
Athel |

A huge issue that popped out to me and surprised someone else hasn't pounced on it.
Unlike a druid or ranger, a hunter need not prepare her spells in advance. She can cast any spell she knows at any time, assuming she has not yet used up her spells per day for that spell level.
Master Hunter (Ex): At 20th level, a hunter becomes a master hunter, able to track down foes with ease. She can always move at full speed while using Survival to follow tracks without penalty. Additionally, each day when the hunter prepares spells, she chooses one animal focus to be active on herself for the entire day. This focus is in addition to using her animal focus class ability (including the additional focus ability she is able to use on herself if her animal companion is dead).
After the second playtest, Hunters became spontaneous casters -- they don't prepare spells! When is the Master Hunter effect supposed to be chosen/applied?

Sean K Reynolds Contributor |

Athel wrote:When is the Master Hunter effect supposed to be chosen/applied?I strongly suspect it'd be when they do their "Daily Readying of Spells", since it fills the same space as preparing.
Yep (mechanically, that's the spontaneous-caster equivalent of "the time of day a prepared-caster prepares spells").

Mythraine |

Hmm, I'm not sure this is an error, but I think it is.
"Studied target: A slayer can study an opponent he
can see as a move action. The slayer then gains a +1 bonus
on Bluff, Knowledge, Perception, Sense Motive, and Survival
checks attempted against that opponent, and a +1 bonus on
weapon attack and damage rolls against it. The DCs of slayer
class abilities against that opponent increase by 1.""At 5th, 10th, 15th, and 20th levels, the bonuses on weapon
attack and damage rolls, as well as the bonus to slayer ability
DCs against a studied, target increase by 1."Nowhere on the slayer does it ever say that the skill bonuses ever increase, while they used to in both version of the playtest if I recall correctly
Edit: This also means that Stalker isn't too specific.
"a slayer gains his studied target
bonus on Disguise, Intimidate, and Stealth checks against
his studied opponent."Is that the skill bonus, or the scaling attack bonus?
I agree this is very confusing. The wording in the playtest worked just fine. It looks like in the attempt to clarify the wording better (i.e. call out everything as getting the increase in bonus) they forgot to specifically list the skill bonuses increasing and therefore the new wording is even more confusing.
I'm sure RAI the increases for skills are meant to improve with attack/damage/DC but a quick clarification would be great ...

rkr1970 |
Going through the spells... Finding poorly worded and unclear stuff left and right, but here's the first I can't figure out well enough to allow my players to use...
Curse of Burning Sleep - When EXACTLY is the save made? And what part of the text are you supposed to see about the save?? This is written in such a way as to appear to be a 4th level delayed auto-kill spell for those with poor saves.
Let's hope the errata is quick to be released!

Sean K Reynolds Contributor |

Curse of Burning Sleep - When EXACTLY is the save made?
When does your target attempt a save against your geas/quest spell? When you cast it, or when the target attempts to perform an action prohibited by the spell? If you choose the "50% chance each turn to act normally" version of bestow curse, does your target attempt a save when you cast it, or on their next turn when the effect first might occur?
Here are your options:
1) They save when you cast the spell. That means you and they know if the spell is on them or not, and it's clear that if the save failed, there is a lingering magic effect on the target that can be detected and dispelled.
2) They save when the spell is triggered. That means neither you nor they know if the spell is on them or not. It's not clear if this means there is a lingering magic effect on the target, and whether or not it can be detected or dispelled. It also means that the target has a magic aura on it until the spell is triggered, and they have no way to resist having that aura applied to them.
Personally, I think the idea of "there's an irresistible magic aura on the target that is eventually triggered and requires a saving throw" is really weird; option 1 is much simpler and immediately resolves whether or not the target has to worry about the spell.
And what part of the text are you supposed to see about the save??
Whenever passing or failing a save isn't a clear-cut answer, the spell says "see text."
This is written in such a way as to appear to be a 4th level delayed auto-kill spell for those with poor saves.
As are sleep, hold person, and so on. It's also easily delayed by drinking a lot of coffee, easily thwarted by fire-resisting spells (which you have plenty of time to prepare before the curse triggers), and its damage is about the same as the (one-level-lower) fireball but it's only one target instead of an area.

rkr1970 |
Sorry. The way it was written, I had to actually work out the INTENT of the spell description. The "see text" apparently refers to "(Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook 444)" and the Reflex save mentioned THERE required to extinguish the flames.
Sorry, Sean. That's one spell that needs a rewrite before thrusting it at players. It SOUNDS like "If the target failed their save, they take xD6 damage, followed by 2d6 "you are on fire" damage every round until they die, no save!

