Xavram5's page
            
             201 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.  
            
            
           | 
         
       
      
      
  
  
	
	
	
		
			
    
     
        
    
  
        
        
          
          
          
  
           
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
    
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             Per Haste (and similar language in Blessing of Fervor or Speed weapon) : 
"When making a full attack action, a hasted creature may make one extra attack with one natural or manufactured weapon. The attack is made using the creature’s full base attack bonus, plus any modifiers appropriate to the situation. (This effect is not cumulative with similar effects, such as that provided by a speed weapon, nor does it actually grant an extra action, so you can’t use it to cast a second spell or otherwise take an extra action in the round.)" 
So what is a "similar effect", other than those 3?  I know that the Monk's use of Ki to gain an extra attack DOES stack with Haste and that's been established in the FAQ. 
So which other "gain extra attack on full attack" abilities/effects DO/DON'T stack with Haste? 
Path of War's stance, Broken Blade Stance, reads as follows... 
"While in this stance, the initiator gains a competence bonus equal to his initiator level to Acrobatics checks to avoid attacks of opportunity, and may make an additional attack when making a full attack action. If the initiator is two weapon fighting, he gains this extra attack for both hands. The attack(s) uses the initiator’s full base attack bonus, plus any modifiers appropriate to the situation." 
So is this is a "similar effect" and wouldn't stack?  Or is it like the Monk's Ki ability, and WILL stack? 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             If a slayer takes a Rogue Talent or Ninja Trick with his slayer talent, the verbiage specifically says, "Any talent effects based on ninja/rogue level use the slayer’s class level". 
But in the description of when a Rogue takes a Ninja Trick, this verbiage doesn't exist.  It just talks about not being able to use Ninja Tricks that require Ki Pool, but you can still choose them. 
Is this just an oversight?  Or is it a case where if a Rogue takes a Ninja Trick, he uses his Rogue level as his Ninja level for any level based abilities of the Trick? 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             Dazed reads as... 
"The creature is unable to act normally. A dazed creature can take no actions, but has no penalty to AC." 
So, two questions. 
1.  If I am flanking with a Dazed ally, does he threaten?  Would I get the +2 Flank bonus and Sneak attack (if I had it)?  My first impulse is to say No, but want to confirm.
 
2.  This is a little more tricky.  Creature with 4 attacks goes after a character and something after the first attack causes him to become Dazed.  Does he lose the subsequent 3 attacks?  Or, since he started the Full Round action prior to becoming Dazed, do the attacks continue? 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
    
  
        
         
          
        
          
            
              
                | 
                  
                    
                        
                       1 person marked this as a favorite. 
                    
                    
                  
                 | 
               
             
           
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             My players are considering this combo, I just want to make sure it works and is legal. 
Alchemical Allocation
 
This extract causes a pale aura to emanate from your mouth.
 
If you consume a potion or elixir on the round following the consumption of this extract, you can spit it back into its container as a free action. You gain all the benefits of the potion or elixir, but it is not consumed. You can only gain the benefits of one potion or elixir in this way per use of this extract. 
Chalice of Communal Dweomer
 
Once per day, a creature can pour a potion with a duration longer than instantaneous into the chalice, then drink it as a standard action that provokes attacks of opportunity. The bearer and up to two willing allies within 30 feet gain the benefits as though they had consumed the potion; however, the duration is divided evenly between all recipients (including the bearer), rounded down to the nearest round. 
So their idea is, pour the potion into the Chalice, drink the Alchemical Allocaiton, then drink from the Chalice, then spit the potion back out, preserving the potion for later use...but the Chalice then gives the drinker and two other allies the effect of the potion. 
All square?  Is there something in here that isn't being played right?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             If I attempt a Trip CM with a +3 weapon, do I get the +3 on my trip attempt?  And if so...can someone direct me to the ruling that shows this?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
    
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             This seems like a pretty overpowered spell, especially for a 4th level spell, so I'm wondering if we're playing this right. 
"This spell transforms a creature into a Medium or smaller animal or humanoid of no more than 1 Hit Die. If you use this spell to cause the target to take on the form of an animal, the spell functions as beast shape II. If the form is that of a humanoid, the spell can function as alter self, youthful appearance, or both, such that you can transform a creature into a generic, youthful humanoid of any type."
 
