Advanced Class Guide Potential Errors


Product Discussion

951 to 1,000 of 1,126 << first < prev | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | next > last >>
Dark Archive

TriOmegaZero wrote:


Turn 1: Move, provoke, parry, riposte on successful parry.
Between Turn 1 and Turn 2: Immediate action for Charmed Life.

All of course assuming you even need to bother with Charmed Life. When the combination is used to move up to a spell caster and you also have Step Up and/or something that extends reach, e.g. Blue Scarf Swordmaster's Flair, Longarm Bracers, Longarm spell, you force a defensive cast, which is not always easy. Sure, there will be times that it doesn't help, but your saves and abilities are still as good or better than a fighter of the same level. The one level swashbuckler splash is still rather powerful.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Darrell Impey UK wrote:
So, no word on whether an Investigator's ability to "cast spells like an Alchemist" means that they can use wands? I'm guessing that that will require an FAQ thread. :(

HERE is a good comment reasoning in favor of Investigators being able to use wands just like an Alchemist.

The missing language from the Investigator writeup isn't a limiting factor, it was simply redundant.

Sczarni

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
graystone wrote:
Bolt ace got fixed, though their attack touch AC deed can't be used with signature deed.

I was really hoping that the Bolt Ace would be allowed to benefit from Deadly Aim, like Gunslingers can, but since that language wasn't included in the errata it makes me wonder if the intention is that they can't.

Mark, should I bother making an FAQ request? Or is there a reason this wasn't included in the errata?


Nefreet wrote:
graystone wrote:
Bolt ace got fixed, though their attack touch AC deed can't be used with signature deed.

I was really hoping that the Bolt Ace would be allowed to benefit from Deadly Aim, like Gunslingers can, but since that language wasn't included in the errata it makes me wonder if the intention is that they can't.

Mark, should I bother making an FAQ request? Or is there a reason this wasn't included in the errata?

I'd wondered about that too. I'll be curious to hear any reply about it.

Silver Crusade Contributor

Nefreet wrote:
graystone wrote:
Bolt ace got fixed, though their attack touch AC deed can't be used with signature deed.

I was really hoping that the Bolt Ace would be allowed to benefit from Deadly Aim, like Gunslingers can, but since that language wasn't included in the errata it makes me wonder if the intention is that they can't.

Mark, should I bother making an FAQ request? Or is there a reason this wasn't included in the errata?

I'd guess it slipped their minds. I'll FAQ it if you start the thread, though.


Chess Pwn wrote:
Gisher wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
Alexander Augunas wrote:

Here's a new question for you then, Mr. Seifter!

I was reading the changes to Slashing Grace, and was pleased that it now applies to my daggers. The way that the post-errata Slashing Grace is worded, it makes no distinguishment between ranged attacks and melee attacks with the selected weapon.

So if I'm a flying blade and I pick dagger, would Slashing Grace allow me to add my Dexterity modifier to my dagger's damage when I throw it?

(I figured you might know considering that the Iconic Medium uses a starknife and apparently has Slashing Grace.)

I took a look. The iconic medium is not adding it on thrown damage, since it isn't being used as a melee weapon then. That seems right to me.
Starknives are light piercing weapons. So when Slashing Grace says "Choose one kind of light or one-handed slashing weapon..." that means that I can pick a one-handed slashing weapon or any light weapon regardless of the damage type? I can pick shortsword even though it is piercing or light mace which is bludgeoning? I'm hoping this is true, but that sentence, together with the name of the feat, really does suggest that the only valid light weapon choices are those that deal slashing damage. Could we get some clarification on this issue?
we already got clarification, it's a light slashing weapon or a one-handed slashing weapon. It was clarified for the swashbuckler when it says "a light or one-handed piercing weapon"

Was that clarification in a FAQ? I checked the ACG FAQ page, but I didn't see it.

Sovereign Court

Errata wrote:
In the Slashing Grace entry, in the Benefits section, delete “one-handed”.
Slashing Grace wrote:
Benefit: Choose one kind of one-handed slashing weapon (such as the longsword). When wielding your chosen weapon one-handed, you can treat it as a one-handed piercing melee weapon for all feats and class abilities that require such a weapon (such as a swashbuckler's or a duelist's precise strike) and you can add your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier to that weapon's damage. The weapon must be one appropriate for your size.