Sean K Reynolds Contributor |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I'll have to disagree with you. The spell's text says:
You place a curse upon the target that triggers 1 hour after the next time it falls asleep. When the curse is triggered, the creature bursts into flame, taking 1d6 points of fire damage per 2 caster levels (maximum 8d6). Furthermore, it catches on fire, taking 2d6 points of fire damage per round at the end of its turn each round until the creature dies (Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook 444).
Clearly, the curse (of catching on fire) is *triggered* after the target falls asleep--not immediately.
You could interpret the "Furthermore..." part as "Despite the fact that we were just talking about how nothing happens until the creature goes to sleep for an hour, it actually catches on fire immediately," but because it follows the "when triggered part," that would require an awkward non-chronological interpretation of how things flow when written.
In other words, you'd have to say to yourself, "I know that the 'furthermore' part is written *after* the 'when triggered' part, so it would make sense that the 'catch on fire' part comes *after* the 'burst into flame upon sleeping' part; however, I'm going to assume that the 'furthermore' part is a separate thing, and it occurs at the time of casting, and therefore the creature *immediately* catches on fire when you cast the spell; and if that doesn't kill it, it also bursts into flame 1 hour after it falls asleep, just for overkill.

rkr1970 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Yes, it IS clear that they catch fire an hour after falling asleep. It is ALSO clear that the rules about catching on fire come into play. What takes a sideways jog is that the rule on 444 of the CRB says "If a character’s clothes or hair catch fire, he takes 1d6 points of damage immediately. In each subsequent round, the burning character must make another Reflex saving throw. Failure means he takes another 1d6 points of damage that round", whereas the spell reads "Furthermore, it catches on fire, taking 2d6 points of fire damage per round at the end of its turn each round until the creature dies".
What's NOT immediately clear is that the 1d6 of burning hair and clothes and the 1d6 of failing the save are necessarily the same 2d6 the spell was referencing. If, after "until the creature dies", you added "or the flames are extinguished" would clear up the less-than-crystal-clear intent of the spell and give one pause to re-examine the wording of rule and spell. I realize it's just a matter of style, but it would be far more in line with the style most other spells are written in. It's the style we players have trained ourselves to read and interpret!

Tels |

Yes, it IS clear that they catch fire an hour after falling asleep. It is ALSO clear that the rules about catching on fire come into play. What takes a sideways jog is that the rule on 444 of the CRB says "If a character’s clothes or hair catch fire, he takes 1d6 points of damage immediately. In each subsequent round, the burning character must make another Reflex saving throw. Failure means he takes another 1d6 points of damage that round", whereas the spell reads "Furthermore, it catches on fire, taking 2d6 points of fire damage per round at the end of its turn each round until the creature dies".
What's NOT immediately clear is that the 1d6 of burning hair and clothes and the 1d6 of failing the save are necessarily the same 2d6 the spell was referencing. If, after "until the creature dies", you added "or the flames are extinguished" would clear up the less-than-crystal-clear intent of the spell and give one pause to re-examine the wording of rule and spell. I realize it's just a matter of style, but it would be far more in line with the style most other spells are written in. It's the style we players have trained ourselves to read and interpret!
In Pathfinder, specific > general. The general rules for catching fir is 1d6 points of damage per round. The spell specifically calls out 2d6 points of damage per round, but otherwise references the catching on fire rules.
So each round, you can attempt a DC 15 Reflex save (as per page 444 of the Core Rule Book) to put the fire out. Rolling on the ground grants a +2 modifier on the save and jumping into a lake extinguishes it.
When the game references rules, you follow that set of rules except where it says differently.
If the game says you move up to double speed, gain +2 to hit on a single attack and -2 to AC until next turn on a charge, and you've got a feat that says your bonus to hit on a charge increases to +4, then you follow the charge rules as normal, except you gain +4 to hit instead of +2.
Same here. It references the catching on fire rules, so you follow those rules except where the spells calls out a difference.
Even in the catching on fire rules, if you never attempt the Reflex save, you will stay on fire and burn until you die. So nothing else in the spell modifies the catching on fire rules.

rkr1970 |
In Pathfinder, specific > general. The general rules for catching fir is 1d6 points of damage per round. The spell specifically calls out 2d6 points of damage per round, but otherwise references the catching on fire rules.
Hmmm... Now I have to ask.... IS it 2d6/round PLUS 1d6 for failing/not attempting a save?? Or is it the same 1d6 plus 1d6 from the rule??

rkr1970 |
It is simply 2d6 per round as specified in the spell. Overwriting the 1d6 general from being on fire.
Being on fire is 1d6 with an additional 1d6 upon failing a save. So is it NOW 2d6 with an additional 1d6, is it 1d6 and 1d6, or is it 2d6 and no additional damage for failing the save??"

