Dervish Dance + Buckler


Rules Questions

151 to 200 of 321 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | next > last >>

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Yondu wrote:
Dervish Dance does not allow a buckler has been previously explained in one of my post.
Your explanation is lacking and you're not answering the problems with your reasoning or otherwise having a conversation at all.

Slashing grace apply to a slashing weapon that normally cannot be used with Finesse, a katana for example, and need that the wielder has a good level of training in the weapon (weapon focus), to instead on giving powerful blows (stength for damage), he deliver quick and precise cuts to the opponent (dexterity to damage), so having a 5 lbs of steel strapped on the arm does not bother you so much.

Dervish Dance imply that the wielder is dancing like a dervish to used a scimitar with Finesse, meaning that he has to spin like a tornado keeping his balance and using his momentum to deliver quicks cuts to the opponents and having 5 lbs of steel on your arm can throw out of balance.

We have the same effect but not in the same conditions.

My only issue concerning both is spellcasting, I cannot explain why one allow it and the other no.


That seems like a pretty weak argument to me. Honestly it's as simple as this: Dervish Dance's only prohibition is against carrying a weapon or shield in your hand. You don't carry a Pathfinder buckler in your hand. So a buckler is fine.


Yondu wrote:
Dervish Dance imply that the wielder is dancing like a dervish to used a scimitar with Finesse, meaning that he has to spin like a tornado keeping his balance and using his momentum to deliver quicks cuts to the opponents and having 5 lbs of steel on your arm can throw out of balance.

that's all just flavor assumptions and has no bearing on RAW


vhok wrote:
Yondu wrote:
Dervish Dance imply that the wielder is dancing like a dervish to used a scimitar with Finesse, meaning that he has to spin like a tornado keeping his balance and using his momentum to deliver quicks cuts to the opponents and having 5 lbs of steel on your arm can throw out of balance.
that's all just flavor assumptions and has no bearing on RAW

If you think that having two ranks in Perform Dance is just flavor to you, no issue with me, but it is not for me just flavor.


Yondu wrote:
vhok wrote:
Yondu wrote:
Dervish Dance imply that the wielder is dancing like a dervish to used a scimitar with Finesse, meaning that he has to spin like a tornado keeping his balance and using his momentum to deliver quicks cuts to the opponents and having 5 lbs of steel on your arm can throw out of balance.
that's all just flavor assumptions and has no bearing on RAW
If you think that having two ranks in Perform Dance is just flavor to you, no issue with me, but it is not for me just flavor.

2 points in dance doesn't mean anything about bucklers strapped to a forearm. and maby you should go read dervish dance again because all it says is no WEAPONS OR SHIELDS in your offhand. you can carry around 100 pounds of scrap metal or whatever else you can possibly think of of any weight as long as its not a shield or weapon. if they gave 2 s*#+s about the weight of a buckler it would have a weight restriction for the offhand. that's called RAW.


vhok wrote:
Yondu wrote:
vhok wrote:
Yondu wrote:
Dervish Dance imply that the wielder is dancing like a dervish to used a scimitar with Finesse, meaning that he has to spin like a tornado keeping his balance and using his momentum to deliver quicks cuts to the opponents and having 5 lbs of steel on your arm can throw out of balance.
that's all just flavor assumptions and has no bearing on RAW
If you think that having two ranks in Perform Dance is just flavor to you, no issue with me, but it is not for me just flavor.
2 points in dance doesn't mean anything about bucklers strapped to a forearm. and maby you should go read dervish dance again because all it says is no WEAPONS OR SHIELDS in your offhand. you can carry around 100 pounds of scrap metal or whatever else you can possibly think of of any weight as long as its not a shield or weapon. if they gave 2 s$~~s about the weight of a buckler it would have a weight restriction for the offhand. that's called RAW.

