Typos / Mistakes / Etc in 2E Books Collection


Pathfinder Second Edition General Discussion

251 to 300 of 300 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>

I think the The Druid Cantrip/Spells preparation error is incorrectly listed on page 312 on the GitHub list, vs 132 for the actual location in the CRB for table 3-11.

(Sorry, don't know how GitHub works to point it out there)


Page 618 under the Broken condition:
"An object is broken when damage has reduced its Hit Points below its Broken Threshold....
If an effect makes an item broken automatically... that effect also reduces the item's current HP to the Broken Threshold."

Not sure which forum to include it in. It is a rules inconsistency but it also may be a typo.


The Goblin Warrior has a +8 bonus to attack with it's weapons. That seems unreasonably high for the level -1 monster (Kobold has +3, Skeleton Guard +6). It seems as if the monsters are supposed to use their proficiencies, counting their class levels as 0, for attacks. This gives a kobold +3 (2 from trained, 1 from strength) and a Skeleton Guard +6 (+4 for Expert, +2 for strength or +2 from trained and +4 from dex, unclear). Using this math, a Goblin Warrior should have +5 if Trained, a reasonable assumption (Giving it +2 from trained and +3 from dex). Alternatively, if it is an expert (Very weird if it is), then +7.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

* p.322, 390:Colette Brunel points out that charm's and charming touch's mentions of the Identify Magic activity do not make sense; the writers probably meant to instead refer to the Recall Knowledge action.

Secondly, since the condition appendix says that PCs are not subject to the friendly and helpful conditions, it seems that these spells are almost entirely unable to affect PCs, other than merely making it so that the party "can't use hostile actions".

Rholand wrote:
The Goblin Warrior has a +8 bonus to attack with it's weapons.

PF2's monsters are not built on the same character creation system as PCs, as there would be little point in giving every monster a heritage, an ancestry feat at 1st and every four levels thereafter, a general feat at 3rd and every four thereafter, etc. You'll find that the bloodseeker, flash beetle, mitflit, sprite, and viper also have +8 to hit, as many of the lowest-level monsters have so few hit points that they need high attack bonuses in order to make an impact on play while being such one-hit wonders.


* p.583: The shadow property rune's statblock says Rune 5+, but the description gives the lowest-level version as 3rd level.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

* p.35, Call on Ancient Blood, states: "You gain a +1 circumstance bonus to the triggering saving throw and until the end of this turn."
That's... not unclear, but horribly written. Sure, you gain a +1 circumstance bonus to the triggering saving throw, that's fine. Then you gain a +1 circumstance bonus until the end of this turn.
Am I the only one to see the words punching each other?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

On 302 :
"If you have multiple abilities that give
you a focus pool, each one adds 1 Focus Point to your pool.
For instance, if you were a cleric with the Domain Initiate
feat, you would have a pool with 1 Focus Point. Let’s say
you then took the champion multiclass archetype and the
Healing Touch feat. Normally, this feat would give you a
focus pool. Since you already have one, it instead increases
your existing pool’s capacity by 1."

Healing touch feat:
"You gain the appropriate devotion spell for your cause (lay on
hands for the paladin, redeemer, and liberator). If you don’t
already have one, you gain a focus pool of 1 Focus Point,
which you can Refocus by praying or serving your deity. (For
more on devotion spells, see page 107.)"

Seem to be contradictory.

If you have a character that multiclasses into druid and takes wild shape they get 1 focus point by the rules on page 300, if they then take order spell they get another focus point by the rule on page 302. On the other hand if they take order spell then wild shape they only get 1 focus point.

That seems to be a problem, the order you take feats shouldn't change the result, are the rules on page 302 intended to work as they do?

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I believe that’s a case of General > Specific (or rather General adds on rather than contradicts)

The feats all give you a Focus Pool, but if you already have one you get an extra Focus Point. The rule is just in 302 rather than being repeated in every single Focus ability.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

More of a FAQ candidate.

Currently Swarm traited creatures can be, grappled, flanked, tripped, shoved and targeted by effects that would only effect limited numbers of creatures.

