A bit of confusion here and I am anot sure which is correc as the Rules feel vague.
when crafting a peperbox (6 barrels) ....
do you pay the masterwork cost (300gp) for the weapon itself or do you pay it for each barrel (300gp x 6)?
when enchanting ... do you enchant the entire thing (like a bow) or do you have to enchant each barrel (like a double weapon)?
I apologize but after trying to go through as many threads about the sysnthesist I have been unable to determine something.
I know that an eidolon does NOT get any benfit from healing as they are "temporary" HP and can only be replenished through the rejuvenate eidolon spells or life link abilities.
My question is about the summoner within ... does a summoner while fused get hit point healing when subject to positive channeling? cure spells I image wouldn't work as you cannot target the summoner individually but channels don't really target but instead heal everything within its radius.
So in a current game, a player is using the Flame Warden archetype for the Ranger profession. Looking over the archetype, there seems to be confusion about the their spells.
As a ranger they use the Ranger list but the archetype says ...
... A flamewarden can prepare spells from the druid list that have the fire descriptor.
... This alters the ranger’s spells.
So the question we have ... does a Flame Warden simply add all the druid spells with the flame descriptor or do they ONLY get druid spells with the fame descriptor?
have the party spot a specific piece of jewellery that the baron's daughter has been known to wear ... perhaps a signant ring she forgot to remove during a quick change into her "alternate identity".
Have a party member physically bump into her and notice an obvious boossom.
Have them meet the baron's daughter in the marketplace or on some official meeting and have them notice she has the same exact cloak hanging nearby that the contact always wears.
spoiler .... yes I am going there ....
during a conversation with the contact, have a familiar or animal pet with scent take interest in the contact. The front of her cloak has a fresh stain of red fluid. .... if that isn't obvious I don't know what else is.
ok so a question or two about being being knowing if you are proficient regarding clerics (and wizards) ....
cleric "Clerics are proficient with all simple weapons, light armor, medium armor, and shields (except tower shields). Clerics are also proficient with the favored weapon of their deities."
when stating a cleric is proficient with shields .... does this include using a shield AS a weapon. shields as weapons are martial weapons. The wording is kind of odd because it first mentions weapons .... then armor .... then shields.
2nd question ... Hand of the Apprentice, the wizard universalist 1st level power (or cleric magic domain).
"You cause your melee weapon to fly from your grasp and strike a foe before instantly returning to you. As a standard action, you can make a single attack using a melee weapon at a range of 30 feet. This attack is treated as a ranged attack with a thrown weapon, except that you add your Intelligence *(Wisdom for cleric) modifier on the attack roll instead of your Dexterity modifier (damage still relies on Strength). This ability cannot be used to perform a combat maneuver. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Intelligence (Wisdom for cleric) modifier."
Does the wizard or cleric need to be proficient in the melee weapon that is being magically thrown or do they take the penalty if not?
I did a search and found some information but nothing truly definitive. If a creature has more than 1 form of movement ... how much movement do they get during their standard move action?
example ... a pit fiend has a speed 40 ft., fly 60 ft. (average)
assuming normal terrain (and successful fly checks) ... could a pit fiend move 40 ft on land and then take flight for an additional 60 ft giving it a grand total of 100 ft of movement utilizing only a move action?
I can't find any rules on mixing movement or limiting movement to one type or another and the few threads don't seem to be commented by anyone of significance.
So .... a kitsune with the magical tail feat gets specific spell like abilities usable 2 times a day.
A kitsune has its shapeshift ability to turn into a human (or fox depending on feats)
Can a kitsune in "human form" still access its spell like abilities granted from magical tail (when it doesn't currently have its tails)?
Sorry if this is more of a necro but there are so many "grapple" topics in the search it just seems easier to ask the question directly rather tham sifting through potential threads ....
round 1 - A PC starts a grapple successfully beating his opponent's CMD
Is his opponent completely free or does he just move a step down from the "pin" condition to the "grappled" condition
Simon Legrande wrote:
So what happens if there is an obstacle such as a wall or creature preventing you from traveling the full distance your jump check indicates you should travel? Do you take damage or provoke AoOs? Do you fall prone?
given the following example ...
GGGG---GG where G is the ground and - is empty
assuming a running start
1) is the DC based on the gap jumped over [5,6,7] (DC15) or the distance to the next Box of ground [5,6,7,8] (DC20)?
2) when determining movement, does the jumped distance count against a characters total movement? moving from 1to9 equal 40' movement?
3) does landing at the end of a long jump end your move action or can you continue provided you have movement available?
4) using acrobatics happens during a move action so if a double move is required to jump a distance, does it need 2 checks?
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Gauntlets do not take up an Item Slot. By that same notion, Full Plate takes up the Body, Chest, Head, and Feet slots.
Gauntlets do take up the hand slot (as there are magic gauntlets in the "Hand" section in UE. Gauntlets that come with armor (med or heavy) however can be replaced without changing the integrity (=armor value)of the armor ... as can boots.
If full plate takes up all those spots, why is there an "Armor" slot?
the cost of the outfit is free (provided its 10gp or less) but it still counts as wt against your carry cap.
perhaps the underwear that was brought up has a negligible weight like flasks.
The text mentions the cheetah and jaguar but doesn't specify to use those stats from the beastiary. I'm planning on using one in an upcoming game where the GM can be a bit rules lawyer-ish. So do we intact use those stats?
Character concept has a snow lynx (who will eventually become an AC (cat, small)
The stories about a half-giant character who carried a bunch of throwing halflings are just not true. It was one halfling, and he was dead, and the corpse was being brought back to town for a resurrection - so while a halfling corpse might have been tossed a few times it was only a corpse and not an living halfling, and it was just because there was nothing else to throw.
The version on the story I heard was the half-giant couldn't affordable a thrown weapon with the returning quality. A halfling was the next best thing.
So we had a situation where while fighting a large creature, a character was able to get into melee (passing through a threatened area) without provoking an attack of opportunity.
M=monster, R=Ranger, F=Fighter, -=open space
The question really comes down to does the Ranger provide cover to the fighter. RAW states you can't make an AoO against something with cover. To keep things moving along (it was a large combat), we just decides there was cover but now that I think more about it, I'm not so sure. The monster is tall so it has a reach of 10.
Burning gaze has a target of "you", share spells say the caster "may cast a spell with a target of “You” on his familiar (as a touch spell) instead of on himself."
If I cast Burning Gaze, I can cast it on my familiar thus giving it a standard action to look at bad guys and try to set them on fire.
The spell has a saving throw Fortitude (negates), as well as a Reflex save to quench the flames.
Is the save DC based off the familiars Int as the gazer, or the casters Int since they actually cast the spell?
My thought that 2x 90 degree turns is fine but you are forced to move at least 5 feet with each turn so if you were in a 5' hallway, you would be forced to make the 180 turning back on yourself whereas in a 10' corridor you could make 2x 90 degree turns but you would wind up on the other side of the hallway (flying in a U).
My personal opinion is no because to utilize a shield it needs to be strapped on and not just held or supported. Since you can't strap it to both arms, you can't 2 hand it.
As far as its a weapon so you can, armor spikes are on the list, can you two hand them? Can you 2 hand a blade boot or the iron beard thing?