The Fall of Plaguestone

Game Master Eric Collins - France

The Fall of Plaguestone
Current Map
Loot & spoils of war


701 to 750 of 934 << first < prev | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | next > last >>

The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

Enjoy!
Roll high! (except as DM! xD)


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

So, Natsume keeps her sword in one hand, draws a javelin--

--strides--

--and tosses?

(so sword in one hand at the start of next turn)

____________________________________

I imagine you are shooting @ Green?

I count 16 squares so that is 3 range increments, and not 5, or am I wrong?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

I think my math was off; I was counting squares as 10’s instead of 5’s!

Anyway, yes, Green. Meant to specify it but then I had to look up the damage of a Javelin and forgot to circle back to it!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You don't apply vulnerability twice to both splash damage and regular damage. They are cumulated for the purpose of resistances and weaknesses.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

Okay, thanks (I'll try to read up on that, I thought they were considered two attacks, and not all lumped up together).

The bush calls out to you: "Thank you! The GM ALWAYS picks on us weak ones!"


We should write "Listen to Giggett" on all churches. If Dragh had used an alchemist's fire last time, the fight would have been very different ;)


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

They did write Listen to Giggett on the church in Plaguestone.

Now it is a ruin...

xD

So, Dragh should have used his Hardest Spells and Alchemist's fire and what else?
But Giggett has adapted well to Pierce Resistant creatures. Max' damage so far.


Giggett wrote:
We should write "Listen to Giggett" on all churches

LOL. With regards to alchemist fire;) This throw made 15 dmg spread between the two of the enemies. And I don't think that 15 dmg would let us win the last fight (it could definitely help). In the end, I think we could have win that fight as we were with what we had. But between our actions are rolls, and GM had some good ones while we had some bad ones. Unfortunate.

My burning hands made 2d6 with a reflex save. Unfortunately, my rolls were low (5 in total) and one of the bushes made a save (lowering the damage to 2 + vulnerability). So, in the end, I think I made a 17 dmg with burning hands.

Knowing the modifiers you can make actions maximizing for effect and minimizing the risk. But we know what we know now, at the beginning we didn't know a thing. But again we went through that discussion.

Now we are fighting against the 2 of them so it should be fine, and we know way more about them.

With regards to range weapon, today I recalled another non-piercing range weapon, <drums>, a sling!

Sling cost 0 and has a range of 50 ft. and does 1d6 B. A set of 10 bullets cost 1cp. It has a load of 1 which means that per round you make 1.5 attacks. But given the neglectable weight and price, we should buy one for each. Just a thought.


They are not vulnerable to fire. They are vulnerable to alchemical items only. Your burning hands did 7 points of damage total.
And we got lucky during last fights. Not unlucky. They rolled pretty badly considering how violent they are.

They are potentially resistant to bludgeoning damage, too. Plants often have DR/slashing.


Giggett wrote:
They are not vulnerable to fire

How do you know that? In a previous fight, GM didn't give insight into how much damage things made. I assume that if alchemist fire made more dmg then it means vulnerability to fire in general, but maybe I missed something.

@GM With regards to alchemist fire, it also deals the persistent damage which requires a flat check DC15 to remove. Are you making rolls on the side? Just asking.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget
Quote:
@GM With regards to alchemist fire, it also deals the persistent damage which requires a flat check DC15 to remove. Are you making rolls on the side? Just asking.

Persistent damage comes at the end of their turn (and then, after the damage, they roll to see if it continues).


Farol wrote:
Giggett wrote:
They are not vulnerable to fire
How do you know that?

Our DM is quite clear about resistances and weaknesses.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

To understand Bless...
It says:
You and your allies in the area gain a +1 status bonus to attack rolls.
But when?
When you and your allies are in the area.
So, if you are in the area, and shoot a bow, or Strike... you get +1.
But if you move out of the area... you get nothing, correct?

So, in this case, Sitril and Natsume are affected.
But only if they attack from where they are.
If they move away, they are out of the area, and thus get no +1.

But next round, the area will be 10 feet if Tamerius increases it, and 15 feet the round after etc..

Is that it?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Human Cleric 2| HP 23/24 AC 15| F +4 R +5 W +10| Speed 25| Perception +8 | Focus 1/1

Yes, that’s how I understand it.


There is something off here with Giggett delay. She had 3 actions in round 1 being in the last 'group' of luck PC's with Sitril. By the rules the delay says:

'If you Delay an entire round without returning to the initiative order, the actions from the Delayed turn are lost, your initiative doesn’t change, and your next turn occurs at your original position in the initiative order.'

