Typos / Mistakes / Etc in 2E Books Collection


Pathfinder Second Edition General Discussion

51 to 100 of 498 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Grand Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

There might be an error in the book for the sorcerer features.
In my Class-specific character sheets, Sorcerer have Resolve at 17th level, and it's the only caster that never get it in the book, and there's a bit hole between lvl 15 and lvl 19.

Marc Radle wrote:

Kind of concerned about the volume of errors and typos I’m hearing about here and in other threads. Some are certainly to be expected, but does it seem like this book has more than what might be considered normal?

Starting to think I might cancel my order for the hardcover and wait until the second printing comes around. Archives of Nethus will have the rules once the book officially releases, yes?

Feels like the usual amount.

Grand Lodge

Page 17, under "Understanding Actions": "Single Actions" looks washed out compared to the other headings.


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Marc Radle wrote:
Kind of concerned about the volume of errors and typos I’m hearing about here and in other threads. Some are certainly to be expected, but does it seem like this book has more than what might be considered normal?

What is "normal"? I've had college textbooks riddled with errors much more egregious than those being described here. As long as Paizo clarifies them with timely errata/FAQ I don't see an issue personally.

Sovereign Court

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Marc Radle wrote:

Kind of concerned about the volume of errors and typos I’m hearing about here and in other threads. Some are certainly to be expected, but does it seem like this book has more than what might be considered normal?

Starting to think I might cancel my order for the hardcover and wait until the second printing comes around. Archives of Nethus will have the rules once the book officially releases, yes?

So far most of them haven't been terrible. Nowhere near the trainwreck that was the Advanced Class Guide Adventure Path. You might make a note here or there but it's a playable game.

First printings of any complex thing always have errors in them. With any publisher. In any field, not just gaming.


7 people marked this as a favorite.

let's keep this a rough list of errors found (before it diverges into a discussion about feelings about those errors). We can create other threads to moan if we have to :P

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Marc Radle wrote:
Kind of concerned about the volume of errors and typos I’m hearing about here and in other threads. Some are certainly to be expected, but does it seem like this book has more than what might be considered normal?

Compared with other books and threads on them? These have all been minuscule.


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Marc Radle wrote:

Kind of concerned about the volume of errors and typos I’m hearing about here and in other threads. Some are certainly to be expected, but does it seem like this book has more than what might be considered normal?

Starting to think I might cancel my order for the hardcover and wait until the second printing comes around. Archives of Nethus will have the rules once the book officially releases, yes?

A second printing will most likely not arrive before 2020, though.

Liberty's Edge

Thanks everyone - good to know!


4 people marked this as a favorite.

While working on the TOS 2nd CORE edition Character Manager for the Pathfinder Second Edition core rules, I too came across several mistakes, errors etc... So here they are!

TOS 2nd CORE edition will be available soon on Paizo's store! :)

Cheers!

The Only Sheet
------------------------------------------------

* Table 8-2 Domains: The Ambition Domain is listed before the Air Domain

* Page 120: The Warpriest entry says "At 13th level, if you gain the divine defense class feature". Yet, all Clerics gain that feature at 13th level... (on the next page!)

(already reported) * Page 130,. Druid Primal Spellcasting: <<... and five cantrips each morning from...> Table 3-11 says 4 cantrips per day.

* page 176: Stealthy Companion isn't asking Animal Companion as a prerequisite

* page 199: Bespell Weapon is listed as level 6 in the Sorcerer Feats table, yet is it listed in the level 4 section of feats

* page (various): The Bard's Effortless Concentration feat is different from the other versions (Druid, Sorcerer and Wizard). While the Bard version has <<Requirement You haven’t acted yet on your turn>>, the other 3 have: <<Trigger Your turn begins>>

* page 212: Clever Counterspell has a prerequisite of "Quick Recognize" * searching the rules, I can't find any references to that...!?

* Page 275: TABLE 6–4: ARMOR: The Padded armor is listed with a STR score of 10, yet has no Armor Check Penalty nor Speed Penalty...!

* Page 335: The Critical Failure text of the Eclipse Burst is missing BOLD

* Page 343: The Harm spell, used with 3 actions says <<disperse positive energy in a 30-foot emanation>> Should be NEGATIVE energy...!

* Page 368: Shadow Siphon spell description: <<...as much damage. but the spell...>> Should be a comma after the word damage!!

