vhok's page

Organized Play Member. 877 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 4 Organized Play characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 877 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

AwesomenessDog wrote:
Yes, but my question is in the fact that (at least if you know) you can simply choose the damage type as suits the DR. That combined with I guess select oozes winds up making the supposedly better (according to the custom weapon rules) "and" option actually worse than the or.

if your character knows what DR he needs then he can choose that damage type yes. make your knowledge checks or have a party member let you know what to do.


Mysterious Stranger wrote:
Haste only gives an extra attack when making a full attack action. Since making a touch attack after the free action for casting the spell cannot be used with a full attack action that means they do not get the extra attack from haste, unless they have some ability that allows them to make a full attack action. So, without spell combat you do not get the extra attack at all. If you do have spell combat using it is using the two weapon fighting rules.

it feels like you didn't even read the OP's full post. the attacking happened in the round after he had already moved. your posts are misleading and incorrect. please try and read more before posting so much false information your causing unnecessary confusion to people who come here for help.


what archetype and templates??


by raw? no


1 person marked this as a favorite.
SheepishEidolon wrote:
Advanced Race Guide, page 5 wrote:
But races are not all about racial traits and favored class rewards. Each of the core races comes from a vibrant culture with its own history, norms, and adventuring outlooks. To represent this, each race’s entry presents a number of new character options, such as race-specific archetypes, adventuring equipment, feats, magic items, and spells.
Race-specific archetypes, not type-specific. So by RAW duergar can't take dwarf archetypes.

not true at all. half elves/orcs count as human and elf/orc for archetype requirements.


Onestep wrote:

If you're attacking a monster with a ridiculously high AC, such that it can only hit on a natural 20, do abilities/spells (such as Weapon Mastery/Bless Weapon) that automatically confirm crits still function, or does the fact that you couldn't confirm a crit mean that they don't?

That is, unless a crit confirmation roll counts as an attack roll and another natural 20 would auto-crit? I'm honestly not sure if that is the case though.

yes they still auto confrim


15


it replaces the one it says it replaces.


no. it only affects you no matter what you cast. thats the downside of swift casting. magic circle and archon's aura would only affect the WP. which makes them pretty useless to cast this way.


Mysterious Stranger wrote:
The requirement is to present you holy symbol, not to have your holy symbol present.

i'll repeat my question then. how do you present a birthmark on your face?


YogoZuno wrote:
Anguish wrote:

To me, a cleric who's got a holy symbol on a necklace would be enough. Basically so long as it's visible, it's presented.

If that's the case, wouldn't the ability be triggering constantly as the cleric walks down the street?

what ability? presenting your holy symbol? that's not an ability.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
YogoZuno wrote:
vhok wrote:
yes you can channel while paralyzed as long as you can present your holy symbol. birthmark on the face is popular for this.

It depends on whether or not you believe 'presenting' an item can be done without moving. I personally don't believe you could, regardless of where the holy symbol is. Never really had a definitive answer.

Also had a real shock of dejavu when I saw the thread title. Had a laugh when I saw I started it :)

how do you present a birthmark on your face?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

yes you can channel while paralyzed as long as you can present your holy symbol. birthmark on the face is popular for this.


items in an extradimensional space(any extradimensional space) are not in your possession and would not change size with you, the bag/quiver would get bigger but at the same time the amount they hold does not change because the space inside is unaffected by your spell. large/small bag/quivers hold the same amount of arrows or anything else. so obviously the items inside do not enlarge/reduce with you.

long story short yeah it would work if you carry large arrows around in your extradimensional space for enlarge.

1 last thing is, if people are saying the items inside a bag of holding enlarge with you then does everyone's bags explode anytime they enlarge person because they are now too full?


yes you can still parry natural 20's.


the class ability gives the ac 6int.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

long arms, enlarge person, lunge, 2 bloodrager bloodlines give 5ft reach, grab a whip, get whirlwind attack. 35 foot reach full bab. costs a lot of feats but its fun.


i've never played in a game that allowed leadership.


Mark Hoover 330 wrote:

Go back to the justification though for the FAQ though; its supposed to limit the power of someone w/an Animal Companion. Look at the selection for a paladin's Bonded Mount - unless you take a feat or get special dispensation from your GM in a homebrew game, the Bonded Mounts don't start out as combat brutes.