So, Dex-to-damage with Greatswords?


Azara Emberkin wrote:
Errata wrote:
In the Slashing Grace entry, in the Benefits section, delete “one-handed”.
Slashing Grace wrote:
Benefit: Choose one kind of one-handed slashing weapon (such as the longsword). When wielding your chosen weapon one-handed, you can treat it as a one-handed piercing melee weapon for all feats and class abilities that require such a weapon (such as a swashbuckler's or a duelist's precise strike) and you can add your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier to that weapon's damage. The weapon must be one appropriate for your size.
So, Dex-to-damage with Greatswords?

Working as intended!


FInally dex to damage with elven curved blades!

Sovereign Court

Does that mean 1.5x when wielding a Greatsword?

Sovereign Court

Anzyr wrote:
Azara Emberkin wrote:
Errata wrote:
In the Slashing Grace entry, in the Benefits section, delete “one-handed”.
Slashing Grace wrote:
Benefit: Choose one kind of one-handed slashing weapon (such as the longsword). When wielding your chosen weapon one-handed, you can treat it as a one-handed piercing melee weapon for all feats and class abilities that require such a weapon (such as a swashbuckler's or a duelist's precise strike) and you can add your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier to that weapon's damage. The weapon must be one appropriate for your size.
So, Dex-to-damage with Greatswords?
Working as intended!

I think this means NOTHING in the other hand, including having it on a weapon:

Page 156—(...)In the Slashing Grace feat’s benefit, in the
first sentence, after “kind of ” add “light or”. After the
final sentence, add “You do not gain this benefit while
fighting with two weapons or using f lurry of blows, or
any time another hand is otherwise occupied.” (...)

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Azara Emberkin wrote:
Errata wrote:
In the Slashing Grace entry, in the Benefits section, delete “one-handed”.
Slashing Grace wrote:
Benefit: Choose one kind of one-handed slashing weapon (such as the longsword). When wielding your chosen weapon one-handed, you can treat it as a one-handed piercing melee weapon for all feats and class abilities that require such a weapon (such as a swashbuckler's or a duelist's precise strike) and you can add your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier to that weapon's damage. The weapon must be one appropriate for your size.
So, Dex-to-damage with Greatswords?

That's the errata for the table that lists the summary for each feat. Seriously, people, look up the actual pages the errata modifies.


Azara Emberkin wrote:
Errata wrote:
In the Slashing Grace entry, in the Benefits section, delete “one-handed”.

Where is this from?

Sovereign Court

Ah, that makes more sense.

@Cyrad: I don't own the book, so I went with what I had available.

Edit: didn't realize there were two sections in the errata document for Slashing Grace.

Sovereign Court

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Eek, but wait, that means a Swashbuckler with Slashing Grace can't use the Swordmaster's Flair?

"So long as a token is grasped in the user’s off hand".

Super sad face =(.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Azara Emberkin wrote:

Eek, but wait, that means a Swashbuckler with Slashing Grace can't use the Swordmaster's Flair?

"So long as a token is grasped in the user’s off hand".

Super sad face =(.

Not to worry, it's now a swashbuckler item that you'll only see Non-swashbucklers use! Seems par for the course with the other deep, deep cuts in the errata.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber
graystone wrote:
Azara Emberkin wrote:

Eek, but wait, that means a Swashbuckler with Slashing Grace can't use the Swordmaster's Flair?

"So long as a token is grasped in the user’s off hand".

Super sad face =(.

Not to worry, it's now a swashbuckler item that you'll only see Non-swashbucklers use! Seems par for the course with the other deep, deep cuts in the errata.

or at least strength based swashbucklers :P

Grand Lodge

graystone wrote:
Azara Emberkin wrote:

Eek, but wait, that means a Swashbuckler with Slashing Grace can't use the Swordmaster's Flair?

"So long as a token is grasped in the user’s off hand".

Super sad face =(.

Not to worry, it's now a swashbuckler item that you'll only see Non-swashbucklers use! Seems par for the course with the other deep, deep cuts in the errata.

You just have to grasp it to activate. Not Wield

For blue scarf, tie it around your neck. Free action, grasp it. Standard action, activate it, free action, release it. Continue turn. For the next minute you gain reach and your hand is unoccupied.

