
Lastoth |

So I was looking at how to get my inherent bonuses on my wizard in later levels. I saw a lot of convoluted ways to achieve a 52 strength to allow blood money to do your wish materials for you.
Is there something stopping you from simply using blood money in small increments to make diamonds worth about 3k each or so, and then combine those smaller diamonds with another fabricate spell later to achieve a 25k diamond and your wish material components?
Doesn't this also create a problem where you're just fabricating wealth?

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

...um, yeah, I guess that's technically within the rules. But don't. Because yes, it creates a problem; using that method can give you essentially unlimited wealth. While that seems cool at first, you'd destabilize the game to the point is isn't worth playing any more. After all, why play a game you can't lose?
As a GM, I'd tell a player that tried that, "Congratulations, you win Pathfinder. Now go play something else while the rest of us have fun."

Alleran |
You could in theory do it, I suppose. Expect to have a DMG thrown at your head, however.
Additionally:
"You convert material of one sort into a product that is of the same material. Creatures or magic items cannot be created or transmuted by the fabricate spell. The quality of items made by this spell is commensurate with the quality of material used as the basis for the new fabrication. If you work with a mineral, the target is reduced to 1 cubic foot per level instead of 10 cubic feet."
I could see a GM (ab)using that wording to say that the blood-money-diamonds (blood diamonds?) create blood-money-diamond-dust. And, as a result, they would be turned back into blood at the end of the round, because fabricate does specifically call out the material component as a conversion into another product of the same type as the original (and thus, it carries over from blood money that the type - blood money diamond - still requires the newly-created diamond dust to be used as a material component before the end of the round). So when the blood money spell expires, the fabricated diamond dust goes as well.

DRS3 |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |
The Blood Money / Fabricate debate has piqued my interest and forced me to do some research into various topics. This has led to some interesting conclusions.
Some cursory notes first.
I rounded figures unrounded figures found in parenthesis. The real world values for pounds per cubic foot come from http://www.coyotesteel.com/assets/img/PDFs/weightspercubicfoot.pdf
Casting Fabricate in one round can be done as long as you are only processing 1 cubic foot of mineral material (roughly defined as stone/metal including gemstones), or 10 cubic foot of non mineral material. This allows the use of Blood Money as a swift action prior to casting Fabricate, as a one round casting time is a full-round action, with the spell coming into effect at the beginning of next round. Now you can argue that the material component is used at the completion of the spell (End of your round) or, they are used at the beginning of the next round (which means blood money won’t work.) This however, is an argument you need to have with your DM. As I am mainly a DM I tend to fall on the former interpretation than the latter but your mileage may vary. My reason for interpreting it this way?
From the SRD:
"A material component consists of one or more physical substances or objects that are annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process. Unless a cost is given for a material component, the cost is negligible. Don't bother to keep track of material components with negligible cost. Assume you have all you need as long as you have your spell component pouch."
The process was completed in the same round the effect is merely delayed until the beginning of the next round.
With this piece of information firmly in hand I looked at exactly what one cubic foot of material entailed. For Iron/Steel its 500 (491) pounds, which by default would make mithril 250 (245.5) pounds, without a weight modifier to go by I am forced to go with the figures for Iron/Steel for adamantine.
======
Now using this information it’s pretty easy to see the limiting factor for how much metal that can be created with Blood Money for Iron is lbs/cubic foot, while for the other metals it is Strength damage caused by Blood Money. According to the trade goods section of the SRD Iron is 1 sp / lb meaning in a 1 str damage cast of blood money you can make 4999 lbs of iron. That’s enough Iron for 99 suits of full plate. Or 1249 long swords if you prefer. BUT, too much iron for one Fabricate so you are pretty much stuck with a mere 500 pounds of iron. That means a mere 10 suits of full plate or 125 longswords.
By the by if your DM is a stickler for rules and wants you to ‘steel’ the iron first inform him that steel is between 0.002% - 2.1% carbon. Fabricate a tree into 5-6 pounds (probably won’t even significantly hurt the tree) of carbon then fabricate the carbon and iron into steel.
Mithril is 500 gold per pound that’s 2 points of str damage out of the gate and 2 more for every pound after. OUCH! Magic jar something strong to chew its strength. 100 points of str damage for a full plate suit 8 for a long sword. Creating 250 lbs of mithril (the cubic foot limit) will cost 500 str damage.
Adamantine is 300 gold per pound which means you want to Blood Money it in any number that ends in ‘3’ (3,13,23) for the best strength damage to material ratio. Avoid 5’s as it kicks over to the next point of str damage leaving 499 gp worth of creation on the table. Not quite as nasty as Mithril but still time consuming to get a full plate suit ( 31 points of str damage). A long sword will cost 3 points of str damage. Creating 500 lbs of adamantine (the cubic foot limit) will cost 300 points of str damage.
Regards,
DRS

Calth |
Spells with one round casting times explicitly don't take effect until the next round so you cant use Fabricate with blood money. Even if you could get the spell down to a standard action, fabricate doesn't change the material, only its arrangement so I would say the item fabricated would disappear at the end of the turn.

