavens crack, lighting lines the horizon. Stumpy the Orc teleports in from the Plane of Orcs, intent on destroying Melvin, then taking Sparky as his wife.
It's too bad Melvin beat him on initiative.
Melvin takes a full-round action to use Spell Combat. Remember that Spell Combat grants him a full-attack with his weapon, and also lets him cast a Standard action spell. Melvin chooses to start with his spell. He casts Shocking Grasp, defensively. He makes his concentration check. Now, as part of casting a Touch spell, Melvin gets a free touch attack.[1a] Because he has Spellstrike, he can (and will) choose to deliver that attack with his sword. He rolls this attack: a d20, and adds 1 because Melvin has 12 Strength, adds another 1 because he has BAB+1, and he also includes his -2 penalty for using Spell Combat. His result is 12. Outrage! Stumpy has an AC of 16, so Melvin has missed. If Melvin had managed to hit, he would have dealt weapon damage as well as discharging the Shocking Grasp. But he didn't. Boo. So, that takes care of the free attack granted by casting a Touch spell. But Melvin isn't done yet, this is Spell Combat, so he still gets to make a full-attack with his weapon. And, he hasn't discharged that shocking grasp, yet. Melvin makes his normal full-attack with his weapon. He rolls his attack: a d20, and adds 1 because Melvin has 12 Strength, adds another 1 because he has BAB+1, and he also includes his -2 penalty for using Spell Combat. He rolls a 19, which is a critical threat, and enough to beat Stumpy's AC! Melvin will hit for sure, but first will roll to confirm his critical hit. He rolls again, with the same bonuses and penalties. 17! Melvin has confirmed the critical hit! Melvin rolls his weapon damage twice (1d8+1, and 1d8+1) then rolls his Shocking Grasp damage twice, Zap! Stumpy is no more.
So here's some things we've learned.
Spellstrike does not grant you an extra attack. You still have the exact same number of attacks (d20's rolled) as you would without it.
You may get an extra attack when using Spell Combat over making a regular full-attack, but ONLY if the spell you cast has an attack roll.
When Melvin reaches a BAB of +6 (at level 8 unless he multiclasses) he will get two attacks during a full-attack routine. One at full BAB, and one at BAB-5. (+6/+1) This means that if he uses Spell Combat, he still gets to make his full-attack in addition to casting a spell. And if that spell grants him an attack, then that's three attacks that turn. All of which are at -2 penalty from Spell Combat. Same thing if someone casts Haste.
One final note about my attack roll numbers, and Shocking Grasp. You'll note that Shocking Grasp says you get a +3 bonus on attack rolls if the opponent is wearing metal armor or carrying a metal weapon. The orcs in my examples were all shamefully nude (or wearing leather, if the reader is under 18). While this bonus certainly applies to touch attacks made to deliver Shocking Grasp, check with your DM to find out if he allows it on attacks made with Spellstrike. (Personally, I think that having to hit normal AC vs touch AC, combined with a Magus's generally lower to-hit and damage, makes the +3 not unbalanced with Spellstrike. Your DM may of course rule otherwise.)
The Void-Touched Wildblooded Sorcerer has the following ability:
Voidfield (Sp): "At 9th level, you can create an area influenced by the black void. This ability acts as an ice storm, except the area is also subject to deeper darkness for 1 round per four sorcerer levels. You may use this ability once per day at 3rd level, and one additional time per day for every three additional levels. The bloodline power replaces aurora borealis."
Ice Storm full text and PRD link:
Ice Storm
School evocation [cold]; Level druid 4, sorcerer/wizard 4
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M/DF (dust and water)
Range long (400 ft. + 40 ft./level)
Area cylinder (20-ft. radius, 40 ft. high)
Duration 1 round/level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance yes
Great magical hailstones pound down upon casting this spell, dealing 3d6 points of bludgeoning damage and 2d6 points of cold damage to every creature in the area. This damage only occurs once, when the spell is cast. For the remaining duration of the spell, heavy snow and sleet rains down in the area. Creatures inside this area take a –4 penalty on Perception skill checks and the entire area is treated as difficult terrain. At the end of the duration, the snow and hail disappear, leaving no aftereffects (other than the damage dealt).