"Any creature that interacts with the target of this spell must succeed at a Will saving throw (using the DC of the spell) or view the target in the most innocuous possible light. On a failed saving throw, the creature views all of the target’s actions as inoffensive and no cause for concern unless the target becomes an obvious threat. The creature can otherwise act normally, and feels no compunction to obey or ignore the target; it simply assumes none of the target’s actions are dangerous or malicious unless shown evidence that proves otherwise." 
Player casts this on the big bad NPC and poof, they're a rabbit or turtle.  End of fight. 
Can the NPC do/use any of his abilities after failing against this spell?  Or is it pretty much, fight is over, as the dragon/giant/evil wizard is now something with <10 hp and no abilities?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             I've got a Supernatural breath weapon that does Bludgeoning damage.  Would this damage an incorporeal creature?  I guess I'm not sure if its "magical" or not...?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             I know you get all the natural attacks of a creature when you BeastShape into it.  But what about the threat range of these attacks?  Some of them are clearly increased by the Feat "Improved Critical", as shown in the creature stat block.  But when you BeastShape, you don't get those feats...do you?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
            
              
                | 
                  
                    
                        
                       1 person marked this as a favorite. 
                    
                    
                  
                 | 
               
             
           
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             Recincarnate says "all physical ills and afflictions are repaired".  Character in question got hit with a Feeblemind spell prior to dying.  Would his new body still have the Feeblemind on it?  Or would that be covered as a "physical ill or affliction"?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             Item reads... 
Ankh Talisman: This cross has a loop at the top. When a living creature wears it as a talisman, it radiates a soft, golden glow. When the wearer is hit by a creature with the energy drain ability, he receives a saving throw to negate the energy drain, using the DC listed for the ability (which usually determines whether temporary negative levels become permanent). If the creature’s energy drain allows an initial saving throw, the talisman grants a second saving throw if the wearer fails his initial saving throw. If he succeeds at the saving throw granted by the talisman, the talisman releases a blast of force that automatically hits the attacker (as per force punch). Moderate necromancy; CL 7th; death ward, force punch. 
So the question is, would this protect someone from an Enervation spell being cast on them?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             Does Lesser Resto remove all 3 stat penalties applied by Touch of Idiocy? 
Shortest question I've ever asked...:)   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             Player is flying 5-10 feet off the ground.  My Gargantuan creature wants to move through his square with a Trample or Overrun manuever.   
Does this work normally vs the flying creature?  The big creature is moving through his squares but I know PF gets a little fuzzy on how it handles 3d dimensions :) 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
    
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             So a player who is Tiny (Halfling with permanent Reduce Person on him) is going to cast Fey Form to change into a Diminutive Fey. 
According to Transform/Polymorph rules... 
"If a polymorph spell is cast on a creature that is smaller than Small or larger than Medium, first adjust its ability scores to one of these two sizes using the following table before applying the bonuses granted by the polymorph spell. (see Table: Ability Adjustments from Size Changes)" 
For a Tiny going To Small, says he should get a +4 on Str and -2 on Dex. 
Then, from Fey Form III, for Diminutive, he gets a +8 to Dex and -4 to Str. 
So a net result of +6 to Dex, +0 to Str....er...is this right? 
What makes this totally blow my mind is that if he was a Small creature using this spell, he'd just get a +8 to Dex and -4 to Str!   
Are we doing this right?  And then for either of these sizes, because they're going from Small to Diminutive, would pick up the +2/-2 for To Hit/AC and CMB/CMD respectively. 
Do I have this all correct?  Or are we missing something? 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             So a player charges a Large creature that has 10 foot Reach and the Grab ability.  
 
Before the player can make his attack (assumes player has 5 foot reach), the creature gets an AoO and hits.  Because of Grab, it gets a free Grapple check and lands the Grapple check.  So both the player and creature are now grappled and the player is pulled adjacent to the creature, via the Grapple rules. 
1.  Does the player still get to complete his charge attack?
 
