Gauntlets


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

When you purchase a suit of armor that comes with gauntlets, is the weight of the gauntlets assumed in the armor's weight? If so, could you get somewhat lighter armor by forgoing the gauntlets altogether?

Same question, but with cost. Could you get slightly cheaper armor by not purchasing the gauntlets?


Ravingdork wrote:

When you purchase a suit of armor that comes with gauntlets, is the weight of the gauntlets assumed in the armor's weight? If so, could you get somewhat lighter armor by forgoing the gauntlets altogether?

Same question, but with cost. Could you get slightly cheaper armor by not purchasing the gauntlets?

I would say that the weight of the armour does include the gauntlet weight. Since guantlets weigh 1 pound each, then a suit of armour without gauntlets would be slightly (2 pounds) lighter.

The cost of gauntlets is minimal (2 gp or something) so the price reduction would not be significant I would say.

Interesting question.

Shadow Lodge

do the gauntlets in a suit of armor count as weapons? the problem is that leather gauntlets would be more like cestus. and gauntlets from padded armor would be oven mitts.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
the Queen's Raven wrote:
do the gauntlets in a suit of armor count as weapons? the problem is that leather gauntlets would be more like cestus. and gauntlets from padded armor would be oven mitts.

The gauntlets that come with metal armour can certainly be used as weapons. I would not think that gauntlets would be considered weapons if they are leather. Those are just gloves really.

Shadow Lodge

i have wondered about this question as posed by OP. i would agree with you pappy about metal vs other material gauntlets as weapons. i have also wondered about gauntlets being worn with bracers, quite some over lap there.


I agree that a gauntlet would likely cover much of a bracer, but I would certainly allow both items at the same time. To not allow bracers and gauntlets would be like saying that gloves and bracers occupy the same slot (which they don't).


Gauntlets do not take up an Item Slot. By that same notion, Full Plate takes up the Body, Chest, Head, and Feet slots.

Shadow Lodge

Yeah the way the slots are configured versus how items would actually work together is a bit awkward. But it works. If you look at an actual metal gauntlet you do wear a leather glove under it, and a thin set of magical bracers would probably fit under the bit of the gauntlet that extends up the outside of the forearm. All in all I usually say if you have the slot open then load it up.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Gauntlets do not take up an Item Slot. By that same notion, Full Plate takes up the Body, Chest, Head, and Feet slots.

That is my understanding as well.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Gauntlets do not take up an Item Slot. By that same notion, Full Plate takes up the Body, Chest, Head, and Feet slots.

Gauntlets do take up the hand slot (as there are magic gauntlets in the "Hand" section in UE. Gauntlets that come with armor (med or heavy) however can be replaced without changing the integrity (=armor value)of the armor ... as can boots.

If full plate takes up all those spots, why is there an "Armor" slot?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Found myself still wondering about this.

(Also, only magical gauntlets and armor take up a slot.)


From Ultimate Equipment

Quote:
This metal glove lets you deal lethal damage rather than nonlethal damage with unarmed strikes. A strike with a gauntlet is otherwise considered an unarmed attack. The cost and weight given are for a single gauntlet. Medium and heavy armors (except breastplates) come with gauntlets. Your opponent cannot use a disarm action to disarm you of gauntlets.

So it stands to reason that aside from buying a gauntlet or cestus separately, only medium and heavy armors, except breastplates, have gauntlets included.

Silver Crusade

the Queen's Raven wrote:
do the gauntlets in a suit of armor count as weapons? the problem is that leather gauntlets would be more like cestus. and gauntlets from padded armor would be oven mitts.

Many times I have wanted to punch someone whilst wearing oven mitts. Oven mitts can be weapons if worn by the right person. Especially if they are SPIKED OVEN MITTS!!!


gourry187 wrote:
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Gauntlets do not take up an Item Slot. By that same notion, Full Plate takes up the Body, Chest, Head, and Feet slots.