My explaination was on the assumption of BigNortWOlf about the similarity of wording of Salshing Grace and Dervish Dance, and the fact one is allowing a buckler and the other no, I was explaining what is my point o f view on the difference and how if the effect is the same, the way to have Dext to damage are different, but if you go RAW, Dervish Dance allow no shield, a buckler is a shield so no buckler with dervish dance.


again your ignoring words and pretending your talking about raw. it doesn't say no shields. it literally says "You cannot use this feat if you are carrying a weapon or shield in your off hand." a buckler is NOT carried in your hand it is strapped to your arm. apparently you need to brush up on your anatomy here maby this will help.Go to the arm the hand and the forearm are separate.


Squiggit wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
-They have different words- is not an answer: the difference in those words has to somehow imply a difference.

Dervish Dance does not prohibit TWF or Flurry or natural attacks while Slashing Grace does.

Dervish Dance does not prohibit holding something that is neither weapon nor shield while Slashing Grace requires an empty hand to function.

How are these differences meaningless, as you claim them to be?

Because those are conclusions that you are making, not differences in the text.

I am questioning your conclusions. Using your conclusions to back your conclusions is circular.


BigNorseWolf wrote:


Because those are conclusions that you are making, not differences in the text.

I am questioning your conclusions. Using your conclusions to back your conclusions is circular.

But.. that is the text. DD has no special provision against TWF or Flurry in the text. That doesn't require any special reading. It just doesn't have that language in it.

DD likewise specifies that carrying a weapon or shield disables its effect. Things that are not weapons or shields, like lanterns or rods or a rock wall you're clinging to, do not prevent you from using Dervish Dance. Because the feat says it stops working if you do X or Y. Suggesting that that also means it stops working if you do Z has no basis in the text of the feat itself.

It's really simple. Dervish Dance has one trigger condition that causes the feat to be unusable. If you are not doing that, the feat works. That's not using a conclusion to back a conclusion. That's what the feat says it does.

Sczarni

The word "carrying" is the problematic element here. As far as combat goes, "carrying" is not defined, so we try to plug in our own personal, real world understanding. An understanding that might not apply in the world of Pathfinder.

"Holding" is what most people decide to go with. And holding implies usage of a hand. Reading the descriptions of the four core shields we see one that doesn't require a hand at all. This fact is reiterated in the Slashing Grace FAQ. The FAQ isn't necessary for this understanding, but it confirms our reading of the CRB.

So if "carrying" isn't a concern, then let's look to the next most problematic element.

The word "off-hand" is better defined in Pathfinder, but unfortunately it requires a little unwritten knowledge. This is likely why its usage in the text of Dervish Dance compounds attempts to understand it.

The off-hand is only relevant during combat when making attacks. It never exists otherwise. And it need not require a hand at all. You can use virtually any part of your body as an off-hand attack. With Boulder Helmets and Armor Spikes and Blade Boots this is more apparent than ever.

Luckily for the Buckler, it can't be used as an attack by itself (barring a couple rare exceptions). It's a restriction written into its description. So, not only does a Buckler *not* require "carrying", it also isn't used in your "off-hand".

So if it's not "carried" or used in your "off-hand", then it's safe to use with Dervish Dance.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

Been reading this thread. (I'm of the opinion that buckler + Dervish Dance works, just not Rules as the designers intended, that's what you get for trying to nerf slashing/fencing grace, way to go!)

But I was wondering what other feats/traits are affected.

I found blade bravo (trait) and (amusingly) weapon trick: one handed weapons (feat) both have the "holding nothing in your off hand" language.


Squiggit wrote:


But.. that is the text.

That is your interpretation of the text.

It might be the literal interpretation of the text as well, but a literal interpretation isn't always the right one either.

Quote:
DD has no special provision against TWF or Flurry in the text. That doesn't require any special reading. It just doesn't have that language in it.

It might depending on what two weapon fighting you do and how you read the text.

You cannot use this feat if you are carrying a weapon or shield in your off hand.