DRS3 |
Spells with one round casting times explicitly don't take effect until the next round so you cant use Fabricate with blood money. Even if you could get the spell down to a standard action, fabricate doesn't change the material, only its arrangement so I would say the item fabricated would disappear at the end of the turn.
Casting a spell with a cast time of 1 round (Fabricate with material limit in this case) is a full-round action. So if you were in combat and you cast say sleep on your turn (also 1 round casting time) and someone ran up, hit you after you finished (full round action), you wouldn't need to make a concentration check, because you weren't casting.
Now if you read blood money it actually creates the base material, which is used in the spell so you state, "I am creating a 500 pounds of iron for my fabricate spell", which is then transmuted by the fabricate spell into a 500 pound ingot (no craft check really needed). Bam 500 pounds of iron in ingot form from fabricate. Which doesn't disappear because it was used by a spell as a spell component (Yes it is cheesy as hell but I think it works).
Regards,
DRS

DEXRAY |

Calth wrote:Spells with one round casting times explicitly don't take effect until the next round so you cant use Fabricate with blood money. Even if you could get the spell down to a standard action, fabricate doesn't change the material, only its arrangement so I would say the item fabricated would disappear at the end of the turn.Casting a spell with a cast time of 1 round (Fabricate with material limit in this case) is a full-round action. So if you were in combat and you cast say sleep on your turn (also 1 round casting time) and someone ran up, hit you after you finished (full round action), you wouldn't need to make a concentration check, because you weren't casting.
Now if you read blood money it actually creates the base material, which is used in the spell so you state, "I am creating a 500 pounds of iron for my fabricate spell", which is then transmuted by the fabricate spell into a 500 pound ingot (no craft check really needed). Bam 500 pounds of iron in ingot form from fabricate. Which doesn't disappear because it was used by a spell as a spell component (Yes it is cheesy as hell but I think it works).
Regards,
DRS
Wrong
Srd
A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell. You then act normally after the spell is completed.
When you begin a spell that takes 1 round or longer to cast, you must continue the concentration from the current round to just before your turn in the next round (at least). If you lose concentration before the casting is complete, you lose the spell.

Pupsocket |

IMO, Blood Money + Fabricate doesn't work, because Fabricate also targets the material to be converted, and that material doesn't work.
Anyways, the path to free wishes is not hard.
Ally casts restoration, holds the charge, readies an action.
You cast Blood Money, take one million strength damage, and immediately fall unconscious.
Ready action to apply Restoration.
You immediately wake up, proceed to cast Wish.

CWheezy |
This is one of the Classic "if you dont have a GM, you Can do it tricks".
It is not a unreasonable Reading of the rules. But it is unreasonable to expect it to be allowed.
Actually, you should call for paizo to fix things like this. Instead of letting the game have terrible spells like blood money, why not ask for a better game?
Note: Blood money is instantly banned in my game because of totally broken of a concept it is.

Cap. Darling |

Cap. Darling wrote:This is one of the Classic "if you dont have a GM, you Can do it tricks".
It is not a unreasonable Reading of the rules. But it is unreasonable to expect it to be allowed.Actually, you should call for paizo to fix things like this. Instead of letting the game have terrible spells like blood money, why not ask for a better game?
Note: Blood money is instantly banned in my game because of totally broken of a concept it is.
I just play with friends. So the bad rules are just discarded. And it is the GM that get to bane the bad ones.

Anzyr |

Just a quick note for clarity, the required STR to combine Blood Money with Wish is 51, as the 25,000 GP cost of Wish requires 50 STR damage to cover and you need the remaining 1 point to not go unconscious. I personally feel that when you start casting a spell (even a long round one) with Blood Money the components are "in use" and thus won't turn back to blood unless your casting get interrupted. Using Wish is purely to increase how RAW tight the method is and allow for +5 Inherent stat boosts to all stats.

Orfamay Quest |

prototype00 wrote:You can, explicitly, take ability damage beyond your actual stats.Is it within the rules to go to negative strength? I thought the absolute minimum was 0 for stats (and then bad stuff happened).
prototype00
So if there were a way to get immunity to unconsciousness..... i don't know of any off-hand, but that would be quite cool, yes?

