Katapesh Merchant

gourry187's page

Organized Play Member. 602 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 3 Organized Play characters.



1 to 50 of 110 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Searched the old threads and couldn't find a dev response to how rend interacts with DR. Is it added to the second attack and then DR applied or does DR apply to the stand alone rend damage?

Or it it still a DM discretion thing?


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

given the following example ...

GGGG---GG where G is the ground and - is empty
123456789

assuming a running start

1) is the DC based on the gap jumped over [5,6,7] (DC15) or the distance to the next Box of ground [5,6,7,8] (DC20)?

2) when determining movement, does the jumped distance count against a characters total movement? moving from 1to9 equal 40' movement?

3) does landing at the end of a long jump end your move action or can you continue provided you have movement available?

4) using acrobatics happens during a move action so if a double move is required to jump a distance, does it need 2 checks?


So I came across a rules find in UE under the masterwork armor section stating you can't place an enhancement of a shield to give it a bonus to attack. Pg 15, last paragraph.

I guess if you spin it enough, you only need a masterwork item to enchant, and not a masterwork which grants a +1 to attack.


The text mentions the cheetah and jaguar but doesn't specify to use those stats from the beastiary. I'm planning on using one in an upcoming game where the GM can be a bit rules lawyer-ish. So do we intact use those stats?

Character concept has a snow lynx (who will eventually become an AC (cat, small)


So we had a situation where while fighting a large creature, a character was able to get into melee (passing through a threatened area) without provoking an attack of opportunity.

M=monster, R=Ranger, F=Fighter, -=open space

movement pattern

----
--R-
-MM-
-MM-

--F-
--R-
-MM-
-MM-

----
-FR-
-MM-
-MM-

The question really comes down to does the Ranger provide cover to the fighter. RAW states you can't make an AoO against something with cover. To keep things moving along (it was a large combat), we just decides there was cover but now that I think more about it, I'm not so sure. The monster is tall so it has a reach of 10.


Burning gaze has a target of "you", share spells say the caster "may cast a spell with a target of “You” on his familiar (as a touch spell) instead of on himself."

If I cast Burning Gaze, I can cast it on my familiar thus giving it a standard action to look at bad guys and try to set them on fire.

The spell has a saving throw Fortitude (negates), as well as a Reflex save to quench the flames.

Is the save DC based off the familiars Int as the gazer, or the casters Int since they actually cast the spell?


Ok so I keep reading about monk dipping and how flurry works and then it hit me ... I have had a multiclass monk/ fighter for a while and as I am about to hit a +6 BAB, I want to get a grip on the number of attacks and bonuses I have.

For simplicity I'm onlyhoin to use base BAB and not include any bonus/penalty from attributes and feats

Monk 1/Fighter 5
BAB = +5 flurry +4/+4

Monk 2/Fighter 6
BAB = +6/+1 flurry +5/+5/+0

Does that look right?


Can a monk weilding a Kama, double-chanined make his flurry with reach two handed?


So in one of our last sessions, the party found themselves in a circular tower with an interior spiral stairway surrounding an open courtyard. The BBEG lured the party to the top level and jumped to the bottoms using feather fall.

The question is if the BBEG has movement left after moving off the ledge, can he still continue to move after he feather fell down? Falling if I recall doesn't count as movement and is instantaneous.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Duelist gets it, kensai gets a limited version of it ... it grants a dodge bonus to AC.

So does a kensai duelist using their "chosen weapon" get the dodge bonus twice if it is a light weapon as well?


I have a character with a Kama, double chained. One half is MW cold iron, the other is MW mithral. The character would like to affectionately call them by name but I'm out of ideas. Suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Mr. Hack and Mr. Slash just doesn't sound right.


A gray wardens Harsh Judgement stacks with inquisitor levels but they get limited types (destruction, peircing, ect).

So if an inquisitor PrC to gray warden do they loose the other judgements or can they have both judgement and harsh judgement running at the same time (activated with separate actions)?


