Typos / Mistakes / Etc in 2E Books Collection


Pathfinder Second Edition General Discussion

151 to 200 of 476 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Grim Ranger wrote:

VestOfHolding: thanks so much for maintaining this list!

This may or may not be an issue: on page 73 under the Mutagenist research field for alchemists, it states, "You can gain the benefit of any mutagen, even if it wasn't specifically brewed for you." I don't see anything that states that mutagens only affect specific individuals (or only the alchemist that created them); did I miss that? If not, then what is the point of this sentence? Is it a mistake, or future-proofing

Feats such as Feral Mutagen give additional benefits when you ingest a Mutagen "you created".

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Raven Black wrote:
Grim Ranger wrote:

VestOfHolding: thanks so much for maintaining this list!

This may or may not be an issue: on page 73 under the Mutagenist research field for alchemists, it states, "You can gain the benefit of any mutagen, even if it wasn't specifically brewed for you." I don't see anything that states that mutagens only affect specific individuals (or only the alchemist that created them); did I miss that? If not, then what is the point of this sentence? Is it a mistake, or future-proofing

Feats such as Feral Mutagen give additional benefits when you ingest a Mutagen "you created".

Thanks! That means the sentence I pointed out is not a mistake.

Dark Archive

Core Rulebook

Equipment - Chapter 6
Pg 289
Class Kits
Sorcerer - Lists a Slingshot Should this be assumed to be a Sling or is the weapon chart missing Slingshots?

Dark Archive

Core Rulebook

Ancestries - Chapter 2
Goblin Feats
Pg 48
Goblin Scuttle
"Trigger An ally ends a move action adjacent to you.
You take advantage of your ally’s movement to adjust your
position. You Step."

Seems to be some truncated text to me.
You Step what? Behind Under Around Next To Away From....


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
rasplundjr wrote:

Core Rulebook

Ancestries - Chapter 2
Goblin Feats
Pg 48
Goblin Scuttle
"Trigger An ally ends a move action adjacent to you.
You take advantage of your ally’s movement to adjust your
position. You Step."

Seems to be some truncated text to me.
You Step what? Behind Under Around Next To Away From....

I think that means you take the action called Step: Move 5 feet without triggering reactions.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path Subscriber
Grim Ranger wrote:
The Raven Black wrote:
Grim Ranger wrote:

VestOfHolding: thanks so much for maintaining this list!

This may or may not be an issue: on page 73 under the Mutagenist research field for alchemists, it states, "You can gain the benefit of any mutagen, even if it wasn't specifically brewed for you." I don't see anything that states that mutagens only affect specific individuals (or only the alchemist that created them); did I miss that? If not, then what is the point of this sentence? Is it a mistake, or future-proofing

Feats such as Feral Mutagen give additional benefits when you ingest a Mutagen "you created".
Thanks! That means the sentence I pointed out is not a mistake.

I completely missed this too and added it to my list. I'll remove that later today, thanks for the catch.


Bestiary
* p.174 in Storm Giant: "Perform" is listed as one of its skills instead of Performance.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber

CRB: page 333, dragonform; silver dragon: walk on clouds
This ability is not in the CRB.

When checking against the silver dragon monster entry on Archives of Nethys it has cloud walk as movement ability, which has no entry on Archives of Nethys either.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Damanta wrote:

CRB: page 333, dragonform; silver dragon: walk on clouds

This ability is not in the CRB.

When checking against the silver dragon monster entry on Archives of Nethys it has cloud walk as movement ability, which has no entry on Archives of Nethys either.

It's in the Young Silver Dragon entry in the Bestiary.

Quote:
Cloud Walk The silver dragon can tread on clouds or fog as though on solid ground.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Core Rulebook, p96, Bard Advancement
Level 10 : Ability boots should most likely be ability boosts ;)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The retraining rules likely aren't behaving as they should:
"When retraining, you generally can't make choices you couldn't make when you selected the original option..."

This suggests that if I want to retrain my 1st level Monk Feat into Crane Stance, I can do it, but then if I want to retrain my 6th level monk feat into Crane Flutter I can't, because when I selected the original option (before retraining my 6th level feat), I didn't have Crane Stance.

I'm assuming this isn't RAI, though I could be wrong, but it's clearly RAW.

Silver Crusade

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

The point of that rule is that you can't retrain a Feat you took at 2nd level with a 6 level feat when you're 6th level.


Zaister wrote:
Table 3–11: Druid Spells per Day (p. 312) has 4 cantrips on all levels. According to the text for primal spellcasting on page 130, this should most likely be 5 cantrips at all levels, just as with the other prepared spellcasters, the cleric and the wizard.

