Magus enhancement on weapons


Round 3: Revised Magus Discussion


im not sure on the rules but if you have a +1 weapon and put flaming and shock onto it do the bonuses stack? would i be doing 2d6 additional damage? is that magus only or is it universal for magic weapons? i am sorry if its the wrong forum to be askin this


cryosphinx wrote:
im not sure on the rules but if you have a +1 weapon and put flaming and shock onto it do the bonuses stack? would i be doing 2d6 additional damage? is that magus only or is it universal for magic weapons? i am sorry if its the wrong forum to be askin this

Yes they stack.

Yes you would do 2d6 additional damage (1d6 fire and 1d6 electric).
Yes it applies to all magic weapons.
Yes it is the wrong forum to be asking this-try the rules questions forum.

Dark Archive

Since it says a magus adds his +s to existing enhancements, does it stack with masterworks +1 enhancement to hit?

Also can a magus use a weapon 2 handed with the channel ability (I know spell combat requires a free hand). Can you "free action grab with free hand" to get str+1/2 on damage?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Name Violation wrote:

Since it says a magus adds his +s to existing enhancements, does it stack with masterworks +1 enhancement to hit?

Also can a magus use a weapon 2 handed with the channel ability (I know spell combat requires a free hand). Can you "free action grab with free hand" to get str+1/2 on damage?

Two answer your questions in order.

1. masterwork to hit does not stack with the magical enchancement to hit as they are both the same bonus. same rule as with a normal plus weapon.

2. No.... if you use the off hand in combat AT ALL you can't spell combat. period. end of story.


LazarX wrote:
Name Violation wrote:

Since it says a magus adds his +s to existing enhancements, does it stack with masterworks +1 enhancement to hit?

Also can a magus use a weapon 2 handed with the channel ability (I know spell combat requires a free hand). Can you "free action grab with free hand" to get str+1/2 on damage?

Two answer your questions in order.

1. masterwork to hit does not stack with the magical enchancement to hit as they are both the same bonus. same rule as with a normal plus weapon.

2. No.... if you use the off hand in combat AT ALL you can't spell combat. period. end of story.

I think N.V. means Spell Strike. Cast, go to 2-handed grip, then swing, "channeling" spell thru weapon. It would seem to be allowed, just not in conjunction with Spell Combat.

Dark Archive

normal magical bonuses dont stack with masterwork bonuses since they are both enhancements and like bonuses don't stack under normal circumstances, they overlap. the magus ability specifically calls out that it stacks with any existing enchancement bonus.
That would mean a masterwork (but not already magical) weapon enhanced to +1 with the weapon bond ability would have +2 to hit (+1 from masterwork and the +1 from the ability) and +1 to damage. An already +1 weapon would become +2 hit / +2 damage since the +1 from masterwork is overlapped by standard magic rules.

spell strike, not used with spell combat, let's you deliver a melee attack instead of the free touch attack. Nothing says you need a free hand or can't 2hand a weapon. You do need a free hand to cast, but nothing says you can't add the hand to the weapon afterwards.

technically, shouldn't you have to touch the weapon with the free hand to put the spell into the weapon?

Or am I reading something wrong?


Name Violation wrote:

normal magical bonuses dont stack with masterwork bonuses since they are both enhancements and like bonuses don't stack under normal circumstances, they overlap. the magus ability specifically calls out that it stacks with any existing enchancement bonus.

That would mean a masterwork (but not already magical) weapon enhanced to +1 with the weapon bond ability would have +2 to hit (+1 from masterwork and the +1 from the ability) and +1 to damage. An already +1 weapon would become +2 hit / +2 damage since the +1 from masterwork is overlapped by standard magic rules.

That's how I read it as well - is there consensus on this point?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Patryn of Elvenshae wrote:
Name Violation wrote:

normal magical bonuses dont stack with masterwork bonuses since they are both enhancements and like bonuses don't stack under normal circumstances, they overlap. the magus ability specifically calls out that it stacks with any existing enchancement bonus.

That would mean a masterwork (but not already magical) weapon enhanced to +1 with the weapon bond ability would have +2 to hit (+1 from masterwork and the +1 from the ability) and +1 to damage. An already +1 weapon would become +2 hit / +2 damage since the +1 from masterwork is overlapped by standard magic rules.

That's how I read it as well - is there consensus on this point?

They are both enhancement bonuses they do not stack. Once you have a weaaponed magicked by any means just pretend that the masterwork bonus does not exist. the total bonus would be +1 to hit and damage.

Dark Archive

LazarX wrote:
Patryn of Elvenshae wrote:
Name Violation wrote:

normal magical bonuses dont stack with masterwork bonuses since they are both enhancements and like bonuses don't stack under normal circumstances, they overlap. the magus ability specifically calls out that it stacks with any existing enchancement bonus.

That would mean a masterwork (but not already magical) weapon enhanced to +1 with the weapon bond ability would have +2 to hit (+1 from masterwork and the +1 from the ability) and +1 to damage. An already +1 weapon would become +2 hit / +2 damage since the +1 from masterwork is overlapped by standard magic rules.

That's how I read it as well - is there consensus on this point?
They are both enhancement bonuses they do not stack. Once you have a weaaponed magicked by any means just pretend that the masterwork bonus does not exist. the total bonus would be +1 to hit and damage.

But the text "these bonuses stack with existing weapon enhancement" says enhancements stack, over riding the normal rules.

It says stacks, not overlaps. It seems like a specific exception to the general rule

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Ultimate Magic Playtest / Round 3: Revised Magus Discussion / Magus enhancement on weapons All Messageboards
Recent threads in Round 3: Revised Magus Discussion