OK, I have subscriptions in place for the Adventure Card Game and Class Decks. I went through a spell of not having funds to get some of the decks and wound up with a bunch of cancelled orders; I ended up picking those decks up later at my FLGS so I have them all sorted out. Woo, good to go, right?
Maybe not. I'm looking at my subscriptions page, and there's several things in there that are listed as 'Pending' that I don't need to have more of sent along with the new Core Box. I'd really prefer not to have to worry about that; I'm budgeting based on just the totally new content this month.
Is there any way to get those 'Pending' things cleared or cancelled or whatever, so that I can make sure I'm not getting hit with any unexpected pieces of an order?
So, I finally got far enough that I needed to crack open my MM Deck 2 that I bought in... October... and was somewhat confused by the presence of a Carrion Golem in the very front of the first pack of cards, before the traders. I'm glad that guy doesn't have the Trigger trait, or it could have been a bad situation.
Checking the deck list, I seem to have, for some strange reason, wound up with one less Curse of Withering than I was supposed to, and one extra Golem in its place. I can't foresee this being a *huge* issue, as my group has been (so far) rather good at avoiding rolling the Scourge die, but it's still a little confusing. Anything that can be done for me?
Can't find anything in the forums anywhere that asked about this, so may as well bring it up:
My group hit 2-3B tonight, and it was... not good. We only managed to get two locations closed, and in both cases it was by punching the villain in the face. In the aftermath, when what meager spoils we had managed to accumulate were being divvied up, it was brought up that the biggest problem we'd run into was the Clockwork Demons.
Now, the issue wasn't that they're hard to beat. Only one person ever lost to one, and that was a case of too many 1s on the dice. The issue came from the results of failing the various checks in the card text, combined with the lack of the location-closing boilerplate.
So, the question then becomes: Is that boilerplate supposed to be present and simply wouldn't fit on the card, in which case we make our closing checks as appropriate next week, or are these things *actually* just that nasty?
So, I've got a gaming group that's running through Season of the Shackles but using standard play/deck-construction, rather than class decks. Not Organized Play, obviously, but still a good way to get more play out of the box, especially if it's not currently being used for an active OP group, right?
That said, we're coming up on Scenario 0-1F, where we're going to hit the first Loot cards.
Now, in normal play, the Loot cards just go into someone's deck, and the group hangs onto them. In Organized Play, not so much; due to the nature of class decks and OP itself, the loot continues living in the core box and gets swapped in at the start of each scenario, and the scenario 'cards' have their rewards recorded to reflect this.
So, the question: If using OP scenarios for standard out-of-the-box play, is the intended ruling that we use the standard rules for handling Loot, or are we going to need to do an Organized Play-style loot pool that gets dipped into before each scenario?
OK, jumping back in on this well ahead of Mummy's Mask. Out of curiosity, since it seems an AD6 for Wrath is going to be sent to me, am I going to end up with promo cards for it, or do you have to get the deck at the time of release to get those, rather than just getting it through the subscription?
Maybe I'm just mistaken, but I can't seem to find what the Cohort this time is supposed to actually have as card text. Was she accidentally left out of the PDF file?
(thankfully, my group's not nearly to this point yet, so it's not a big deal... but I expect -someone- is going to want to play this scenario, right?)
Keep in mind that you're not required to stick to the book *exactly* during that first part.
In my group, I spiced things up a bit with a more robust set of ship's entertainments to keep things more interesting in the evenings, but also by shaving a few days off (admittedly, my group has five PCs so that was mostly in the interest of keeping the total ship actions where they should have been) and adding my own slightly-modified version of Dudemeister's mod of 'Salvage Operation' from Dungeon #123 around day 10 or so.
I also took the time to throw a d6 about 200 times and a d20 about 500 times and work out not only what job each crew member is doing each day, but also whether or not they succeed at it, so that my players can know who's available to interact with during work, and so that there's more than just the five of them getting roughed up during Bloody Hour.
Above all else, remember that as a GM, your primary job is making sure that everyone at the table is having fun. Don't hold to the script if nobody's enjoying it, and don't be afraid to ask the players for input between sessions so that you can bend things into a better direction.
Maybe this goes in Conversions, I don't know, but Advice seems the better location...
I've been looking through some old Dungeon magazines I picked up, and there's some really fun scenarios I'd love to run my group through at points in the AP we're doing that it would seem appropriate... just one problem. They're for 2E.
I'm sort of new at GMing. Pathfinder's my first D&D-like, so I... really don't have a lot of 'old-school' experience. So I'm looking at these stat blocks and while I can glean most of the information out of them, I'm not 100% sure how to change them to match what I need for Pathfinder. (not to mention that I'm having some difficulty understanding why there's a level 9 wizard that the PCs are expected to fight in one of these scenarios that's built for levels 1-3...)
Anyways. I guess what I'm really asking is 'How do I take a stat block for a character/monster in 2E and turn it into Pathfinder?' Also probably 'what other things do I need to be aware of when I'm updating these?'
OK, so, fledgling GM running Mummy's Mask for my crew, and I've run into a question that doesn't affect my players so much (yet), but does seem the kind of thing that I should have in my toolkit...