I also noticed this while I was creating a Druid this morning! It would be very good to get a clarification on which number is correct ... Weird that the wrong number would get propagated through all 20 levels of the table without notice!

(In hindsight, just one table for these three types of prepared spell casters would probably have been sufficient, if they are all essentially the same (except for footnotes))

Sovereign Court

5 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Zaister wrote:
Table 3–11: Druid Spells per Day (p. 312) has 4 cantrips on all levels. According to the text for primal spellcasting on page 130, this should most likely be 5 cantrips at all levels, just as with the other prepared spellcasters, the cleric and the wizard.

I confirmed this with the devs at GenCon that it should be 5.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Rysky wrote:
The point of that rule is that you can't retrain a Feat you took at 2nd level with a 6 level feat when you're 6th level.

Too bad it doesn't say that: with it's current form, you'd have to keep a sheet for each and every level so you know exactly what stats, feats, proficiency ranks, ect you had so you don't "make choices you couldn't make when you selected the original option". Sounds fun. :P

Silver Crusade

6 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
graystone wrote:
Rysky wrote:
The point of that rule is that you can't retrain a Feat you took at 2nd level with a 6 level feat when you're 6th level.
Too bad it doesn't say that: with it's current form, you'd have to keep a sheet for each and every level so you know exactly what stats, feats, proficiency ranks, ect you had so you don't "make choices you couldn't make when you selected the original option". Sounds fun. :P

Or, to save on postage, we shall read it in a way that makes sense.


Familiar seems to have a few vagaries... like should Spell Delivery attacks use Caster Stat & Proficiency?
Similar question re: the stated skills (it covers Stat but not Proficiency).
For that matter, I wonder how it would work if SOMEBODY else used something like Imbue Spell on your Familiar.
(general ability could be written so spell attacks user "Caster's" stat and proficiency, familiar consistently adding Master level?)
I'm not sure if there is any general rule stating what it's Reach is, or if it can Flank?
(if it has touch spell with ongoing charges/duration, that seems plausible, but undefined...)


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

On page 353 of the Bestiary it lists Pixie as being on page 310. Pixie is actually on 309.

On page 356 of the Core Rulebook the spell Pest Form says "You transform into a the battle form of a Tiny animal". The "a" appears to be a typo.


Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Page 79, Merciful Elixir says the item attempts a counteract check, but no modifiers are listed for the counteract check.

Mutagens run into the same issue, as RAW it appears drinking a second mutagen would makes the second attempt a counteract check against the first, but there are no modifiers for this check.

The language of the Mutagenist's 13th level ability suggests mutagens should simply override each other while maintaining the drawbacks from any previously imbibed (as they functioned in the playtest). Perhaps this bit got lost in editing?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Grim Ranger wrote:
The Raven Black wrote:
Grim Ranger wrote:

VestOfHolding: thanks so much for maintaining this list!

This may or may not be an issue: on page 73 under the Mutagenist research field for alchemists, it states, "You can gain the benefit of any mutagen, even if it wasn't specifically brewed for you." I don't see anything that states that mutagens only affect specific individuals (or only the alchemist that created them); did I miss that? If not, then what is the point of this sentence? Is it a mistake, or future-proofing

Feats such as Feral Mutagen give additional benefits when you ingest a Mutagen "you created".
Thanks! That means the sentence I pointed out is not a mistake.

I think the sentence is still improperly worded. It should really say something like "you treat all mutagens as if they were brewed by you for the purposes of feats or abilities". It looks like it was written based on playtest mutagen rules, but then wasn't properly updated for the final version.

The language of 13th level field ability for the mutagenist has a similar issue. It's worded as if mutagens still worked like they did in the play test (that is, their benefits override each other, while drawbacks stack). As written it technically works, but it's weird, since it basically causes the rules of mutagens to change back to the playtest paradigm.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Oversight:
Nowhere in the class entry of the caster classes does it tell you whether that class is a spontaneous or prepared caster.

Sure, the rules how the classes cast spells and use their slots is explained. But the identification of "You cast spells prepared/spontaneous" is missing. This is important for e.g. staves.

In the Spellcasting feature text of the prepared casters, there is "At 1st level, you can prepare up to two 1st-level spells...". But that's it. Without knowledge of previous versions of PF/DnD, you will have a hard time figuring that out.


Syri wrote:
p.170, p.182: What in the world does improved evasion do? "Your proficiency rank for Reflex saves increases to legendary. When you roll a critical failure on a Reflex save, you get a failure instead. When you fail a Reflex save against a damaging effect, you take half damage." So does this mean I take half damage after upgrading a fumble to a failure, or do I treat a critical failure as an unmodified failure?