2.  If the player was using a 2H weapon, does he still get to attack with that weapon, even though he is grappled?
 
3.  If the player DOESN'T get to finish the attack with a 2H weapon, can he drop the weapon and attack with another readied weapon (Spiked Gauntlet, for example)?  
Obviously, this has come up several times at our table...honestly, it comes up almost every night and we can't seem to find a consensus is to what the exact right ruling is.  So thanks for any clarification!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
    
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             Plant/Beast shape give you different powers/abilities at the different levels, as well as larger shapes you can change into.  
But if you had say, Plant Shape III, could you use it to turn into a Large Plant (which is Plant Shape II) but still get the Damage Reduction, Regeneration, and Trample abilities of Plant Shape III? 
The spells read... 
Plant Shape II
 
School transmutation (polymorph); Level alchemist 6, sorcerer/wizard 6 
DESCRIPTION 
This spell functions as plant shape I except that it also allows you to assume the form of a Large creature of the plant type. If the creature has immunity or resistance to any elements, you gain energy resistance 20 to those elements. If the creature has vulnerabilty to an element, you gain that vulnerabilty. 
Large plant: If the form you take is that of a Large plant, you gain a +4 size bonus to your Strength, a +2 size bonus to your Constitution, and a +4 natural armor bonus. 
Plant Shape III
 
School transmutation (polymorph); Level sorcerer/wizard 7 
DESCRIPTION 
This spell functions as plant shape II except that it also allows you to assume the form of a Huge creature of the plant type. If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, you gain the listed ability: Damage Reduction, regeneration 5, and trample. 
Huge plant: If the form you take is that of a Huge plant, you gain a +8 size bonus to your Strength, a -2 penalty to your Dexterity, a +4 size bonus to your Constitution, and a +6 natural armor bonus. 
It the line that says, "...the form of a Huge creature of the plant type. If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, you gain blah blah blah". 
So if there's a Large Plant with Regeneration/DR, do you gain those abilities via Plant Shape III, even though you're going Large instead of Huge?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             So pretty simple scenario, came up last night.  The Druid got swallowed by the T-Rex...and then the T-Rex got killed. 
What happens to the Druid in its gullet?  Does she take take damage each round she remains swallowed?  Can other players outside of the dead dino cut her out?  How long does that take? 
Or is it typically played as, "Once swallower is dead, any swallowed targets just get a free escape"?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             so this is a weird combo my player wants to use. 
Arcane Enlightment Hex gets him 2 Arcane spells a day. 
The Shield of the Mage is an intelligent shield that basically can cast, every round, (randomly) any arcane spells he knows. 
So he takes Fly and Haste as his two Arcane spells...and now, the entire party is pretty much permanently Hasted and Flying.  Or Fireball and Lightning Bolt and now, since the intelligent shield is casting on its own (without the player having to use an action), they're getting off an 11th AoE damage spell, free, every other round. 
This seems a bit overpowered, for the combination of a class ability and a 14k item. 
What do folks think about this?  And yes, he took a feat/class dip so that his Shaman can use a shield.   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
    
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             From the Lore spirt 
Arcane Enlightenment (Su): The shaman’s native intelligence grants her the ability to tap into arcane lore. The shaman can add a number of spells from the sorcerer/wizard spell list equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 1) to the list of shaman spells she can prepare. To cast these spells she must have an Intelligence score equal to at least 10 + the spell’s level, but the saving throw DCs of these spells are based on her Wisdom rather than Intelligence. When she casts these spells, they are treated as divine rather than arcane. Each time the shaman gains a level after taking this hex, she can choose to replace one of these spells for a new spell on the wizard/sorcerer spell list. 
Two questions regarding this. 
1.  The shaman picks this as his Wandering Hex for a day.  When he first does this, he picks arcane spells that he can memorize.  Lets say 3 days later, he's picked other wandering hexes in between, then picks this one again.  Does he original list of arcane spells still apply?  Or does he pick a brand new list of spells equal to charisma?  Note that he has not leveled up between the first time he picked the hex and this latest time.
 