For glove, Free action, clench fist, swift action, activate, free action, unclench, continue turn with hand unoccupied.

For sash, it is a bit of a hassel, because if you want to use it, you have to end your turn with your hand clenched around your sash, which means it is occupied if you want to make AoO


LoneKnave wrote:
@The Green Tea Gamer: you'd make a very successful political cartoonist. Probably republican.

Well that's just kind of you to say, although I'm a total independent. I think I've only voted Republican about 25% of the time. Usually I'm a vote wasting third party kind of guy.

Seriously, it just seemed ridiculous to me how developers will compromise left and right and people still complain and want them to bend over to their demands. If I was a dev I'd errata all of them weaker out of spite.

...probably a good thing I'm not!

Grand Lodge

thegreenteagamer wrote:
LoneKnave wrote:
@The Green Tea Gamer: you'd make a very successful political cartoonist. Probably republican.

Well that's just kind of you to say, although I'm a total independent. I think I've only voted Republican about 25% of the time. Usually I'm a vote wasting third party kind of guy.

Seriously, it just seemed ridiculous to me how developers will compromise left and right and people still complain and want them to bend over to their demands. If I was a dev I'd errata all of them weaker out of spite.

...probably a good thing I'm not!

Reading this thread, I think some people (not me, for the record) think that is what happened.


Matthew Morris wrote:

ok so Slashing Grace reads: Choose one kind of light or one-handed slashing weapon (such as the longsword). When wielding your chosen weapon one-handed, you can treat it as a one-handed piercing melee weapon for all feats and class abilities that require such a weapon (such as a swashbuckler's or a duelist's precise strike) and you can add your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier to that weapon's damage. The weapon must be one appropriate for your size. You do not gain this benefit while fighting with two weapons or using flurry of blows, or any time another hand is otherwise occupied.

So why the hate for TWF fighters or swashbuckler types? Or just for someone who holds a wand in the off hand?

So this means that a buckler wielder can't use Slashing Grace? That's a bit unfortunate.

Sovereign Court

These garish tokens usually take the form of a colorful clothing accessories. So long as a token is grasped in the user’s off hand, she can spend 1 panache point to gain the use of a specific ability associated with the token. Once per day, the bearer can use the token to gain the full benefit of the token without spending panache. Non-swashbucklers can use the tokens, but unless they have another way of gaining panache, they can use the ability only once per day. A character can benefit from only one token at a time; holding a second token provides no additional benefit. There are four types of tokens, each offering a different benefit.

Sczarni

Rycaut wrote:
So this means that a buckler wielder can't use Slashing Grace? That's a bit unfortunate.

Which is one of the main reasons why people retrained Dervish Dance in the first place.

Grand Lodge

Rycaut wrote:
Matthew Morris wrote:

ok so Slashing Grace reads: Choose one kind of light or one-handed slashing weapon (such as the longsword). When wielding your chosen weapon one-handed, you can treat it as a one-handed piercing melee weapon for all feats and class abilities that require such a weapon (such as a swashbuckler's or a duelist's precise strike) and you can add your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier to that weapon's damage. The weapon must be one appropriate for your size. You do not gain this benefit while fighting with two weapons or using flurry of blows, or any time another hand is otherwise occupied.

So why the hate for TWF fighters or swashbuckler types? Or just for someone who holds a wand in the off hand?

So this means that a buckler wielder can't use Slashing Grace? That's a bit unfortunate.

I think you only get slashing grace if you are using the buckler for defense. If you release it (as you would to cast spells, for example) the hand seems like it would count as unoccupied.

So free action, release, attack, free action regrab. you lose Slashing grace on your AoO though.

Sczarni

(I'm getting my forums mixed, heh)


FLite wrote:
graystone wrote:
Azara Emberkin wrote:

Eek, but wait, that means a Swashbuckler with Slashing Grace can't use the Swordmaster's Flair?

"So long as a token is grasped in the user’s off hand".

Super sad face =(.

Not to worry, it's now a swashbuckler item that you'll only see Non-swashbucklers use! Seems par for the course with the other deep, deep cuts in the errata.