So obviously a dagger or shield in your off hand is out.

A boot blade or dwarven boulder helmet would depend on whether it means your physical or metaphysical off hand.

Natural weapon or would depend on whether a claw counts as a weapon in your off hand (probably not)

Magusflurry would depend on whether a spell counted as a weapon in your off hand, and in a lot of cases it does.

Quote:
Suggesting that that also means it stops working if you do Z has no basis in the text of the feat itself.

Sometimes z is enough like x that it works like x.

Quote:
It's really simple. Dervish Dance has one trigger condition that causes the feat to be unusable. If you are not doing that, the feat works. That's not using a conclusion to back a conclusion. That's what the feat says it does.

Thats what you think it says. Big difference.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Squiggit wrote:


But.. that is the text.

That is your interpretation of the text.

It might be the literal interpretation of the text as well, but a literal interpretation isn't always the right one either.

+1

I find this is far more common (different interpretations) and often the interpretation used by Herolab is on the right side of a FAQ (e.g. Courageous weapon property)


BigNorseWolf wrote:

That is your interpretation of the text.

It might be the literal interpretation of the text as well, but a literal interpretation isn't always the right one either.

So what, the correct interpretation is to literally make up words and pretend they're in the feat's description? Because this isn't about ambiguous RAW or anything, it's one pretty straight forward sentence.

Quote:
A boot blade or dwarven boulder helmet would depend on whether it means your physical or metaphysical off hand.

This would be the correct interpretation if we were talking about attacks, because any TWF attack is with an off-hand weapon no matter how you hold it, but Dervish Dance doesn't say 'attack'. It says 'carry'... I'm not sure how you can argue wearing a hat counts as carrying something in your hand.

Quote:
Natural weapon or would depend on whether a claw counts as a weapon in your off hand (probably not)

What about a bite? Or gore? Or an Unarmed Strike with your foot? Are you carrying your bite attack in your hand now? That doesn't even make sense.

Quote:
Sometimes z is enough like x that it works like x.

Can you prove it then? Tell me what you're carrying in your hand when your hand is empty and you make an unarmed strike.

Tell me what kind of weapon or shield you're carrying in your off-hand when you're holding a lantern in that hand.

Please. I'm more than willing to listen to any arguments regarding either of those points, but just constantly saying "Well no that's wrong because I say so" over and over isn't conducive to a meaningful discussion.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Squiggit wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:

That is your interpretation of the text.

It might be the literal interpretation of the text as well, but a literal interpretation isn't always the right one either.
constantly saying "Well no that's wrong because I say so" over and over isn't conducive to a meaningful discussion.

Both sides are pretty set in their respective interpretations. There probably are no words that either can say to resolve the different interpretations. Someone should make a new succint new thread and carry on a FAQ campaign to get an answer.


Charon's Little Helper wrote:
"Off hand" goes back to anything which uses your "off hand" of effort. It's the same reason that you can't TWF with armor spikes as secondary to the scimitar while using Dervish Dance despite Dervish Dance never specifically disallowing TWF.

Are you sure you can't use Dervish Dance and Armor Spikes? That's not intuitively clear from reading Dervish Dance and the descriptions of Armor Spikes. Armor Spikes aren't in either hand. Would you cite the relevant rules source? I don't think you are talking crazy talk, here, but I think evidence is called for, here.


Perhaps somebody already thought about this, but can't you just strap the Buckler onto your Primary Hand? Nothing is in your Secondary Hand. So then you just Dervish Dance with your Simitar and Buckler in the same hand, and you can just have it all!


If you really want that shield bonus to AC while using the Dervish Dance Feat, why not just take off your shield when it's your turn, Full Attack, then put your shield back on?


Scott Wilhelm wrote:
If you really want that shield bonus to AC while using the Dervish Dance Feat, why not just take off your shield when it's your turn, Full Attack, then put your shield back on?

It goes off and on as a free action by...?


BigNorseWolf wrote:
James Risner wrote:
Expect table variance.
This should not be a matter of table variance. Denying a player an item that they've bought should take more than the POSSIBILITY that there is some unspecified distinction between dervish dance and slashing grace that in some unspecified way makes a difference.

I agree absolutely! Pathfinder Society Players who can demonstrate that they are Paying Customers Obeying the Rules should be allowed to play the game their own way and not have their ideas stomped upon!


BigNorseWolf wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
If you really want that shield bonus to AC while using the Dervish Dance Feat, why not just take off your shield when it's your turn, Full Attack, then put your shield back on?
It goes off and on as a free action by...?

By using a Quickdraw Shield.

Quickdraw Shield wrote:
If you have the Quick Draw feat, you may don or put away a quickdraw shield as a free action.

Is that the only problem?


Scott Wilhelm wrote:


I agree absolutely! Pathfinder Society Players who can demonstrate that they are Paying Customers Obeying the Rules should be allowed to play the game their own way and not have their ideas stomped upon!

Some ideas need to be rules against because despite the players protests, they're not legal.

It should have a reasonable argument. Not epistemic nihlism


BigNorseWolf wrote:

Magusflurry would depend on whether a spell counted as a weapon in your off hand, and in a lot of cases it does.

Not according to the new FAQ that says almost all the time the rules say 'weapon' when it comes to feats, they mean manufactured weapon.


Big Norse Wolf wrote:

Dervish dance: You cannot use this feat if you are carrying a weapon or shield in your off hand.

You do not gain this benefit while fighting with two weapons or using flurry of blows, or any time another hand is otherwise occupied.

Whoa! is this a thing? And if you are using Flurry of Blows with a Scimitar and nothing in the other hand, why can't you use Dervish Dance?

Can you even Flurry with a Scimitar? What, take Ascetic Style Feats, and pick Temple Sword, then take Martial Versatilty and apply your Asetic Style Feats to your Scimitar?


BigNorseWolf wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:


I agree absolutely! Pathfinder Society Players who can demonstrate that they are Paying Customers Obeying the Rules should be allowed to play the game their own way and not have their ideas stomped upon!

Some ideas need to be rules against because despite the players protests, they're not legal.

It should have a reasonable argument. Not epistemic nihlism

No argument here! I'd go further and say that the argument needs to be more than reasonable: it needs to be compelling, or at least very strong indeed. Like I said, Pathfinder Society Players need to demonstrate that they are obeying the rules, but those that do should be allowed to play the game their own way and not get their ideas stomped on.

And like you said, "Denying a player an item that they've bought should take more than the POSSIBILITY that there is some unspecified distinction"


Squiggit wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:

That is your interpretation of the text.

It might be the literal interpretation of the text as well, but a literal interpretation isn't always the right one either.
So what, the correct interpretation is to literally make up words and pretend they're in the feat's description? Because this isn't about ambiguous RAW or anything, it's one pretty straight forward sentence.

There are greater sins, like misusing literally. I mean if i were to literally make up words to insert into the text i'd need an exacto knife some glue and a little print out that said stalicism or something.

You do not seem to recognize that the text has multiple interpretations and picking between them is not a matter of following them literally. Literal interpretations have the worst track record as far as being right when the clarifications come down.

Quote:
This would be the correct interpretation if we were talking about attacks, because any TWF attack is with an off-hand weapon no matter how you hold it, but Dervish Dance doesn't say 'attack'. It says 'carry'... I'm not sure how you can argue wearing a hat counts as carrying something in your hand.

Because the tex SAYS "The scimitar must be for a creature of your size. You cannot use this feat if you are carrying a weapon or shield in your off hand." which could easily mean "hey, no shields and no two weapon fighting" because a lot of the crazy ways of two weapon fighting with your head weren't around at the time.

Quote:
Tell me what kind of weapon or shield you're carrying in your off-hand when you're holding a lantern in that hand.