2.  Same thing, picks this as Wandering hex, then next day, picks a new Wandering Hex.  But he didn't use all the arcane spells from the previous day.  Could he still cast them or does he need to have the Hex to actually cast the spells?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             I know that Undead have immunity to Negative Energy...does anyone have immunity to Positive Energy?  Is that a given for normal, living creatures?  Or does it have to have a specific immunity to it?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             I think we might have been playing this wrong, so looking for confirmation. 
If you use Wildshape/Beastshape to change into a creature that has NO land speed (say, an aquatic creature that only has a Swim speed), can you move at all on land?   
Giant Octopus has come up, but it has a land speed of 20...but our Druid has been moving at HER base speed.  Is that correct?  Or should she only be moving at 20?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             I know that when a creature with a weapon has, say, cold damage on the weapon, that damage isn't multiplied on a critical hit. 
But what if its a natural attack, where the ONLY damage is energy damage?  There's a giant slug with a 3d6 acidic spit touch attack...does this multiply on a critical hit?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             So if a Druid is using a Shield/Buckler and uses Wildshape to turn into an animal, does he still get the shield bonus?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             I know that if a weapon is +3, it bypasses Cold Iron. 
What if its a +2 weapon that's Flaming?  Does the "+1" part of the Flaming count in for getting the total bonus to penetrate DR? 
Seems pretty simple but I can't find a hard and fast rule on this.   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             One of my players is a Druid and likes the Giant Octopus shape.  He and I were were wondering what the rules are for Grabbing/Maintaining a Grapple on multiple opponents at the same time.
 
1.  Can he do this?
 
2.  If he can, does he make one roll to maintain the grapple on his turn, to maintain on ALL targets?  Is there a penalty for this?
 
3.  Is this just limited by how many limbs he has? 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
    
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             I'm sure this has come up somewhere but couldn't find it in search. 
The bonuses you get for Rage are all morale bonuses, so how do they stack with other morale bonuses? 
Rage : While in rage, a barbarian gains a +4 morale bonus to her Strength and Constitution, as well as a +2 morale bonus on Will saves. 
So, fine...do these morale bonuses stack with the morale bonuses on something like the Battlecry feat? 
Battlecry :  number of times per day equal to your Charisma bonus, you can let out a battle cry as a swift action. When you do, allies within 30 feet who can hear you gain a +1 morale bonus on attack rolls and a +4 morale bonus on saving throws against fear. This effect lasts for 1 minute. 
I "think" the to hit bonus should stack...but what about the saving throw?  While Raging, would a Barb effected by Battlecry get a +6 vs fear? 
Also, the rage power Superstition... 
Benefit: The barbarian gains a +2 morale bonus on saving throws made to resist spells, supernatural abilities, and spell-like abilities. 
So would THAT stack with the +2 morale bonus to Will saves that they get while Raging?  or not?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             There are lots of base class/archtype abilities out there that, later in the class levels, get a "Greater" or "Improved" version of it. 
Examples : 
 
Inquistor : Bane/Greater Bane
 
Magus : Spell Combat/Improved Spell Combat
 
Summoner : Shield Ally/Greater Shield Ally 
There are LOTS of these out there and my question is, if you take an ability that replaces the "Base" of one of these, what happens when you hit the level where you get the "Greater" version?  Do you get the "Greater" version?  or only the "Base"?  Or is it "ability specific"? 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
    
  
        
         
          
        
          
            
              
                | 
                  
                    
                        
                       1 person marked this as a favorite. 
                    
                    
                  
                 | 
               
             
           
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             A friend and I are having an argument over this.  He is saying that there is no distinction between these two things, Rage Class Feature and Rage Power Class Feature.  I say they are two seperate things. 
I pointed out the difference between the Pre-reqs on feats Gore Fiend and Extra Rage Power 
Gore Fiend
 
Prerequisites: Half-orc or orc, rage class feature. 
Extra Rage Power
 
Prerequisite: Rage power class feature. 
I think the reason he's pushing back on this is because he has a Primalist Bloodrager and that archtype gives access to Rage Powers...but explicitly says this does not give the character the "Rage Power class feature" 
Primalist:
 