ShadowFighter88 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I may be missing something, but what is the point of the Bloodrager's Blood Sanctuary ability? Only thing I can think of is so that he can wade through any AoE spells cast by him or his teammates - like tying up a bunch of people in melee and then letting the party wizard drop a fireball on them. But that bonus feels a bit too low for that purpose.

Calth |
DM Sothal wrote:It is simply 2d6 per round as specified in the spell. Overwriting the 1d6 general from being on fire.Being on fire is 1d6 with an additional 1d6 upon failing a save. So is it NOW 2d6 with an additional 1d6, is it 1d6 and 1d6, or is it 2d6 and no additional damage for failing the save??"
None of these. It goes like this:
Turn 1: Take spell damage, Fail save, catch fire, take 2d6 damage
Turn 2: Roll saving throw. If you succeed, no damage and fire is out, otherwise take 2d6 damage and still on fire.
Turn 3+: Repeat turn 2.

Calth |
I may be missing something, but what is the point of the Bloodrager's Blood Sanctuary ability? Only thing I can think of is so that he can wade through any AoE spells cast by him or his teammates - like tying up a bunch of people in melee and then letting the party wizard drop a fireball on them. But that bonus feels a bit too low for that purpose.
That is exactly what it is for, basically to prevent a dead level without actually giving the class a signficantly useful power. Its more a thematically appropriate minor power, like trackless step for druid. You dont really build around it, or need it, but its still something.

DM Sothal |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

DM Sothal wrote:It is simply 2d6 per round as specified in the spell. Overwriting the 1d6 general from being on fire.Being on fire is 1d6 with an additional 1d6 upon failing a save. So is it NOW 2d6 with an additional 1d6, is it 1d6 and 1d6, or is it 2d6 and no additional damage for failing the save??"
Let's try that another way:
If you were to catch fire from any other way, you immediately take 1d6 fire damage (as per the Core rulebook page 444).
Once it is your turn you may do whatever you want, and at the end of your round you make your REF save to not be on fire anymore, failure meaning you take another 1d6.
Okay?
now, this spell is specifically designed to set you ablaze and kill you with it. You take 1d6 points of fire damage per 2 caster levels (maximum 8d6) once it triggers.
Then, on your turn you (again) may do whatever you want, and as per the rules on page 444, at the end of your turn make your REF safe to not be on fire anymore, failure meaning you take another 1d6 2d6 (as per the spell).
All clear now?

rkr1970 |
rkr1970 wrote:DM Sothal wrote:It is simply 2d6 per round as specified in the spell. Overwriting the 1d6 general from being on fire.Being on fire is 1d6 with an additional 1d6 upon failing a save. So is it NOW 2d6 with an additional 1d6, is it 1d6 and 1d6, or is it 2d6 and no additional damage for failing the save??"Let's try that another way:
If you were to catch fire from any other way, you immediately take 1d6 fire damage (as per the Core rulebook page 444).
Once it is your turn you may do whatever you want, and at the end of your round you make your REF save to not be on fire anymore, failure meaning you take another 1d6.
Okay?
now, this spell is specifically designed to set you ablaze and kill you with it. You take 1d6 points of fire damage per 2 caster levels (maximum 8d6) once it triggers.
Then, on your turn you (again) may do whatever you want, and as per the rules on page 444, at the end of your turn make your REF safe to not be on fire anymore, failure meaning you take another
1d62d6 (as per the spell).All clear now?
YES!! THANK YOU! It must be the late hour making me muddled.... I swear I was reading something totally different each time I looked at it.