* Page 398/405: The Touch of Undeath focus spell is used twice (same name), but with different effects details (one for Cleric, one for Sorcerer)... I suggest using unique names and avoid duplicates

* Page 556: There does not seem to be any benefits of having the high-grade elven chain over the standard grade one...!?

* Page 586: Standard-grade mithral shield has a bulk of 1 instead of L. Same for the high grade.

* Page 594: The Greater Staff of Necromancy adds, at 4th: << grim tendrils, enervation >> - I can't locate the Enervation spell in the Book


6 people marked this as a favorite.
The Only Sheet wrote:
* Page 120: The Warpriest entry says "At 13th level, if you gain the divine defense class feature". Yet, all Clerics gain that feature at 13th level... (on the next page!)

That is probably future proofing for class archetypes.


Franz Lunzer wrote:
The Only Sheet wrote:
* Page 120: The Warpriest entry says "At 13th level, if you gain the divine defense class feature". Yet, all Clerics gain that feature at 13th level... (on the next page!)
That is probably future proofing for class archetypes.

I am a big fan of future proofing.


The Only Sheet wrote:


* page 212: Clever Counterspell has a prerequisite of "Quick Recognize" * searching the rules, I can't find any references to that...!?

If it still exists, it's probably a skill feat. The playtest had something similar.


Someone mentioned that it feels like a larger than usual number of typos and errors.

Over 1000 pages can make it feel that way.

Dark Archive

The Only Sheet wrote:


* page 176: Stealthy Companion isn't asking Animal Companion as a prerequisite*

Maybe that's assumed? I don't have the book yet so I cannot give any actual insight on the matter... but those are both Class Feats, right? Maybe you can retrain Animal Companion so that Stealthy Companion is both the base feat + upgrade? It might be an option in 2E APG or GMG, and I think it'd be really cool; always hated in 3E how earlier feats in any "feat tree" would become redundant right after you got the "better" version (Cleave -> Great Cleave). I'm glad there were fewer in PF1, but there are still some that you might not want to use once you "upgrade" them.


tqomins wrote:
CRB p.278, Critical Hits. This section misstates the rule for critical hits, saying that any nat20 attack roll is a critical hit.

I'm certain you're incorrect and that the text is correct. A Natural 20 is a critical success.

I had trouble wrapping my head around the whole "degrees of success" thing, too, especially with the "by 10 or more."


Marc Radle wrote:

Kind of concerned about the volume of errors and typos I’m hearing about here and in other threads. Some are certainly to be expected, but does it seem like this book has more than what might be considered normal?

Starting to think I might cancel my order for the hardcover and wait until the second printing comes around. Archives of Nethus will have the rules once the book officially releases, yes?

There are typos, but not enough to force yourself to wait to buy a 2nd printing which won't come for a while, nor to wait until Archives posts them.


Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Ascalaphus wrote:
The One True Mango wrote:
Vallarthis wrote:

Monk class doesn't name the ability modifier to use for ki spells (presumably wisdom).

Disrupt Prey (p172) is tagged as a free action, but its content strongly suggests a reaction. Possibly not an error, but I'd be shocked if it's meant to be a free action.

It's a free action used in response to another action- it's free because you're limited to using it only on your prey, as opposed to the more general Attack of Opportunity, which can only be used once per round but can be used on any enemy.
I think it's a typo, using the wrong symbol. As printed, you'd basically be able to take multiple AoOs against your prey (for each separate offense), while every other similar ability is a Reaction and therefore only usable once per round. Also, if this is a free action, how are rangers supposed to use Snap Shot? They need Disrupt Prey to be a Reaction so that they can use Snap Shot without multiclassing to get a feat for it.

One of these (Disrupt Prey or Snap Shot) basically has to be an error. I also initially assumed it was Disrupt Prey, because it fits the normal role of being a reaction. That said, because it only works against a hunted target, it feels like it would be okay to be a free action as the Ranger's "thing" for its version of AoO...but still like 97% expect that the errata will be to make Disrupt Prey a reaction.


9 people marked this as a favorite.
no good scallywag wrote:
tqomins wrote:
CRB p.278, Critical Hits. This section misstates the rule for critical hits, saying that any nat20 attack roll is a critical hit.

I'm certain you're incorrect and that the text is correct. A Natural 20 is a critical success.

I had trouble wrapping my head around the whole "degrees of success" thing, too, especially with the "by 10 or more."

A natural 20 is only a Critical Success if you would succeed on the task with a roll of 20.