You just have to grasp it to activate. Not Wield

For blue scarf, tie it around your neck. Free action, grasp it. Standard action, activate it, free action, release it. Continue turn. For the next minute you gain reach and your hand is unoccupied.

For glove, Free action, clench fist, swift action, activate, free action, unclench, continue turn with hand unoccupied.

For sash, it is a bit of a hassel, because if you want to use it, you have to end your turn with your hand clenched around your sash, which means it is occupied if you want to make AoO

The 'Manipulate an Item' action is a Move action and that sounds like what you'd do to 'grasp' an item in your off hand.


Chess Pwn wrote:
Bandw2 wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
Gisher wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
Alexander Augunas wrote:

Here's a new question for you then, Mr. Seifter!

I was reading the changes to Slashing Grace, and was pleased that it now applies to my daggers. The way that the post-errata Slashing Grace is worded, it makes no distinguishment between ranged attacks and melee attacks with the selected weapon.

So if I'm a flying blade and I pick dagger, would Slashing Grace allow me to add my Dexterity modifier to my dagger's damage when I throw it?

(I figured you might know considering that the Iconic Medium uses a starknife and apparently has Slashing Grace.)

I took a look. The iconic medium is not adding it on thrown damage, since it isn't being used as a melee weapon then. That seems right to me.
Starknives are light piercing weapons. So when Slashing Grace says "Choose one kind of light or one-handed slashing weapon..." that means that I can pick a one-handed slashing weapon or any light weapon regardless of the damage type? I can pick shortsword even though it is piercing or light mace which is bludgeoning? I'm hoping this is true, but that sentence, together with the name of the feat, really does suggest that the only valid light weapon choices are those that deal slashing damage. Could we get some clarification on this issue?
we already got clarification, it's a light slashing weapon or a one-handed slashing weapon. It was clarified for the swashbuckler when it says "a light or one-handed piercing weapon"
so the iconic is wrong then?
Most likely, iconics often have things wrong with them.

According to Mark Seifter the iconics use of Slashing Grace (Starknife) is not an error under the new rules.


ZanThrax wrote:
I've just realized that my brown fur transmuter has become even more useless than he was a week ago. I was already regretting having taken the consume magic items exploit after realizing at the table that I wouldn't actually be able to use it on the majority of the junk magic items that the party had accumulated. Now that I can't even use the more expensive stuff as an emergency supply of arcane points, I think I'll be asking the GM to let me retire him this weekend. I'll go back to playing punching characters instead.

Many GM's will likely let you change your exploit since the ability has changed with this Errata (if your GM is unwilling to let you change it for free, ask if you can use retraining rules from Unlimited Campaign to change it). I know as a GM I would always allow a player to have the option of rebuilding a character if an errata changes how character abilities work (and generally I would probably allow it in most cases if a player has made a character but then isn't having fun with it due to having made a choice not realizing how an ability will function in actual play - but then my focus as a GM is on my players have fun - playing characters they aren't having fun with isn't usually "fun")

Designer

Gisher wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
Bandw2 wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
Gisher wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
Alexander Augunas wrote:

Here's a new question for you then, Mr. Seifter!

I was reading the changes to Slashing Grace, and was pleased that it now applies to my daggers. The way that the post-errata Slashing Grace is worded, it makes no distinguishment between ranged attacks and melee attacks with the selected weapon.

So if I'm a flying blade and I pick dagger, would Slashing Grace allow me to add my Dexterity modifier to my dagger's damage when I throw it?

(I figured you might know considering that the Iconic Medium uses a starknife and apparently has Slashing Grace.)

I took a look. The iconic medium is not adding it on thrown damage, since it isn't being used as a melee weapon then. That seems right to me.
Starknives are light piercing weapons. So when Slashing Grace says "Choose one kind of light or one-handed slashing weapon..." that means that I can pick a one-handed slashing weapon or any light weapon regardless of the damage type? I can pick shortsword even though it is piercing or light mace which is bludgeoning? I'm hoping this is true, but that sentence, together with the name of the feat, really does suggest that the only valid light weapon choices are those that deal slashing damage. Could we get some clarification on this issue?
we already got clarification, it's a light slashing weapon or a one-handed slashing weapon. It was clarified for the swashbuckler when it says "a light or one-handed piercing weapon"
so the iconic is wrong then?
Most likely, iconics often have things wrong with them.
According to Mark Seifter the iconics use of Slashing Grace (Starknife) is not an error under the new rules.