Not sure if this is intentional. Or if Paizo believes a GM should make logical rulings.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Lucas Yew wrote:

Bestiary

* p.112: The Ancient Red Dragon is Huge, not Gargantuan as it's supposed to be.

I'm quite sure one of the dev team already confirmed it as a real error in an another thread, but I want to make sure that it will be fixed ASAP in he 2nd printing, hence the reprisal here.

In a similar vein, I *think* the Ancient Blue Dragon is also supposed to be Gargantuan, not Huge.

That would make three kinds of Ancient metallic dragons Gargantuan: Bronze, Silver and Gold. And three kinds of chromatic dragons Gargantuan: Green, Blue and Red. (As opposed to now, where of the chromatic dragons, only the Ancient Green Dragon is listed as Gargantuan.)


I didn't see this one posted yet.

Minor Healing Potion is listed as costing 3 gp under Magical Gear - pg. 293.

But it is listed as costing 4 gp. on pg. 536 Treasure by Level Chart and pg. 563 in the Potion section.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

It's probably been posted the most :3


Pathfinder Companion, Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Porridge wrote:
Lucas Yew wrote:

Bestiary

* p.112: The Ancient Red Dragon is Huge, not Gargantuan as it's supposed to be.

I'm quite sure one of the dev team already confirmed it as a real error in an another thread, but I want to make sure that it will be fixed ASAP in he 2nd printing, hence the reprisal here.

In a similar vein, I *think* the Ancient Blue Dragon is also supposed to be Gargantuan, not Huge.

That would make three kinds of Ancient metallic dragons Gargantuan: Bronze, Silver and Gold. And three kinds of chromatic dragons Gargantuan: Green, Blue and Red. (As opposed to now, where of the chromatic dragons, only the Ancient Green Dragon is listed as Gargantuan.)

As I recall, the chromatic dragons used to be less powerful than the corresponding metallic dragons. For the ancient blue dragon, you should check two things:

1) What is the size of the ancient metallic dragon of the same level?

2) Does the ancient blue dragon have the same reach as or greater reach than the adult blue dragon?

Sovereign Court

The Gleeful Grognard wrote:

More of a FAQ candidate.

Currently Swarm traited creatures can be, grappled, flanked, tripped, shoved and targeted by effects that would only effect limited numbers of creatures.

Not sure if this is intentional. Or if Paizo believes a GM should make logical rulings.

I do think they reduced the rather harsh "no single target" rules from PF1 swarms a bit, for example to let you attack them with Acid Splash.

And you can now attack swarms with pretty much any spell it seems, although splash is pretty sweet.

But yeah, being able to maneuver swarms like that is... surprising.


The Scare to Death skill feat is missing it he auditory and linguistic traits despite language in the feat more than implying they should be there.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Air Mephit has a reflex save bonus of +19. Preeeetty sure that should be +9 at the very most.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Xenocrat wrote:
The Air Mephit has a reflex save bonus of +19. Preeeetty sure that should be +9 at the very most.

Looks like someone mixed up the Reflex Save with the Reflex DC.


Candle, like torches don't have a duration.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Xenocrat wrote:
The Scare to Death skill feat is missing it he auditory and linguistic traits despite language in the feat more than implying they should be there.

No, they shouldn't. It has a specific listed -4 if the target can't hear or understand, but those traits would make it fail automatically if the target can't hear or understand. Their omission is clearly intentional.


Deadmanwalking wrote:
Xenocrat wrote:
The Scare to Death skill feat is missing it he auditory and linguistic traits despite language in the feat more than implying they should be there.
No, they shouldn't. It has a specific listed -4 if the target can't hear or understand, but those traits would make it fail automatically if the target can't hear or understand. Their omission is clearly intentional.

The demoralize skill action has the same specific language and the auditory but not linguistic trait. One of these is wrong on having or not having the auditory trait.

Note that the specific language overrides the immunity deafness would ordinarily give a target, but lacking the auditory trait affects whether a deaf attacker has to roll a flat check or not.

Paizo Employee Customer Service & Community Manager

10 people marked this as a favorite.

I added the link to the repository in the OP and I believe I've correctly updated the links for it that were elsewhere in the thread.