Improvised

Quote:
Please. I'm more than willing to listen to any arguments regarding either of those points, but just constantly saying "Well no that's wrong because I say so" over and over isn't conducive to a meaningful discussion.

You're projecting. I'm bringing up specific words of the text and showing how they might be meant. You're insisting that they mean EXACTLY what they say: which is "you're wrong because i say so".

How i THINK it works:

Buckler: Yes
Magus spell: No
Bite: Yes
Punch: yes
Kick: yes


Scott Wilhelm wrote:


No argument here! I'd go further and say that the argument needs to be more than reasonable: it needs to be compelling, or at least very strong indeed. "

Having seen some of the things you've insisted were perfectly legal I think your standards in that regard are far too stringent.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Pathfinder Society Players who can demonstrate that they are Paying Customers Obeying the Rules should be allowed to play the game their own way and not have their ideas stomped upon!

That is pretty much how it never works out. Just because you have an idea how something works is fundamentally irrelevant when it comes to how a GM thinks it works except in the case of a FAQ/Errata.


Yondu wrote:
It is written in a objective, black and white text in Dervish Dance, you cannot use a shield,

I don't think that is what is written at all!

Dervish Dance wrote:
You cannot use this feat if you are carrying a weapon or shield in your off hand.

There's no rule, for instance why you can't start the round with an Animated or Throwing Shield, dispense with it at the start of your round, then use Dervish Dance as per described, is there?

Yondu wrote:
a buckler is clearly a shield,

Yes, but it's not in your hand.

Buckler wrote:
This small metal shield is worn strapped to your forearm.

Your forearm is not your hand. It is close to your hand, but it's not your hand. You nose is close to your mouth, but it's not your mouth. My nose really makes my food taste better, but I do the actual eating with my mouth. My typing is a lot faster because I have forearms, but I actually do my typing with my hands. But to put it in game terms, we know the Buckler does not actually occupy the hand because you can wield a weapon in the hand you have a Buckler in. You can wield a 2 handed weapon when you have a Buckler. And you can use Bows and Crossbows when you use a Buckler.

I really, really want to shoot down Big Norse Wolf's ideas, but I must go with the rigorous, literal reading of RAW, just like I always do.


Yondu wrote:
You are trying to bend the feat by his wording,

Yes, but the Feat is made of words. When I chop down a tree, I do that by chipping away at the wood.


Yondu wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Yondu wrote:
Dervish Dance does not allow a buckler has been previously explained in one of my post.
Your explanation is lacking and you're not answering the problems with your reasoning or otherwise having a conversation at all.

Slashing grace apply to a slashing weapon that normally cannot be used with Finesse, a katana for example, and need that the wielder has a good level of training in the weapon (weapon focus), to instead on giving powerful blows (stength for damage), he deliver quick and precise cuts to the opponent (dexterity to damage), so having a 5 lbs of steel strapped on the arm does not bother you so much.

Dervish Dance imply that the wielder is dancing like a dervish to used a scimitar with Finesse, meaning that he has to spin like a tornado keeping his balance and using his momentum to deliver quicks cuts to the opponents and having 5 lbs of steel on your arm can throw out of balance.

We have the same effect but not in the same conditions.

My only issue concerning both is spellcasting, I cannot explain why one allow it and the other no.

They are different Feats. Your concept of them is not invalid, although I think it is perfectly possible to show dancing grace even with a Buckler in your hand. Even Elephants are graceful.

The real reason why Dervish Dance might allow Bucklers and Slashing Grace doesn't is because rules.

Liberty's Edge

Scott Wilhelm wrote:
The real reason why Dervish Dance might allow Bucklers and Slashing Grace doesn't is because rules.

Slashing Grace does allow bucklers.


CBDunkerson wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
The real reason why Dervish Dance might allow Bucklers and Slashing Grace doesn't is because rules.
Slashing Grace does allow bucklers.