This spell functions as darkness, except that objects radiate darkness in a 60-foot radius and the light level is lowered by two steps. Bright light becomes dim light and normal light becomes darkness. Areas of dim light and darkness become supernaturally dark. This functions like darkness, but even creatures with darkvision cannot see within the spell's confines.
This spell does not stack with itself. Deeper darkness can be used to counter or dispel any light spell of equal or lower spell level.
Darkness full text and PRD link:
Darkness
School evocation [darkness]; Level bard 2, cleric 2, sorcerer/wizard 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, M/DF (bat fur and a piece of coal)
Range touch
Target object touched
Duration 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no
This spell causes an object to radiate darkness out to a 20-foot radius. This darkness causes the illumination level in the area to drop one step, from bright light to normal light, from normal light to dim light, or from dim light to darkness. This spell has no effect in an area that is already dark. Creatures with light vulnerability or sensitivity take no penalties in normal light. All creatures gain concealment (20% miss chance) in dim light. All creatures gain total concealment (50% miss chance) in darkness. Creatures with darkvision can see in an area of dim light or darkness without penalty. Nonmagical sources of light, such as torches and lanterns, do not increase the light level in an area of darkness. Magical light sources only increase the light level in an area if they are of a higher spell level than darkness.
If darkness is cast on a small object that is then placed inside or under a lightproof covering, the spell's effect is blocked until the covering is removed.
This spell does not stack with itself. Darkness can be used to counter or dispel any light spell of equal or lower spell level.
1) How many times per day can I use this at level 9? Do we assume they inexplicably wrote it strangely, but mean what they say, which is 3 times per day at level 9 (and 4@12, 5@15, 6@18) or do we assume they got the level wrong, and they mean one time per day at level 9, and one addition each 3 levels after that (2@12, 3@15, and 4@18)?
2) Are there two different areas, or is the area of Deeper Darkness constrained to the area of the Ice Storm? Ice Storm has a radius if 20' while Deeper Darkness causes an object to radiate 60' of darkness. So is it only the 20' storm area in darkness, or does the darkness leak out of the storm area covering a full 60 feet?
I assume it means it's a 20' radius area, which is dark and difficult terrain (also stones fall once). But I guess it could be read that the area is subject to Deeper Darkness, which means the area is the 'object' which is radiating the darkness? (In which case I think the point of origin for both should be the same, radiating 60' from each square of the area is crazy)
26 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
1 person marked this as a favorite.
Aid Another states: "You can also use this standard action to help a friend in other ways, such as when he is affected by a spell, or to assist another character's skill check."
How does it work for spells?
Do you help a friend make his saving throw, by making your own DC 10 saving throw?
Can you do this before the spell is cast, or must it be done after the spell has affected him (such as the recurring saves of Hold Person or the Poison spell)?
If you can help before the spell lands, do you choose a spell, or a spellcaster, to which the bonus will apply? That doesn't make much sense. Could you ready an action to aid another triggered by the spell being cast on him, to grant him the bonus on his initial save? (I don't know if that's clear, meaning Evil Wizard begins to cast Finger of Death, you identify it and trigger your readied action, you make a DC 10 Fortitude save to grant the fighter a +2 on his save when the Finger goes off) That makes more sense, but seems kind of wonky.
In melee combat, you can help a friend attack or defend by distracting or interfering with an opponent. If you're in position to make a melee attack on an opponent that is engaging a friend in melee combat, you can attempt to aid your friend as a standard action. You make an attack roll against AC 10. If you succeed, your friend gains either a +2 bonus on his next attack roll against that opponent or a +2 bonus to AC against that opponent's next attack (your choice), as long as that attack comes before the beginning of your next turn. Multiple characters can aid the same friend, and similar bonuses stack.
You can also use this standard action to help a friend in other ways, such as when he is affected by a spell, or to assist another character's skill check.
You can help someone achieve success on a skill check by making the same kind of skill check in a cooperative effort. If you roll a 10 or higher on your check, the character you're helping gets a +2 bonus on his or her check. (You can't take 10 on a skill check to aid another.) In many cases, a character's help won't be beneficial, or only a limited number of characters can help at once.
