[PFS] Kusarigama


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

So, I ask that you forgive me for this... but I'm dumb. And I have been debating even posting this for a long while because I feel this breaks the rule of "there are no stupid questions"... because this is pretty stupid. Especially since I think I know the answer, but...

How does the kusarigama work?!

I have a fairly decent understand how the weapon is SUPPOSE to work. After all, the weapon can be seen on display in any movie, show or video game with a ninja in it and you can look up real life practitioners on youtube. I understand how it is suppose to work.

But is that how it works in PFS? And how do certain tags work? Do both ends have reach? Or trip? Or grapple? Or does one end have certain tags that the other does not?

Kusarigama

Spoiler:
This weapon has a single sickle held in the off-hand attached by 10 feet of fine chain to a weighted metal ball.

Benefit: The sickle is used to make trips, jabs, and blocks while the ball is whipped around at high speeds and then smashed into the opponent.

I guess I am either confused by what I would expect the weapon to do (damn you, anime!), what the rules kind of say and flavor text part says. I looked at some past posts on the subject and generally they have been "...uh... idunno..."

Debating making a new PFS character and just enjoy the concept, so I thought I would try to get some kind of answer.

Paizo Employee Organized Play Developer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I believe the intent was for the weighted chain to be the portion that has reach and grapple, while the sickle portion is wielded like any other sickle and has the trip property. Both ends would have the monk property. That being said, none of that is actually clarified in the equippment entry and I believe that the strictest RAW of the weapon is that both ends have all of the listed properties, using their particular damage dice and types.

It probably would have been worth the word count to expound a bit more than they did on how this all comes together in the equipment entry.

Grand Lodge

No one knows.

:)

Dark Archive

FLite wrote:

No one knows.

:)

While playing the Ninja pregen at PFS tonight, I think this might be true. Almost got away with murder with such an open interpretation... only almost because I rolled low on sneak attack dice. ;)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The text for the weapon supports the sickle trip chain reach and grapple view.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

This has been asked before.


Unfortunatly the book was just reprintet and the oriental weapons ditent get the attention they deserved.
I Think we May have to ask this question a lot more.


The entire Asian Weapon list is hard to understand and I've actually used some of these*.

*The Kusari Gama, Kyetsu Shoge and Rope Dart are more dangerous to me than an opponent. Chains man, unforgiving.


Seeing that the double Kama can be used at reach, I would say either end can be used.

Sczarni

The real problem here is the way the double, reach, and monk properties interact. If you flurry with a double weapon, the assumption is that you're hitting the same enemy with all your attacks, yes? If one end of the weapon has reach and the other doesn't, that means you have to be adjacent to one enemy and 10 feet away from a second enemy and divide your attacks between them.


Why is the assumption that you're hitting the same enemy with all your attacks? I've never seen that argument before.

Sczarni

fretgod99 wrote:
Why is the assumption that you're hitting the same enemy with all your attacks? I've never seen that argument before.

Well, you don't have to, of course, but I would think you'd want to be able to at least, right? Focusing fire on one enemy means he goes down sooner, and then there's fewer enemies wailing on you, right?

Plus, what if there's only one enemy in the fight? Then you're attacking it or nobody.

If the two ends of the kusarigama don't threaten at the same range, you can't use them both on the same enemy, and that's just horribly counter-intuitive to me at least.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Except that they errata-ed flurry. You can do all the attacks in the flurry with a single weapon or with a single end of a double weapon.

So being able to threaten at two different ranges makes your flurry better, not worse.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / [PFS] Kusarigama All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.