Not sure if this works here in rules as this involves a 3rd party product but the gravity elemental via Tomb of Horrors has an ability which establishes the "held" condition but I can't find what that is.


Had a discussion during a game where it was pointed out that if you have a quickened spell, you could use both it (as a swift action) and cast another (as a standard).

I could have sworn there was something about only ever casting one spell per round but I'm not sure.

Can someone point me in the right direction.


Kensai are proficient with all simple and one martial or exotic weapon. If they choose a simple weapon for their "weapon of choice", would they still get the one martial/exotic?


So I have a character using a glaive (10 ft reach) who is standing directly behind the fighter who is engaged. Using the aid another action, you are required to make an attack roll against AC 10. However reach weapon are subject to ranged cover rules.

Does the character need to hit AC 14 to aid or does the specific AC 10 in the aid another action still apply?


I've been playing around with the idea of an unarmed Magus and (for whatever reason) the name Naruto came to mind. Probably due to the "magical like" special attacks and such so I drifted toward a Kakashi Hatake model.

Background is basically the guy who goes from town to town looking for more "jutsu" (aka spells) which he records in his little book (aka his spellbook) disguised as a romance novel which he reads religiously every morning.

Mechanically it would revolve around using FoB when not using spell combat, being mobile to help the rogue flank and using spells more for self improvement .... oh and summoning my ninja dogs

So far I have ...

Kensai Magus / monk
Human
30 pt build, CRB/APG/UM/UC, no traits, no 3rd party buy GM is open to other Paizo mats

Str 13, Dex 15, Con 12, Int 18*, Wis 14, Cha 13 (human +2 attribute bonus)

(K)= Kensai, (H)= Human, (M)= Monk

Level 1: Kensai lvl 1
Feats: (K) ? Kensai EWP/MP, (K) Weapon Focus (unarmed strike), (H) Skill Focus (Know arcana), (1st) Dodge
Skills: know (arcana), spellcraft, UMD, perception, acrobatics, sense motive, handle animal
spells: shield, shocking grasp, chill touch, true strike, burning hands, obscuring mist, corrosive touch

Level 1: Monk lvl 1
Feats: (M) Improved Unarmed Strike, (M) Stunning Fist, (M) Combat Reflexes
Skills: know (arcana), spellcraft, UMD, perception, acrobatics, sense motive, sleight of hand, stealth, know (local)

Level 3: Kensai lvl 2
Feats: (3rd) Elderitch Heritage – Arcane, (Familiar) Alertness
Skills: know (arcana), spellcraft, UMD, perception, acrobatics, sense motive, know (local)
spells: silent image, vanish

Level 4: Kensai lvl 3
Skills: know (arcana), spellcraft, UMD, perception, acrobatics, sense motive, know (local)
Arcana: pool strike
Spells: warding weapon, magic missile
+1 INT

Level 5: Kensai lvl 4
Feats: (5th) extra arcana – Spell Blending (summon monster II)
Skills: know (arcana), spellcraft, UMD, perception, acrobatics, sense motive, know (local)
spells: bladed dash, fire breath, Summon monster II (as per arcana)

Level 6: Monk lvl 2
Feats: (M) defect arrows
Skills: know (arcana), spellcraft, UMD, perception, acrobatics, sense motive, stealth, climb

Level 7: Monk lvl 3
Feats: (7th) Monastic Legacy
Skills: know (arcana), spellcraft, UMD, perception, acrobatics, sense motive, escape artist x2

Level 8: Kensai lvl 5
Feats: (K) crane style
Skills: know (arcana), spellcraft, UMD, perception, acrobatics, sense motive, know (local)
spells: ?,?
+1 INT

Probably going Kensai for remaining levels. Most likely will start at lvl 5 so a lot of the "hard times" will be well behind me.

Things I'm not sure about ... what to use as the one Kensai exotic or martial weapon proficiency. nothing really says I have to make my one weapon my "favored" weapon.

This is my fist real attempt at a themed Magus (without using the usual guides) and I know its not optimized but any advise on improvements or where to go from here would be appreciated.