Anzyr |

There is a JJ quote that if you start casting a "more than 1 standard action spell" with a Blood Money component the component is consumed when you start so you don't need to worry about it disappearing.
I believe he reversed his position in another quote later on in that thread if I recall the debate from way way back correctly. Regardless, it says you have to use the components before the end of the turn.
"Material components created by blood money transform back into blood at the end of the round if they have not been used as a material component."
And if you are using them as part of casting a spell that takes more then 1 round they are "being used as a material component" and thus will no revert unless the spell is interrupted. I only use Wish duplicating X spell because it is more RAW tight, thought truthfully I consider the explanation I gave above very RAW tight as well, just slightly less so.

seebs |
I was pretty sure "have not been used" is a past-perfect, meaning it denotes the completion of the usage. It's not "are being used" but "have been used" that's at issue. If you aren't done using them, then they are not in the state "have been used".
If that can be used with longer casting times, like permanency, that's moved it from "sort of broken but whatever you get an occasional free stoneskin or true seeing" to "well, there went THAT game".
EDIT: And no, "only one caster has it" isn't going to save you. Mythic. Any mythic caster on the archmage path can cast it using wild arcana if that's what they selected, and that means they can scribe a scroll of it, and that means they can teach it to others. Game over, man. Game over.

![]() |

I'd munchkin it: You can't spend STR you don't have... so you can't do a wish with Blood Magic. Fabricate can't make magic items, nor can Blood Magic... so go ahead, I dare you to make a bunch of diamond dust and convert it to diamond... and then wish for something magical to happen. Good luck...
I would allow (per the spells) for someone to make gold coins, convert it to ingots (or vice versa) with the two spells. Again, limited based on their own Str total. The assumption that you can get 40000 gallons of blood in one go to cast the spell for wish is pretty ridiculous.
As written, its just horribly broken. All you need to correct the entire problem is a contingent restoration spell... 6th level spells and you have endless money/resources.... as written.
As you take the stat damage from the Blood Money spell, you fall unconscious if your STR is less than 0. Ergo, that is the reason for the aforementioned "limit" on the spell. You fall asleep, you can't finish your other spell that uses the materials, and well, it fails. And since NOBODY BUT YOU can use your blood (read the spell), then it can't be used as material components by other players. (if you don't cast another spell, it doesn't transform, and if you fall asleep while casting another spell it turns back to blood... so STR stat is a logical limit)
So 11 str could make 5000 gp in gold per casting with Fabricate (without falling asleep). Which is horribly broken.

Orfamay Quest |

@maouse: It seems to me that you're straining at gnats and swallowing camels in your objections. Blood money is capable of creating any valuable component, so the difference between gold coins and diamond dust is not particularly relevant, and the needed diamond for a wish spell is not itself a magical item -- no more magical than the bat guano you need for a fireball.
But even if you can only create 5000 gp in gold ingots with a Blood Money spell,... five castings of the spell and a jeweler give me the diamond I need. If I'm at a level where casting wish is an option, finding a jeweler is trivial.
Even the strength limitation is easily overcome. Where's that 30 Str BSF (Boris the Strong and Fair, obviously) again? I can use a spell like magic jar, cast form of the dragon and a few other tricks, and I've got as high a strength as I want or need.
What I'm really not seeing is why this is an issue. If you're of a high enough level to cast wish, 25k is pocket change -- and a CR 8 efreeti (which can grant you three wishes) is a nuisance that you can shake down for lunch money. So you're really pushing the rules to prevent me from doing in a complicated way what I can do very simply and directly.

Anzyr |

I'd munchkin it: You can't spend STR you don't have... so you can't do a wish with Blood Magic. Fabricate can't make magic items, nor can Blood Magic... so go ahead, I dare you to make a bunch of diamond dust and convert it to diamond... and then wish for something magical to happen. Good luck...
I would allow (per the spells) for someone to make gold coins, convert it to ingots (or vice versa) with the two spells. Again, limited based on their own Str total. The assumption that you can get 40000 gallons of blood in one go to cast the spell for wish is pretty ridiculous.
As written, its just horribly broken. All you need to correct the entire problem is a contingent restoration spell... 6th level spells and you have endless money/resources.... as written.
As you take the stat damage from the Blood Money spell, you fall unconscious if your STR is less than 0. Ergo, that is the reason for the aforementioned "limit" on the spell. You fall asleep, you can't finish your other spell that uses the materials, and well, it fails. And since NOBODY BUT YOU can use your blood (read the spell), then it can't be used as material components by other players. (if you don't cast another spell, it doesn't transform, and if you fall asleep while casting another spell it turns back to blood... so STR stat is a logical limit)
So 11 str could make 5000 gp in gold per casting with Fabricate (without falling asleep). Which is horribly broken.
Right, that's why you get 51 STR... I think you are missing something here.

seebs |
Two things:
First, you can take more ability damage than you have score, same as you can take more hit point damage than you have hit points. All negative strength does is knock you unconscious. That's why you have a readied action from a cleric with restoration handy. You're out 100gp for the material components.
Second, it's possible to get a 51 strength.

