Scorching Ray - Caster Level or Character Level


Rules Questions


Does Scorching Ray use your Caster Level or your Character Level to determine its effects?

Scorching Ray:

You blast your enemies with a searing beam of fire. You may fire one ray, plus one additional ray for every four levels beyond 3rd (to a maximum of three rays at 11th level). Each ray requires a ranged touch attack to hit and deals 4d6 points of fire damage. The rays may be fired at the same or different targets, but all rays must be aimed at targets within 30 feet of each other and fired simultaneously.

Thanks


Caster level.


Yes, caster level. Unless a spell specified that it was using character level (and I don't think any do) references to your "level" always mean caster level.


Whenever a spell refers to level, it is almost always referring to caster level unless it specifies character level or hit dice.

Whenever a class refers to level, it is almost always referring to levels in that specific class unless it specifies one of the many other types of levels.

For Scorching Ray, it should function on caster level unless you somehow get it as part of a class or a race, in which it will probably function at class level or character level, respectively.


My Self wrote:

Whenever a spell refers to level, it is almost always referring to caster level unless it specifies character level or hit dice.

Whenever a class refers to level, it is almost always referring to levels in that specific class unless it specifies one of the many other types of levels.

For Scorching Ray, it should function on caster level unless you somehow get it as part of a class or a race, in which it will probably function at class level or character level, respectively.

Just to clarify, it will still go of character level, but your character level may be equal to your total levels.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

My Self wrote:
Whenever a class refers to level, it is almost always referring to levels in that specific class unless it specifies one of the many other types of levels.

Always, not almost always. Classes are written with single class in mind.


James Risner wrote:
My Self wrote:
Whenever a class refers to level, it is almost always referring to levels in that specific class unless it specifies one of the many other types of levels.
Always, not almost always. Classes are written with single class in mind.

Scroll down to Reveal Weakness

Sovereign Court

Reveal Weakness isn't a counterexample. It's an unusual power in that it uses caster level instead of class level, but character level doesn't enter into it at all.


My Self wrote:
James Risner wrote:
My Self wrote:
Whenever a class refers to level, it is almost always referring to levels in that specific class unless it specifies one of the many other types of levels.
Always, not almost always. Classes are written with single class in mind.
Scroll down to Reveal Weakness

It specifies 'caster' in front of it.

Goes like this:

If it's a spell, and it says 'level', then it means caster level unless it says something else in front of 'level'.

If it's a class, and it says 'level', then it means class level unless it says something else in front of 'level'.

This is always so.

Liberty's Edge

Casual Viking wrote:
My Self wrote:

Whenever a spell refers to level, it is almost always referring to caster level unless it specifies character level or hit dice.

Whenever a class refers to level, it is almost always referring to levels in that specific class unless it specifies one of the many other types of levels.

For Scorching Ray, it should function on caster level unless you somehow get it as part of a class or a race, in which it will probably function at class level or character level, respectively.

Just to clarify, it will still go of character level, but your character level may be equal to your total levels.

Not so. Your character level is equal to your total class levels. So it does not go off of character level, though your character level will equal your class level if you don't multiclass.


Deighton Thrane wrote:
Casual Viking wrote:
My Self wrote:

Whenever a spell refers to level, it is almost always referring to caster level unless it specifies character level or hit dice.

Whenever a class refers to level, it is almost always referring to levels in that specific class unless it specifies one of the many other types of levels.

For Scorching Ray, it should function on caster level unless you somehow get it as part of a class or a race, in which it will probably function at class level or character level, respectively.

Just to clarify, it will still go of character level, but your character level may be equal to your total levels.
Not so. Your character level is equal to your total class levels. So it does not go off of character level, though your character level will equal your class level if you don't multiclass.

God damn it, meant to write caster level.


Level.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Scorching Ray - Caster Level or Character Level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.