Jim Groves Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 4 |
15 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 3 people marked this as a favorite. |

Franz Lunzer wrote:coyote6 wrote:j b 200 wrote:Nope. Shield champion replaces all armor and weapon proficiencies of the base brawler, and only gets simple weapons. No close weapons group.Melkiador wrote:The shield brawler doesn't seem to have the weapon proficiencies for shield. I find this sad.Some one already mentioned this, they get proficiency with a shield through the "close" weapon group.Let me quote the shield champion's weapon and armor proficiencies:
Quote:Weapon and Armor Proficiency: A shield champion is proficient with all simple weapons. She is also proficient with light armor, and with bucklers, light shields, and heavy shields. This replaces the brawler’s weapon and armor proficiencies.(emphasis mine)Pathfinder FAQ wrote:Found here
Shield Bash: If I am proficient with wearing shields, can I make a shield bash without a nonproficiency penalty?Armor proficiencies and weapon proficiencies are different things.
Table 6–4: Weapon (page 142) lists light shields, heavy shields, and spiked shields as martial weapons. The shield bash attacks entries (page 152) say that using a shield in this way is a "martial bludgeoning weapon."
Regardless of whether or not you are proficient in wearing a shield for defense, attacking with a shield is using a martial weapon and you take appropriate penalties if you are not proficient in martial weapons (for example, if you are a cleric, you take a –4 nonproficiency penalty when making shield bash attacks because you are not proficient in martial weapons).
The intention was always that shields would also be weapons that the shield champion would be proficient with, as well as an armor proficiency. I wrote it, so I know my intentions. Whatever one might think of the overall strength of the archetype, there was no intention to deliberately gimp it with a nonsensical disadvantage. That would be patently silly.
So, it was an oversight as far as I am concerned. Unfortunately, my remarks are not binding. You have my regrets for the inconvenience to PFS folks. Please FAQ it and I am sure it will be corrected.

Melkiador |

The intention was always that shields would also be weapons that the shield champion would be proficient with, as well as an armor proficiency. I wrote it, so I know my intentions. Whatever one might think of the overall strength of the archetype, there was no intention to...
I think I'd be happier if Paizo changed the FAQ to make shield proficiency give you the weapon proficiency in shields too. I doubt anyone would think this to be an overly powerful buff for shield users.

Jim Groves Contributor, RPG Superstar 2010 Top 4 |

Jim Groves wrote:The intention was always that shields would also be weapons that the shield champion would be proficient with, as well as an armor proficiency. I wrote it, so I know my intentions. Whatever one might think of the overall strength of the archetype, there was no intention to...I think I'd be happier if Paizo changed the FAQ to make shield proficiency give you the weapon proficiency in shields too. I doubt anyone would think this to be an overly powerful buff for shield users.
:)
Above my pay grade, but I understand.
Just know that the shield champion was meant to be a functional melee character with the item they're named after.

Alexander Augunas Contributor |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

The picaroon (swashbuckler) gains Two-Weapon Finesse at 2nd level, replacing Swashbuckler's Finesse (a 1st level ability). Two-Weapon Finesse is essentially Swashbuckler's Finesse, but it also gives you Two-Weapon Fighting under specific conditions.
By my best judgment, Two-Weapon Finesse is supposed to be earned at 1st level. In the playtest, Swashbuckler's Finesse was originally received at 2nd level, so I'm guessing that this mistake is a holdover from the playtest version of the swashbuckler class.

Monkeyrogue |
Forgive me, I have not taken the time to read all the posts here. I am tired and have to work early. But in reading the Investigator, if you take the Steel Hound Archetype, there is no modification in RAW for getting Studied Combat bonuses to your ranged attacks.
Also, with the Gunslinger Archetype - Bolt Ace, it's missed a LOT of stuff that would apply specifically to a crossbow that would/would not apply to a gun. In fact, I would say it needs to be a separate class with the same mechanics that would qualify for any existing Gunslinger class Archetypes. (As I am unable to make a Kobold Bushwacker that uses crossbows...as an extreme example)
Again, tired, on pain killers, just wanted to bring it up.

Googleshng |

How many cantrips does an arcanist get at each level? Am I having another brain fart or is this missing??
Are you looking at the spells/day chart instead of the prepared spells chart? If I recall, they get the same number as a sorcerer per day, and start with all of them in their book.

Matrix Dragon |
2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

These have already been posted elsewhere, but just to make sure paizo knows I may as well repeat them......
Page 90: The Daring Champion has both Challenge and Presise Strike, effeictively giving it double level to damage. I'm pretty sure this wasn't intended.
Page 104: Techically, the Arcane Deed doesn't say that the magus treats his Magus level as his Swashbuckler Level for these deeds.
And just to really make sure that Paizo knows:
Page 154: Pummeling style doesn't actually have anything that prevents it from being used with any weapon.

zapbib |
The daring champion having deed and precise strike is not an error as far as we know, you can make a thread to discuss balance issue if you want.
Same for pummeling style, not all style requires the use of unarmed attack. Fluff seem to indicate it was made for unarmed, but it's ultimately a whole different discussion.

