Grapple and the Tie Up


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Quote:

Tie Up

If you have your target pinned, otherwise restrained, or unconscious, you can use rope to tie him up. This works like a pin effect, but the DC to escape the bonds is equal to 20 + your Combat Maneuver Bonus (instead of your CMD). The ropes do not need to make a check every round to maintain the pin. If you are grappling the target, you can attempt to tie him up in ropes, but doing so requires a combat maneuver check at a –10 penalty. If the DC to escape from these bindings is higher than 20 + the target's CMB, the target cannot escape from the bonds, even with a natural 20 on the check.

Do you have to have a rope in your hand in order to Tie Up or is this just assumed to be part of maintaining the grapple and choosing "Tie Up" as the action to take after maintaining the grapple?

Also, since you need to make a grapple check to maintain with a +5 bonus, does this mean you can go from Grapple, to Tie up with a +5 from maintaining the grapple and then -10 for only a net difference of -5?

Finally, the CMB that the opponent needs to beat is just your CMB without the improved grapple feat or other bonuses to your Grapple CMB correct?


I generally rule its a move action to pull the rope provided its somewhere convenient but it usually won't make a difference given its a standard to attempt the maneouvre and the graplee isn't getting AOOs. A bit unfair otherwise as the grappler is taking the pretty hefty penalty for not having both hands free.

The check to maintain the grapple is the same as the one to attempt the further maneuvre so yes (provided it is a "subsequent round").

The last one is more unclear. The rules aren't very specific about when the bonuses for improved grapple apply (the key one is whether the bonus to CMD applies to someone trying to break your grapple as opposed to just trying to grapple you). I would say no as its rope holding them at that point but the whole mechanism doesn't make much sense and I can see reasonable arguments the other way too. Certainly I wouldn't be applying miscellaneous to hit modifiers that apply to maneovres as well.

The Exchange

I'm assuming that instead of tying them up with rope you could slap a set of manacles on them?


It doesn't say that you have to have to have the rope in hand, and it says nothing about a -4 penalty for having something in one hand. Tying up a pinned opponent is just one of those things a grappler can do "as part of the Standard Action spent to maintain the grapple." http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat#TOC-Grapple

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Grapple and the Tie Up All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions