Xavram5's page

116 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 116 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Yes, he's looking for a way to Craft in peace and quiet, while the rest of us are traveling, hauling him along without disturbing him.

K, so Mirror Hideway, Rope Trick, and Bags of Holding are out (no air)....any other ideas?


If our mage casts Rope Trick and climbs up into the space, can we tie the other end of the rope to say, the saddle of a horse and we continue travelling?

He wants some quiet time away from the party...:)


thanks for the clarification!


Can a player create a magic item with a caster level higher than their own? One of our players is talking about wanting to make a Meta Magic Rod, the Lesser Dazing one. Look at it, it says that its a Caster Level 17 item...but he's only 10th level.

Can he do this? If he can, is there a penalty to trying to create it?

Also, in "normal" non-magical crafting, it says you can add 5 to the DC to cut the time in half...can you do this for Magic Items? No where in the rules for magic item creation do I see this rule, but the player is saying it exists. I'm not sure that they're not combining the two types of "crafting", which have VERY different rules for how long things take.

Thanks!


So, so far, no consensus or any citing of any actual rule that defines it...


Rules say, "move at half speed while tumbling" but my group is wondering...is this during the WHOLE movement action, or just while leaving the threatened squares/occupied squares.

example : If your character has a move of 30, could he move 10 feet, tumble out of one threatened square (using up another 10 feet of movement), and then more normally another 10 feet?

Or, if he's going to tumble DURING the movement, does he only have 15 feet of movement to use?

Thanks!


A player asked me if, in between attacks of a full round action, he could perform a Swift action. I honestly had no idea what the ruling should be on this. Thoughts?


I know the Resistance from Energy does not protect from negative side effects, but Protection from Energy does. However, do either of these protect against high temperature situations, like described in the envrironmental rules?

In severe heat (above 110° F), a character must make a Fortitude save once every 10 minutes (DC 15, +1 for each previous check) or take 1d4 points of nonlethal damage. Characters wearing heavy clothing or armor of any sort take a –4 penalty on their saves. A character with the Survival skill may receive a bonus on this saving throw and might be able to apply this bonus to other characters as well (see the Survival skill in Using Skills). Characters reduced to unconsciousness begin taking lethal damage (1d4 points per each 10-minute period).

A character who takes any nonlethal damage from heat exposure now suffers from heatstroke and is fatigued. These penalties end when the character recovers from the nonlethal damage she took from the heat.

Extreme heat (air temperature over 140° F, fire, boiling water, lava) deals lethal damage. Breathing air in these temperatures deals 1d6 points of fire damage per minute (no save). In addition, a character must make a Fortitude save every 5 minutes (DC 15, +1 per previous check) or take 1d4 points of nonlethal damage. Those wearing heavy clothing or any sort of armor take a –4 penalty on their saves.

Would a character with Resist/Protection from Energy be submitted to these rules?


Sorry to revive this but I had a question regarding the reduction of speed penalty. When does this go away? At the end of the spell's duration?


I know that Deeper Darkness can create "magical" darkness that even Darkvision can't see through when its cast in an area that's already Dim light or darkness.

What I notice is that there are a lot of creatures out there that can cast this but who only have Darkvision. Aren't they effectively blinding themselves if they cast this in this circumstance? Am I missing something?


I realize that if you're using a Reach weapon (Glaive, for example) and you're right next to a Medium sized opponent, you cannot attack him.

But what a Large creature? Can you attack one of the squares for the Large creature that is 10 feet away?


Okay, fair enough...hehe, I figured it sounded a bit too good!


1. An alchemist uses Vital Strike with a thrown bomb that does 3d6. He would only get an extra 1d6 of damage from Vital Strike, right? Because the additional bomb damage is "special"?
2. An alchemist fires a bow and using Explosive missible, attaches his 3d6 damage bomb to it. Using Vital strike, what would the damage be? 2d8 for the bow and 4d6 for the bomb?
3. A grenadier alchemist using his alchemical weapon to attach a Alchemist fire to an arrow and uses Vital Strike to attack with it...damage would be? Now I'm lost....
4. Finally, the grendaier alchemist uses Explosive Missile AND attaches Alchemist fire to it as well...help!


Now was that using "Drag" or "Reposition"? Because there are different mechanics involved there, Drag you actually move as well as the ally you're moving.

And should this provoke? I know that both of these say, "unless you have the Greater Feat, movement does not provoke" but this seems like a really cheap way to move the fighter who's getting his butt kicked away from the bad guy, with no threat to either the "puller" or the fighter who's being moved.


Can you use the Reposition combat manuever to move a willing ally to a different square? Seems like if you can use this on someone actively opposing you, you should be able to drag a buddy out of harms way.


