
Azaelas Fayth |

He posted something then was proven wrong and I added in a post with this image. After he posted that I had deleted my post.

Lab_Rat |

Something new:
When tying up a prisoner using the Grapple - Pin- Tie up mechanism you MUST use rope (or maybe chain). I see a lot of people use manacles as a substitute but manacles just go around their wrists. As such, after you let go and move on to your next pinned foe the previous one just gets up and runs off or does anything that doesn't require the use of their hands.
For those who need RAW
Manacles, Standard and Masterwork: Manacles can bind a Medium creature. A manacled creature can use the Escape Artist skill to slip free (DC 30, or DC 35 for masterwork manacles). Breaking the manacles requires a Strength check (DC 26, or DC 28 for masterwork manacles). Manacles have hardness 10 and 10 hit points.
Most manacles have locks; add the cost of the lock you want to the cost of the manacles.
For the same cost, you can buy manacles for a Small creature. For a Large creature, manacles cost 10 times the indicated amount, and for a Huge creature, 100 times the indicated amount. Gargantuan, Colossal, Tiny, Diminutive, and Fine creatures can be held only by specially made manacles, which cost at least 100 times the indicated amount.
Says nothing about how manacles function
Bolded section tells us that manacles are for wrists and fetters are for ankles. Thus manacles should not impinge upon your movement.
Fetters can also be fitted with barbs, but the wearer can avoid damage by not taking actions that involve moving its legs. Hobgoblins often use such fetters to secure artisans to their worktables. Securing a captive with multiple sets of manacles and/or fetters doesn't cause additional damage.
So the bolded info tells us that a person in manacles can take actions but if they take more than 1 move action in barbed manacles they take damage. Thus a person in manacles (barbed or not) can take 2 move actions.

Darkon Slayer |

Cpt. Caboodle wrote:Mojorat wrote:if a creature has immunity to cold/fire it automatically has vulnerability to the opposite. though I think this is going to be errattad apparently its so obscure last time it was brought up two of the developers did not know ot existed.This is not entirely true. I read it in another thread about a week ago, and it was confirmed by one of the developers - if I remember correctly, it was James Jacobs:
Creatures with the fire subtype are immune to fire and vulnerable to cold.
Creatures with the cold subtype are immune to cold and vulnerable to fire.
But an immunity doesn't automatically bring along a vulnerability.
According to the PRD it is entirely true:
Energy Immunity and Vulnerability
A creature with energy immunity never takes damage from that energy type. If a creature has fire immunity, it also has vulnerability to cold. If a creature has cold immunity, it also has vulnerability to fire. Vulnerability means the creature takes half again as much (+50%) damage as normal from that energy type, regardless of whether a saving throw is allowed or if the save is a success or failure.That has been errata.
in forth printing update.
![]() |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

This thread seems to be getting a bit of interest again. For the interest of new readers, this thread was periodically summarized in its' early days. The last update of the summary is here. The link is in my profile as well and I generally post on the boards at least weekly.

Lithrac |

More interesting facts! Well, I hope so, I may have missed them while reading the thread.
1) Bards'Inspire Courage bestows a competence bonus to attack/damage now. It used to be a morale bonus in 3.5E. The bonus to fear & charm effects is still morale, though.
2) Elemental and Giant aren't types of monsters anymore. "Elemental" is a subtype of Outsider, ang "Giant" is a subtype of Humanoid. It basically means you can cast "Charm Person" on a troll.

Redneckdevil |

another one that alot of people i played with didnt know about was that when combat starts for both sides, when u go up to engage an enemy, you provoke an atk of oppertunity going up in a monsters face to swing.
for some strange reason my players new and old are looking at me weird when they go face to face with a monster and its not a surprise round and the monster gets an atk of oppertunity off on them.

![]() |

Only if you provoke one, and either they have already acted or have Combat Reflexes. Simply moving to them does not provoke an AoO on it's own. They need to have Reach or something so you are moving OUT of a square they threaten. Even if that is the case, they either need to have alrady acted, so beat your initiative, or have the Combat Reflexes Feat which allows them to take an AoO before they have acted in a combat.
Combat Reflexes (Combat)
You can make additional attacks of opportunity.
Benefit: You may make a number of additional attacks of opportunity per round equal to your Dexterity bonus. With this feat, you may also make attacks of opportunity while flat-footed.