I think that is for a critical failure with a dice roll of 1. When you roll a 1 your result is 1 lower than it would normally be. So you crit fail, goes up to fail, then back down to crit fail on a 1. In that case you still take half damage (and half doubled is normal damage :P )

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber
masda_gib wrote:

Oversight:

Nowhere in the class entry of the caster classes does it tell you whether that class is a spontaneous or prepared caster.

Sure, the rules how the classes cast spells and use their slots is explained. But the identification of "You cast spells prepared/spontaneous" is missing. This is important for e.g. staves.

In the Spellcasting feature text of the prepared casters, there is "At 1st level, you can prepare up to two 1st-level spells...". But that's it. Without knowledge of previous versions of PF/DnD, you will have a hard time figuring that out.

It's on page 298: Prepared Spells and Spontaneous Spells

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber
rayous brightblade wrote:

I think that is for a critical failure with a dice roll of 1. When you roll a 1 your result is 1 lower than it would normally be. So you crit fail, goes up to fail, then back down to crit fail on a 1. In that case you still take half damage (and half doubled is normal damage :P )

Not so:

Core Rulebook p. 445

Determine the degree of Success:
Some other abilities can change the degree of success for rolls you get. When resolving the effect of an ability that changes your degree of success, always apply the adjustment from a natural 20 or natural 1 before anything else.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Rysky wrote:
graystone wrote:
Rysky wrote:
The point of that rule is that you can't retrain a Feat you took at 2nd level with a 6 level feat when you're 6th level.
Too bad it doesn't say that: with it's current form, you'd have to keep a sheet for each and every level so you know exactly what stats, feats, proficiency ranks, ect you had so you don't "make choices you couldn't make when you selected the original option". Sounds fun. :P
Or, to save on postage, we shall read it in a way that makes sense.

Or, rather than having the rule say the wrong thing they could have it say the right thing or have an errata. Maybe you're not familiar with "rules as written"? Given the way Pathfinder Society is run, there's no room for interpretation, and everyone would have to follow by the letter of the rule rather than the spirit, as you suggest.

I even said as much in my original post, but this is a thread for rules erratas/clarifications... so what is it you're trying to get at here? Is there some parsing of that rule that I'm missing?


With so many mistakes in the books I am not willing to buy the physical copies.
I was reallly looking forward to hold the limited editions in my hands, but I guess next printing will do! Do Paizo not have any proof readers?

Unfortunatly the next printing will take years, I am still waiting for the updated Starfinder books and they came out 2 years ago.

Silver Crusade

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Yes they do, and so far these errors have been rather minor.

You're not gonna find a book without errors, not even college textbooks.


Core Rulebook, p.57, Adaptive Adept (Feat 5):

Quote:
just like the cantrip from Adapted Spell.

Adapted Spell shall be changed to Adapted Cantrib, as the named Feat 1 on same page is meant.

Liberty's Edge

The rarity index entry on p. 635 lists an occurrence on p. 535, but the Item Rarity sidebar it's referencing actually appears on p. 534.

Correction: Change "535" to "534" in the rarity index entry on p. 635.

Liberty's Edge

The crusade spell description on p. 327 starts off:

Quote:
You issue a divine mandate to the targets. you pronounce a cause.

Not sure whether a word is missing, or whether the second "you" should just be capitalized, or the two sentences conjoined with a semi-colon.

Suggested correction: Change these two sentences to "You issue a divine mandate to the targets, pronouncing a cause."


p349 of the Core Rulebook PDF (and possibly the hardcopy?) talks about the non-existent spell/cantrip Study Aura, in the Magic Aura spell description. Its also mentioned in the sample spellbook on p206, which has already been noted.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path Subscriber

Alright, caught up on updates again. Thanks again, everyone! And thanks to the folks who have made pull requests too!


VestOfHolding wrote:
Alright, caught up on updates again. Thanks again, everyone! And thanks to the folks who have made pull requests too!

Sorry to ask a stupid question, but where?

It doesn't seem we can edit our posts indefinitely, so I understand why your updated list isn't in the first place I looked, the first post of the thread.

Since I haven't read the entire thread, let me contribute with: the price of a Healing Potion is listed as 3 gp in the equipment chapter (which would make the 3 gp elixir a very bad deal). The price is 4 gp in the Treasure chapter.


The Continual Flame spell increasing gold costs for heightened versions of the spell, but does not specify the effect of heightening.

Is this supposed to be taken as a restriction on the level of object that can be targeted, i.e. to target a level X object it must be heightened to level X?

Liberty's Edge

3 people marked this as a favorite.

I believe higher level Continual Flame is just harder to counter with darkness effects. Which justifies the price by itself.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber
Grumbledook wrote:

The Continual Flame spell increasing gold costs for heightened versions of the spell, but does not specify the effect of heightening.

