GM Peachbottom's War for the Crown

Game Master Peachbottom

Campaign Folder
Treasure
Oppara Map

Combat Maps

Hero Points:
Icabhod: 1 | Henrika: 1 | Liraela: 1 | Trevor: 1 | Tychus: 1 | Xallis: 1


101 to 150 of 437 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | next > last >>

Yes, you were given a letter to deliver to Count Orlundo Zespire who is in the Archives.


Tychus wrote:
This is off of the assumption that I can attempt the mission twice in a row.

Yes, you can. There is no penalty for failing a check. You can keep trying as many times as you want.


M Human NG Human Investigator 3|HP 27/27|AC16T12FF14|F3R5W3|Per6 Insp4/4

Icabhod(and I) will just quit while they are ahead and just snoop around and maybe help other PCs.


Henrika wrote:
Whoops! I could have sworn I posted a response yesterday. Sorry! Thanks for prodding us along. :)

If there was something different that you wanted to do and it got lost in submittal, and want to post it quickly, I'll accept it.

I prefer to let you all take your own actions, but I also keep the train going.

And that goes for anyone else too. If I post an action for you and you decide that you really didn't want to do that, just let me know. As long as we haven't proceeded too far and it's not too difficult to change, I'll work with you.


F NG human mesmerist 3 | HP 27/27 | AC 15 T 11 FF 15 | CMB +4 CMD 16 | F +3 R +3 W +5* | Init +2 Per +5 SM +5 | hero 1/1 tricks 4/4 YR 1/1 | spells 1st-4/4 | effects/conditions none

It doesn't really matter, since I rolled badly. :) I had been thinking I would have tried to influence the servants' area, since I was already there, and I would have used Bluff rather than a Knowledge skill (because of the Senate Floor bonus that someone else unlocked that lets us use those alternate skills to influence).


Liraela wrote:

"I'm done with my task, I could take a look at distracting her for you. I am quite good with words, although I do have one specific matter I'd like to tie up first. Do you think she'll try something soon, or could someone watch her for a bit while I take care of said sensitive matter?"

Trevor would know she means that she wants to swipe the dagger she had her eye on from earlier.

Yes, you could do that. Keeping an eye on Malphene Trant does not cost your social round action. You just need to be in the same area as her (currently the Arcade of Triumphs). You've already influenced the room fully, but you could still steal or influence Maxillar Pythareus.


Male
Skills:
Diplo +11 (Charming +12)|Heal +11|Kn. Nob +10|Kn. Rel +7|SM +9|Kn. His +6|Appraise +6
Aasimar Cleric/3rd|HP 24/24|AC 19|Fort +4, Ref +1, Will +6| Perception +5|Channel Energy 2d6, 7/7x/day

I am eager for a description of Ms. Trant, when you are ready.


Trevor wrote:
Trevor will influence the Arcade of Triumphs, observing Dame Trant as a free action.

The Arcade is already fully influenced. You can't influence it any further. Liraela was asking if you could distract the curator again so she could steal the dagger. Did you want to do that instead?


Male
Skills:
Diplo +11 (Charming +12)|Heal +11|Kn. Nob +10|Kn. Rel +7|SM +9|Kn. His +6|Appraise +6
Aasimar Cleric/3rd|HP 24/24|AC 19|Fort +4, Ref +1, Will +6| Perception +5|Channel Energy 2d6, 7/7x/day

Yes. Trevor will.


Henrika wrote:

Henrika smiles to herself. She has managed to lure the countess into conversation, and so she presses the advantage to sound her out about primogeniture. "Do my eyes deceive me, or is that the Princess holding court over there? Lining up supporters for her bid to overthrow the old ways and ring in the new, no doubt?"

Sense Motive (DC 15): 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (15) + 3 = 18

I'm assuming you are trying to learn Abrielle's stance for Icabhod's mission. To do so, Abrielle has to be influenced at least once. So far she has not been influenced yet. You've only discovered one of the skills to influence her with.

I know these are unique rules and can be confusing. I'll do my best to explain them and clarify as needed. I typically check the thread like all day long, so if you have any questions, I can respond fairly quickly.

You can keep that roll as Sense Motive to discover another skill to influence Abrielle with. Or you can keep the roll but make it an Intimidate roll and that would be a successful Influence on her. Then next round, you would be able to Sense Motive for the mission.


F NG human mesmerist 3 | HP 27/27 | AC 15 T 11 FF 15 | CMB +4 CMD 16 | F +3 R +3 W +5* | Init +2 Per +5 SM +5 | hero 1/1 tricks 4/4 YR 1/1 | spells 1st-4/4 | effects/conditions none

Didn't I influence Abrielle last turn? It says on her Influence section on the Grand Day of Exultation document that she can be Influenced with Knowledge (nobility). I guess I don't understand the process. You're saying that to Influence someone, I must first discover what skills must be used to Influence them? What's the section about Discovery and Weaknesses then?