![]() |

jesterle wrote:Cpt. Caboodle wrote:Mojorat wrote:if a creature has immunity to cold/fire it automatically has vulnerability to the opposite. though I think this is going to be errattad apparently its so obscure last time it was brought up two of the developers did not know ot existed.This is not entirely true. I read it in another thread about a week ago, and it was confirmed by one of the developers - if I remember correctly, it was James Jacobs:
Creatures with the fire subtype are immune to fire and vulnerable to cold.
Creatures with the cold subtype are immune to cold and vulnerable to fire.
But an immunity doesn't automatically bring along a vulnerability.
According to the PRD it is entirely true:
Quote:
Energy Immunity and Vulnerability
A creature with energy immunity never takes damage from that energy type. If a creature has fire immunity, it also has vulnerability to cold. If a creature has cold immunity, it also has vulnerability to fire. Vulnerability means the creature takes half again as much (+50%) damage as normal from that energy type, regardless of whether a saving throw is allowed or if the save is a success or failure.That has been errata.
in forth printing update.
Energy Immunity and Vulnerability
A creature with energy immunity never takes damage from that energy type. Vulnerability means the creature takes half again as much (+50%) damage as normal from that energy type, regardless of whether a saving throw is allowed or if the save is a success or failure.
(current text)
Reformatted for clarity and added the quote from the current text of the rule.

AbsolutGrndZer0 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I'd say that a level 20 fighter with 2 natural claw attacks can't use those two claw attacks without giving up his normal attacks gained from his class. Trying to explain how this works to new players always confuses the hell out of ME because I don't necessarily agree with the way it works, so trying to explain a rule I don't agree with to someone is hard. I've considered house ruling a change, but I really hate house ruling something so fundamental to the combat system... especially with new players.

Aelryinth RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16 |

where does it say moving to them does not provoke an atk of oppertunity if combat has started? I see in the rule book that yes npcs and players dont get atk of oppertunitys during surprise or ambush rounds, but when combat starts, moving up to a creature to atk, the movimg up to will provoke an atk of oppertunity, granted only once unless specd for additional and player/npc has to move into other threatened squares, provokes an atk of oppertunity.
Now I havent seen anywhere where it states going up to atk a creature when combat has started dosent provoke one. I no the rulebook states u do if u move into a threatened square. Now atking with weapons dosent but thats only if u arent unarmed and already in frony of them.Now if theres anywhere thay states that going up to a creature headon when combat starts dosent provoke one, ill gladly change my rules but I havent seen it anywhere a creature/player isnt flatfooted and ambushed going up to a creature in its threatened squares dosent provoke one.
Redneck:
You cannot make an AoO while flat-footed without Combat Reflexes. So, unless those monsters have had an initiative count, they are flat-footed and cannot make any AoO's.
Now, you have to tell us...what was PROVOKING the AoO's? Because the only standard item we can think of would be exiting a square that the monster threatens...which would require the monster to have reach, and the characters NOT to have reach.
You do not provoke an AoO for ENTERING a threatened square, and never have.
So, if your players are closing on a monster, and it has the same reach they do, they certainly do not provoke AoO's, and furthermore they CANNOT if the monster have not gone on their initiative yet.
==Aelryinth

![]() |

I no the rulebook states u do if u move into a threatened square.
Prove it. If the Core Rulebook says it, what's the page? Or a link to the PRD?
That's right, it doesn't exist.
Here's what the rule actually is:
Provoking an Attack of Opportunity: Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing certain actions within a threatened square.
Moving: Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action.
It's moving OUT of a threatened square that provokes, not moving into one.