What is an appropriate way to judge the amount of time spent doing things like traveling through streets, exploring dungeons, etc.? I know the six-seconds-per-round rule for combat, but that doesn't give me anything about time spent searching, looting, climbing/descending ropes, futzing around with torch sconces because OBVIOUSLY the stone wheel is a complex mechanical door and isn't just big and heavy... (seriously, my players took almost a half-hour of real time to work that one out)
I'm mostly trying to nail down how long my players can be in an underground dungeon space and safely get back out of the Necropolis before the gates close at dusk, but I expect this sort of skill will be useful in other situations as well.
Ryan Jensen --- NOG wrote:
Hey, as long as you didn't have the Hirgenzosk/Krelloort combo, you're doing better than my group did on our first run at it.
making sure they close Pinnacle Atoll asap so this can't happen.
There's the rub, though. Krelloort shuffled into Pinnacle Atoll at the start, he didn't run away to there. The only way to close the location was to defeat Krelloort... which means all nine encounters had to get sorted out.
That's nine rolls of the d12, potentially plus one for running into Krelloort early, and plus one more for each failed bane encounter that has to be dealt with again (which also potentially adds another early Krelloort). I don't like those odds.
In any case, I'm playing a few solo runs over this weekend to finish catching my 1002 up to the 1001s in the rest of the group, and fully intend to use my adventure-1 card feat to add an extra spell slot and do my best to get a Fear spell into my deck.
So, my group tonight lost at 0-2C... not because of bad dice rolls or anything; hell, we took down a freaking Owlbeartross successfully. No, we lost because Krelloort went and hid at Pinnacle Atoll and someone rolled a 1.
Can't fight Krelloort if the deck isn't otherwise empty. Can't get Hirgenzosk out of Pinnacle Atoll without someone having a Fear spell, short of a villain/henchman early location-close. Krelloort will always hide behind Hirgy, and Hirgy will never clear out so we can get at Krelloort.
Kinda left everyone with a sour taste in their mouths. Hopefully better luck next week...
You know.. I'm looking at this, and seeing that this is potentially an easy scenario...
To which I say, good.
At least in my PACG group, we ended up playing 0-1E twice last week, because we failed miserably the first time around, and only won on the second time because of sheer dumb luck on the final turn, pulling the Queen instead of the barrier that was in the location deck. Both times, we came ridiculously close to a TPK.
I think my players are going to be glad to have a more laid-back round to finish off the Adventure this week.
OK, clarification time:
When pulling a random card as a scenario reward, is the reward *that card*, or is the reward *an upgrade equal to the deck number of that card*?
Because my group's been treating it as the upgrade ('Oh, I got a W1 Cestus+1. Well... I want the W1 Lucerne Hammer instead.') and I have a horrible feeling that we've been playing it wrong.
In the base game, you're likely to get more than just one new card per round, though, and the weaponless character who just pulled a random weapon as a reward can still hand it off to someone else so they can benefit. It's not a problem in the base game, no, but trying to equate base-game deck construction to OP deck construction just don't work, because the base game ways to mitigate 'Can't use this card I just got as a reward' don't exist in OP.
I liked how in scenario 1-1, the reward was -either- a weapon or a spell. That way, it was totally useful for everyone at my table. The two non-magic people could get weapons, and the I, the non-weapon user, could get a new spell to play with.
This scenario, though, I actively got -less- benefit than everyone else at my table, because everyone was locked into Weapon for the reward. The same would've happened to me with Armor - the Rogue and the Fighter would've been fine, I would've been blocked out because I don't have any slots for it in my deck, and won't have for as far as I can tell into the future. If Spell had come up, I would've been the only one who benefited from it.
Maybe it's just me, but it seems like bad design in organized play, where you're not necessarily playing with the same people from session to session, to have a reward that can potentially be utterly useless to a player. Particularly if the point where you can back out of it and save it for another shot at the same scenario comes after you've already been locked into getting no benefit.
Yeah... 'cos I seriously want to back out of having taken the reward on this one with my Siwar. That Weapon 1 is nice and all, and the Rogue and Fighter that I was partied with liked getting Weapon boons, but without any card boons yet, there's no reason to have actually done the draw in the first place on a Weapon if I didn't have to, myself.
Besides, it's not like I won't have at least one chance to redo the scenario soonish, if I can manage to get a second or third group going locally...
Do players need to choose if they're going to take the scenario reward for this one *before* the random boon type is selected, or can they choose to back out once the roll hits? Seems like this particular scenario reward is potentially useless as much as 33% of the time for some characters, if you have to choose before you know what type it's going to be.
Whoops, yeah, Corvallis Oregon. So yeah. But I think part of the issue might -also- be that the FLGS that I'm holding events at on the weekly basis hasn't actually got any signage up to advertise PFSACG. Really need to get on them about that, next time I'm in...
Can't wait for the NDA to go out for the new VLs so that I can actually go poke the manager at Top Deck Hobbies in something resembling an official capacity to try and start up something there, too... Couldn't hurt to have two places and nights per week. Not to mention that it'd let me start working on my 1002 character...