Familiars are even worse. If you want a combat familiar, it's likely you're taking the Mauler archetype AND making build decisions centered around how your familiar can gain some more feats. If you SHARE feats to your familiar, you've got to take feats that the creature can actually use.

Animal Companions are very easily made combat ready right out the gate. You've got WAY more selection than with Bonded Mounts as well. I've had PCs with only mildly-optimized PCs utterly dominate combat with an animal companion and druid spells. One check on that power is forcing the player to consider what the PC is spending Free and potentially Move actions on.

Last but not least, that FAQ is in the PFS area. As Belafon says, your table may vary on using this ruling or not. The point of it is just to put some guardrails around some PCs that build to exploit both the character and their AC in combat.

oh its a PFS faq? i didn't notice. that explains why i never heard of it before. good to know i can ignore it at my table my GM's ignore all PFS house rules


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Belafon wrote:
zza ni wrote:

(and if at level 4 you bump it's int into 3, not only does it gain understanding a language , it can take any feat it's body can manage and you don't need tricks for it anymore if you can talk to it)

This idea, by the way, is a HUGE point of contention. Many groups do play this way and you will see many build guides recommending it, but the rules support is iffy at best. Pathfinder Society (with input from other designers) clarified that it doesn’t matter what your animal’s INT score is it still has “animal intelligence.” And therefore still has to handled, can’t act independently, etc.

As a practical reason for the clarification. “We wrote all these rules about handling and tricks as a deliberate power limiter. We didn’t intend that almost every companion could ignore them just by bumping INT at 4th level.

So. . . check with your GM before planning around this idea.

thats one of the worst faq rulings i have ever seen and goes directly against what is written in the rules about companions

Sentient Companions: a sentient companion (a creature that can understand language and has an Intelligence score of at least 3) is considered your ally and obeys your suggestions and orders to the best of its ability. It won’t necessarily blindly follow a suicidal order, but it has your interests at heart and does what it can to keep you alive. Paladin bonded mounts, familiars, and cohorts fall into this category, and are usually player-controlled companions.

paladin mounts are still animals until level mid teens when they become magical beasts. this ruling would have you think an animal with an int of 80 is still just a dumb animal and that is dumb. horrible ruling, seriously the worst faq answer ever.


it seems like it would work, it would be less effective as you want to crit so you get panache back so using a gun which is 20/x4 is much worse than a rapier or kukri. but yes it seems fine from my reading.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Starting at 1st level, and every 2 levels thereafter, a vigilante gains a social talent. Unless otherwise noted, a talent can be selected only once. Some talents require the vigilante to meet other prerequisites before they can be chosen, such as having another social talent or attaining a minimum vigilante level. Once a talent has been chosen, it cannot be changed.

second sentence


acts as a spell is not actually a spell for stuff like this as far as i am aware.


natural 1's are auto fails in pf1e for attack rolls and saving throws.
1 thing i've come across over the years is Opportune Parry and Riposte one of the few things that is an attack roll that natual 1's don't matter because its just a numeral total comparison. if your result is greater you win. so you can win on a natual 1. that being said, skill checks do not auto fail or succeed.

At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. The swashbuckler makes an attack roll as if she were making an attack of opportunity; for each size category the attacking creature is larger than the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler takes a –2 penalty on this roll. If her result is greater than the attacking creature’s result, the creature’s attack automatically misses. The swashbuckler must declare the use of this ability after the creature’s attack is announced, but before its attack roll is made. Upon performing a successful parry and if she has at least 1 panache point, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action make an attack against the creature whose attack she parried, provided that creature is within her reach. This deed's cost cannot be reduced by any ability or effect that reduces the number of panache points a deed costs.


from the looks of it you just have to pay with 2 targets towards the limit of whatever spell.


yes, of course it fails.


Callum wrote:
If a character makes multiple attacks in a round of a type that provokes attacks of opportunity (eg a full attack with a ranged weapon, or an alchemist with Fast Bombs) and they are threatened by a foe with Combat Reflexes, does the foe get to make an AoO for each of the character's attacks, or only one AoO (for the full-round action)?

yes, every throw/shot is individual and provokes


You seem like you already have your mind made up so no point arguing it anymore.


Senko wrote:
Well that does seem to set a precedent then to guide you. The ability states it can be taken by bloodragers and the like, bloodragers never get the bonus spells but are specifically stated as being eligeable. Therefore precedent implies you don't need to pay the bonus spells only meet the first requirement of having a bloodline.