On the scale of Critical Failure/Failure/Success/Critical Success, natural 20s move you one step closer to Critical Success. If you're attacking something that has AC 30 and you only have a +6 to hit, your 20 gives you a 26. This isn't enough to hit the AC, but it is high enough to avoid a Critical Failure. Therefore, your Failure becomes a Success. If the AC is less than or equal to 26, you would have a Critical Success. If the AC is greater than or equal to 36, then your 26 would be a Critical Failure and your natural 20 would only bring you to a Failure.

The same applies for natural 1s, but they move you towards Critical Failure.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path Subscriber

Meh, so I created this thread, said I'd stop by somewhat regularly and pull any updates from the thread into a single list, then promptly failed my Fortitude save and fell sick. Assuming that being able to see it all in a single list still sounds helpful, I'll probably check back in in a day or two and do that. Just means it'll be a big update.

I'm definitely noticing a few that are less typos/mistakes and more "this seems unclear enough that I at least have a question about it". I can try and track those as best as I can and simply make it clear in the list that they're just that: Questions.

Otherwise, thanks everyone for contributing to this!


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I'm including a few things that are likely FAQ candidates, even if they're not strictly a typo/error. I'm trying to not include things others have already listed.

- For the previously-mentioned discrepancies on Druid cantrips per day and the missing Monk ki source ability: The class specific character sheets provide further evidence that it's supposed to be 5 cantrips (indicating the Druid table is wrong, not the text) and that monks' key ability for "spell attack" is Wisdom (as implied by the ki monk sidebar).

- FAQ/Errata candidate: The Alchemist class feature Alchemical Alacrity (15th level, p.75) allows you to create three alchemical items simultaneously with quick alchemy, but there doesn't appear to be a way to actually hold that many items. This may not be intended.

- FAQ/Errata candidate: Wounded condition says (p.623) "If you gain the dying condition while wounded, increase your dying condition value by your wounded value." Taking Damage while Dying says (p.459) "If you have the wounded condition, remember to add the value of your wounded condition to your dying value." Dying condition does not mention Wounded. In the playtest version, Wounded explicitly mentioned it applies if you increase your Dying condition. The PF2 GM screen version of Wounded says "Any time you gain the dying condition or increase it for any reason, add your wounded value to the amount you gain or increase your dying value." This is also the wording listed on the Character Sheet Pack's folder. Mark Seifter has said Wounded always applies, but it was in a rapid-fire Q&A stream, so there may be more nuance in an official answer.

- FAQ candidate only: Haste + Minion interaction: Mark Seifter said in a Q&A stream that the minion would gain the quickened condition and get an additional action as per normal haste.

- Mostly a FAQ candidate: Sorcerer spell repertoire and "bloodline spell": On p. 193, it says "When you gain access to a new level of spells, your first new spell is always your bloodline spell" and goes on to mention gaining bloodline spells for new levels. The catch is that in the bloodline entries, what's listed under "Bloodline Spells" are the bloodline spells that are cast as focus spells, with "Granted Spells" containing the repertoire list. This is pretty easy to figure out, but they need to be clear about how they use the term "bloodline spell" to mean "spell [granted by your] bloodline" vs. "bloodline [focus] spell."

- FAQ candidate only: Fire runes and underwater combat: Prevents weapons from being used at all.

- FAQ/errata candidate: Champion deity weapon features do not appear to interact well with Irori's "fist" weapon. Deific Weapon (p.107) does not mentioned unarmed attacks and therefore increase the damage die like the Cleric's comparable "Deadly Simplicity" feat (p.121). The Divine Ally "Blade Ally" also requires you to select a weapon, but fist/handwraps of mighty blows are not weapons, so these interactions are messy. The handwraps of mighty blows counts as a weapon for taking runes, so that part of Blade Ally might work, but wouldn't grant you the critical specialization effect, since handwraps of mighty blows do not have them.

- For the previously-mentioned Animal companion section (p.214) that mentions not needing to use Handle an Animal, which doesn't exist anymore: I believe the correction is not to say that this action is not needed, but presumably is intended to mean that a Nature skill check is not necessary when you take the action (as per Ride's updated language about automatically succeeding, on p.266).