Immediately. You have to rebuild your deck following your card list once you've gathered up your possible upgrades.
So... In order to use a Weapon 1 Upgrade, I have to have a Weapon card slot available at the moment I gain the upgrade, and can't bank it for later when I have the slot, thus meaning that despite picking up the Upgrade when I would've chosen something else had I had the ability, I'm still stuck with a Basic Weapon B when I buy a Weapon slot with a card feat?
I guess to be 100% sure about things... The upgrades you pick up over the course of OP are meant to be used instantly, not to be used to form a pool that you can draw on later when you retool your deck if you need to? Or more specifically: Am I required to pick a -specific- Spell 1 card at the time that I gain the 'Spell 1' upgrade, rather than being able to use that as a 'Spell 1' slot in place of a 'Basic Spell B' slot when reconstructing my deck later if I wish to adjust things?
Oh good, so we played it right, then. I wasn't sure mostly because I was unsure how a deck that's had this happen would appear if a different 'GM' did an audit.
So, tangentially related question, then... We played Salvage Operation last night, and the random reward boon at the end was Weapon... and I'm playing Siwar, so I don't have a slot for those in my deck yet.
When you take a deck upgrade (say, Weapon 1) before you have access to that type of card for your deck, can you hold onto it and use it later on when you get the card feat to make use of it? Or does the upgrade have to be used immediately?
As this has come up a couple of times already in my group, asking here:
When rebuilding a deck at the end of a scenario, how much of the deck should be made up of Basic cards at this point? Particularly in cases like Siwar and Tontelizi, where there's not enough Basic cards to build initial decks, this seems like the sort of thing that needs some clarification.
Specific situation from my group: Tontelizi, who really likes polearms, begins with five weapons in his deck. Two of these are non-Basic, both polearms.
Tontelizi receives a Weapon 1 upgrade. Can his deck, next game, contain two Basic weapons, the two Deck B polearms, and a Deck 1 polearm? Or do the three Basic weapons need to be included as he hasn't yet earned enough Weapon upgrades to maintain that many non-Basic weapons?
...wait, so does that mean that I can have the non-Basic ally to fill out my 5 *and* a non-Basic something else because of the mini-chronicle?
Charm Person, here I come~
But yeah, that's good to know. Not a situation we ever ran into in my 6p RotR group, and I expect it'll be important on this coming Sunday when we're kicking off the local Guild. Audit time ahoy!
Also, just to get it out there... As of this moment, the only locally-planned Guild sessions on a weekly basis are going to be at Matt's Cavalcade (2075 NW Buchanan Ave, across the street from Fred Meyer) on Wednesday evenings at 6pm. I'm going to try to get a couple of other places on board as well, and I'm sure that if there's the local demand, I can get some other sessions in place.
So, unless I'm mistaken, Siwar literally cannot build a proper deck from the Bard Class Deck without using the Scenario 0-0 mini-chronicle. She needs five allies in her deck... and there's only four with the Basic trait in the box. So she needs that mini-chronicle in order to get one non-Basic card in there.
Or am I missing something somewhere?
We're doing the local kickoff for the Pathfinder Adventure Card Guild on this coming weekend (Oct 3/4), at Just a Game Con 22. That's at the Elks Lodge (1400 NW 9th St); there's a cover charge to get into the con ($8 for one day, $12 for both), but I'm more than willing to help people who can't quite make it there get caught up later in the week.
The local shipment of Class Decks arrives at Matt's Cavalcade on Thursday; they should be getting two of each deck in, so plenty of room to choose. They'll be selling them at the store until Saturday, then at the con itself.
Saturday from 11am-6pm, I'll be running both teaching demos of the game and Scenario 0-0, which doesn't require a Class Deck and earns you a mini-chronicle to make use of on your way into the season proper. Sunday, I'll be running as many scenarios as I can get people through, again all day.
Hope to see lots of players there!
For some reason, my order seems to have grabbed what must have been a lurking S&S Character Add-On Deck and a pile of promos from my side-cart, so there's two of the entire set of Add-On and August Promos in this order.
I don't suppose that it'd be possible to swap the extra Add-On/Promos for a Bard Class Deck, so that I'm not getting any unnecessary duplicates but still getting what (I think) should be the same final cost (and thus negate any need for money acrobatics)?
Mythic Evil Lincoln wrote:
The downside to adding extra monsters, though, is that your turns can start to crawl.
At least on this front, I tend to find that it helps a bit if I break up the init values for the monsters into individuals rather than moving all of them at once. I use the Pathfinder Pawns, and used a silver paint pen to number the bases so that it's easy to tell which one goes when. Helps with tracking HP for those army-of-kobold encounters, too.
So, I'm gearing up to run Mummy's Mask for my group, but I also want to try and make sure the difficulty level is about where it was designed to be. Unfortunately, my group is five PCs, and I seem to remember seeing that APs assume four-PC parties.
I know I can get a lot of mileage out of the Advanced template and doing a +1 or +2 to monster counts when there's a lot of them about, but are there any good hints/tips anyone can give for how to adjust the treasure amounts or just in general for dealing with larger groups?