Bonus Spells: ray of enfeeblement (7th), bull's strength (10th), rage (13th), stoneskin (16th)

Bonus Spells: enlarge person (7th), see invisibility (10th), displacement (13th), black tentacles (16th)

Bonus Spells: hydraulic push (7th), slipstream (10th), hydraulic torrent (13th), control water (16th)

what are you talking about???? bloodragers do get bonus spells. what game are you playing? lol


willuwontu wrote:
A blood arcanist would definitely qualify, and they don't gain the bonus spells of a bloodline, I fail to see how vmc not granting spells matters here.

as far as i can see a blood arcanist would not qualify. do you have an official source saying it does? the bloodline familiar requires bonus spells and first level bloodline power to replace/change


you don't have the spells to give up, by raw no it does not work. you can always go arcane bloodline though.


from my experience with catching on fire there is two types. some just say they catch on fire and take ongoing fire damage without anything else which means, go read the "your on fire" universal rules.

other spells say they catch on fire and take 4d6 fire damage per round etc etc. the ones that call out the damage amount and it differs from the default "your on fire" ongoing damage are magic and part of the spell because being on fire has a defined amount in pathfinder so spells that deal more must be magical fire is my conclusion. so your bloodline would heal on those spells but not the general on fire ones.


zza ni wrote:
vhok wrote:
its a cleaver i already have every cleave feat on my to get list. i'm a catfolk for nimble striker so i can cleave and lunge without taking -4 ac i just recently saw these two feats which are very nice for when i get to level 12 of sweeping strikes, its basically a standard action whirlwind attack if i have the dwarf feats.

notice, it only changes where your targets can be (as in they don't have to stand next to each other.)

you'd need great cleave to get more then one extra attack and you must hit each target before getting to try against the next. also useless against creatures bigger then you.

stress on those limits and your GM might consider allowing you to take it, it's a nice set of feats, but not so overly broken to disallow non dwarves to get them with the right background.

Sweeping Strike (Ex) (Antihero's Handbook pg. 16): The vigilante gains Cleave as a bonus feat. At 6th level, he gains Great Cleave as a bonus feat. He does not need to meet the prerequisites for these feats. At 12th level, while using Great Cleave, he no longer has to hit a target in order to make an additional attack against a foe that is adjacent to that target. Only an avenger vigilante can select this talent.

Your wrong.


its a cleaver i already have every cleave feat on my to get list. i'm a catfolk for nimble striker so i can cleave and lunge without taking -4 ac i just recently saw these two feats which are very nice for when i get to level 12 of sweeping strikes, its basically a standard action whirlwind attack if i have the dwarf feats.


i'm looking for a way to get orc hewer/goblin cleaver as a catfolk, feats traits multiclass. whatever u got.

Prerequisites: Str 13, Cleave, Power Attack, dwarf.

Benefit: When using Cleave or Great Cleave, if your initial attack hits, you may take your additional attacks against any creature smaller than you that you threaten; your targets need not be adjacent to one another. Additional attacks you make against humanoids (goblinoid) gain a +2 circumstance bonus on attack roll

Prerequisites: Str 13, Cleave, Goblin Cleaver, Power Attack, dwarf.

Benefit: This feat functions as Goblin Cleaver, but your additional attacks can be made against creatures your size or smaller. In addition, any such attacks that you make against humanoids (orc) gain a +2 circumstance bonus on attack rolls.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/p/produce-flame/

range 120 feet

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/d/divine-trident/

its a trident so works as an actual weapon you can just throw it... i'm not taking the time to look at them all is there a specific one you want to know about or did u just fill out your spell slots with only zero foot spells for fun?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Reach Spell (Metamagic)
Your spells go farther than normal.

Benefit: You can alter a spell with a range of touch, close, or medium to increase its range to a higher range category, using the following order: touch, close, medium, and long.

Level Increase: Special. A reach spell uses up a spell slot one level higher than the spell’s actual level for each increase in range category. For example, a spell with a range of touch increased to long range uses up a spell slot three levels higher.

Spells modified by this feat that require melee touch attacks instead require ranged touch attacks.

Spells that do not have a range of touch, close, or medium do not benefit from this feat.