Cool. Maybe I misread something.

Edit: the whole point there is that Slashing Grace is a different feat and not necessarily relevant to the discussion about Dervish Dance. If Slashing Grace does indeed allow bucklers, that only strengthens my point, anyway.

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.

[T]he GM is well within his rights to say that the effects of Dervish Dance don't function as long as you're doing two-weapon fighting.

Dervish Dance isn't supposed to reward tricky-thinking two-weapon fighters.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Nobody's said it in a while, so I think I'm comfortable enough to pop my head back in to weigh my opinion on the subject matter without going on a rant.

Nefreet wrote:

[T]he GM is well within his rights to say that the effects of Dervish Dance don't function as long as you're doing two-weapon fighting.

Dervish Dance isn't supposed to reward tricky-thinking two-weapon fighters.

There's a bit of a flaw with that statement. And no, it's not because JJ said it.

The GM was, is, and always has been, within his rights to say it doesn't work, well before anyone has said or cited anything, and he doesn't have to give any sort of explanation. He can simply say "No," and that's the end of it, in that it either doesn't work, or is simply banned as an option altogether.

JJ's statement on that regard isn't really anything new. "GM FIAT can screw you" can apply to every single rule in the game, either because the GM hates you, has to houserule everything, or some other inane "reason," but him saying that in that situation is as relevant as if he said it to any other rule or feat or ability or whatever.

In addition, the idea that it's not supposed to work with two-weapon fighting at all means the text should have specifically included a disallowment of two-weapon fighting altogether, meaning abilities that function similar to it (Spell Combat, Flurry of Blows, and so on) likewise don't work.

We also can't assume that is the intent behind the ability, because JJ (and several others who actually are/were designers,) has been overruled before. It's not definitively stated that he designed the feat, so I can't give him the benefit of RAI in that situation, either.

Needless to say, until they publish the feat in the newest hardcover book with all of the desired errata they want to put on that feat, the concept of Dervish Dance disallowing TWF, Unarmed Strikes, Spell Combat, Flurry of Blows, all of which may not require a weapon or shield in the off-hand (as the feat says is the condition that makes it cease functioning), will still continue to work as normal.

That being said, I can't wait for them to do that (as they did with Fencing Grace), as that would bury every single Dexterity-based Magus that ever existed in PFS. It's nothing personal or anything, it's just something that I can totally see Paizo doing, since they have done it at least once before.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
We also can't assume that is the intent behind the ability, because JJ (and several others who actually are/were designers,) has been overruled before. It's not definitively stated that he designed the feat, so I can't give him the benefit of RAI in that situation, either.

As he designed the feat, pretty much he is the only one who can tell what the intention was.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

I miss the good ole days when we got clarifications that didn't result in threads being locked when poster screamed at developers being wrong.

In Nefrrets posts, both the author and a Dev team member clarified no TWF with Dervish Dance.


James Risner wrote:

I miss the good ole days when we got clarifications.

In Nefrrets posts, both the author and a Dev team member clarified no TWF with Dervish Dance.

fixt

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
That being said, I can't wait for them to do that (as they did with Fencing Grace), as that would bury every single Dexterity-based Magus that ever existed in PFS.

So far as I'm concerned the existing wording already does that.

Dervish Dance: "You cannot use this feat if you are carrying a weapon or shield in your off hand."

Spell Combat: "This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast."

Dervish Dance doesn't work with an off-hand weapon. Spell Combat treats the spell as an off-hand weapon. Ergo, Dervish Dance doesn't work with Spell Combat.

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.

^ this is how I interpret it as well.

Unfortunately, years of Magus guides have endeared the idea that it works into the minds of many players, and if an FAQ was ever released to the contrary it could have the potential for backlash.


the mentally is, you can't carry a spell. you hand is being used but there's not actually anything being carried in it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It's not like magus hurts for damage without it. Personally, I'd be cool if that combo officially went away.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

2 people marked this as a favorite.
vhok wrote:
the mentally is, you can't carry a spell. you hand is being used but there's not actually anything being carried in it.