In cases where the skill restricts who can achieve certain results, such as trying to open a lock using Disable Device, you can't aid another to grant a bonus to a task that your character couldn't achieve alone. The GM might impose further restrictions to aiding another on a case-by-case basis as well.
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
1 person marked this as a favorite.
Some questions about Mad Monkeys:
1) How long is a target nauseated when hit by the Mad Monkeys distraction ability?
The Mad Monkeys from the spell have an enhanced version of Distraction. "Creatures failing a saving throw against the mad monkeys' distraction attack are deafened for 1 minute as well as nauseated." Normally, the nausea from distraction lasts 1 round.
2) When do the Mad Monkeys perform their disarm attack?
"The monkeys attempt one disarm or steal combat maneuver each turn as a free action against any creature that begins its turn in the swarm"
A) At the beginning of the turn of the creature that begins its turn in the swarm (thus: free action out of turn)
B) On the monkey's turn, against any creature that begun its turn within the swarm, even if it is no longer in the swarm (unlimited range)
C) On the monkey's turn, against any creature that begun its turn within the swarm, as long as the creature is again within the swarm (IE: Orc is swarmed, orc moves out of swarm, swarm follows, then disarms)
D) On the monkeys turn, against any creature that began its turn in the swarm and never left it (need time to 'steep' in the monkeys)
3) Can the monkeys attempt to disarm more than one opponent per turn? (One maneuver per creature, or one maneuver per turn?)
Mad Monkeys School conjuration (summoning); Level bard 3, druid 3, sorcerer/wizard 3, summoner 3
Casting Time 1 round
Components V, S, DF
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Effect swarm of monkeys
Duration 1 round/level
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no
You summon a swarm of screeching, mischievous monkeys. The swarm understands and obeys your commands and has the statistics of a monkey swarm. Creatures failing a saving throw against the mad monkeys' distraction attack are deafened for 1 minute as well as nauseated. The monkeys attempt one disarm or steal combat maneuver each turn as a free action against any creature that begins its turn in the swarm, using your caster level plus your casting ability score bonus (Intelligence for wizards; Wisdom for druids and oracles; Charisma for bards, sorcerers, and summoners) for its CMB. Recovering an item from the monkeys requires a successful disarm or steal attempt against that CMD. An object stolen by the monkeys takes swarm damage each round the swarm is in possession of the object.
Charge grants a +2 bonus on the attack roll, and -2 penalty to AC. It also grants a +2 bonus to CMB for Bull Rush.
1) Do those bonuses stack? (+4 CMB, -2 AC)
2) Is the first set of bonuses eliminated by replacing the charge attack with a CM? (+2 CMB only)
3) Would the two bonuses not stack but the penalty still apply? (+2 CMB, -2 AC)
I think it's not 3, since they're all untyped. I think it's not 2, since a charging sunder should still grant the +2 attack/-2 AC. That leaves 1, which gives bull rush an extra bonus for charging. Thematically, that makes sense to me. (greater bonus to just ram right into the guy than to run up, stop, and take a swing at him)
Relevant rules:
PRD wrote:
Attacking on a Charge: After moving, you may make a single melee attack. You get a +2 bonus on the attack roll and take a –2 penalty to your AC until the start of your next turn.
A charging character gets a +2 bonus on combat maneuver attack rolls made to bull rush an opponent.
Bull Rush: You can make a bull rush as a standard action or as part of a charge, in place of the melee attack.
When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects.
Would a Level 3 Phalanx Soldier wielding a shield and Glaive be able to make use of the Furious Focus feat?
Phalanx Fighting (Ex): At 3rd level, when a phalanx soldier wields a shield, he can use any polearm or spear of his size as a one-handed weapon.
Furious Focus (Combat): When you are wielding a two-handed weapon or a one-handed weapon with two hands...
A) Yes, the Glaive is still a two-handed weapon, even though he is using it as a one-handed weapon
B) No, he isn't using both hands, so it doesn't count as wielding a two-handed weapon
For reference, the wording is also the same for Power Attack: "This bonus to damage is increased by half (+50%) if you are making an attack with a two-handed weapon..."
but not for two-handed strength bonus: "When you deal damage with a weapon that you are wielding two-handed, you add 1-1/2 times your Strength bonus..."
