But it ended with my wife's character on the ground one health away from death. The GM wouldn't let anyone walk up and heal her saying "no one is close enough to heal her" even though they hadn't acted yet before her next turn. (and everyone was within their move range)
I smell issues (other than minor rules disagreements).
Because only the Rogue and the Fighter ride the short bus (and, to some extent the Cavalier, but he's got a proper pet).
Sooo.....Inquisitors have to buy flight? Because this dog doesn't roll around until level 12 at the earliest.
If you try to cover 10-12 skills with your Rogue, you WILL be mediocre at many of them. Could you name for us the skills you think your Rogue should have?
I don't think you know Bards. Or Rangers. And you certainly don't know Alchemists.
...but if you run a REAL dungeon with a REAL day (at least 8-12 hours)...where you'd actually NEED a Rogue (so none of this one or two trap stuff, the dungeon is LOADED with traps and locks and other things), they run out of these types of spells within the first hour or two...and then...they are back at the square where a Rogue with a high Dex is better at many of the skills.
Your neckbeard doesn't impress me, i used to DM with the red box edition. Even back then, the giant dungeons had places to rest and recover spells.
"I want a simple character" is a valid preference.
"But you can just roleplay an interesting character" is the Stormwind Fallacy. Yes, your Fighter can be a boisterous, rough-and-tumble giant of man, colossal in mirth and melancholy...but so can any other character.
This thread is about whether there are any niches left for the short bus classes. Some Rogue archetypes have unique abilities, but those are gained at level 4 at the very latest (if you count Ninja as a separate class). Thug Rogue 1 is still a cornerstone dip for demoralize builds, for example. It's much the same with Fighter archetypes.
And then you have the complete dogs, like the Tower Shield specialist, that give you level 4 appropriate abilities way past level 10.
You can't take the Life Mystery. But I'm sure you can take the Life Spirit. And get two Channel pools. But your FCB doesn't affect your channeling from the Life Spirit.
This is the RPG equivalent of Stockholm Syndrome.
The dangerous protagonist in the party of dull stereotypes could do his job better as a Magus. The emotional anchor could be literally any character class ever.
It's gonna be like an MMA fight.
That is, 20 seconds of flailing away, followed by thirty sweaty, grunting minutes of dry humping on the floor.
First off, the actual defining feature of both classes is that they're mundane. Not "versatile" or "enduring", but mundane. This is a problem, because past level 6 or so, everything is superhuman. Fighters and Rogues are stuck with abilities that are measured against some standard of "realism"; meanwhile, real classes get to say "it's MAGIC, I ain't gotta explain s++@".
On top of having their core feature literally being "sucking", they have other issues.
The Rogue is trying to do the job of attacking people. Other classes who do that have either Full BAB + bonus from class abilities, or medium BAB plus at least 6 levels spellcasting and other class abilties. The Rogue has medium BAB and terrible defenses.
The Fighter is being sold as an action hero, the warrior of legends. But he isn't. He's somewhere between a hired thug/jobber on the football team, and a helmet-wearing short bus rider. When he's not stabbing things, the Fighter is literally the same as the "filth-covered dirt farmer" NPC class. He can't do the job of any action hero, modern or mythical, you would care to name.
High level play even becomes slightly awkward over it; because Steve and I are buddies, we're equals at the table, but....Steve brought a Fighter to the high level game, and a high-level Fighter is just not a player on that field, he's a tool, brought along and used by the actual characters. I mean, I'm playing a game with the NPCs, and one winning move is "putting my Fighter where he can make a Full Attack on an enemy with most defenses down", but Steve's character can't really contribute meaningfully to making that happen. And that means that I'm making decisions for Steve and his character, and it kinda sucks.
So, I'm locked into playing a big, beefy Shoanti Warpriest.
What I'm thinking is, if I play a Sacred Fist instead of a regular WP, I get access to Crusader's Flurry, and I get to run around without armor.
I lose Sacred Weapon, Focus Weapon and Sacred Armor, and my level 3 bonus feat. I gain the ability to make 2 attacks at the very low levels (with FoB). Traitwise, I'm thinking Heirloom Weapon for a Greatsword, and Fates Favored because I'm a Warpriest.
I'm unsure about feats. Not having +1 BAB really limits my options at level 1; I don't know if I will have the opportunity for retraining, so I guess I'm taking Weapon Focus: Greatsword at level 3 and Crusader's Flurry at level 5.
Feat suggestions very welcome. And if I could find a way to flurry with an Earthbreaker, that would be so great.
If it is your contention that it automatically hits, how can they still get a save or SR? Unlike other weapon enhancements (i.e. conductive, spellstrike) there is no language in the enhancement to even remotely assist this assumption.
Yes. there is. It's the bolded line from your own quote.
Let me ask you to clarify the consequences of your own interpretation, then.
If you hit a creature, and then have to hit it again with a touch attack, and you miss, what happens? The spell storing property specifically allows the casting of the spell on that target (only); now you're left holding a charge that....can't discharge on anything other than the intended target?
For that matter, how about all those published clerics with a heavy shield and spell storing mace with cause serious wounds - and trust me, over the years, there have been a lot of those. Are they all idiots? Because they sure as sugar can't attempt a melee touch attack after hitting with their spell storing weapon.
None of the above.
1. You're not casting any spells, the weapon is, so Spellstrike doesn't apply. This is completely certain.
2. The wepaon immediately casts the spell on the target. If it's a touch range spell, it just takes effect on the target immediately. Considerations of touch attacks etc. don't apply; you did just hit him. This is an interpretation of how Spell Storing weapons work; for those who disagree, ask them to describe their interpretation - it will usually lead to some blatantly silly places.