![]() |

Pupsocket wrote:So if there were a way to get immunity to unconsciousness..... i don't know of any off-hand, but that would be quite cool, yes?prototype00 wrote:You can, explicitly, take ability damage beyond your actual stats.Is it within the rules to go to negative strength? I thought the absolute minimum was 0 for stats (and then bad stuff happened).
prototype00
I have a way to become immune to unconsciousness. Now, you have to be a special race that no GM would ever allow, but I'm pretty sure most GMs don't allow you to do free wishes either, so it may as well be said.

![]() |

Ah, but is it immune to being trapped in a (sufficiently large) bucket?

seebs |
I'm not sure whether you'd need a citation per se, because that's just How Damage Works. You don't need a special rule permitting you to take more hit point damage than you have hit points, the game just talks about hit point totals and what happens when they're negative.
That said, from the ability damage section:
If the amount of ability damage you have taken equals or exceeds your ability score, you immediately fall unconscious until the damage is less than your ability score. The only exception to this is your Constitution score. If the damage to your Constitution is equal to or greater than your Constitution score, you die. Unless otherwise noted, damage to your ability scores is healed at the rate of 1 per day to each ability score that has been damaged. Ability damage can be healed through the use of spells, such as lesser restoration.
"Equals or exceeds" seems pretty clearly to allow you to take more damage than you have score.

Blakmane |

Pupsocket called out an explicit wording. Inference from another statement is implicit (ie 'assumed'), not explicit. Splitting hairs I know, but it is very important for this discussion.
The reason it is important is because the 3.5 rulebook used the same wording, but had an additional line which was removed in pathfinder, likely to reduce word limit:
"Keeping track of negative ability score points is never necessary. A character’s ability score can’t drop below 0."
Thus, the 'greater or equal' is presumably there simply to ensure noone tries to claim you have to take exactly as much damage as you have remaining in order to go unconcious/die. There's no assumption in there about having an ability score less than 0 at all.
However,
Did the dev intentionally remove the qualifying statement in order to allow for lower than 0 ability scores, or was it simply a matter of an assumption that people understood they did not drop below 0, and so removed that text to save space? We simply cannot answer that without an FAQ, and I would expect table by table variation.
Pathfinder suffers a great deal from being based on the 3.5 system but with a truncated rules set that does not list examples or special conditions. In these circumstances it is often impossible to adjudicate a solution to an unclear rule because you can't use 3.5 rules text in PF, no matter how sensible they may be or how similar the rulesets are. As paizo divorces itself more and more from its predecessor, these issues are only going to become worse.
You interpretation is probably more correct RAW honestly, as much as it galls me. RAW in pathfinder often makes me want to shoot myself.

Redneckdevil |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

What is the profession or crafting skill for turning diamond dust back into a diamond? What isthe crafting dc of this?
I was of the understanding that fabricate would let you succeed at a crafting check and i thought the whole reason why this wasnt possible was because turning diamond dust back into a diamond...there didnt seem to be a reliable agreement on which craft to use or even what the crafting woukd be without the spell.

Pupsocket |

Pupsocket called out an explicit wording. Inference from another statement is implicit (ie 'assumed'), not explicit. Splitting hairs I know, but it is very important for this discussion.
You are right. I don't have an explicit statement. What I do have is a clear, unambiguous inference.
The reason it is important is because the 3.5 rulebook used the same wording, but had an additional line which was removed in pathfinder, likely to reduce word limit:"Keeping track of negative ability score points is never necessary. A character’s ability score can’t drop below 0."
Thus, the 'greater or equal' is presumably there simply to ensure noone tries to claim you have to take exactly as much damage as you have remaining in order to go unconcious/die. There's no assumption in there about having an ability score less than 0 at all.
However,
Did the dev intentionally remove the qualifying statement in order to allow for lower than 0 ability scores, or was it simply a matter of an assumption that people understood they did not drop below 0, and so removed that text to save space? We simply cannot answer that without an FAQ, and I would expect table by table variation.
Pathfinder suffers a great deal from being based on the 3.5 system but with a truncated rules set that does not list examples or special conditions. In these circumstances it is often impossible to adjudicate a solution to an unclear rule because you can't use 3.5 rules text in PF, no matter how sensible they may be or how similar the rulesets are. As paizo divorces itself more and more from its predecessor, these issues are only going to become worse.
You interpretation is probably more correct RAW honestly, as much as it galls me. RAW in pathfinder often makes me want to shoot myself.
You are missing a vital piece: Ability damage works very differently in PF than it did in 3.5.
In PF, ability damage is a thing that happens to you, you accumulate levels of a thing called "ability damage" which causes some penalties, and if your ability damage equals or exceeds your matching ability score, you fall unconscious until such time that it is no longer the case.
At no point are you referencing a value of zero.