I will admit that my certainty was based upon a shared thought that starknives were slashing (the post was mostly to tease that Slashing Grace now works with light ways, hurray!). Honestly, if not for the name of "Slashing," it would seem like piercing and bludgeoning light weapons would be OK though.


Mark Seifter wrote:
Gisher wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
Bandw2 wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
Gisher wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
Alexander Augunas wrote:

Here's a new question for you then, Mr. Seifter!

I was reading the changes to Slashing Grace, and was pleased that it now applies to my daggers. The way that the post-errata Slashing Grace is worded, it makes no distinguishment between ranged attacks and melee attacks with the selected weapon.

So if I'm a flying blade and I pick dagger, would Slashing Grace allow me to add my Dexterity modifier to my dagger's damage when I throw it?

(I figured you might know considering that the Iconic Medium uses a starknife and apparently has Slashing Grace.)

I took a look. The iconic medium is not adding it on thrown damage, since it isn't being used as a melee weapon then. That seems right to me.
Starknives are light piercing weapons. So when Slashing Grace says "Choose one kind of light or one-handed slashing weapon..." that means that I can pick a one-handed slashing weapon or any light weapon regardless of the damage type? I can pick shortsword even though it is piercing or light mace which is bludgeoning? I'm hoping this is true, but that sentence, together with the name of the feat, really does suggest that the only valid light weapon choices are those that deal slashing damage. Could we get some clarification on this issue?
we already got clarification, it's a light slashing weapon or a one-handed slashing weapon. It was clarified for the swashbuckler when it says "a light or one-handed piercing weapon"
so the iconic is wrong then?
Most likely, iconics often have things wrong with them.
According to Mark Seifter the iconics use of Slashing Grace (Starknife) is not an error under the new rules.
I will admit that my certainty was based upon a shared thought that starknives were slashing (the post was...

Ah, well. Now I am sad. I was really hoping it worked with short swords or light maces. But it is nice that it will work with daggers and scorpion whips.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber
Azara Emberkin wrote:
These garish tokens usually take the form of a colorful clothing accessories. So long as a token is grasped in the user’s off hand, she can spend 1 panache point to gain the use of a specific ability associated with the token. Once per day, the bearer can use the token to gain the full benefit of the token without spending panache. Non-swashbucklers can use the tokens, but unless they have another way of gaining panache, they can use the ability only once per day. A character can benefit from only one token at a time; holding a second token provides no additional benefit. There are four types of tokens, each offering a different benefit.

can't not think of this

Grand Lodge

Really did piazo really just break how jabbing master works? You'd think after crane wing they'd remember to update the entire feat chain.

so I guess it works like this two hits = 2d6 extra, three plus hits 4d6 extra per hit.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
These garish tokens usually take the form of a colorful clothing accessories. So long as a token is grasped in the user’s off hand, she can spend 1 panache point to gain the use of a specific ability associated with the token. Once per day, the bearer can use the token to gain the full benefit of the token without spending panache. Non-swashbucklers can use the tokens, but unless they have another way of gaining panache, they can use the ability only once per day. A character can benefit from only one token at a time; holding a second token provides no additional benefit. There are four types of tokens, each offering a different benefit.

I'd interpret the entire sentence taken together in context to mean you need to grasp it to activate it - you need to grasp it to spend the panache point and get the ability, but it's not necessary to continue holding it.

I'm thinking I need to get this for my Fox Shape Mouser. With a Polymorphic Pouch, I could shapeshift, take it out, then wrap a cute little bandanna around a little foxy neck. Then a cute little harmless foxy just needs to grab the bandanna with his paw to gain normal reach and wreck everything - good luck 5-foot stepping away from me when I'm in your square :)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I approve of most stuff except:

1. Trading wonky text on Slashing Grace for wonky text.

2. Not fixing the Brawler's Flurry extra attacks.

3. Not giving Improved Unarmed Strike to the Grapple-based Strangler Brawler.


I approve wholeheartedly of the nerfs to Spirit Talker and a couple of the Hexes to bring the Shaman down a bit plus not getting Spiritual Ally.... no way near far enough though seen as they got SNA 1-10

The Exchange

Gohaken wrote:
shroudb wrote:

i'm pretty sad at the rogue nerfs though... unwarranted

(twist away and surprise maneuvers mostly)

Help me understand the nerf to Surprise Maneuvers.