![]() |

ACG p128.
Cult leaders are proficient with all simple weapons, plus the hand crossbow, rapier, sap, shortbow, and short sword, as well as the favored weapon of their deity. They are proficient with light armor and light shields. The cult leader does not gain Improved Unarmed Strike as a bonus feat as a warpriest normally would.
I'm not aware a warpriest would normally gain Improved Unarmed Strike as a bonus feat. :)

![]() |
4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Okay, so, I'm going to do this by chapter. Yes, the whole thing. Since I'm trying to do this methodically, I'm inevitably gonna repeat stuff people have already said (and have noted some of it solely because of such people...I'm not trying to steal credit here), but having it all in one place seems useful nonetheless. Some of these are typos...others are 'What did they mean here?' type questions. According to Mark Seifter some of these might well be officially errataed in the very near future, but listing them still seems useful.
So, without further ado:
Chapter 1:
p. 9: Second paragraph under Spellbook: "an arcanist can also add spells found in other wizards’ spellbooks to her own"
While I think it's clear what this means, by a strict reading, the Arcanist could not prepare from another arcanist's spellbook...also, the Arcanist is not a Wizard, though that sentence seems to say it is. It's really just a weird wording choice.
p. 10: The Bloodline Development Exploit. According to the Familiar Exploit (on p. 11) this Exploit is implied to be able to give you a fully leveled Familiar (via Arcane Bloodline, one assumes). That's deeply unclear in the Exploit itself. Heck, I'm still not sure if it's true.
p. 15: Under Proficiencies, Bloodragers possess shield proficiencies, but do not ignore the Arcane Spell Failure chance for using them. This is, I believe, unique among classes. Is it intentional?
p. 29: Under Master Hunter, the second paragraph refers to preparing spells, but the Hunter is a spontaneous caster. Not hard to figure out what it means, but also not correct.
p. 30: Under the Alchemy class feature, Alchemists can explicitly use spell-trigger but not spell-completion items for formulas on their list. Investigator contains no such note, and thus cannot do this. Is this difference intentional?
p. 33: The Quick Study Talent reads "An investigator can use his studied combat ability as swift action instead of a standard action." Studied combat is normally a move action.
The Tenacious Inspiration Talent's final sentence is "The investigator must at least 13th level to select this talent." there's a word missing there, almost certainly the word 'be'.
p. 39: The top of the second column, there's an extra 't' between 'weapon' and 'that'. Simple typo.
p. 44: Under the 'Friend to Animals' Hex. this Hex grants the ability to spontaneously cast summon nature's ally spells...but doesn't add them to the Shaman's spell list. The intent is clear...the mechanics are not.
p. 49: Under skills, the Skald lacks Perform (Wind) which is necessary to play the horn...an instrument shown as the Iconic's primary one, and which an entire archetype is based on. This problem also extends to p. 51 under Versatile Performance.
p. 53: Under Studied Target, the attack, damage, and ability DCs explicitly increase, but by a strict reading the skill bonuses do not. This has been stated by Mark Seifter to be a mistake that Paizo is already in the process of correcting, but I list it here for the sake of completeness.
Under the 'Rogue Talent' Slayer Talent the example of needing prerequisites uses Minor Magic and Major Magic, which is an odd choice given that those are not available options in the list.
p. 65: The header for the Earth Blessing is not bolded or on a new line, making it easy to miss entirely.
p. 68: Under the 'Double' Trickery Blessing, Mirror Image is referred to as having damage (which the Blessing doesn't stack with). A clear error.
Further chapters to follow, probably more quickly. Slogging through information you've already read looking for errors is much harder and more annoying than going through information you haven't read and noting any errors you find.

![]() |

ACG p128.
Cult Leader, Weapon and Armor Proficiency wrote:Cult leaders are proficient with all simple weapons, plus the hand crossbow, rapier, sap, shortbow, and short sword, as well as the favored weapon of their deity. They are proficient with light armor and light shields. The cult leader does not gain Improved Unarmed Strike as a bonus feat as a warpriest normally would.I'm not aware a warpriest would normally gain Improved Unarmed Strike as a bonus feat. :)
They do if their deity has Unarmed Strike as a Favored Weapon. Apparently a Cult Leader of Irori wouldn't.
Or at least that was my immediate interpretation of that.