- FAQ candidate only: What happens to runes when items get destroyed? Destroyed is barely defined; one sentence near the bottom of the second column says "A destroyed item can't be Repaired." Looks like it doesn't override the Broken condition, which largely disables the functionality of any item (leaving a little in place for Armor). There's nothing saying runes get broken/destroyed, and there's nothing in the crafting rules for transferring runes that mentions the state of the item they're coming from, so runes may be still be transferrable. If they're not, anyone wearing explorer's clothing or padded armor is extremely vulnerable to armor damage effects (few though they may be). A single black pudding (level 7, Bestiary p.255) melee attack would completely destroy either of those armors on an average attack with 5 acid damage on 2d6. Cloth armor has 1 hardness and 4 HP per Table 11-4 on p.577 and does not appear to be adjusted in any way by item level.


Monstrosity Shape, page 139 CRB, lists phoenix form in aerial form, when it should be in monstrosity form instead.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Will Paizo issue errata/FAQ in a timely manner on these release issues/questions? Or will they follow their policy of not issuing corrections until the next printing of a book? What did they do with the first printing of the PF1 CRB? Just curious.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
RicoTheBold wrote:
- Mostly a FAQ candidate: Sorcerer spell repertoire and "bloodline spell": On p. 193, it says "When you gain access to a new level of spells, your first new spell is always your bloodline spell" and goes on to mention gaining bloodline spells for new levels. The catch is that in the bloodline entries, what's listed under "Bloodline Spells" are the bloodline spells that are cast as focus spells, with "Granted Spells" containing the repertoire list. This is pretty easy to figure out, but they need to be clear about how they use the term "bloodline spell" to mean "spell [granted by your] bloodline" vs. "bloodline [focus] spell."

Yeah, the thing is, people will end up creating such terminology anyways despite discrepancy with RAW, which increases learning curve by requiring players learn IMPLICIT game terms and discern when they are invoked by rules despite RAW not using them. Recognizing that game terms should enable players to accurately talk about the game just seems like Game Design 101.

"Bloodline spell" is just too vague, it should always be either "spell granted by bloodline" or "bloodline focus spell", and if both are intended to be referenced it's probably clearer to just explicitly state both of them. IMHO "focus spell" should always be explicitly stated for EVERY class' focus spells, when that is explicit topic, only mechanics that apply to ALL spells should use generic "spell" reference. "spell slots" may be convenient way to reference standard list + any modifications of it (like "granted" spells), but no focus spells. Hopefully will be Errata'd.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The definition of "reach" on page 455 is not included in the index/glossary (while the definition of "range" on the same page is). The entry for "reach" in the index only refers to the weapon trait.

Grand Lodge

In the "areas" diagram on page 456, the red dots indicating the sources for lines are off-center.


Page 201: Greater Mental Evolution has the Arcane trait only, but is also available to Occult tradition sorcerers.

Page 201: Greater Vital Evolution has the Divine trait only, but is also available to Primal tradition sorcerers.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

CRB, Equipment chapter: the table on page 288 lists cookware (alphabetically between compass and crowbar), but on page 290 where the items are described, there is no description for cookware between the descriptions for compass and crowbar


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ngodrup wrote:
CRB, Equipment chapter: the table on page 288 lists cookware (alphabetically between compass and crowbar), but on page 290 where the items are described, there is no description for cookware between the descriptions for compass and crowbar

Do they have a description for every item in the table? In 1e, they didn't; they just assumed things like backpacks and bedrolls were self-explanatory. (There's a big thread about backpacks around here somewhere from those days.)

EDIT: Hey, actually, backpack's before the table on p. 287. It made the list this time! But, yeah, the heading says, "These items follow special rules or require more detail." So cookware doesn't, in their opinion.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

Fuse Stance (Monk Feat 20, pg 165) mentions that "you can't fuse stances with fundamentally incompatible requirements (like Ironblood Stance and Crane Stance, which both require using only one type of Strike)."

But Ironblood Stance (Monk Feat 8, pg 163) say that "you can make iron sweep unarmed attacks" not that "the only Strikes you can make are".


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

- Sidebar on page 556 titled "Armor Alternatives" says bracers of armor gives a +1 item bonus to AC with no Dex modifier cap, but the item itself on page 607 gives a maximum Dexterity modifier of +5.

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

-Page 157 of the Bestiary: The Faerie Dragon (a level 2 creature) has a +16 Perception listed. This is so out of step with every other Perception and Skill bonus in the book it seems like it must be a typo. A +6 or +10 would both be much more consistent with the rest of the book.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

CRB Pg. 477: "The line between the centers of their spaces doesn't pass through any blocking terrain, but does passes through Valeros's space."
Bestiary Pg. 208 Sidebar: "...the crafting of a soulbound doll (page 306)..." should be page 304.