Primal Choices: At 4th level and every 4 levels thereafter, a primalist can choose to take either his bloodline power or two barbarian rage powers. If the primalist chooses rage powers, those rage powers can be used in conjunction with his bloodrage, and his bloodrager level acts as his barbarian level when determining the effect of those bloodrage powers and any prerequisites. Any other prerequisites for a rage power must be met before a primalist can choose it. This ability does not count as the rage power class feature for determining feat prerequisites and other requirements. 
I'm referring to the last sentence here, "This ability does not count as the rage power class feature for determing feat prerequisities" 
Am I missing something here?  Seems that "Rage" and "Rage Power" are two seperate class features and Primalist does NOT allow a character to select feats like "Extra Rage Power". 
Can anyone/more than one person confirm what is the correct ruling on this?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             BoF specially says, "Blessings of Fervor does not stack with Haste"...but what are the actual ramifications about this statement? 
If you have both spells on a target, and they choose the "+2 to attack, dodge, and reflex saves" options on their turn, I get that they would only get the +2 to Attack/Dodge/Reflex and not +3 (since they wouldn't get the +1 from haste for these). 
But what about the extra attack given on a full round attack by Haste?  They still get that right?  So isn't that basically "half the benefit of Haste, and all the benefit of Bof"?  And if so, isn't that essentially "stacking" the two spells? 
It came up last night in our session and no one could really say the definitive "right" way to play the situation. 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             I thought the rule was, take the base price of the most expensive power, then take the second one and increase it by 50% and add to base. 
But what about a 3rd power? 
Take this example 
start with Feather Step Slippers (2k)...add in Daredevil Softpaw Boots (1400, so 2100)...and then add in Boots of the Cat (1k, so 1500)...2000 + 2100 + 1500...5600 gp for that item. 
Am I missing some rule here?  Or is that correct?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             There are lots abilities that improve a "weapon" but how do you determine if there's a distinction between a weapon (sword, mace, bow) vs a natural weapon (claw, bite, slam)?  I know that the Magic Weapon spell vs Magic Fang spell call this out very distinctly and a Monk's unarmed attacks are considered both...but what about something like this, Warpriest's "Good" Blessing... 
Holy Strike (minor): At 1st level, you can touch one weapon and bless it with the power of purity and goodness. For 1 minute, this weapon glows green, white, or yellow-gold and deals an additional 1d6 points of damage against evil creatures. During this time, it’s treated as good for the purposes of overcoming damage reduction. This additional damage doesn’t stack with the additional damage from the holy weapon special ability. 
Can this be used on something to improve its Bite or Claw attacks? 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             So I've got a Druid in our party and he just started using Wildshape.  My question is, while I know he gets the attacks of the creature he transforms into that creature. 
But what about the attacks to hit and damage bonus?  And what about "normal" rules for size adjustment? 
Examples : 
Turns into a Deinonychus, which has the following attacks.
 
2 talons +5 (1d8+2), bite +5 (1d6+2), foreclaws +0 (1d4+1) 
But...this assumes the dino's Str of 15.  Our Druid has a strength of only 10, so would these attacks instead be...
 
2 talons +3 (1d8+0), bite +3 (1d6+0), foreclaws -2 (1d4-1) 
Also, if you turn into a Small creature, do you get the normal Small bonus of +1 to hit and +1 to AC?  BeastShape I just says, "If the form you take is that of a Small animal, you gain a +2 size bonus to your Dexterity and a +1 natural armor bonus."  So is that the ONLY bonus they get or do you have to factor in the normal size bonus/penalties (If Large, do they get a -1 to hit and -1 to AC)? 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
    
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             There seems to be a lot of ambiguity on the Prestige classes, regarding whether you just gain additional spells per day or all associated abilities regarding spell casting from your original class (do they stack?).  Some Prestige classes spell it out very specifically, some it seems awfully vague. 
A player is looking at the Stargazer PC and is wondering what stacks with his Cleric levels or not.  Under spells per day it just says,  
"+1 level of existing spellcasting class" 
...but its clearly not all abilities of his original Cleric levels, because later on, when you pick a Sidereal Arcana, one option says... 
The Mother: Whenever the stargazer casts a cure spell, casts breath of life, or uses the healing hex, he adds twice his class level to the hit points restored. If the stargazer is a cleric with channel positive energy, his stargazer levels stack with his cleric levels to determine its effects. 
...so clearly channel wouldn't stack/increase unless you took this. 
So how can you tell if its just "increase in spells per day"...or if its, "learn new spell levels as original class" or whatever?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             So if a target has both Blur/Displacement on it and Mirror Images, which should be checked first?  The % miss chance...or hitting/not hitting the images?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             So if a target has both Blur/Displacement on it and Mirror Images, which should be checked first?  The % miss chance...or hitting/not hitting the images?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             If you have this situation, where a Touch attack is being resolved against a target that is currently Flat Footed...which AC on the target do you use to resolve the attack?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
    
  
        
         
          
        
          
            
              
                | 
                  
                    
                        
                       1 person marked this as a favorite. 
                    