Bestiary p.134 - Frost Drake's Draconic Frenzy typo. "gangs Strikes" should be "fangs Strikes"


Bestiary p.293 - the Shoggoth's Constrict entry is lacking the DC for reducing the damage.


In the same vein the shoggoth is described as being an ooze in the "Other Oozes" sidebar on p. 255, but its traits don't list ooze as a trait. That same sidebar also says you can read their stats on p. 297, while their stats are actually on p. 293.


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I know of someone who has a shoggoth for a pet. Sort of. It was her "imaginary" friend when she was a child. She calls it "Mr. Trash Bags". It calls her "Cuddle Bunny". :-)


Ed Reppert wrote:
I know of someone who has a shoggoth for a pet. Sort of. It was her "imaginary" friend when she was a child. She calls it "Mr. Trash Bags". It calls her "Cuddle Bunny". :-)

Them Shacklefords just loooooooooooove abusing that Leadership feat, don't they?


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Heheh.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Not exactly an error, but I think the recommended feats for the Scoundrel and Thief sample builds got switched. The Scoundrel (the type that's about being charming and distracting and oops, is that a dagger in your kidney?) recommends starting with Trap Finder, while the Thief (the one that's about sneaking around and stealing everything that isn't bolted down) recommends Nimble Dodge. Seems like those should be reversed.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The below ring has the wrong item level and thus price. Probably should have been level 16.

Ring of Energy Resistance (Major) Item 6
Source Core Rulebook pg. 614
Level 6; Price 245 gp
The ring grants resistance 15.


Unclear if mistake or intended with these two:
Champion's Deity's Domain and Druid's Order Magic feats grant new focus spells but do not increase the size of your focus pool. I think these are the only two cases of it, as every other class feat either says you get a focus pool or make it bigger.

Similarly the entries for Druid orders are unclear - some appear to read that you would have a pool of 2 at level 1 because they have the +1 pool size clause while the general order rules already give you a pool.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Core Rulebook PG. 162 In the Sample Ki Monk Sidebar, Under Higher-Level Feats. It Currently Reads: Mountain Stance (1st). Should be Ki Strike (1st). You cannot get any Ki feats without Ki Rush or Ki Strike, and you can not get Elemental Fist at second level without Ki Strike.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Dubious Scholar wrote:

Unclear if mistake or intended with these two:

Champion's Deity's Domain and Druid's Order Magic feats grant new focus spells but do not increase the size of your focus pool. I think these are the only two cases of it, as every other class feat either says you get a focus pool or make it bigger.

Similarly the entries for Druid orders are unclear - some appear to read that you would have a pool of 2 at level 1 because they have the +1 pool size clause while the general order rules already give you a pool.

I believe it is intentional, since those classes automatically get Focus related to those abilities through their Devotional Spells and Druidic Order Class Abilities.

Not sure about the specific Order abilities, I believe having 2 Focus at level 1 is correct for Leaf and Storm, not sure why Animal and Wild don't get extra.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

OK, Ancestry Feat section says you gain one at 1st level and every 4 levels thereafter.
But none of the Class advancement tables list Ancestry Feat at 1st level although they do at 5th, 9th, etc.
They list "Ancestry and Background" but that doesn't indicate the Ancestry Feate per se, but just the Ancestry itself.
If there is space issue VS listing both Ancestry and Ancestry Feat, I don't even think Ancestry itself needs to be listed,
it would make more sense to list only the Ancestry Feat congruent with it's listing every 4 levels.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
David knott 242 wrote:
Porridge wrote:
Lucas Yew wrote:

Bestiary

* p.112: The Ancient Red Dragon is Huge, not Gargantuan as it's supposed to be.

I'm quite sure one of the dev team already confirmed it as a real error in an another thread, but I want to make sure that it will be fixed ASAP in he 2nd printing, hence the reprisal here.

In a similar vein, I *think* the Ancient Blue Dragon is also supposed to be Gargantuan, not Huge.