If you act before someone else in combat, you get to attack their Flat Footed AC (IE, they get no Dex bonus, assuming they don't have Uncanny Dodge or something like that). What happens if you're using a Touch attack? Should your attack resolve against their Touch AC MINUS any Dex/Dodge bonuses they might have had?

This seems to make sense to me but just wanted to be sure. Example.

Target has AC 20, 10 from base, 7 from armor, 3 from Dex. So their Touch AC would 13, their Flat Footed would be 17. But if you were making a Touch attack against them WHILE they were Flat Footed, shouldn't it resolve against an AC of 10?


If a character that isn't skilled in Shields gains the Weapon Proficiency Feat with a Klar, does this allow him to use it as a shield and gain the shield bonus for it (as a light shield)? Or does he need to also have


thanks, kinda of figured this was the case but thought I would ask in case someone knew of something I was overlooking.


Is there any Feat/Ability that a character can gain to use his Dex bonus for the damage bonus for ranged weapons? I know that the Agile weapon enchantment can do this for melee weapons and that a Gunslinger get "Gun Training" that does that...but what about non-gunslingers? Any way to pull this off?


Gotta ask, how did you get Vicious Stomp at 1st level? Its not on the list of bonus feats for Monks, not as far as I know.


Well, Abundant Ammunition relies on your Gunslinger have a buddy around who can cast that...and at minutes per level, it really only good for one fight.

Can you point me in the direction of which Deeds your talking about?


Since advanced firearms use cartridges which go for 15 gp each, a Gunslinger can make these for 7.5 gold.

But wow, won't the Gunslinger go broke trying to keep up with this? Basically paying 8 gold pieces every time you fire your weapon, seems like there is no way they could keep up with this kind of financial penalty.

Am i missing something obvious? Or are they just screwed?


At 6th level, the Life Oracle gets "Neutralize Poison" as a mystery spell. But this is listed as a 4th level Oracle spell and at 6th level, Oracles only get 3rd level spells. So how does this work, what spell slot gets used when you cast this?


Got it, k, will keep that in mind for upcoming encounter...


If an invisible creature casts greater Dispell Magic as an area effect, does this break its invisiblity? There is no save, no attack roll, so that's why I'm asking.


I don't see anything in there about things like Spells or Breath Weapons being affected by the high winds. Does that fall under the category of "magical effects aren't subject to regular physics" or do folks use house rules for those situations?


That was EXACTLY what I was looking for, didn't know it was there! Thank you!


I was looking at the Fly skill and the table that deals with creatures being Checked or Blown Away based on high wind conditions.

If there a rule about ranged weapons in these conditions? Seems like shooting a bow in 60 mph winds would have some kind of penalty associated with it but I can't find a hard rule about this.

Thanks!


Can a Devourer use its "Devour Soul" touch attack as an attack of opportunity? I'm leaning towards "No" but would like confirmation on this...


Spell says...

You surround yourself in a whirling barrier of force that sends any attack that misses you hurling back toward its source. This applies to any melee or ranged attack directed against you so long as it uses an attack roll to determine whether or not it strikes you. If an attack misses you, the attacker must make a second attack roll against its own Armor Class, using all of the applicable modifiers of the original attack and if it hits, the attacker takes the attack's damage and suffers all the other consequences of getting struck with that attack. You cannot deflect attacks that miss you for any reason besides a failed attack roll (such as concealment). Similarly, you cannot deflect attacks that actually do strike you but simply fail to do any harm.

So you miss someone who is protected by the spell, roll a d20...and roll a natural 20 (or whatever the threat range is for your weapon). Can you critical yourself if you confirm the critical with a 2nd roll???


So, Haunts have this in their description...

All primary effects created by a haunt are mind-affecting fear effects, even those that actually produce physical effects. Immunity to fear grants immunity to a haunt's direct effects, but not to secondary effects that arise as a result of the haunt's attack.

...so I've been allowing an of my players who have bonuses against "Mind Effects" or "Fear" to add those bonuses in. Seems correct to me.

Last night, a haunt hit the party and someone failed their save. The effect was a Confusion spell. The bard, an Arcane Duellist, used his Rallying Cry to break the confusion. Rallying Cry reads...

At 1st level, an arcane duelist can use performance to rally dispirited allies. Each round he makes an Intimidate check. Any ally (including the bard) within 30 feet may use this check in place of his own saving throw against fear and despair effects. Those already under a fear or despair effect can attempt a new save each round using the bard’s Intimidate check. Rallying cry does not work on effects that don’t allow saves. This is a mind-affecting ability that uses audible components.