Probably not but figure a second (or more) opinion might help.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

With all the new talk of off hand/primary hand, AoO with reach and non-reach, I keep asking myself, what is the intent definition (game mechanic) of wielding.

Is wielding ...
Just holding a weapon (or occupying primary or off hand)
Threatening your adjacent (or reach) squares
Using a weapon to make an attack (attack roll)

Checking the common terms, it weird that neither wielding of threaten are listed when they come up so many times in rules definitions.

Edit for spelling as my thumbs are dyslexic


In recent posts and FAQs it would appear that you can't use a two handed weapon (Or use two hands on a one handed weapon) in conjunction with Two Weapon Fighting regardless the weapon being used as the "off hand" attack.

Is this now official?


When fired while adjacent to an enemy? There is no range attack roll.


Eldritch Heritage states ...

Quote:
Benefit: Select one sorcerer bloodline. You must have Skill focus in the class skill that bloodline grants to a sorcerer at 1st level (for example, Heal for the celestial bloodline). This bloodline cannot be a bloodline you already have. You gain the first-level bloodline power for the selected bloodline. For purposes of using that power, treat your sorcerer level as equal to your character level – 2, even if you have levels in sorcerer. You do not gain any of the other bloodline abilities.

If a character with the eldritch heritage feat multi-classes into sorcerer, are they restricted from taking the bloodline associated with their eldritch heritage?

If they are not restricted, do they lose the feat, replace the feat or change their eldritch heritage bloodline?


Can familiar levels stack above character level?

Example being a character who gains a familiar via eldritch heritage has an effective wizard level of CL-2. If he has 3 levels of wizard (or witch), would his familiar effective level (via table) be CL-2 + 3 ?


searched but found no answer ...

Touch Spells in Combat wrote:

Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.

Deliver Touch Spells (Su) wrote:
If the master is 3rd level or higher, a familiar can deliver touch spells for him. If the master and the familiar are in contact at the time the master casts a touch spell, he can designate his familiar as the “toucher.” The familiar can then deliver the touch spell just as the master would. As usual, if the master casts another spell before the touch is delivered, the touch spell dissipates.

is you specify the familiar as the "toucher", is the delivery of the spell still a "free action"?

example ...

seeing his friend unconscious, master casts CLW spell designating his familiar as the toucher. The familiar is capable of double moving to the unconscious friend and use a free action to touch them delivering the spell?


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The text entry for the dragon pistol indicates a range of 10 while the table lists range as 20. Which is correct?

Found a bunch of threads about the dragon pistol but none answering this rather simple misprint.


There are several abilities, bloodlines powers, revolations, ect that have a time duration while requiring a standard action to start. Does the round you start the power count against the duration.

A character uses a standard action to start a power but it only lasts one round ... is the one round used up at your next initiative pass?


Wraith (CR5) have the special ability to create Spawn

Create Spawn:
Create Spawn (Su)

A humanoid slain by a wraith becomes a wraith in 1d4 rounds. These spawn are less powerful than typical wraiths, and suffer a –2 penalty on all d20 rolls and checks, receive –2 hp per HD, and only drain 1d2 points of Constitution on a touch. Spawn are under the command of the wraith that created them until its death, at which point they lose their spawn penalties and become free-willed wraiths. They do not possess any of the abilities they had in life.

A wraith is CR5 but the spawn are weaker losing hit points, damage, and I'm assuming special abilities so I would presume their CR would be lower but how low would that be?

I'm trying to put together an encounter for a APL7 and want to include something incorpreal and thought I could if anything throw 1 or 2 of these lesser wraiths in the mix but I want to make sure I'm not over doing the CR of the encounter.


Had a recent encounter with a gunslinger vs a black pudding. Firearms do both B and P. A black pudding splits when hit with P or S. This being said which happens first?

Does the pudding take the damage first from B and they split (2 puddingd with 50% Hp after damage)?

Does the pudding split (2 pudding with 50% Hp of original) and then the one takes damage from B?

Does it split and each take full damage from B?

Does it splitand each takes 50% of B?