Carrick |

here's one I'm hoping is a typo (although a major one)
Under Favored Class Options on page 69, elven arcanists get to add 1 point to their arcane reservoir per level ("Increase total number of points in the arcanist's arcane reservoir by 1.").
By contrast, gnomes get 1/6th of a point per level, as noted on page 70 ("Add 1/6 to the number of points the arcanist gains in her arcanist reservoir each day.")
The disparity results in a 20th level elf having an arcane reservoir or 43 points, regaining 13 each day, and a 20th level gnome having an arcane reservoir of 23 points, regaining 16 each day (assuming both took the favored class bonus each level.
Was the elves' bonus intended to be a fraction of some kind?

Kudaku |

I don't really see the problem with the elf favored class bonus. The difference between a reservoir with a maximum of 23 and 43 is minimal - you start off with the same number of points each day and you can fill it as you go, so unless you're going to burn more than 23 points in a single encounter I don't really see why it is an issue?
Truth be told, I'd take HP over the elf FCB.

fuzzyillogic |

My small bit:
p. 76, Blade Adept exploits, Magus arcana.
Among the allowed Magus arcana there's the Wand Wielder arcana.
Wand wielder arcana does allow to use wands when using Spell Combat, but the Blade Adept can only get Spellstrike, not Spell Combat.
I see 3/4 possible RAI, but I'd like to know if I'm missing something or what.
a) Wand wielder was included by mistake, either directly or referencing a Spell combat option of the archetype that was later scrapped.
b) Wand wielder was included intentionally and it was the way to get Spell Combat that was excluded by mistake.
c) Wand wielder was included intentionally, and taking it does means that the Blade Adept get Spell Combat strictly when using wands (!).
d) Wand wielder was included intentionally as a support for multiclassing (!!)
e) Something else...

![]() |

I have searched this thread for "missing pages" and "duplicate pages" but I have not found anyone else commenting on these errors. Maybe my book has a problem that others do not, or maybe everyone is still proofing the PDF.
But here is a major error in my book:
I don't have pages 137 through 152.
I have pages 153 through 160 twice.
This affects the Feats chapter.
Was there a post about this that I missed? If this topic has already been covered my apologies for repeating it.

Kudaku |

That sounds like a print error rather than an editing error - if you get in touch with Paizo customer service they should be able to help you out. :)

Melkiador |

I don't really see the problem with the elf favored class bonus. The difference between a reservoir with a maximum of 23 and 43 is minimal - you start off with the same number of points each day and you can fill it as you go, so unless you're going to burn more than 23 points in a single encounter I don't really see why it is an issue?
Truth be told, I'd take HP over the elf FCB.
At level 20, you would be able to use those 20 extra points to turn your low level spells into two extra 9th level spells for each combat.
Converting low level spells to points is slow in combat, but great out of combat. And elf can potentially be the best at out of combat consume. Still, that's at level 20, which most people never reach and the HP is still really great for an elf with a low hit die.
It's not the best FCB ever, but it's not a bad one. It's probably something you would only want to take a little bit of.

Alexander Augunas Contributor |

My small bit:
p. 76, Blade Adept exploits, Magus arcana.
Among the allowed Magus arcana there's the Wand Wielder arcana.
Wand wielder arcana does allow to use wands when using Spell Combat, but the Blade Adept can only get Spellstrike, not Spell Combat.I see 3/4 possible RAI, but I'd like to know if I'm missing something or what.
a) Wand wielder was included by mistake, either directly or referencing a Spell combat option of the archetype that was later scrapped.
b) Wand wielder was included intentionally and it was the way to get Spell Combat that was excluded by mistake.
c) Wand wielder was included intentionally, and taking it does means that the Blade Adept get Spell Combat strictly when using wands (!).
d) Wand wielder was included intentionally as a support for multiclassing (!!)
e) Something else...
Furthermore, the Blade Adept's Spell Strike exploit references that it functions like the Magus's spellstrike, but the exploit itself isn't spelled like the magus ability. The magus's spellstrike is one word, so shouldn't the Blade Adept exploit also be one word?

![]() |

They do if their deity has Unarmed Strike as a Favored Weapon. Apparently a Cult Leader of Irori wouldn't. Or at least that was my immediate interpretation of that.
That's why I suspect this is an error. Otherwise, there's a distinct advantage to playing a cult leader of a deity that doesn't grant Improved Unarmed Strike (or it's an impossibility because you don't have the feat to trade out).
In the interim, this could also be read as losing the weapon proficiency of the deity, or losing weapon focus.