                    
                  
                 | 
               
             
           
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             So, trying to make sure we're doing this right. 
From Sythnesist Archtype...
 
"The synthesist gains the eidolon’s hit points as temporary hit points. When these hit points reach 0, the eidolon is killed and sent back to its home plane." 
And then, from temporary hit points, in the Combat section of the rules...
 
"Certain effects give a character temporary hit points. These hit points are in addition to the character’s current hit point total and any damage taken by the character is subtracted from these hit points first. Any damage in excess of a character’s temporary hit points is applied to his current hit points as normal. If the effect that grants the temporary hit points ends or is dispelled, any remaining temporary hit points go away. The damage they sustained is not transferred to the character’s current hit points. 
When temporary hit points are lost, they cannot be restored as real hit points can be, even by magic." 
Note the last line..."they cannot be restored as real hit points can be, even by magic.". 
So what does this mean for the Synthesist?  While fused to his Eidolon, can the temporary hit points granted by it be healed?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             I thought this was pretty much "Yes, you are considered your own ally" and then I was directed to this trait by a friend... 
Community Minded (Regional)
 
Benefit(s): Any morale bonuses you confer upon your allies through your own abilities or spells last 2 additional rounds. 
If you are your own ally, then this would apply to any Morale bonuses you confer to yourself. 
What about Rage?  If you have this, you could Rage for 1 round, turn it off...but still get all the bonuses of Rage for 2 more rounds...without the penalties to AC or actions.  I know you'd be Fatigued but that seems like a small price to pay for adding extra rounds to every Rage. 
Most combat don't take but 3-5 rounds, so this is quite the game changer...for a Trait at that! 
Thoughts?  Am I unaware of something else going on here?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             It reads as so... 
Starting Statistics 
Size: When summoned, an avian eidolon is Small unless it spends 2 points from its evolution pool. At 5th level, a Medium or larger avian eidolon’s flight speed increases by 40 feet, as if it had 2 more points in the flight evolution; Speed 30 ft., fly 30 ft. (good); AC +2 natural armor; Saves Fort (bad), Ref (good), Will (good); Attacks 2 claws (1d3); Ability Scores Str 12, Dex 16, Con 13, Int 7, Wis 10, Cha 11. 
Free Evolutions 
Claws, flight, limbs (legs). 
So my player had a question... 
When its summoned, it says its Small.  Do ALL these stats reflect the Small size already?  Or do we need to take these stats and THEN apply the Small modifiers (-4 to Str, +2 to Dex, -2 to Con, etc, etc)? 
Thank you!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             the spell Locate Weakness says you get to re-roll your damage dice on a critical hit, "but not extra or precision damage dice". 
What about Vital Strike?  Would you re-roll the damage from that?  By "extra", I thought the spell mean like from Flaming or Icy burst and precision is typically Sneak Attack damage. 
But Vital Strike is considered the weapon damage dice, isn't it?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             Just wondernig if multiple size bonuses stack, without changing a creature's actual size. 
For example...you have an Impact weapon and have Lead Blades casted on you.  Or you have Strong Jaw casted on a monk who has Stonefist gloves.  Do you just take the highest bonus or would you attack with as something 2 or more size classes larger? 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             So, I know that if a physical attack has poison or a stun effect and does not get past a targets DR, the secondary effect does not get applied. 
But what about Energy Resistance?  I could have sworn that it was rules the same way but I cannot find the actual rule. 
If I have Energy Resistance (natural ability, NOT the spell...so say, some winter creature with this) Cold 20 and get hit with Frigid Touch and the damage does not get past the 20...is the dragon staggered, even though he took no damage? 
If the answer is yes, what about full on Immunity?  White Dragon is IMMUNE to cold...but would still get staggered by the spell?  That seems wrong to me. 
Thoughts?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             If our mage casts Rope Trick and climbs up into the space, can we tie the other end of the rope to say, the saddle of a horse and we continue travelling? 
He wants some quiet time away from the party...:)   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             Can a player create a magic item with a caster level higher than their own?  One of our players is talking about wanting to make a Meta Magic Rod, the Lesser Dazing one.  Look at it, it says that its a Caster Level 17 item...but he's only 10th level. 
Can he do this?  If he can, is there a penalty to trying to create it? 
Also, in "normal" non-magical crafting, it says you can add 5 to the DC to cut the time in half...can you do this for Magic Items?  No where in the rules for magic item creation do I see this rule, but the player is saying it exists.  I'm not sure that they're not combining the two types of "crafting", which have VERY different rules for how long things take. 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             Rules say, "move at half speed while tumbling" but my group is wondering...is this during the WHOLE movement action, or just while leaving the threatened squares/occupied squares. 
example :  If your character has a move of 30, could he move 10 feet, tumble out of one threatened square (using up another 10 feet of movement), and then more normally another 10 feet?   
Or, if he's going to tumble DURING the movement, does he only have 15 feet of movement to use? 
Thanks!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             A player asked me if, in between attacks of a full round action, he could perform a Swift action.  I honestly had no idea what the ruling should be on this.  Thoughts?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
    