A) Did they just break it so that it can only be used by creatures who can take free action combat maneuver checks after making an attack??

...after all, it does say "dice rolled" now. Nobody gets to roll their sneak attack dice on a combat maneuver check. So it must apply to people who can make a check at the same time, or as a free action / triggered after an attack that could get sneak...

or

B) There is no real nerf, "dice rolled" might as well still say "number of dice", because as written "dice rolled" either means nothing new or it means nobody can use the feat at all without the GM allowing them to use it on a free action / subsequent attack for the few PCs that get Grab (hello Tetori) or whomever... (see above)

or

C) The feat just don't work now. Even Grab or whatever wouldn't help you because a strict RAW (read: PFS) GM will say that your free action Combat Maneuver check is happening after your attack that got Sneak Attack dice, so basically there's no way to actually use this.

Or am I totally missing something here?

Thanks,

-Goh

**bump bump** No takers here??

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
Gohaken wrote:
Gohaken wrote:
shroudb wrote:

i'm pretty sad at the rogue nerfs though... unwarranted

(twist away and surprise maneuvers mostly)

Help me understand the nerf to Surprise Maneuvers.

A) Did they just break it so that it can only be used by creatures who can take free action combat maneuver checks after making an attack??

...after all, it does say "dice rolled" now. Nobody gets to roll their sneak attack dice on a combat maneuver check. So it must apply to people who can make a check at the same time, or as a free action / triggered after an attack that could get sneak...

or

B) There is no real nerf, "dice rolled" might as well still say "number of dice", because as written "dice rolled" either means nothing new or it means nobody can use the feat at all without the GM allowing them to use it on a free action / subsequent attack for the few PCs that get Grab (hello Tetori) or whomever... (see above)

or

C) The feat just don't work now. Even Grab or whatever wouldn't help you because a strict RAW (read: PFS) GM will say that your free action Combat Maneuver check is happening after your attack that got Sneak Attack dice, so basically there's no way to actually use this.

Or am I totally missing something here?

Thanks,

-Goh

**bump bump** No takers here??

It looks like this is more to prevent stacking with abilities that allow you to trade sneak attack dice for some other effect (like bleed).


Gohaken wrote:
Gohaken wrote:
shroudb wrote:

i'm pretty sad at the rogue nerfs though... unwarranted

(twist away and surprise maneuvers mostly)

Help me understand the nerf to Surprise Maneuvers.

A) Did they just break it so that it can only be used by creatures who can take free action combat maneuver checks after making an attack??

...after all, it does say "dice rolled" now. Nobody gets to roll their sneak attack dice on a combat maneuver check. So it must apply to people who can make a check at the same time, or as a free action / triggered after an attack that could get sneak...

or

B) There is no real nerf, "dice rolled" might as well still say "number of dice", because as written "dice rolled" either means nothing new or it means nobody can use the feat at all without the GM allowing them to use it on a free action / subsequent attack for the few PCs that get Grab (hello Tetori) or whomever... (see above)

or

C) The feat just don't work now. Even Grab or whatever wouldn't help you because a strict RAW (read: PFS) GM will say that your free action Combat Maneuver check is happening after your attack that got Sneak Attack dice, so basically there's no way to actually use this.

Or am I totally missing something here?

Thanks,

-Goh

**bump bump** No takers here??

so basically:

a)number of sneak attack dice:
a lvl 5 rogue has 3 sneak attack dices. that is a class feature. whatever it happens, he always gets a +3 on his maneuver

b)number of sneak attack dices rolled:
a lvl 5 rogue thug that gets a -1d6 to cause sickened rolls 2 dices. so he only gets +2 on a maneuver that he does along this sneak.

it is mostly a nerf for things like vexing dodger and etc (you forgo the sneak and your swift for a dirty trick, so you roll no dices) and etc archetypes who forgo their sneak attack dices for exrta benefits


I heard the Arcanist got a minor nerfing ??

Dark Archive

Kalindlara wrote:

I'm super-disappointed about TWF with sawtooth sabres being Str-only again. :(

(My Red Mantis Assassin, specifically, is disappointed.)