Whole rules online are here:
https://2e.aonprd.com/Actions.aspx?ID=77

Effectively what would now happen is Giggett would act between one enemy and another (actions from round 1 happening in round 2) and then after the second would have her regular action (from round 2)?

Or she would 'climb' in initiative order by giving up her 1st round of actions to do her actions between one bush and another.

I don't think the above changes much in the context of this fight.

With regards to Natsume, yeah I would wait. As the dwarf is next to her, the attacks might distribute more evenly and you make them use 1 action to move instead of attacking.


Because I won't Delay for a full round, I'll return in the initiative order in between the bushes and my initiative will stay there. So, I won't act after the second bush.


Hmm,

Ok, I interpreted it the other way.
'If you Delay an entire round' I interpreted as the remainder of a given round, so in our case until the end of round 1. Instead what you are writing is you have the whole round to go back to the initiative order (in our case remainder of round 1 and half of round 2).


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

I am a bit lost in these calculations.

Giggett's action in round 1 came just after the two bushes (green coming 2nd).
So, he can delay until just after black bush (who comes 1st) before having come back full circle to where he would act in round 2.
So, if he acts then (not after green bush) he is at the very end of his possible action slot in round 1.

...that's what I see, at least.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

@Natsume: I flunked my math' also! Just as I had posted I realized that I made a mistake adding your two damages, since you do not get the STR bonus twice!
So that would not have been a kill w. 2 dam' less...

@Giggett: what do you mean by I'm supposed to know the damage when I block?
I thought the trigger was:

Quote:
While you have your shield raised, you would take damage from a physical attack.

In this case, you would take damage from a physical attack, yes.


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

So do we still need to murder the black bush, then?

I'll wait for Tamerius to go before I swing either way, so I get that sweet, sweet Bless bonus (unless it doesn't stack).


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

No, that's fine (2 damage I forgot to subtract, or added too much vs. trying to sort the list of dice rolls that I thought lost you an action, but actually didn't because of my mistake etc. -- so just leave it at that).


GM Wayfinder wrote:

@Natsume: I flunked my math' also! Just as I had posted I realized that I made a mistake adding your two damages, since you do not get the STR bonus twice!

So that would not have been a kill w. 2 dam' less...

@Giggett: what do you mean by I'm supposed to know the damage when I block?
I thought the trigger was:

Quote:
While you have your shield raised, you would take damage from a physical attack.
In this case, you would take damage from a physical attack, yes.

You are supposed to apply Resistances and Weaknesses before choosing if you Shield Block or not. And if your resistances prevent all damage, you don't have to shield block. I know, it's illogical, but it's like that, you shield block after knowing damage (I think it's also done like that to prevent shield from exploding too easily).


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget
Quote:
You are supposed to apply Resistances and Weaknesses before choosing if you Shield Block or not.

Yes, that seems logical. Since w. enough Resistance you do not take damage from a physical attack.

But that does not mean that you know the damage.
Unless you found some place that says that.
If, when attacked, you would take physical damage (which is after Resistance of course) then you can Block.
But that does not mean you know what damage you are taking.
Only if you are taking damage. Which means at least 1.
Or is there some other rule somewhere?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

The 3 Bushes total 120 xp (since you are level 2, and they are CR2).
For a total of 1290 XP each.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

You have not entered the clearing yet, since no one moved, nor talked about that.
You healed where you are I imagine, and checked out the Nature from close to the entrance, where the Dwarf stands.
You can enter if you wish...


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

Talking about d8s and healing, I am correct in thinking that Godless Healing is PFS legal now right?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Human Cleric 2| HP 23/24 AC 15| F +4 R +5 W +10| Speed 25| Perception +8 | Focus 1/1

Yes, it is.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

See if you want to start a fire or not.
Or if you want to move in.
(and people can decide if they follow Natsume... and place minis if they do)

I will be off for now... I'm meeting Giggett IRL!
CRAZY NIGHT!


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

You will be able to see down below (if you have light/Darkvision etc.).

So the roots only stop ranged attacks like bows and Telekinetic Projectile spells etc..
Because of the thick curtain dangling down.

But you can see through it enough for target spells like Electric Arc etc..


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

I have no images for blind hairless wolves that are covered in boils... so they are here as a red and a blue dot.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

@Sitril: tell me if okay with moving out, and hiding here or there while the food is out?


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:
Sitril Anvilbrand wrote:
Sitril follows the others in graceful tactical movement backward.