![]() |
7 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Next chapter up:
Chapter 2:
p. 76: Under 'Magus Arcana', Wand Wielder is an available choice. This is odd and problematic for a class lacking spell combat as the Arcanist does.
p. 83: Under 'Blood Bond' the final sentence is " This ability replaces the bloodline feat gained at." The bloodline Feat gained at when? 9th level seems logical, but isn't stated.
Under the Crossblooded Bloodrager's Bloodline spells, they are stated to gain power at 1st level and then every 4 levels thereafter. This delays all Bloodrager powers after the 1st level power by one level, but doesn't mention that it's doing so...instead implying that these are the normal levels you get the powers at. This might easily be intentional, but the writing makes it unclear.
p. 85: Under 'Blood of Life', is it the intention that increases in Damage Reduction instead increase the Fast Healing provided by this ability? Because, while that seems to be the intent, that's not what the ability says.
Under 'Armor Training' it is stated that the Class Feature is equivalent to Fighter Armor Training and stacks with it. Does it also provide the ability to ignore the movement penalties? Because it doesn't say so, but if it doesn't...in what context is it equivalent to the Fighter version?
p. 86: The Exemplar Archetype loses the unarmed strike class feature but maintains the Close Weapon Mastery class feature. It's a little unclear how this works by a strict reading of the rules, since Close Weapon Mastery specifically refers to the Brawler's unarmed strike damage...though I think the intent is clearly for it to still function normally.
It is unclear if the Shield Champion's weapon proficiencies actually include shields, given that they are martial weapons normally.
Under 'Throw Shield' the phrase 'medium or light' shield is used...there's no such thing as a medium shield except as a size category, which doesn't make sense in context.
p. 88: The Strangler Archetype trades away the Unarmed Strike class feature...which, oddly enough, means that only Human Stranglers are even capable of beginning the game with Improved Grapple. That doesn't seem right or intended.
p. 89: The Wild Child Archetype trades away the bonus feats gained at 2nd, 5th, 11th, and 14th levels twice, once for an animal companion, once for Wild Tricks. Something is clearly wrong there.
p. 90: Under Wild Mount Shape, the base number of uses per day is not ever actually stated (it can be inferred to be one by the 'maximum of 4' at 18th level, after three additions, but regardless, it's not actually stated)...which is an error.
p. 91: Ecclesitheurge's Vow refers to the 'blessings of the faithful' ability...which does not exist. It is also not stated what 'prohibited armor' or 'prohibited shields' are. Presumably all armor and shields in this context...but that's not actually clear.
Under 'Bonded Holy Symbol' feature does not make clear what categories of Item a Holy Symbol can be (Ring, Amulet, Wand, Weapon, what's available?)
p. 92: It is not at all clear what happens to a Wild Whisperer's Wild Shape abilities at 10th or 12th level. Does their Wild shape advance as it would at 6th and 8th levels for a normal Druid? Do they get nothing? Should they maybe get Investigator Talents at those levels instead? All very unclear.
p. 93: Under 'Mutagen Discovery, the line is used "one of the follow alchemist discoveries". Clearly a simple typo, needing 'following' to replace 'follow'.
p. 94: The Bolt Ace continues to receive Firearms Proficiency and the Gunsmithing Class Feature. These seem deeply inappropriate, and should almost certainly be adjusted.
p. 96: The Feral Hunter does not replace either the 3rd level Teamwork Feat, or Second Animal Focus. How these interact with it's lack of an animal companion and replacement of Animal Focus is somewhat unclear.
p. 97: It is unclear how many Evolution points are granted by the Primal Transformation Evolution. It may be presumed that it's the same number a Summoner of the Hunter's level would get to spend on their Eidolon, or that they receive a number equal to their Hunter level...but it's not actually clear which.
p. 99: The Sacred Huntmaster Archetype, unlike the Divine Hunter, has no restriction on taking the Animal Domain for a second Animal companion using almost full level. This seems likely to be an oversight.
p. 101: The Mastermind's Inspiration ability reads as follows:
"A mastermind can use inspiration on any Diplomacy, Intimidate, Knowledge, or skill checks without spending a use of inspiration. This ability alters inspiration."
Firstly, the intent is probably for it not to apply to 'any skill check', secondly it seems designed to alter the default skills Investigators do not need to spend Inspiration on, but it doesn't say that, so as written it's a straight up addition and mentioning Knowledge skills is superfluous (since they're already listed).
p. 102: 'Make It Count' refers to 'inspired strike'. There is no such thing. And assuming it means Studied Strike is logical, but odd, since none of the available options it could apply to a Studied Strike kick in until 9th level at the earliest and most not until 13th level or later, making it utterly useless for a long time after you get it.
p. 103: It is slightly unclear if Talented Shot allows more than a single Gunslinger Deed to ever be acquired.
p. 104: The Arcane Deed Arcana does not say it allows you to count your level as Swashbuckler levels for purposes of using the Deed acquired, this makes certain Deeds, such as Precise Strike useless. Is this intentional?
p. 106: The Psychic Searcher's Inspiration pool is based of Wisdom, not Charisma as one might expect of an Oracle Archetype. Is this intentional?
p. 107: The Holy Guide gains the Teamwork Feat feature at 5th level. This is said to be in exchange for a Paladin's 5th level Mercy. Paladins do not receive a Mercy at 5th level.
p. 117: The Spell Warrior replaces Inspired Rage, and may thus not actually use Rage Powers, but does not replace the Rage Powers themselves. This is...odd. And awkward.
p. 120: The Sniper's Deadly Range ability is identical to a Slayer Talent of the same name, except that the Talent can be taken multiple times, stacking. Which makes the ability to spend Talents for +5 feet of range odd and out of place (since you can just take the normal Talent instead for +10 feet).
The Stygian Slayer is listed as replacing the Slayer's weapon and armor proficiencies...but the list it replaces them with includes no weapons of any sort. So by a strict reading, Stygian Slayers are not proficient with any weapons whatsoever.
p. 124: Under the Daring Infiltrator's Bonus Feats section, it refers to the bonus feats gained at 2nd, 10th, and 18th level. Swashbucklers do not gain bonus feats at these levels.
p. 125: Under Rapier Weapon Mastery, it is unclear if the increased critical range provided by this ability applies before or after Improved Critical. If before, it would make a rapier critical on a 13-20, if after it would only critical on a 14-20.
p. 126: Hamstring is slightly unclear. Is it intended to only allow staggering the foe, or merely to add that as an additional option?
p. 127: Avenger Finesse is listed as a 2nd level ability, as is Two Weapon Finesse, in both cases leaving the character in deep trouble at 1st level. Is this intentional?
p. 128: The Cult Leader says that it does not receive Improved Unarmed Strike as a bonus Feat. Most Warpriests do not receive Improved Unarmed strike as a bonus Feat.
p. 133: The Spirit Whisperer gains the spirit ability, greater spirit ability, and manifestation of one spirit, but not the True Spirit ability (which is usually between the latter two). Is this intentional?
.
.
.
Well, there's that. I probably missed something, and a few of those are subjective, and I'm sure several of the ones where I ask 'Is this intentional?' the answer is yes...but I think it's useful. Further chapters later.