Effortless Lace + Agile?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Silver Surfer wrote:
I heard the Arcanist got a minor nerfing ??

he now needs at least a moderate cha (i would say at least 12, maybe 14 tops) to perform in top capacity instead of... 7

basically, consume (both the ability and the consume magical items discovery) are cha times/day (min 1) so you want to have at least a positive mod, so wit items you can raise it later on to have more arcane points in your reservoir to spam your stuff


Silver Surfer wrote:
I heard the Arcanist got a minor nerfing ??

The Consume exploits can be used only a number of times per day equal to CHA mod.


shroudb wrote:


he now needs at least a moderate cha (i would say at least 12, maybe 14 tops) to perform in top capacity instead of... 7

basically, consume (both the ability and the consume magical items discovery) are cha times/day (min 1) so you want to have at least a positive mod, so wit items you can raise it later on to have more arcane points in your reservoir to spam your stuff

As suspected still OP....


Silver Surfer wrote:
shroudb wrote:


he now needs at least a moderate cha (i would say at least 12, maybe 14 tops) to perform in top capacity instead of... 7

basically, consume (both the ability and the consume magical items discovery) are cha times/day (min 1) so you want to have at least a positive mod, so wit items you can raise it later on to have more arcane points in your reservoir to spam your stuff

As suspected still OP....

i find exploiter wizard stronger personally

then shaman
then summoner/diviner wizard
then arcanist

The Exchange

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
shroudb wrote:
Gohaken wrote:
Gohaken wrote:
shroudb wrote:

i'm pretty sad at the rogue nerfs though... unwarranted

(twist away and surprise maneuvers mostly)

Help me understand the nerf to Surprise Maneuvers.

A) Did they just break it so that it can only be used by creatures who can take free action combat maneuver checks after making an attack??

...after all, it does say "dice rolled" now. Nobody gets to roll their sneak attack dice on a combat maneuver check. So it must apply to people who can make a check at the same time, or as a free action / triggered after an attack that could get sneak...

or

B) There is no real nerf, "dice rolled" might as well still say "number of dice", because as written "dice rolled" either means nothing new or it means nobody can use the feat at all without the GM allowing them to use it on a free action / subsequent attack for the few PCs that get Grab (hello Tetori) or whomever... (see above)

or

C) The feat just don't work now. Even Grab or whatever wouldn't help you because a strict RAW (read: PFS) GM will say that your free action Combat Maneuver check is happening after your attack that got Sneak Attack dice, so basically there's no way to actually use this.

Or am I totally missing something here?

Thanks,

-Goh

**bump bump** No takers here??

so basically:

a)number of sneak attack dice:
a lvl 5 rogue has 3 sneak attack dices. that is a class feature. whatever it happens, he always gets a +3 on his maneuver

b)number of sneak attack dices rolled:
a lvl 5 rogue thug that gets a -1d6 to cause sickened rolls 2 dices. so he only gets +2 on a maneuver that he does along this sneak.

it is mostly a nerf for things like vexing dodger and etc (you forgo the sneak and your swift for a dirty trick, so you roll no dices) and etc archetypes who forgo their sneak attack dices for exrta benefits

Well, that may be the intent, but it doesn't work as written: because nobody rolls sneak attack dice while making a combat maneuver check. At best, they get to make a combat maneuver check AFTER the attack that got sneak, if they have Grab or Trip or something.

It seems to me like this change makes either no difference at all, or makes Surprise Maneuvers not work at all (as in, nobody can fulfill the conditions of rolling Sneak dice). Maybe if someone has the obscure Rovagug feat to bullrush on a charge, or if you can get sneak attack and a high enough intelligence for C.Expertise and Surprise Maneuvers on a Rhinoceros and take Minotaur charge, or something like that. But nobody else could use this feat.

Wait, there is one exception: The Strangler Brawler gets sneak attack dice that happen which grappling to damage or pin. So they are the only PC Class / Archetype in the game that can use surprise maneuvers now??

Can't be right. Needs clarification.

-Goh


Gohaken wrote:
shroudb wrote:
Gohaken wrote:
Gohaken wrote:
shroudb wrote:

i'm pretty sad at the rogue nerfs though... unwarranted

(twist away and surprise maneuvers mostly)

Help me understand the nerf to Surprise Maneuvers.

