So, can a character die this way?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Ok it seems a character cannot be killed via hit point loss unless they take damage equal to double their hit point total after stamina is gone in a single attack ie death from massive damage, correct?

So if a character at 0 hit points and laying in fire doing d6 damage per round does that mean they cannot burn to death because the fire doesn't do massive damage in a single round?

I assume characters can still die from lack of oxygen, CON drain, and various death effects?

Grand Lodge

Any additional damage also costs you a point of resolve (or destabilizes you if you are stable.)

Silver Crusade

Laying in a fire would still kill the character in a few rounds. They could spend Resolve to stabilize, but unless someone put them out, they would take damage the next turn and start dying again, until they ran out of Resolve. I think there is a feat that lets you stabilize and get back in the fight in the same round, but aside from that the PC is toast in a few rounds.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Ah ok thanks guys, just listened to the Rogue Exposure podcast this morning and they talked about Resolve and how your dead if you run out of it.


Sober Caydenite wrote:
Laying in a fire would still kill the character in a few rounds. They could spend Resolve to stabilize, but unless someone put them out, they would take damage the next turn and start dying again, until they ran out of Resolve. I think there is a feat that lets you stabilize and get back in the fight in the same round, but aside from that the PC is toast in a few rounds.

Ok I am working on some code for the Fantasy Ground Starfinder Rule set and want to make sure I'm understanding this correct.

TAKING DAMAGE WHILE DYING OR STABLE
While you are dying, if you have any Stamina Points, any damage
you take still reduces those first. The first time each round you
take Hit Point damage (whether from an attack or from continuous
damage, such as from a bleed effect), you lose 1 Resolve Point. At
any point after that in the round, if a single source (such as one
attack) deals Hit Point damage greater than half your maximum
Hit Points but less than your maximum Hit Points, you lose 1
additional RP. As mentioned earlier, if you would lose Resolve
Points but have no Resolve Points remaining, you die instantly.
If you take damage equal to or greater than your maximum Hit
Points from a single attack, you also die instantly.
If you take damage while unconscious but stable, you are once
again dying and no longer stable.

Ok got to get that coded in...I have it removing Resolve while your dying but I need to code in the Extra Resolve if you are also taking ongoing or a single attack damage while your dying.

So to make sure I understand it...

The PC is Dying/Unconscious and Burning.
START of the Round.

NPC Does general AOE damage and the PC is in the AOE --
PC Loses 1 RP (First Time Damage is done this round)

PC's Turn- The Burning Damage is rolled if it equals 1/2 Max HP and Less than Max HP
PC Loses 1 RP
End of PC Turn - PC is Dying
PC Loses 1 RP

Any other Damage to the PC - Damage is equal 1/2 Max HP and Less than Max HP
PC Loses 1 RP

END of Round

Note- A PC can Use RP to Stabilize but if any Damage is done it Negates the Stable and he is Dying again.

So if he Uses RP to Stabilize and takes no other damage and has not cleared the effect yet before the start of his next turn
He takes the Effect damage and once again is Dying but does not lose the RP at the end of that turn since the dying effect was applied during his turn.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / So, can a character die this way? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions
kalo