Found a few more while adding magical items to
TOS 2nd CORE edition!

* Page 551: The DeathCap Powder is listed as 'Held in 2 hands' - yet it is an Ingested poison... shouldn't it be one hand?
* Page 552: Giant Wasp Venom; The 3rd stage is missing the 'damage' word
* Page 601: The Mattock of the Titan specifies it is 15' long, yet does not appear to have the reach trait

The Only Sheet

Dark Archive

There seems to be some mistake with animal companion armor. Animal companions can only get up to +2 item bonus to AC (pg. 214) yet heavy barding provides a +3 item bonus to AC (pg. 295) and its Dex cap seems to balanced around the full bonus applying.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Some issues with the Alchemist kit were mentioned in another thread, but I'm thinking that class kits in general might have some issues - I was making a monk, and while the weight of the kit was right (with the 'proper' weight of 1 bulk for an Adventurer's Pack, though it increases to 1 Bulk 9 Light when you actually fill your waterskin), everything that's in the kit should cost a total 5.26 gold, not 4.9 gold.

The 'gold left over' section also says there should be 10.2 gold, when it should be 10.1 for the given price. The cleric, sorcerer, and wizard kits also seem have a wrong 'left over' value, by over 1 entire gold each.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This one's pretty egregious:

* Page 93: Barbarian's Dragon Transformation still has the line "Your breath weapon DC increases to 30" from the playtest, except the Dragon Form spell now uses your spellcasting DC for breath weapon DC. That's not to mention that 30 DC at level 18 is laughable. A normal Spellcaster would be getting a DC of 28 + 6 (master) + 6 (spellcasting mod) = 40 at that level. The feat should have a line prior that lets the Barb use his Class DC for the DC of the breath weapon, and the line that references DC 30 should be cut altogether.

* Page 377: Telekinetic Projectile says "make a ranged attack" but every other spell that requires an attack roll uses "spell attack roll" or "make a spell attack". TP should follow that convention as well.


p.184: the rogue feat Minor Magic gives me two cantrips, but how do I cast them; should it say I can provide M/S/V components for them? Are they innate spells? Do I use my rogue class DC, or a mental stat? This feat doesn't even give me trained proficiency in any spell DC!

p.209: the wizard feat Familiar reads, "You make a pact with creature". That should be "with a creature".


1 person marked this as a favorite.

p. 274, under Bulk:
"This entry gives the armor’s Bulk, assuming you’re wearing the armor and distributing its weight across your body. A suit of armor that’s carried or worn usually has 1 more Bulk than what’s listed here (or 1 Bulk total for armor of light Bulk). An armor’s Bulk is increased or decreased if it’s sized for creatures that aren’t Small or Medium in size, following the rules on page 295."

The "or worn" is redundant as it directly contradicts the previous sentence.

p.287, not really an error, but a funny rules interpretation:

Bandoliers have negligible weight when worn. A few players have postulated that this should allow them to wear an arbitrary amount of empty bandoliers on their person. (or wear a good amount and stuff some useful items in them, as long as they have enough STR to carry them)

p.86, Barbs get a lot of errors:

Under the Animal Instincts table, Deer's Antler attack has Charge listed as one of the traits, except it's another holdover from the playtest and the trait doesn't exist anywhere in the CRB. OOPS!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Page 26, Character Sheet callout at the bottom "Likewise, record your character's [b]their[b] armor proficiencies in the Armor Class section..."

Bold "their" should not be present in this sentence.

Page 35, Call on Ancient Blood "You gain a +1 circumstance bonus to the triggering saving throw and until the end of this turn."

I can't parse this to make any sense. It's a reaction to a magic effect you haven't rolled your save for yet. So... yeah, you get a +1 bonus to the save. As far as I can tell "and until the end of this turn" all superfluous text. Once the save is rolled, I don't know what you might potentially be getting a bonus to until the end of the round. So I suspect all of that text should just be removed.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Anguish wrote:

Page 26, Character Sheet callout at the bottom "Likewise, record your character's [b]their[b] armor proficiencies in the Armor Class section..."

Bold "their" should not be present in this sentence.

Page 35, Call on Ancient Blood "You gain a +1 circumstance bonus to the triggering saving throw and until the end of this turn."