You befuddle the target's mind. The target has difficulty telling friend from foe for a short period of time. The subject is considered your ally and not your enemies' ally while determining flanking. The subject takes no other hostile action against your enemies due to this spell's effect.
So: BARD ORC GOBLIN
bard casts on goblin, bard is now flanking orc (for all the good it does)
and: ORC BARD GOBLIN
bard casts on goblin, bard is no longer flanked
but: BARD DWARF ORC GOBLIN
bard casts on goblin, is orc now flanked for friendly dwarf attack?
Is it intended that an Archivist bard cannot "take 10" on a knowledge check until level 17?
Normal bards get Lore Master at level 5. It allows them to take 10 on trained knowledge checks, and take 20 once per day.
The Archivist gets Lore Master earlier (at level 2) it allows him to take 20 on a knowledge check 1/day, but no mention of taking 10.
The Archivist doesn't get normal Lore Master at 5 because it's replaced by Jack of All Trades (the old version of which is replaced later by Probable Path).
This seems out of place. The bookish boring knowledge bard has to risk rolling low to identify creatures (Which he needs to do in order for his Bardic Performance to work) and has fewer skill points to put in those knowledge skills due to the lack of Versatile Performance.
Maybe I'm complaining too much. Magic Lore is really nice.
Can someone describe what these books are? Are they magazines, stapled and folded? Or bound books? Hardcover or soft? Spines? Do they contain advertising, or just content? Are they trade-paperback size, or paperback-book size, or something else? Are they sold in stores, or only from the paizo website?
Is the content compatible with the official pathfinder games? (the 'sanctioned' games run by strict rules at conventions) Or are they just suggested house rules?
I'm sorry if these are stupid questions, but sometimes it's hard to figure out what all this paizo stuff actually is, it seems like there's dozens of things called "pathfinder" and no real clear explanations.
Is there a difference between an "Incorporeal Touch Attack" (which is a regular attack made by an incorporeal creature, which bypasses solid objects) and the discharging of a Touch spell delivered by an incorporeal creature?
A Spectre makes an Incorporeal Touch Attack to move through your shield and armor to poke your soft mortal flesh and zap you. If you are protected with Mage Armor, it can help block the attack by not allowing the Spectre to pass through it (Armor bonus to AC applies).
But if a Spectre was able to cast, say, Touch of Fatigue, would the Mage Armor help? The Incorporeal nature of the Spectre would be irrelevant, since the spell doesn't care if you pass through the armor to touch flesh, or just touch the armor itself. Touching a Breastplate someone is wearing is the same as touching an exposed cheek. The Armor bonus to AC would apply as far as incorporeality is concerned, but ignored for purposes of discharging the spell?
The Mage Armor blocks the incorporeal nature of the Spectre, but that just means the Spectre touches the armor and the spell discharges? Or does the Force descriptor act more like a deflection bonus than an armor bonus (instead of bonking into the attack, it makes the attack slide off without making contact)? If the force effect is not an actual solid thing, then wouldn't the AC bonus apply vs fleshy touches as well? If it is a solid thing, then shouldn't the AC bonus not apply regardless of how incorporeal or not the impending finger is?
So, is a spell with Range: Touch converted into an Incorporeal Touch Attack by nature of it being delivered by an incorporeal creature?
Relevant rules:
Monster Rules - Incorporeal: "An incorporeal creature's attacks pass through (ignore) natural armor, armor, and shields, although deflection bonuses and force effects (such as mage armor) work normally against it."
Combat - Touch Attacks: "Some creatures have the ability to make incorporeal touch attacks. These attacks bypass solid objects, such as armor and shields, by passing through them. Incorporeal touch attacks work similarly to normal touch attacks except that they also ignore cover bonuses. Incorporeal touch attacks do not ignore armor bonuses granted by force effects, such as mage armor and bracers of armor."
Spells - Mage Armor: "Since mage armor is made of force, incorporeal creatures can't bypass it the way they do normal armor."