That would make three kinds of Ancient metallic dragons Gargantuan: Bronze, Silver and Gold. And three kinds of chromatic dragons Gargantuan: Green, Blue and Red. (As opposed to now, where of the chromatic dragons, only the Ancient Green Dragon is listed as Gargantuan.)

As I recall, the chromatic dragons used to be less powerful than the corresponding metallic dragons. For the ancient blue dragon, you should check two things:

1) What is the size of the ancient metallic dragon of the same level?

2) Does the ancient blue dragon have the same reach as or greater reach than the adult blue dragon?

I finally got the chance to look up these items myself. There is no question that the Ancient Blue Dragon should be Gargantuan.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Not really a typo just something that is more specific than it needs to be and comes out seemingly contradictory on first reading.

On page 143 it says "Because a press action requires a multiple attack penalty, you can’t use one when it’s not your turn, even if you use the Ready activity." but under the Ready activity on page 470 it says "If you have a multiple attack penalty and your readied action is an attack action, your readied attack takes the multiple attack penalty you had at the time you used Ready"

I take it that only things with the attack tag suffer from the penalty out of turn and so since no press attacks have that tag they can't be used as a readied action. But that doesn't seem super clear from how it is worded and if the intent is to keep press actions from being used out of turn it would be much clearer to just excise the "Because a press action requires a multiple attack penalty" part entirely.

But that does mean that you could do a one action flourish then ready another one action flourish to get off two in one round which gets around the MAP and the flourish limitation.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Rysky wrote:
Not sure about the specific Order abilities, I believe having 2 Focus at level 1 is correct for Leaf and Storm, not sure why Animal and Wild don't get extra.

Certainly for Storm using focus for storm based powers is really the core of the order, that's less true for Animal where Heal Animal is a neat benefit but not really key to the experience. Leaf and Wild are sorta in-between...


Minor formatting/presentation weirdness on the spell Abyssal Plague (awesome flavor BTW "siphons fragments of their soul"):

It says "Success The target takes 2 evil damage per spell level" which seems weird way to present things...
Why not actually list a Heighten effect of "+2 evil damage" and have standard Success just say "takes 10 evil damage"?
Just seems like that would fit new paradigm instead of shoving a de facto Heighten effect into standard effect wording.

Also, not quite sure how Crit Fail effect works, which imposes plague at stage 2. Stage 2 says "Drained increases by 2".
So on a Crit Fail do they immediately get Drained 2 or Drained 3 (increase being premised of base 1)?


* p.201: The sorcerer feat Greater Mental Evolution seems to erroneously refer to "mental essence", a concept from the Playtest that page 300 tells us has since been renamed to "mind essence", probably to keep it from getting confused with the 'mental' trait.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rysky wrote:
Dubious Scholar wrote:

Unclear if mistake or intended with these two:

Champion's Deity's Domain and Druid's Order Magic feats grant new focus spells but do not increase the size of your focus pool. I think these are the only two cases of it, as every other class feat either says you get a focus pool or make it bigger.

Similarly the entries for Druid orders are unclear - some appear to read that you would have a pool of 2 at level 1 because they have the +1 pool size clause while the general order rules already give you a pool.

I believe it is intentional, since those classes automatically get Focus related to those abilities through their Devotional Spells and Druidic Order Class Abilities.

Not sure about the specific Order abilities, I believe having 2 Focus at level 1 is correct for Leaf and Storm, not sure why Animal and Wild don't get extra.

I think it's mostly that their abilities get used less and or last longer. For wild one focus is enough to have a power that will last most of the fight active. For animal it gives you some extra healing for your pet on top of what you are already doing.

The other two are more relying primarily on their spell casting to do their job so they get an extra focus for some slot free casting.


CRB pg. 220

Rogue alchemists can combine a rogue’s poison feats with free daily poisons, and bombs present an interesting way to sneak attack with various types of energy damage.

Emphasis mine. Since bombs are non-agile, non-finesse, non-simple there is no way to sneak attack with them currently.

EDIT: Ok, I'm not so sure about this now. Bombs are thrown weapons, but they aren't melee weapons. So, can a non-ruffian sneak attack with a Javelin even though they aren't agile or finesse since they aren't melee weapons? It looks like RAW, yes they can. Still seems weird to recommend a weapon that rogues aren't even proficient in though.