...I allowed this but in hindsight, I'm not sure I should have. If this does work, then this makes Rallying Cry like the be-all, end-all ability vs Haunts, since it can counter them all, especially if the Bard has a decent Intimidate roll.

What's the correct way to rule this?


Pretty straightforward, someone failed both their Will save and Fort save vs Phantasmal Killer, so they died. Cleric was right next to them and used Breath of Life. BoL says it doesn't work against "Death Effects" but PK isn't listed as a Death Effect, its an illusion.

So does Breath of Life work in this scenario?


The Hover Feat says...

If a creature of size Large or larger with this feat hovers within 20 feet of the ground in an area with lots of loose debris, the draft from its wings creates a hemispherical cloud with a radius of 60 feet. The winds generated can snuff torches, small campfires, exposed lanterns, and other small, open flames of non-magical origin. Clear vision within the cloud is limited to 10 feet. Creatures have concealment at 15 to 20 feet (20% miss chance). At 25 feet or more, creatures have total concealment (50% miss chance, and opponents cannot use sight to locate the creature).

So does this concealment only effect creatures on the ground? Or does the hovering creature get effecting, meaning it cannot see opponents 25 or more feet away? I guess I'm wondering if its "above the cloud" or something like that.


cheechako wrote:
Xavram5 wrote:
Character with Boots of Striding and Springing has a base speed of 30, up to 40 with the boots.

No. The character has a base speed of 30. When he puts on the boots, he gets an enhancement bonus of +10. AFAIK, this does not change the base speed. So it is more math, but I think exhaustion modifies the base speed and then the enhancement bonus applies. Like Bandw2 said, it is magic.

Now, as far as Blessing of Fervor, it is not clear as to where the +30 comes from. The text in the spell description says "increase speed". To me, that means "increase base speed".

Thus a character is blessed to be faster overall, and is then exhausted to half-speed. Or, a character is exhausted to half-speed, and then magically increases their speed with boots.

So you would think that the character with boots, while Exhausted, would move at 25 (30/2, then add +10)? The boots give an Enhancement bonus, same as a Monk's Fast Movement. So a 20th level monk, normally an 80 move (+50 enhancement), would only be "reduced" to 65 (30/2, then add +50)?

I'm not buying that argument...


Oh, the difference between 30 and 45 was VERY significant (at least in the players eyes), since he was trying to chase down a caster with a 40 move...:)


Well, if you do it based on enhancement bonus, the consider this...

Character with Boots of Striding and Springing has a base speed of 30, up to 40 with the boots. He becomes exhausted. If you do it based on enhancement bonus (which the boots are), then his speed would be 25 (30 / 2 for exhaution, then +10 for boots). Can you see any GM doing it this way? I certainly couldn't.

I think the rule is probably one way or the other, but would really like to know which! Certainly the easiest/simplest way is, "apply all bonuses first, then apply the exhaustion penalty". Otherwise, you're getting into, which goes first, on in THIS case its this one and in THIS case it comes after. Sounds like a big PITA to me...


So, ran into this last night.

1. Player becomes exhausted, so moves at half speed. Had a base speed of 30, so now only 15.
2. Player then gets Blessing of Fervor cast on them and chooses the "+30 to speed" option for the round.

The player said they should have a speed of 45, that the exhaustion penalty should happen first, then the BoF bonus. I ruled that the BoF bonus would be applied first, then the exhaustion penalty, resulting in a speed of 30.

Who is right and is there a source that can be referenced for this?


Gotcha, thank you all, that makes much more sense now!

And sorry, shouldn't have used Halbred as the example..."Polearm with reach" was what I meant


lol, so what determines if its 15 or 20?


Most large creatures get a 10 foot reach, what reach does an Ogre with a Halbred get? 15 or 20?


1. Can you use Power Attack in combination with a Sunder attempt?
2. Can you make a Sunder attempt in place of an Attack of Opportunity?


Ah, okay, so his gear is gone, which is a big deal.

I was thinking, "Wow, he'll use this every time there's a big fight that will be melee heavy, 6 more AC, weapon does more damage, etc, etc". Thanks for clarifying this, now its not so overwhelming!


If you cast Elemental Body IV, it says (for Water)...

Water elemental: As elemental body I except that you gain a +4 size bonus to your Strength, a -2 penalty on your Dexterity, a +8 size bonus to your Constitution, and a +6 natural armor bonus. You also gain swim 120 feet.

My question is, do you keep all your normal attacks, spell casting abilities, etc, etc when you do this? I have a player who just gained this with his "cleric who thinks he's a fighter" character and it seems like a really good ability for him IF he still keeps his regular attacks, spells and abilities.

If I'm reading this right, he could become Huge, gain reach, have his weapon increase two size classes, gain a +2 to Hit/Daamage, a whole mess of HP, and a whopping +6 to his AC. That's pretty badass.