Which is endorsed by players but has repetitively been clarified in various ways to not work. It's the whole reason you can't TWF with a Greatsword and Armor Spikes despite not carrying the Armor Spikes.


Nicos wrote:
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
We also can't assume that is the intent behind the ability, because JJ (and several others who actually are/were designers,) has been overruled before. It's not definitively stated that he designed the feat, so I can't give him the benefit of RAI in that situation, either.
As he designed the feat, pretty much he is the only one who can tell what the intention was.

Again, it's not definitively stated. Until he comes in and says something along the lines of "Yes, I designed the feat," it's speculation, just like it was speculation of him to say that shield spikes are their own weapons that can be enhanced separately from the shield they're attached to.

@ CBDunkerson: Spells aren't weapons, flat-out. Saying that Spell Combat turns spells into weapons means I can Power Attack, Vital Strike, and so on with them when using Spell Combat. But the recent FAQ says you can't, because they are not weapons.

So that interpretation, even if the rules could be feasibly read that way, are contradicted by recently-posted FAQs.

Shadow Lodge

Nefreet wrote:

^ this is how I interpret it as well.

Unfortunately, years of Magus guides have endeared the idea that it works into the minds of many players, and if an FAQ was ever released to the contrary it could have the potential for backlash.

There may be some confusion here. Most agree you can not use Dervish Dance and also Spell Combat together, as that is essentially Two-Weapon Fighting with a Scimitar in one hand and your Spell in the other, (essentially allowing you to Full Attack with your weapon and additionally add a Standard Action Spellcasting in on top of that, with that Spell being your Off-Hand Two-Weapon Fighting). However, Spellstrike is different, and can work just fine, as you are casting the spell through your Scimitar, literally using the Scimitar (or other valid Light or One-Handed Weapon), instead of your Hand to make the Attack, as a Standard Action. Spellstrike and Spell Combat are two completely separate abilities that do not have to, but can function together.

Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
@ CBDunkerson: Spells aren't weapons, flat-out. Saying that Spell Combat turns spells into weapons means I can Power Attack, Vital Strike, and so on with them when using Spell Combat. But the recent FAQ says you can't, because they are not weapons.

What new FAQ are you referring to? I ask because these two FAQ seem to disagree:

Are Rays weapons?
Can you take Improved Crit Ray?

Both are pretty clear that Rays, Touch Spells, and other Weapon-Like Effects are treated as Weapons.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Spells aren't weapons, but spell combat does operate as if they are.

Shadow Lodge

Citation please. I believe that it might just be a misunderstanding. Spells, and Spellcasting are indeed, not weapons. However, Rays (ranged magical attacks that require a Roll to Hit and deal Damage, included Ability Damage), Touch Attacks (which likewise require an Attack Roll and deal some sort of damage, and can be delivered via an Unarmed Strike if desired), as well as Spell that "create Weapons" such as Flame Blade, are Weapons. The spell or Spellcasting itself is not, but the effects can be.

For instance, while you have a Touch Spell in hand (holding the charge), you are armed, and could use that Touch Attack for an AoO. It's a Light Weapon, so benefits from Weapon Finesse if you wish. If you choose to deliver it through a Punch, it is not longer a Touch Attack, but goes off if the attack hits, dealing both Unarmed Strike Damage and the Spell effect.


Having seen that post i[ll flip the punch and kick over to "no"


DM Beckett wrote:
What new FAQ are you referring to?

This one.