![]() |

Tels |

blahpers wrote:Damn, I was all set to make a monk/warpriest whose flurry comes from all the separate images. . . . : D*self-promotional-cough*
So.... Wizard/Hungry Ghost Monk or the spell Ki Leech for infinite spells?

Alexander Augunas Contributor |

For the Swashbuckler's Mysterious Avenger archetype, the class gains Avenger's Finesse at level 2, which modifies the standard swashbuckler's finesse.
Since swashbuckler's finesse was granted at level 2 in an early playtest version, it stands to reason that this ability is probably incorrectly earned at 2nd level and should be granted at 1st level.

Gregory Austin |
3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
There's something that seems to be missing regarding the Swashbuckler and Signature Deed
Page 59
This deed’s cost cannot be
reduced by any ability or effect that reduces the amount
of panache points a deed costs (such as the Signature
Deed feat).
Except Signature Deed requires 11th level Gunslinger and I can't find any text in the ACG that overrides this. The closest thing is this:
Page 56
For purposes of feat prerequisites, a character with
the panache class feature satisfies the prerequisites as
if she were a grit user, and vice versa. For feats, magic
items, and other effects, a panache user can spend and
gain panache points in place of grit points, and vice versa.
But it doesn't say anything about class levels counting as other class levels, just the Panache class feature counting as the Grit class feature.

![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

There's something that seems to be missing regarding the Swashbuckler and Signature Deed
Page 59
This deed’s cost cannot be
reduced by any ability or effect that reduces the amount
of panache points a deed costs (such as the Signature
Deed feat).Except Signature Deed requires 11th level Gunslinger and I can't find any text in the ACG that overrides this. The closest thing is this:
Page 56
For purposes of feat prerequisites, a character with
the panache class feature satisfies the prerequisites as
if she were a grit user, and vice versa. For feats, magic
items, and other effects, a panache user can spend and
gain panache points in place of grit points, and vice versa.But it doesn't say anything about class levels counting as other class levels, just the Panache class feature counting as the Grit class feature.
Oh, good catch. Yeah, that's definitely an issue.