Aelryinth RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16 |

I'd say that a level 20 fighter with 2 natural claw attacks can't use those two claw attacks without giving up his normal attacks gained from his class. Trying to explain how this works to new players always confuses the hell out of ME because I don't necessarily agree with the way it works, so trying to explain a rule I don't agree with to someone is hard. I've considered house ruling a change, but I really hate house ruling something so fundamental to the combat system... especially with new players.
The fighter can use his claw attacks or his iteratives from class. If he uses claw attacks, he might just get the natural -2. If he uses iteratives, he's now using TWF rules, and the penalties might be significantly higher if he doesn't have the appropriate feats.
==Aelryinth

![]() |

Banizal wrote:Druids and Clerics only require 1 hour to pray/meditate to regain their spells...they do not require rest (though they will get negative conditions i.e. fatigued -> exhausted) or even consecutive hours of prayer/meditation.Don't forget the following rule though:
"As with arcane spells, at the time of preparation any spells cast within the previous 8 hours count against the number of spells that can be prepared."
Generally, you rest for 8 hours (not casting anything) and then pray for your spells. The rest isn't technically required, but the 8 hours of not casting spells is (if you want a full spell compliment for the coming day).
Not sure if anyone responded to this yet but:
Clerics meditate or pray for their spells. Each cleric must choose a time when she must spend 1 hour each day in quite contemplation or supplication to regain her daily allotment of spells. So while a wizard or sorcerer can rest to regain spells a cleric has to wait for the allocated time.

Elosandi |
Aldin wrote:Druid companions can be dismissed at will and replaced at no cost within 24 hours with ANY terrain appropriate alternative. Yesterday a tiger, tomorrow a combat trained mount, next week a T-Rex...I knew this and have even contemplated using it once or twice in the past four years (I'm pretty sure this was true in 3.5 as well).
However, as a GM, if a druid's player kept dismissing animal companions for convenience, I would probably his his/her deity or Mother Nature herself visit them and have the druid explain, in character, why doing that was not a callous and selfish action.
I might be convinced otherwise, but I would at least have them explain it to their source of power.
Nature is cruel at times. Those unsuited for their task being weeded out is natural among animals. If the companion wanted a long term contract then they should be adapt so that switching them isn't the best option open to the druid.

SmiloDan RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 |

brassbaboon wrote:Nature is cruel at times. Those unsuited for their task being weeded out is natural among animals. If the companion wanted a long term contract then they should be adapt so that switching them isn't the best option open to the druid.Aldin wrote:Druid companions can be dismissed at will and replaced at no cost within 24 hours with ANY terrain appropriate alternative. Yesterday a tiger, tomorrow a combat trained mount, next week a T-Rex...I knew this and have even contemplated using it once or twice in the past four years (I'm pretty sure this was true in 3.5 as well).
However, as a GM, if a druid's player kept dismissing animal companions for convenience, I would probably his his/her deity or Mother Nature herself visit them and have the druid explain, in character, why doing that was not a callous and selfish action.
I might be convinced otherwise, but I would at least have them explain it to their source of power.
Or you could re-fluff the animal companion stuff, and have it be an animal spirit whose form shifts to meet the needs of the druid.

Avh |

So while a wizard or sorcerer can rest to regain spells a cleric has to wait for the allocated time.
It is not a problem for clerics, as a wizard can't rest multiple times a day to regain multiple times his slots.
I'd say that a level 20 fighter with 2 natural claw attacks can't use those two claw attacks without giving up his normal attacks gained from his class. Trying to explain how this works to new players always confuses the hell out of ME because I don't necessarily agree with the way it works, so trying to explain a rule I don't agree with to someone is hard. I've considered house ruling a change, but I really hate house ruling something so fundamental to the combat system... especially with new players.
A level 20 fighter with 2 primary natural claw attacks and a one-handed weapon makes 4 iterative attacks with his weapon (20/15/10/5) and a secondary natural claw attack at -5 (or -2 with a monster feat)