Silver Crusade

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I’d say Bombs can since they're a non-melee ranged attack.

Not sure on the javelin situation, since you can melee with them.


Quandary wrote:

OK, Ancestry Feat section says you gain one at 1st level and every 4 levels thereafter.

But none of the Class advancement tables list Ancestry Feat at 1st level although they do at 5th, 9th, etc.
They list "Ancestry and Background" but that doesn't indicate the Ancestry Feate per se, but just the Ancestry itself.
If there is space issue VS listing both Ancestry and Ancestry Feat, I don't even think Ancestry itself needs to be listed,
it would make more sense to list only the Ancestry Feat congruent with it's listing every 4 levels.

Given that it's extremely unusual for a class feat to grant a new focus power but not grant more focus, it should probably be stated explicitly then.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Rysky wrote:

I’d say Bombs can since they're a non-melee ranged attack.

Not sure on the javelin situation, since you can melee with them.

You can melee with a bomb, too, though I wouldn't advise it. :-)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps Subscriber

In hellknight hill the map on page 32 indicates that north should be towards the top of the page, but room names and descriptions contradict this. See room names for b4, b5, b10, b11 and for the most egregious examples. This is also problematic because it makes it unclear which wing the sidebar on page 33 is referring to.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

CRB p. 329

The heightened version of Dimensional Door states that "You are temporarily immune for 1 hour." but doesn't specify against what.

Bestiary, p. 112.

Ancient Red Dragons are Huge?


In the Lost Omens World Guide, the Red Mantis assassin feat Crimson Shroud might be missing the divine trait; Red Shroud was a (Su) ability in PF1.


* Core Rulebook p.56: The half-elf and half-orc heritages don't give PCs the half-elf and half-orc traits.

Grand Lodge

Page 544 under "Splash Trait":

"If an attack with a splash weapon fails, succeeds, or critically succeeds, all creatures within 5 feet of the target (including the target) take the listed splash damage. On a failure (but not a critical failure), the target of the attack still takes the splash damage."

As written, the second sentence is redundant. But I think the error is actually with the first sentence, which should probably read, "If an attack with a splash weapon succeeds, or critically succeeds ..." (removing the fail case). This interpretation is supported by the example in the paragraph just below that one.

--

Page 535 in the "Notable Item Traits" sidebar, under "Consumable":

"Consumable items include alchemical items (Page 543) as well as ammunition oils, potions, scrolls, snares, talismans, and other magical consumables ..." There should be a comma between "ammunition" and "oils".


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path Subscriber

Hey folks, sorry I haven't been around for a while to update the github page. I at least updated it up to the release of the errata preview we got. I'll do my best to get to these this weekend.

Syri wrote:
In the Lost Omens World Guide, the Red Mantis assassin feat Crimson Shroud might be missing the divine trait; Red Shroud was a (Su) ability in PF1.

General heads up: If this thread continues to take on a life of its own and continues on to the other books, fair enough, but I have no current plans to update the Github page with the Lost Omens World Guide or future books. This was really meant to focus on the initial 2E books: The Core book and Bestiary. I've been considering removing the Age of Ashes and Fall of Plaguestone sections of my Github page for that reason. Plus there's only a couple of those anyway.


Not sure if this is a error, but druid dedication feat says:

Quote:
You can prepare two common cantrips each day from the primal spell list in this book or any other cantrips you learn or discover

Looks like "any other cantrips" implies that those two slots can be used to prepare even non-primal cantrips if you "learned them". This is either a "intended feature" for multiclass archetypes (e.g. this will allow wizard to prepare his wizard's cantrips using druid cantrips) OR description is not precise, e.g. it can be changed as following:

Quote:
You can prepare two common cantrips each day from the primal spell list in this book or any other primal cantrips you learn or discover

Other spell-casting archetypes have the same issue.

P.S. Is it better to post here, or simply create issues on GitHub?

251 to 300 of 300 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / General Discussion / Typos / Mistakes / Etc in 2E Books Collection All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.