3. No, you never made an attack roll for the spell, so it can't crit. Spellstrike's crit spell ability is an exception to how spell riders on critical hits usually work.
4. Nothing in the Spell Storing property negates saves or SR, and it would be insanely OP if it did.
I have to ask, is this what your sheet at the table would look like? What I mean is, you don't have a line with Inspired Combat and Power Attack already factored in to your attack? That seems bothersome to me.
That said, one attack per round at +9 for 1d8+11 seems weak for a level 6 beatstick. Default level 6 beatstick goes something like +11/+6 for 2d6+16, plus whatever his class abilities are.
Seems legit. Brawler is not really bringing anything to the table, though.
why cant the brawler use natural weapons when it says in unarmed strike in features treat unarmed strikes as manufactured weapons and natural weapons. wouldnt that make it were you cant use unarmed strikes with brawlers flurry it seems redundant
If every A is B, it does not follow that every B is A.
0: Agreed, agreed so much.
1: Stop it, you're just confusing the noobs. There's no difference between a "+6/+1" and a "+6" BAB.
2: Indeed. Swordmage? Needs more mage.
All those feats are not created equal. Most of the "Extra X" feats have "X" as a prerequisite. Additional Traits does not.
If you don't have X yet because you're not high enough level or you traded it away, you certainly can't take Extra X. If you're down to zero uses, it's a bit murky.
Guys, seriously? This is not a thread about the Race Trait/Racial Trait confusion. Stop answering questions that no-one is asking.
To the OP: You are correct, half-elves can't take Dual Talent because they have no Bonus Feat Racial Trait to exchange; the option would be valid if they had the ability to pay for it.
Here are two scenarios:
A) The archetype was intended to have short duration summons with none of the limitations of the vanilla summoner's ability, and capable of stacking more summonings than the Master Summoner archetype.
B) Sloppy writing and editing.
Do you honestly, sincerely, not out of a desire to win this argument but based on your framework of experience with the world in general and Pathfinder in particular, consider scenario A to be the truth?
The First Worlder's Summon Nature's Ally feature is pretty explicit that it replaces, not alters, the normal Summon Monster,
"This ability otherwise replaces the summon monster ability of a normal summoner." The bolded part makes no sense and is clearly a mistake. It should be either "replaces" or "otherwise works as". Given how the ability references back to the base ability, and how the implications of full replacement are not even hinted at in the fluff, it seems most likely that it's intended to be "otherwise works as".
Marroar Gellantara wrote:
Let's assume the bolded part is actually meaningful. That means we either A) reference the casting time of the spell, or B) we go by the notes in the spell descriptions that define the casting time when used as a spell-like ability, for those spells which have that note.
Guess what, for option B), we find a grand total of ZERO spells published so far that interact with it. So that's prooobably not the right interpretation.
Oh, it's not an errata, it's a clarification. The rules always worked like this. Just like Flurry of Blows always required two different weapons. We have always been at war with Eurasia.
Marroar Gellantara wrote:
Core Rulebook, Magic chapter wrote:
And what does the description of Summon Monster (the spell) say that the casting time is?
Wrong, you're inventing distinctions that are not there. Even if we go with your interpretation, the FAQ on SLAs brings the CL home to the Gnome.
Marroar Gellantara wrote:
That's not what the FAQs sat. Current state of the rules is that SLAs granted by a casting class are the same flavor as the class, then you go through the wizard/cleric/bard/druid hierarchy from the Bestiary definition of SLA, and if it's still unresolved, it's arcane (unless there's a good reason it should be divine). There was a period of time where the hierarchy was used to determine spell level and version, but anything on an arcane list was arcane, and that produced silly results.
a rock is a weapon and deals 2d4, no reason why it can't be enchanted and then bonded.
Agreed, a rock in the hands of a rock thrower is certainly a weapon. I've read the PFS Guide to Organized Play, and haven't found any society-specific definition of "weapon".
There is a good reason to say it can't be enchanted; that is, turned into the kind thing called a magic weapon, that has a permanent enhancement bonus, and that's the lack of Masterwork Weapon status.
HOWEVER, Divine Bond, Arcane Bond etc are abilities that give an enhancement bonus to a weapon; they do not require a masterwork weapon to function.
Marroar Gellantara wrote:
Devs? I was going to ask if I had missed a ruling, but then I realized you said creative devs.
Marroar Gellantara wrote:
I would say that it is one round per level, but SLAs are standard actions unless noted otherwise.
That's an interesting discussion. The Core book and the Bestiary diverge, and there are a few threads about it. Let me just say that if the writers didn't believe SLA:SM was a one round action, there would have been no need to write that it was a standard action for the Summoner class.
Useless Gimp = REAL ROLEPLAYAR!!. I'm so sick of that argument. The archetype is mechanically bad AND lacking in flavor as far as the Eidolon is concerned.
Anyways, as I've pointed out on this board before, if the First World Summoner's summoning ability doesn't inherit anything from the Vanilla Summoner's SM ability, such as not being Eidolon-limited or unstackable - which is a reading that's strained to the point of dishonesty - it also doesn't get standard action casting time or minutes duration.
Answer 1: No, the thing that happens to people who don't take a direct hit does not count as a direct hit.
Answer 2: Like the other discoveries that affect damage type, Scrap Bomb replaces the damage type. So it does piercing damage and possibly bleed, no fire damage.
Finn Kveldulfr wrote:
Because he's only proficient with his heirloom bow.