I can't parse this to make any sense. It's a reaction to a magic effect you haven't rolled your save for yet. So... yeah, you get a +1 bonus to the save. As far as I can tell "and until the end of this turn" all superfluous text. Once the save is rolled, I don't know what you might potentially be getting a bonus to until the end of the round. So I suspect all of that text should just be removed.

I think it's in case you get more than one save effect cast on you you get the bonus still. Say a 1 action spell and then another, 2 action spell in the same turn you get the bonus the whole turn instead of only on the one that triggered the reaction


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Page 572: bag of holding. "Usage held in 2 hands" and "You can Interact with the bag of holding to put items in or remove them just like a mundane sack" contradict each other: how can you put something in or take something out if you MUST hold the bag in two hands to use it...

I question why it needs hands at all: if you tie it to your belt, why then must you hold it to interact to open/use it? AT the very least it needs to be dropped to held in one hand so it's actually usable.


Page 206: in the Sample Spellbook box. It lists the Cantrip: Study Aura. There is no such Cantrip. I assume it means Read Aura.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Sound Burst spell has a crit fail effect of Stun 1 minute. That's probably waaaaay too high for something that doesn't have the Incapacitation trait and can be spammed out of 2nd level slots. Recommend changing to Stun 1 or Stun 2.


Page 34, under Society:

'Today's dwarves today retain...'

Second 'today' isn't needed.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

p318: In the text of the Animal Messenger spell it says: "The animal does its best to reach the destination; if it makes it here, it waits nearby until the duration expires, allowing other nonhostile creatures to approach it and remove the attached object." But the spell block lists the duration as "until delivered".

RAW, this entails that the animal will wait indefinitely. But given what it says in the text, I suspect this wasn't intended.


Porridge wrote:

p318: In the text of the Animal Messenger spell it says: "The animal does its best to reach the destination; if it makes it here, it waits nearby until the duration expires, allowing other nonhostile creatures to approach it and remove the attached object." But the spell block lists the duration as "until delivered".

RAW, this entails that the animal will wait indefinitely. But given what it says in the text, I suspect this wasn't intended.

I think delivery is when someone removes the object, not when it arrives at the location. Once someone takes the object delivery occurs and the animal no longer waits nearby.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Xenocrat wrote:
Porridge wrote:

p318: In the text of the Animal Messenger spell it says: "The animal does its best to reach the destination; if it makes it here, it waits nearby until the duration expires, allowing other nonhostile creatures to approach it and remove the attached object." But the spell block lists the duration as "until delivered".

RAW, this entails that the animal will wait indefinitely. But given what it says in the text, I suspect this wasn't intended.

I think delivery is when someone removes the object, not when it arrives at the location. Once someone takes the object delivery occurs and the animal no longer waits nearby.

Right, but if no one comes, the animal will wait until it starves or dies of old age. Which seems weird.

Xenocrat wrote:
Sound Burst spell has a crit fail effect of Stun 1 minute. That's probably waaaaay too high for something that doesn't have the Incapacitation trait and can be spammed out of 2nd level slots. Recommend changing to Stun 1 or Stun 2.

Reading the definition of "stunned" I don't think "deafened and stunned 1 for one minute" is even coherent. I suspect the intended effect was "deafened for 1 minute, and stunned 1", which seems around the right power level.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
lordcirth wrote:
Right, but if no one comes, the animal will wait until it starves or dies of old age. Which seems weird.

Now all I can think about is that futurama episode.


Maybe another thread is better forum to dispute the work ethic of squirrels?
There's PLENTY of real clear Errata, and throwing in random flavor gripes does not facilitate Paizo's job.

Dark Archive

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
graystone wrote:

Page 572: bag of holding. "Usage held in 2 hands" and "You can Interact with the bag of holding to put items in or remove them just like a mundane sack" contradict each other: how can you put something in or take something out if you MUST hold the bag in two hands to use it...

I question why it needs hands at all: if you tie it to your belt, why then must you hold it to interact to open/use it? AT the very least it needs to be dropped to held in one hand so it's actually usable.

You need one hand to hold the bag open and another to rummage through. "Held" in this context means it needs to be wielded to use it as opposed to being worn like magic armour. So "held in 2 hands" in this case doesn't mean you need to hold the bag in two hands and shove your head in to pull an item out with your teeth, but that you need both hands free when going in

1 to 50 of 498 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / General Discussion / Typos / Mistakes / Etc in 2E Books Collection All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.