A) Did they just break it so that it can only be used by creatures who can take free action combat maneuver checks after making an attack??

...after all, it does say "dice rolled" now. Nobody gets to roll their sneak attack dice on a combat maneuver check. So it must apply to people who can make a check at the same time, or as a free action / triggered after an attack that could get sneak...

or

B) There is no real nerf, "dice rolled" might as well still say "number of dice", because as written "dice rolled" either means nothing new or it means nobody can use the feat at all without the GM allowing them to use it on a free action / subsequent attack for the few PCs that get Grab (hello Tetori) or whomever... (see above)

or

C) The feat just don't work now. Even Grab or whatever wouldn't help you because a strict RAW (read: PFS) GM will say that your free action Combat Maneuver check is happening after your attack that got Sneak Attack dice, so basically there's no way to actually use this.

Or am I totally missing something here?

Thanks,

-Goh

**bump bump** No takers here??

so basically:

a)number of sneak attack dice:
a lvl 5 rogue has 3 sneak attack dices. that is a class feature. whatever it happens, he always gets a +3 on his maneuver

b)number of sneak attack dices rolled:
a lvl 5 rogue thug that gets a -1d6 to cause sickened rolls 2 dices. so he only gets +2 on a maneuver that he does along this sneak.

it is mostly a nerf for things like vexing dodger and etc (you forgo the sneak and your swift for a dirty trick, so you roll no dices) and etc archetypes who forgo their sneak attack dices for exrta benefits

Well, that may be the intent, but it doesn't work as written: because nobody rolls...

yeah with a really strict reading of the raw this seem to be happening (also works with bounty hunter's 6th level ability where you do sneak on grapple)

but to me it seems to be equal obvious to the classic: "the dead condition doesn't say you can't act"

it would probably be better to be worded similar to somethng like "if you replace your sneak attack dices for other benefits then subtract an equal amount from this bonus" or something like this, but i'll faq it for you

Designer

Essentially, shroudb is correct. It is worth noting that this means that it thus also doesn't provide benefits if the foe is immune to sneak attacks.


Mark Seifter wrote:
Essentially, shroudb is correct. It is worth noting that this means that it thus also doesn't provide benefits if the foe is immune to sneak attacks.

but what about on occasions where p.e. a rogue flanks a target and goes for a straight trip

no abilities to do a trip alongside an attack or something, a straight maneuver when if you did an attack you would have sneak benefits.

does the bonus applies there?

ninja edit:
while you are here, how do you think dizzying defense deed works?
swift action fighting defensivly instead of standard means you get an attack and apply the listed bonuses? (similar to standard action use of fighting defensivly)
or there is some kind of error here and you just get the listed bonuses instead of the normal bonuses if you spend a swift+panache?
or something completly different altoghether?


shroudb wrote:
Silver Surfer wrote:
I heard the Arcanist got a minor nerfing ??
he now needs at least a moderate cha (i would say at least 12, maybe 14 tops) to perform in top capacity instead of... 7

Cha 12 and Cha 7 both get to consume magic items / spells 1/day. If you want to do it 2/day, you need to come up with 5 (or more, if you want to play a race with a Cha penalty) point buy from somewhere.

I'm almost certainly going to be retiring my ratfolk brown fur transmuter from my weekly game thanks to this change.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
ZanThrax wrote:
shroudb wrote:
Silver Surfer wrote:
I heard the Arcanist got a minor nerfing ??
he now needs at least a moderate cha (i would say at least 12, maybe 14 tops) to perform in top capacity instead of... 7

Cha 12 and Cha 7 both get to consume magic items / spells 1/day. If you want to do it 2/day, you need to come up with 5 (or more, if you want to play a race with a Cha penalty) point buy from somewhere.

I'm almost certainly going to be retiring my ratfolk brown fur transmuter from my weekly game thanks to this change.

cha 12 and cha 7 both get 1/day correct

but cha 12 with a +2 ench to cha means 2/day, with a +4 3/day and a +6 4/day

cha 7, even with a +6 is still at 1/day

951 to 1,000 of 1,126 << first < prev | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Paizo Products / Product Discussion / Advanced Class Guide Potential Errors All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.