So the DC for a knowledge check to identify (and get ability hints) is based on the CR of the creature. Its pretty straight forward for most monsters but what do you do when templates or class levels are involved?

For example the CR of skeleton champions are based off HD. A SC with more HD has a higher CR but its still a skeleton Champion. The knowledge check should change but it is technically the same typeof undead.

How do people deal with DCs of templated creatures?


Pretty much as the title asks. If a torch is used up due to fire damage, would the mending spell be capable of renewing it?

It doesn't seem far fetched ... does it?


hopefully this is the right forum ....

In a game I'm playing in we have a magus Hexcrafter. As a hexcrafter, he has access to all 6th (or lower) spells with the curse descriptor.

He says Brand is a [curse] spell which according to the PFSRD, he is correct. However the print copy of the APG we have does not show Brand as a [curse] spell.

was there an errata that added the descriptor which we can send copy to our GM? if no errata, where did this change happen?


I understand the rules for combat while underwater and the penalties for attacking something in water from land ... what I'm not sure about is ... are there penalties to the creature in water when attacking something on land?


A thought just came to mind after reading a different thread ... I've always assumed like any other weapon attack, you get your STR bonus to touch attacks but is this right? After all, you are generally not doing damage from a physical strike and you don't add STR to damage rolls from touch attacks.


If a character is surrounded ... having an adjacent enemy in all 8 squares and wanted to use acrobatics to escape, would that require a separate acrobatics for each enemy or just one versus all?


Clerics and inquisitors are both proficient with their deity's favored weapon ... what happens if they decide to worship a different God?

Do they auto gain a new weapon Prof and lose the previous?


Most characters I've played or seen played have always avoided spell failure from armor so when I created a spell caster with armor, my mind blanked.

If you fail a spell due to spell failure, do you lose the spell slot?


Example ... a Shea is an amorphous shadow creature that weilds a falcion. The falcion is listed as treasure which would tell me they are carrying it. Can they still be amorphous and move through cracks with it?


domain strike wrote:
Benefit: When you gain this feat, choose one domain-granted power that you can use to affect no more than one opponent. If you make a successful unarmed strike against an opponent, in addition to dealing your unarmed strike damage, you can use a swift action to deliver the effects of the chosen granted power to that opponent. Doing so provokes no attacks of opportunity.

most domain powers can only be use a limited number of times per day. So as the title asks, if you use the swift action for domain strike, does it use up a use?


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

A tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. They need to do this to attack as their reach is 0. So if multiple tiny critters are attacking, how many can occupy the same space to attack the same creature?


To hold their mount?

For those small riders with unusual mounts is this an acceptable practice?


9 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ.

As the title says. Some favored enemies have many varieties such as magic beasts, would a character need to identify the creature as such to gain their bonus?


Example ...

Using a glaive to trip while a party member is in between you and the target. Rules say that reach weapons opperate like range weapons in regard to cover but CM rolls are not affected by AC.

Same question would apply to an Archer.


When using a weapon with flaming, frost, ect, I am assuming you just add half the energy damage to the weapon damage before comparing to the hardness of the sunder target. Is this correct or would the hardness be effective against each type of damage individually?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Picking up a weapon from the ground is a move action and provokes.

Retrieving a weapon with a weapon cord is a swift action .... but does it provoke an AoO?


This is more of a "can an ooze ...?" question. If an ooze with one slam attack has a PC grappled and another. PC steps in provoking an AoO, can the ooze still take it?

Or is its only mean of attack consumed by the grapple and thus could not do anything others than grapple?


A naturally cut cut cavern is considered difficult Terrain. Can a creature with a climb speed use this ability to get around the usual movement penalties?

An example would be something like a morlock scurrying over and around stalagmites.


Had a discussion the other day and arguements ensued. Was wonderingifthis was asked/answered before.


Assuming you're multiclass, would the bonus from magical knack trait help to meet the pre-req for arcane armor training ... aka caste level 3


I'm considering a half elf character and I'm not sure how best to utalize the dual favorite profession while optimizing and not going MAD.

1 to 50 of 110 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>