Gauntlets do take up the hand slot (as there are magic gauntlets in the "Hand" section in UE. Gauntlets that come with armor (med or heavy) however can be replaced without changing the integrity (=armor value)of the armor ... as can boots.

If full plate takes up all those spots, why is there an "Armor" slot?

The Gauntlet is a weapon, first and foremost, not a Wondrous Item. Those "magic gauntlets" you see in the Wondrous Item section do not count as actual gauntlets as far as the rules are concerned, as those "magic gauntlets" don't grant you the ability to deal lethal damage with your unarmed strike by default. The cost for those magical gauntlets, if you would be correct in that they are actual Gauntlet weapons, would be incorrectly calculated in the book, as it does not include Masterwork/Special Material (which is required to make them magical), or base item cost (2 gold, or 4 if they are a pair).

If you're going to make Gauntlets, which are defined in the weapon table, take up Wondrous Item slots, then by that same token Swords, Axes, and all manner of weapons would also take up the Hands slot (if not more), and armor would take up other slots, depending upon what the armor consists of according to its description. It also brings to light other shenanigans, in that you couldn't wield Swords and Axes and other weapons in the same hands that would be wearing Gauntlets. You'd also have to separate the Hand slots into Left Hand and Right Hand in order to keep each item that otherwise requires hands to use, in check.

So it brings us back to the bolded part; why should there be an Armor slot if you want to throw those random rules which, by the way, aren't even cited in the rulebook? I mean, the book says Armor is defined as having its own slot according to the Magic Item diagram, leaving the whole "It has a helm and boots and gloves listed in the description, so it takes up those slots" argument invalid. Additionally, there are weapons (specific inappropriately-sized weapons, but weapons nonetheless) in the Wondrous Item section that are listed as Slotless (meaning they don't take up a slot defined in the diagram). I imagine magic gauntlets, should they be enhanced as weapons, would fall under that same category.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Ravingdork wrote:

When you purchase a suit of armor that comes with gauntlets, is the weight of the gauntlets assumed in the armor's weight? If so, could you get somewhat lighter armor by forgoing the gauntlets altogether?

Same question, but with cost. Could you get slightly cheaper armor by not purchasing the gauntlets?

No... gauntlets do not have a listed cost, and are a tiny fraction at best of the armor's weight so there would be no significant benefit to not having them nor any reason to restat the armor without them.


LazarX wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

When you purchase a suit of armor that comes with gauntlets, is the weight of the gauntlets assumed in the armor's weight? If so, could you get somewhat lighter armor by forgoing the gauntlets altogether?

Same question, but with cost. Could you get slightly cheaper armor by not purchasing the gauntlets?

No... gauntlets do not have a listed cost, and are a tiny fraction at best of the armor's weight so there would be no significant benefit to not having them nor any reason to restat the armor without them.

Gauntlets do have a separate price and weight of 2gp per gauntlet and weighing 1lb per medium gauntlet.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Donald Coyote wrote:
LazarX wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

When you purchase a suit of armor that comes with gauntlets, is the weight of the gauntlets assumed in the armor's weight? If so, could you get somewhat lighter armor by forgoing the gauntlets altogether?

Same question, but with cost. Could you get slightly cheaper armor by not purchasing the gauntlets?

No... gauntlets do not have a listed cost, and are a tiny fraction at best of the armor's weight so there would be no significant benefit to not having them nor any reason to restat the armor without them.
Gauntlets do have a separate price and weight of 2gp per gauntlet and weighing 1lb per medium gauntlet.

When you're budgeting for masterwork plate armor, I don't think that 4gp counts as a significant money savings.


A quick bump for some telling evidence. From the PRD:

Magic Armor wrote:
Armor is always created so that if the type of armor comes with a pair of boots, a helm, or a set of gauntlets, these pieces can be switched for other magic boots, helms, or gauntlets.

So any 'slots' that say, a Full Plate takes up, can be exchanged and the armor would still function as intended.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gauntlets All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.