![]() |

Ravingdork wrote:Banizal wrote:Druids and Clerics only require 1 hour to pray/meditate to regain their spells...they do not require rest (though they will get negative conditions i.e. fatigued -> exhausted) or even consecutive hours of prayer/meditation.Don't forget the following rule though:
"As with arcane spells, at the time of preparation any spells cast within the previous 8 hours count against the number of spells that can be prepared."
Generally, you rest for 8 hours (not casting anything) and then pray for your spells. The rest isn't technically required, but the 8 hours of not casting spells is (if you want a full spell compliment for the coming day).
Not sure if anyone responded to this yet but:
Clerics meditate or pray for their spells. Each cleric must choose a time when she must spend 1 hour each day in quite contemplation or supplication to regain her daily allotment of spells. So while a wizard or sorcerer can rest to regain spells a cleric has to wait for the allocated time.
Yes, but on the positive side the cleric don't need to rest. And they can vary that time a bit if needed:
Time of Day: A divine spellcaster chooses and prepares spells ahead of time, but unlike a wizard, does not require a period of rest to prepare spells. Instead, the character chooses a particular time of day to pray and receive spells. The time is usually associated with some daily event. If some event prevents a character from praying at the proper time, she must do so as soon as possible. If the character does not stop to pray for spells at the first opportunity, she must wait until the next day to prepare spells.

![]() |

Cleave has changed
3.5 - if you drop a creature to 0 or less hit points you can strike another creature within reach
PF - if you make a cleave attack as a standard action, and you hit, you can make another attack against a foe that is adjacent to the first and also within reach.
Quite a change for the cleave ability and tripped up a few of my players as it provides a extra attack without having to kill the first target, but must have the second target next to it.

SmiloDan RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32 |

Cleave has changed
3.5 - if you drop a creature to 0 or less hit points you can strike another creature within reach
PF - if you make a cleave attack as a standard action, and you hit, you can make another attack against a foe that is adjacent to the first and also within reach.
Quite a change for the cleave ability and tripped up a few of my players as it provides a extra attack without having to kill the first target, but must have the second target next to it.
And now there is Cleaving Finish:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/combat-feats/cleaving-finish-combat
When you strike down an opponent, you can continue your swing into another target.
Prerequisites: Str 13, Cleave, Power Attack.
Benefit: If you make a melee attack, and your target drops to 0 or fewer hit points as a result of your attack, you can make another melee attack using your highest base attack bonus against another opponent within reach. You can make only one extra attack per round with this feat.

Troubleshooter |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Sleep has casting time 1 round. Prepare to be a squishy target while you cast that spell, if the goblins have any clue what they are doing.
Wow. These non-Standard casting times always trip me up. Oh, break enchantment takes a minute. Oh, enlarge person takes 1 round. Oh, lesser restoration takes 3 rounds.
I find myself consistency surprised by these (besides summon spells).

Deylinarr |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Don't know if this has already been brought up, but spreads (like the area of a fireball) don't actually expand to a pre-set volume when in a confined space.
They do wrap around corners and such to fill the prescribed radius (hence it being easy to mis-read, especially if you're remembering older editions), but they don't expand beyond the radius regardless. In fact, it even says to make sure you count the distance used up to turn a corner when determining the end of said radius.
And Lightning Bolts no longer "reflect" off walls. I still remember trying to figure out angles on ye olde battle mat...........it was like playing pool!

buddahcjcc |
Well, don't know if anyone else had this happen, but none of the experienced D&D 3.5 players in my last Pathfinder game (myself, the GM and three others) had any idea about this:
You can score critical hits on Undead and Construct creatures now!! I didn't discover this until I saw it randomly mentioned on these boards. I looked it up in the Bestiary and was like, "well damn! It's true!" Our GM for the game was making characters use magic weapon crystals from the Magic Item Compendium to be able to crit undead.
Where in the Bestiary? I wanna see this, I thought you couldnt do this either

donato Contributor |

pluvia33 wrote:Where in the Bestiary? I wanna see this, I thought you couldnt do this eitherWell, don't know if anyone else had this happen, but none of the experienced D&D 3.5 players in my last Pathfinder game (myself, the GM and three others) had any idea about this:
You can score critical hits on Undead and Construct creatures now!! I didn't discover this until I saw it randomly mentioned on these boards. I looked it up in the Bestiary and was like, "well damn! It's true!" Our GM for the game was making characters use magic weapon crystals from the Magic Item Compendium to be able to crit undead.
You can find this under the Creature Types section. Specifically, if you look at the undead traits and construct traits they make no mention of being immune to critical hits or sneak attacks. However oozes, elementals, and incorporeal creatures are not subject to crits.

buddahcjcc |

![]() |

This. Maybe everybody knows this, but it surprised me when I found it out, and I've played with folks since who were surprised when I mentioned it. Maybe we missed it because it's buried in the Combat chapter and not mentioned in the Magic chapter.
Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.