Relevant text:

FAQ wrote:
Certain special abilities (for instance rays, kinetic blasts, and mystic bolts) can specifically be selected with feats like Weapon Focus and Improved Critical. They still aren’t considered a type of weapon for other rules; they are not part of any weapon group and don’t qualify for the effects of fighter weapon training, warpriest sacred weapon, magus arcane pool, paladin divine bond, or any other such ability.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
James Risner wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Pathfinder Society Players who can demonstrate that they are Paying Customers Obeying the Rules should be allowed to play the game their own way and not have their ideas stomped upon!
That is pretty much how it never works out. Just because you have an idea how something works is fundamentally irrelevant when it comes to how a GM thinks it works except in the case of a FAQ/Errata.

Absolutely not, but when a Pathfinder Society Player can comprehensively demonstrate that her idea of how it works stands up to close scrutiny of what the rules actually say, it is wrong for a PFSGM to puff out his chest and rule her character out of existence solely on the grounds that the GM is always right. Big Norse Wolf and I are in total agreement on this one.

Big Norse Wolf wrote:
This should not be a matter of table variance. Denying a player an item that they've bought should take more than the POSSIBILITY that there is some unspecified distinction

In cases like that, the GM is the one who is disrupting the table, obstructing the play, and ruining the gaming experience for everyone.

James Risner wrote:
That is pretty much how it never works out.

You are making a very harsh criticism of Pathfinder Society here. You are saying that GMs all over are "disrupting the table, obstructing the play, and ruining the gaming experience for everyone." People have to pay money to take fancy options like Dervish Dance in Pathfinder Society. You are saying that we paying customers cannot rely on Pathfinder Society GMs to respect what is actually written in those costly books. And if that is true they aren't worth the paper they are written on, and nobody should buy them. As the owner of a gaming store yourself, James Risner, Owner of D20 Hobbies, you should not tolerate shoddy merchandise on your shelves.

Nefreet wrote:
Dervish Dance isn't supposed to

It doesn't matter what Dervish Dance is or isn't supposed to do. What matters is what it does do. What matters is what the rules do say. It's not the players' fault, and it's not the GM's fault if James Jacobs didn't know what he was doing. Once the player can demonstrate that the rules support the way she envisions her character working, the GM should have no grounds and no motivation to stomp on her vision.

James Risner wrote:
I miss the good ole days when we got clarifications that didn't result in threads being locked when poster screamed at developers being wrong.

I don't know that those days ever really existed. But discussions about what the rules say are a completely separate issue from what the developers meant to say. The disconnect between what the rules say and what the developers meant to say is entirely the developers' fault. They deserve to be screamed at. We have the right to demand that they acknowledge what they really said vis a vis what they meant, and either officially fix it or just let it go.

We've done that in the recent past. We comprehensively proved that you could use Paired Opportunist to trigger real Attacks of Opportunity off of the Bodyguard Feat, and forced them to officially change the rules to get rid of that. We comprehensively proved that a recent revision of Ultimate Equipment left the Klar as a Shield with Armor Spikes, so whatever else that meant, it meant that a Bashing Klar did 2d6 Damage, and we forced them to change the rules about that. And we comprehensively proved that the Amulet of Mighty Fists did enhance Grapple Checks because it enhanced Unarmed Attacks, a Grapple being both unarmed and an attack, so we forced them to fix the mistake they made in the rules.

The fact that they fix the rules at all is proof that they intend for us to stick to what the rules really do say. Let them speak for themselves by lining up what the really rules say with what they meant to say.

James Risner wrote:
In Nefreets posts, both the author and a Dev team member clarified no TWF with Dervish Dance.

Nefreet's link does make it clear that you aren't supposed to be able to use Armor Spikes or Magus Spell Combat in conjunction with the Dervish Dance Feat. But I don't see where Nefreet linked to an Official Rules Post.

It's a serious question. Where does it officially say in the official rules, FAQs, errata, and Official Rules Posts that you can't use Spell Combat, or 2 Weapon Fighting with Armor Spikes, or Unarmed Strikes with Dervish Dance.

1 to 50 of 321 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dervish Dance + Buckler All Messageboards