Armor Training (Ex): All Gray Maidens were drilled in the use of their armor, and as a masked maiden continues to lapse in and out of indoctrination, that training emerges slowly from her subconscious. At 3rd level, a masked maiden gains the fighter’s armor training class feature, and at 19th level she gains armor mastery. She treats her vigilante level as her fighter level for the purposes of both

if i take levels in fighter but give up armor training with an archetype would the fighter levels stack with this ability to determine my total level still? why or why not.


yep i got it now, thanks guys


can u link me to that? normally class abilities will say if they scale with class levels, if not its character level as far as i know. example

Lay On Hands (Su): Beginning at 2nd level, a paladin can heal wounds (her own or those of others) by touch. Each day she can use this ability a number of times equal to 1/2 her paladin level plus her Charisma modifier. With one use of this ability, a paladin can heal 1d6 hit points of damage for every two paladin levels she possesses. Using this ability is a standard action, unless the paladin targets herself, in which case it is a swift action. Despite the name of this ability, a paladin only needs one free hand to use this ability.


if someone multiclasses would they still gain great cleave at 6 as it is all part of the same ability and it doesn't specify vigilante 6?

Sweeping Strike (Ex) (Antihero's Handbook pg. 16): The vigilante gains Cleave as a bonus feat. At 6th level, he gains Great Cleave as a bonus feat. He does not need to meet the prerequisites for these feats. At 12th level, while using Great Cleave, he no longer has to hit a target in order to make an additional attack against a foe that is adjacent to that target. Only an avenger vigilante can select this talent.


The Alchemist drinks then gets a free touch for everyone nearby, is how we run it


Ryze Kuja wrote:

Strictly RAW, Grease does not create Difficult Terrain, but it does create an effect that functions exactly like Difficult Terrain because it costs you twice to Move through it. <---- And this is where all the arguing happens, because you are not allowed to 5ft step if your movement is hampered. Also, performing a Full Round Action or a Move Action to Move 5ft =/= 5ft Step. A 5ft Step is its own Miscellaneous Action that you can only perform if you've made no other movement during the round.

Difficult Terrain and 5ft Step wrote:


You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn’t hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can’t take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.

Move 5 Feet through Difficult Terrain
In some situations, your movement may be so hampered that you don’t have sufficient speed even to move 5 feet (a single square). In such a case, you may spend a full-round action to move 5 feet (1 square) in any direction, even diagonally. Even though this looks like a 5-foot step, it’s not, and thus it provokes attacks of opportunity normally.

Grease wrote:


Grease

School conjuration (creation); Level bard 1, magus 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, summoner/unchained summoner 1; Elemental School earth 1

CASTING

Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (butter)

EFFECT

Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target one object or 10-ft. square
Duration 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw see text; Spell Resistance no

DESCRIPTION

A grease spell covers a solid surface with a layer of slippery grease. Any creature in the area when the spell is cast must make a successful Reflex save or fall. A creature can walk within or through the area of grease at half normal speed with a DC 10 Acrobatics check. Failure means it can’t move that round (and must then make a Reflex save or fall), while failure by 5 or more means it falls (see the Acrobatics skill

...

you can 5 foot step out of difficult terrain, or are you claiming that difficult terrain pings you as you step into it and then again on the way out hitting you twice?

pathfinder only looks at the square you are entering, not leaving.


pathfinder looks at the square you are moving into, you can 5foot step out of difficult terrain, including grease(which does not technically count as difficult terrain)


what exactly is your rules question?


AwesomenessDog wrote:
Does this take the cake for oldest necro?

not even close


does immunity just mean you automatically make your saving throw?


50


it does seem to be a variable so yes.


Quench wrote:
vhok wrote:
*Thelith wrote:

AC drops by 2. You lose 2 dex so -1 AC there and 1 AC for being large so 15 AC total.

not quite u forgot to adjust the CMD+1 and CMB+1 also if you want to get into skills they also get -4 size mod to stealth and some minor effects while flying in high winds.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

I can understand why CMD goes up by +1.
CMD = (Base Atk + Str Mod + Dex Mod + Size Mod + 10) so (1 + 2 - 2 + 1 + 10 = 12)

But doesn't the CMB goes up by +2 because of the adjustment to strength modifier and size modifier? There is no dexterity modifier penalty like there is for CMD?

CMB = Base Atk + Str Mod + Size Mod so (1 + 2 + 1 = 4)

if you are increasing your str by 2 you should already be adding that onto CMB i was only speaking of the size modifier.

1 to 50 of 877 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>