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             I know the Resistance from Energy does not protect from negative side effects, but Protection from Energy does.  However, do either of these protect against high temperature situations, like described in the envrironmental rules? 
In severe heat (above 110° F), a character must make a Fortitude save once every 10 minutes (DC 15, +1 for each previous check) or take 1d4 points of nonlethal damage. Characters wearing heavy clothing or armor of any sort take a –4 penalty on their saves. A character with the Survival skill may receive a bonus on this saving throw and might be able to apply this bonus to other characters as well (see the Survival skill in Using Skills). Characters reduced to unconsciousness begin taking lethal damage (1d4 points per each 10-minute period). 
A character who takes any nonlethal damage from heat exposure now suffers from heatstroke and is fatigued. These penalties end when the character recovers from the nonlethal damage she took from the heat. 
Extreme heat (air temperature over 140° F, fire, boiling water, lava) deals lethal damage. Breathing air in these temperatures deals 1d6 points of fire damage per minute (no save). In addition, a character must make a Fortitude save every 5 minutes (DC 15, +1 per previous check) or take 1d4 points of nonlethal damage. Those wearing heavy clothing or any sort of armor take a –4 penalty on their saves. 
Would a character with Resist/Protection from Energy be submitted to these rules?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             I know that Deeper Darkness can create "magical" darkness that even Darkvision can't see through when its cast in an area that's already Dim light or darkness.   
What I notice is that there are a lot of creatures out there that can cast this but who only have Darkvision.  Aren't they effectively blinding themselves if they cast this in this circumstance?  Am I missing something?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             I realize that if you're using a Reach weapon (Glaive, for example) and you're right next to a Medium sized opponent, you cannot attack him. 
But what a Large creature?  Can you attack one of the squares for the Large creature that is 10 feet away?   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
  
  
    
      
      
	
	
		
	
	
		
			
        
          
            
            
              
            
          
            
            
              
                
  
    
      
        
  
  
        
         
          
        
          
          
            
              
              
                
                    
                
                
              
            
             1.  An alchemist uses Vital Strike with a thrown bomb that does 3d6.  He would only get an extra 1d6 of damage from Vital Strike, right?  Because the additional bomb damage is "special"?
 
2.  An alchemist fires a bow and using Explosive missible, attaches his 3d6 damage bomb to it.  Using Vital strike, what would the damage be?  2d8 for the bow and 4d6 for the bomb?
 
3.  A grenadier alchemist using his alchemical weapon to attach a Alchemist fire to an arrow and uses Vital Strike to attack with it...damage would be?  Now I'm lost....
 
4.  Finally, the grendaier alchemist uses Explosive Missile AND attaches Alchemist fire to it as well...help!   
           
         
       
    
  
 
              
            
          
         
      
		 
	
	
	
	 
    
  
 
          
  
        
        
        
        
        
        
        
        
        
        
       
  
		 
	
	
	
	 
 
    
   
								
							
						 |