seebs |
Yeah, there's huge changes. Ability damage and drain, in 3.5, were both treated the same way, except one recovered. In Pathfinder, ability damage is basically the same kind of thing as the "temporary bonuses" rules (despite the FAQ now sort of invalidating those), and is tracked separately. Your score doesn't change, you just take penalties to things affected by that score.
It certainly looks intentional, because it better aligns the behavior of ability damage with the way normal damage works.

![]() |

I'd not noticed, but restoration has a casting time of three rounds, so you can't use a readied action to cast restoration. But! It's a touch spell, so I think you can cast it, hold the charge, and ready an action to touch someone...
Common missed thing, If I had a nickle for every time someone tried to do it in combat or when rounds mattered ;-)
You will have a big amount of table variance on your "cast blood money as a swift, fall unconscious, get a restoration, complete your round casting wish" thing. I for one, would say by the time you got a chance to act again to cast Wish the diamond would be gone.

Orfamay Quest |

Why would the diamond be gone? Someone casts the spell, readies an action with their held charge. You're still acting on the same turn you cast blood money. You take your swift action, you go unconscious, the cleric touches you with a readied action, and you say "I wish..." on the same turn.
I don't think there's specific rules support for the idea that if you are incapacitated mid-turn, you continue as normal during your turn. It would be within a game master's purview to rule that you don't recover consciousness soon enough to continue your actions.
I know that I'd consider the following sequence of events questionable.
* Enemy monster commences claw-claw-bite routine, hits with first claw.
* Friendly spellcaster uses readied action to incapacitate monster.
* Enemy spellcaster uses readied action to restore monster
* Enemy monster continues with second claw and bite attack.
Essentially, I'm not convinced that "recover consciousness" is a free action....

Aelryinth RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16 |

Fabricate allows you to make an instant crafting check to complete an item.
Diamond Dust to Diamonds is effectively a Make Whole spell, not a Fabricate. You can't craft Dust to Diamonds...you need raw diamonds to make finished diamonds. You could Fabricate Diamonds to diamond dust, however.
If the raw material for Fabricate is both the components and the target of the spell, you're effectively making a whole item out of blood money basic items. It would revert to base form at the beginning of the next round when it is not used up as a material component. A crafting check entitles reforming/reshaping an existing supply of raw material into something else. It's still made out of that raw material.
So, this item made out of your blood by blood money would get reshaped and thinned down to a completed item, and after the spell is done, the part that is not used up/winnowed down/reshaped by Blood Money hits the magic timer, is no longer a material component, and reverts back to blood.
So, no, it wouldn't work. You'd have to do the 51 Str route, make the whole item at once, and then consume it all.
Having something left from Fabricating it is no different then if you made up a 1000 gp item from Blood Money and then used up 500 gp of it. The part not used up reverts to blood. So it would be with Fabricate.
==Aelryinth

seebs |
seebs wrote:Why would the diamond be gone? Someone casts the spell, readies an action with their held charge. You're still acting on the same turn you cast blood money. You take your swift action, you go unconscious, the cleric touches you with a readied action, and you say "I wish..." on the same turn.I don't think there's specific rules support for the idea that if you are incapacitated mid-turn, you continue as normal during your turn.
No specific support for it is needed. Unless you've got a specific rule saying you don't, then the normal rules continue to apply. Your swift action happens, something else happens and gets responded to by a readied action, it's still your turn, you still have all your actions but your swift action left. Actions have resolved.
To change this, we'd need some kind of wording saying that you don't get to continue your actions if you're interrupted in a way that is resolved instantly.

Hendelbolaf |

So if there were a way to get immunity to unconsciousness..... i don't know of any off-hand, but that would be quite cool, yes?
For the record a zero strength would leave you paralyzed not unconscious. They are different conditions.