![]() |

Anyone else learn anything interesting lately?
[quote=PRDStart/Complete Full-Round Action
The “start full-round action” standard action lets you start undertaking a full-round action, which you can complete in the following round by using another standard action. You can't use this action to start or complete a full attack, charge, run, or withdraw.
With the listed exception and the limit that you can do only a 5' move between the start/complete action, you can do anything with this action.
I was convinced you had to be limited in the kind of action you could use (staggered, as an example) to use it.
One weird use is with this full round action: "Use a touch spell on up to six friends".
The common reading is "you can touch up to six friends as a full round action in the round in which you cast the spell". But with the Start/complete action you can move, start the casting+touch part as a start full round action and complete it the next round.
The question now is if you can touch some friend the first round and how many.

Solusek |

If grappled, one could theoretically ready a one-handed attack against the maintaning grappler to interrupt the maintain check. If the attack hits, the damage would be counted as a penalty to the maintain roll. At least, if I understand the rules correctly.
Oh wow, if this is true it makes grappling a lot worse, I think. Seems a much better strategy than trying to escape from the grapple of an opponent you know you can't reliably make the CMB check against. But toss in an extra +20 (or whatever your damage per hit is) to that check from the big readied-action attack when they try to maintain it, and it suddenly becomes a lot easier to break free.

![]() |

Not recently learned, but have seen a couple of fairly widespread viral rules recently in my area:
1) Potions take effect immediately, regardless of what the casting time is for the original spell. For example, potion of enlarge person doesn't wait a full round to Hulk up. Likewise, potion of lesser restoration doesn't take 3 rounds.
2) Summoned creatures survive the death of the caster and remain until the expiration of the spell's duration.
Both of these were the same in 3.5.

Tiny Coffee Golem |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

This. Maybe everybody knows this, but it surprised me when I found it out, and I've played with folks since who were surprised when I mentioned it. Maybe we missed it because it's buried in the Combat chapter and not mentioned in the Magic chapter.
PRD wrote:Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.
My arcane trickster just got a lot meaner.

![]() |

Quote:So while a wizard or sorcerer can rest to regain spells a cleric has to wait for the allocated time.It is not a problem for clerics, as a wizard can't rest multiple times a day to regain multiple times his slots.
Neither can clerics. you're still limited to spells per DAY.
CRB, p.39Like other spellcasters, a cleric can cast only a certain
number of spells of each spell level per day. Her base daily
spell allotment is given on Table 3–5. In addition, she
receives bonus spells per day if she has a high Wisdom score
(see Table 1–3).

Avh |

Avh wrote:Quote:So while a wizard or sorcerer can rest to regain spells a cleric has to wait for the allocated time.It is not a problem for clerics, as a wizard can't rest multiple times a day to regain multiple times his slots.
Neither can clerics. you're still limited to spells per DAY.
CRB, p.39Like other spellcasters, a cleric can cast only a certain
number of spells of each spell level per day. Her base daily
spell allotment is given on Table 3–5. In addition, she
receives bonus spells per day if she has a high Wisdom score
(see Table 1–3).
That's why clerics are not in disavantadge comparing to wizards : each one recover their daily spell slots... well daily.

Lakesidefantasy |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

"A bard must have ranks in specific Perform categories to use some of his Bardic Performance abilities."
A bard can't use countersong or distraction if he doesn't have ranks in the right performance skill.
Some bards are more visually oriented and some are more audibly oriented, and some bards are are both.

Cheapy |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I'm amused since that's the first post in this thread :)
I'll start.
A Bard doesn't need the Perform skill. The only performances that require it are Countersong and Distraction. Inspire Courage et al don't mention it at all, and you don't even need to use your primary artform when using it. It was intentionally left ambiguous so bards didn't have to keep on playing their instrument while using the performances. It's a free action to continue the performance.