Is this supposed to be taken as a restriction on the level of object that can be targeted, i.e. to target a level X object it must be heightened to level X?

Darkness

Quote:
This also suppresses magical light of your darkness spell's level or lower.


Franz Lunzer wrote:
Grumbledook wrote:

The Continual Flame spell increasing gold costs for heightened versions of the spell, but does not specify the effect of heightening.

Is this supposed to be taken as a restriction on the level of object that can be targeted, i.e. to target a level X object it must be heightened to level X?

Darkness

Quote:
This also suppresses magical light of your darkness spell's level or lower.

Thanks, that makes sense. Maybe still worth clarifying since the spell makes no sense except in context of that other one.

(I wonder why this wasn't implemented as a "darkness N" condition - could also encompass low light vision etc)

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber

It's not just Darkness. Some other spells with the Darkness-Tag also try to counteract magical light (and the other way around). Darkness just suppresses it automatically, it seems.
That's likely a debate for another thread.


Reading a Bloodline Entry, pg 195 CRB wrote:
You automatically add the spells listed here to your spell repertoire, in addition to those you gain through sorcerer spellcasting.

The bolded phrase contradicts the rules in the spell repertoire section of the sorcerer and seems to be hangover from the playtest. In the playtest you had a base of 3 spell slots and known, with your bloodline adding to both. Now you get a base of 4 and the bloodline mandates rather than adding to those selections.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path Subscriber
Zapp wrote:
VestOfHolding wrote:
Alright, caught up on updates again. Thanks again, everyone! And thanks to the folks who have made pull requests too!

Sorry to ask a stupid question, but where?

Gah, the one post where I didn't link my Github repo since creating it. I think I literally even said in my last post that I link it in every post since creating it to prevent exactly this, lol.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

For those needing it
https://github.com/VestOfHolding/Pathfinder2EOversights

FAQ Candidate
Poisoning Weapons
Poisons, can they be applied to ammunition or just to weapons? Blowgun darts suggest they can have poison applied to them, as does the hand crossbow describe bolts being used for that purpose.
The injury category says "weapon" however.
(I believe RAW the ammo may count as a weapon thanks to it qualifying as a improvised piercing/slashing weapon and existing in the weapon tables, but RAI qualification would be nice)

Retrieving Ammunition
Is ammunition always destroyed upon firing it? I cannot see a rule anywhere pertaining to retrieving ammunition (matters for expensive magical arrows and such)


I think some of the Animal Form spell animal stats are in error:
While Bear and Cat are broadly balanced re: attacks, Cat has 40 speed while Bear only has 30 speed.
While Bull and Canine are broadly balanced re: attacks, Canine has 40 speed while Bull only has 30 speed.

In case of Animal Instinct & Animal Rage, Bear and Bull don't seem to actually grant any unique benefit beyond standard: low-light vision, scent, and possibly 5 temp HPs if normal Rage temp HPs have already been lost. As LLV and Scent are distinct Rage Feats, anybody with Bear or Bull would gain no benefit from using Animal Rage.

From what I gather Bull-fighting Bulls (and Buffalo) have top speed equivalent or slightly higher than Wolves, and so it seems plausible they should have a higher speed.

From what I gather Bears have top speed close to but slightly trailing Wolves, so while a higher speed might be justified, perhaps another ability would be deemed more suitable.


Realised I mis-stated detail when rehashing that from other thread discussion,
30 speed is at least a minor increase for most anybody but Elves, but Bull & Bear do fall below par as a whole.
I'm not sure if Fleet or Nimble (Elf Feat) would "stack" with Animal Form base speed or not...?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The references to the non-existent Study Aura cantrip on p206 and p349 are probably referring to the Read Aura cantrip on p362? The description of Magic Aura on p349 supports this theory, because both spells refer to the magic aura of an item.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
The Gleeful Grognard wrote:

For those needing it

https://github.com/VestOfHolding/Pathfinder2EOversights

FAQ Candidate
Poisoning Weapons
Poisons, can they be applied to ammunition or just to weapons? Blowgun darts suggest they can have poison applied to them, as does the hand crossbow describe bolts being used for that purpose.
The injury category says "weapon" however.
(I believe RAW the ammo may count as a weapon thanks to it qualifying as a improvised piercing/slashing weapon and existing in the weapon tables, but RAI qualification would be nice)

Retrieving Ammunition
Is ammunition always destroyed upon firing it? I cannot see a rule anywhere pertaining to retrieving ammunition (matters for expensive magical arrows and such)

Linkified.

151 to 200 of 476 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / General Discussion / Typos / Mistakes / Etc in 2E Books Collection All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.