Which makes me think, there's gotta be a downside...:)


Human is in darkness (normal vision), standing next to a ghoul (who has darkvision).

1. Is the ghoul considered to be invisible?
2. Is the human considered to be blinded?
3. If neither of these are correct, what penalties would apply to the human and what bonuses for the ghoul?


I see a lot of posts regarding these and some conflicting info. If someone can answer this one question, that will get me pointed down the right path.

First Blast : 3rd level effect
Target : Burst
If Boost Meta word is used on a Burst Target, the rules say...

Boost: The spell affects everything in a 20-foot-radius burst. Its range increases to medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level). Boosting this target word increases its level by 2.

So, does this mean its a 5th level spell? If so, wow, horrible, you've got a Fireball spell at 5th instead of 3rd level. Or does it just mean the TARGET word now has a minimum caster level of 3?

Similar issue on the SELECTED target word, but the boost is worded differently.

Boost: Instead of one target, the wordspell affects up to one target per caster level, no two of which can be more than 30 feet apart. The range increases to medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./ level). If used with an effect word that deals energy damage, the wordcaster must make multiple ray attacks for each target (they cannot be made as melee touch attacks). This boosted target word increases the level of all the effect words in the spell by 3 levels.

So now, if you've gone with the 3rd level Fire Blast spell and made it a SELECTED target with a Boost, is it now a 6th level spell? I guess that's more reasonable, since you can make a whole mess of Ranged Touch touch attacks...but the Fire Blast Effect says you get a Reflex save, so now you have to hit with a Ranged Touch AND they get a Reflex? That seems like a weakened Scorching Ray or Searing Light.

Am I missing something? Seems like anyway you slice it, Word of Power are less effective that straight up spells.

BTW, I looked at the Sorcerror PDF file that was floating around and there are several pieces of incorrect information in there. Like adding certain effects to a Barrier Target...when the effects specifically list Selectd or Burst as a target restriction. So I started not to trust that document.


Thanks for all the info guys, this is good "food for thought". Appreciate it and will digest!


I've seen this in the game I'm currently in, where the characters who use a 2-H weapon are just getting whupped in the AC department and really paying the price for this. Doesn't seem the like the damage they do with a 2-H weapon offsets the fight time enough to help with their poor AC.

I'm messing with a Fighter build for an upcoming campaign and want to make 2-H weapon fighter but I'm having the same issues. Beyond the obvious ("invest in +5 armor, rings, nat armor amulet"), what other suggestions do people have for a fighter who keeps getting smacked in the face because he chose to use a 2H weapon?

Curious to see what others have done with this, as I assume its not just a problem I've seen within my gaming group. Thanks!


Reading through a bunch of posts regarding 5 foot steps and flying. I understand that you CAN take a 5 foot step if you have a Flight speed or a Fly spell cast on you, because that GIVES you a Fly speed.

But what about if you're flying with an item, like a Broom of Flying or Animated Carpet? Can you make a 5 foot step then? I know the distinction is a bit thin, but I think its important.


pretty simple question, does the speed increase from a Haste spell apply to a player using a Broom of Flying? Haste says, "All of the hasted creature's modes of movement (including land movement, burrow, climb, fly, and swim) increase by 30 feet, to a maximum of twice the subject's normal speed using that form of movement" but is the flight granted from BoF counted as a "creature's mode of movement"? Or is it the item itself, so Haste doesn't effect this?

Kinda nit picky, I know, but I'm betting this question/discussion/arguement is going to come up in the next session of the game I'm running.


I think I've been handling poison incorrectly and different people are telling me different things in person. So hoping someone can clarify the rules for poisons with secondary effects and multi saves.

Here is the poison I'm looking at.

Fountain of blood—contact or ingested; save Fort DC 20; frequency 1/round for 6 rounds; initial effect 1 Con damage; secondary effect nauseated for 1 minute; cure 2 consecutive saves.

So, by rounds.

1st : Fail your save, take 1 Con. Make your save, no Con damage, but you still need to make 1 more in a row.
2nd : If you made it in round one and make it again, no consequences and poison is over. Fail you save, nauseated for 1 minute and the consecutive saves start over.

Its what comes next that I'm confused on, assuming you didn't make your saves in round 1 and 2.

If you failed in round 1 and make it in round 2, what happens if you make it or fail it in round 3?

Round 3 made it : Poison is over? So no "naseated for 1 minute", its done?
Round 3 failed : Poison keeps going?

Its the "1 round for 6 rounds" vs a secondary effect that says "1 minute" that is throwing me.

Can anyone clarify all this?

1 to 50 of 116 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>