He's good with moving out, at least!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

Thanks!
I forgot...
I was going to comment on the grace of dwarves...


NG Male Dwarf (Strong-Blooded) Barbarian 2 | 20 ft. | Active Conditions: --- HP 18/40 | AC 19 (-1 when raging) | F +9 R +6 W +8 | Perc +8 (Darkvision) | Stealth +6 |

I am fine with the food trap


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

Doughnut Day?
Of course you are fine with the food trap!

I hope you ate more than your ass )))

Pączki?


Oh yeah: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fat_Thursday :)

Great day, one of my favorite local holidays ;)

Yeah we call them Pączki, and the day is an excuse to eat a lot of them, and I mean a lot!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

It is next week here, in France.


I might join you, at the celebrations ;)


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

It's truly a tribute to American industry that we don't set aside a day for that, we just do it while we work.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

Pancake breakfasts!


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

Me and my dad and grandpa ran the grill at a pancake breakfast a few years in a row. Had one of those really big rotating griddles... must've made thousands of 'em.


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

Yummy!
Are you fed up w. pancakes now?


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

If that’s a Hero Point use - the RP? - no need for that for Tamerius.
You got a nat’20 with your fire and smoke so I’ll say that covers moving it a bit.


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

To be honest I only like pancakes if they're solidly 65% syrup or more. And if that syrup soaks into the pancake, I pour more on top!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Human Cleric 2| HP 23/24 AC 15| F +4 R +5 W +10| Speed 25| Perception +8 | Focus 1/1

@GM yes, RP was HP (I’ve modified my post).
If I dont need to spend a HP cool!


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Natsume Ren wrote:
To be honest I only like pancakes if they're solidly 65% syrup or more. And if that syrup soaks into the pancake, I pour more on top!

LOL. I have a funny story to tell.

During my first visit to Canada I went to a breakfast place and ordered pancakes with maple syrup. In Poland at that time they were not popular so I didn't know what to expect but was dedicated to doing this Canadian experience. So the lady brought me 4 pancakes (really thick NA style not like crepes that are popular in Poland and Europe in general). And she also brought a jug of maple syrup, it was a glass jug with a metal lid. Something similar to this:
https://i5.walmartimages.com/asr/e3342031-2d44-4cc3-802a-0a73ae3fa033_1.608 f0d22d7c07c4553a48e242f325282.jpeg

As the pancakes and maple syrup were brought together I assumed that this was the amount to be used for the 4 relatively small pancakes. So I eat the whole thing and drank the whole jar of maple syrup. The amount of sugar that I ate was beyond any reasoning. And only in the end, I noticed that the jars are placed on the table like salt and pepper. And now one expected for 1 person to eat it all ;)


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

@Tamerius: yes, keep your HP (you had a nat' 20 so this is a way to use it).

@Farol: and after your maple soup w. pancakes you had some poutine?!


The Fall of Plaguestone ; Tarnbreaker's Trail ; Pub Crawl ; Gorget

QUESTIONS:

• Do you know of anywhere in the CRB that says the person in the smoke (thus concealed) must roll the flat DC5 when attacking out of the smoke into a non concealed square? Or is there no roll for that?

• for the -2 Init' Rolls for the Mutagen.
I did not bump Hallod down his init' since he had already rolled (and it says "rolls", not just "init") so I will not change things for Giggett either... but I was wondering how you would use it.
Do you only give the -2 Init' if you drink before combat?
Or would you give the -2 even once the fight has started and slow the person down (the fluff does say you become ponderous).


Female Human Fighter | HP 32/32 | 1 Hero Point | Perc’ +6 ; Stealth +6 ; Speed 20 ft. | AC 19 ; 21 w. Shield Raised | Fort' +8 ; Ref' +8 ; Will +4 | Active conditions:

I’d go with “if they don’t have to see through or into 1 square of smoke, they don’t have to deal with concealment” for the former, and “Initiative is how quickly you react to combat so once you’re already in combat you’re probably fine”


I would only give it if you drink it before combat. Higher level mutagens can last for an hour (or even infinitely with the proper feats). It's a great advantage of the Juggernaut Mutagen, most of it's drawbacks are canceled once you are in combat. But you still need to use one action to drink it.

If you are in the smoke, it's really up to you, as it's a question of line of sight. If you consider the wolves are impaired, they roll it. If you consider they aren't, you don't. As a DM, I would not have rolled it.

701 to 750 of 934 << first < prev | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / The Fall of Plaguestone Discussion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.