In any case, probably the best way forward is to use my Sense Motive roll for Intimidate instead. Thanks!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think I see where I made it confusing. I'm going to reformat the character cards slightly.

For Abrielle, it said "Influence Checks (Knowledge (nobility) or Sense Motive DC 15)" And three bullets underneath. The Knowledge (nobility)/Sense Motive check is to discover one of the 3 Influence skills underneath. I'm going to move that line under the discovery section and see how that looks. Let me know if it looks clearer afterwards.

The steps to Influence a noble are:
1) Discover a skill to influence them with.
2) Influence them with that skill.
*) Optional: Discover the person's weakness for a +4 bonus on the Influence roll.


LN Human Bolt Ace 2/Sanctified Slayer 1| HP 27/27 | AC 18, T 15, FF 13 | Fort +6, Ref +8, Will +4 | Perception +8 | Grit: 2/2
GM Peachbottom wrote:
Princess Eutropia was quite taken with your conversation you had earlier. Maybe you should talk to her again before she has to leave to prepare for the vote.

Do I realistically know when this would be? I don't want to miss the window of opportunity.

I'll post my Social Round 2 tonight.


Tychus wrote:
Do I realistically know when this would be? I don't want to miss the window of opportunity.

You still have some time. Maybe I'll have Martella give you a warning.


I revised the character sheets on the Dramatis Personae page. Let me know if it looks any better.


F NG human mesmerist 3 | HP 27/27 | AC 15 T 11 FF 15 | CMB +4 CMD 16 | F +3 R +3 W +5* | Init +2 Per +5 SM +5 | hero 1/1 tricks 4/4 YR 1/1 | spells 1st-4/4 | effects/conditions none
GM Peachbottom wrote:
I revised the character sheets on the Dramatis Personae page. Let me know if it looks any better.

That's much more understandable, thanks!


LN Female Vishkanya Unchained Rogue (Deadly Courtesan) 3 | HP 26/26 | AC 17 (13 touch/14 FF | Fort +2, Ref +6, Will +-1 | Perception +5

Apologies, was a really late night yesterday at work, lots of catching up to do. Very unfortunate roll however! I’ll get a more detailed post up this afternoon and get back into things.


No problem. The Duke is done anyway.


I'm sure you can probably extrapolate what the next event might be. Malphene Trant is up to something.

Also poor Kalbio gets no attention. He just wants someone to talk to. =(


AC 11+4, T 11, FF 10+4 | CMB 1, CMD 12 | HP 27/27 | Fort +3, Ref +2, Will +3 | Init +1 | Perception +0 | Conditions: mage armor
Eidolon stats:
AC 15+4, T 11, FF 14+4 | CMB +6, CMD 17 |HP 19/19 | Fort +4, Ref +2, Will +3 | Init +1 | Perception +6 , scent 30 ft | Conditions: mage armor
GM Peachbottom wrote:
Also poor Kalbio gets no attention. He just wants someone to talk to. =(

Funny enough Xallis was planning on chatting him up as a way of looking good for the more forward-thinking nobles, but the dice just kept him stuck at the baron.

Question! Since Navia passed her wisdom check and we had time to make it to the room, would it be possible for her to start combat holding the cricket?


Yes. You can have placed it on the door before combat. Or if you have some use for holding it, she can hold it.

Also, you can pass Kalbio around if you want to but only one person can get his bonus at a time.


M Human NG Human Investigator 3|HP 27/27|AC16T12FF14|F3R5W3|Per6 Insp4/4

Ehhh.. Not a noble yet, so there is little use for him. *sniffs disdainfully*


Trevor wrote:
Trevor excuses himself from any conversation to rush to check on the upper gallery.

You can post your action in combat too.

Henrika wrote:
If we are allowed to remove the peacebond from our weapons before entering, instead Henrika will ready an attack against Trant if she attacks Henrika, Dou, or one of Henrika's allies.

You can remove your peacebond before entering. But remember that you were warned not to kill anyone. Are you sure you want to be attacking with a longsword? The enemies are all unarmed and unarmored.

Icabhod wrote:

Icabhod slips his club out and sneers at the rabble. How rude! It is time to give you a proper drubbing! He then steps up and thwacks at one.

club: 1d20 ⇒ 171d6 ⇒ 1

Please specify who you are attacking. For the sycophants, you can call them by their color. Are you doing lethal damage with your club or do you want to try nonlethal?


M Human NG Human Investigator 3|HP 27/27|AC16T12FF14|F3R5W3|Per6 Insp4/4

The one straight north of me. Eh..non lethel I guess


LN Female Vishkanya Unchained Rogue (Deadly Courtesan) 3 | HP 26/26 | AC 17 (13 touch/14 FF | Fort +2, Ref +6, Will +-1 | Perception +5

I suppose I should do nonlethal as well. Karma will take care of them another way, without death. If any step up to me, that is.


F NG human mesmerist 3 | HP 27/27 | AC 15 T 11 FF 15 | CMB +4 CMD 16 | F +3 R +3 W +5* | Init +2 Per +5 SM +5 | hero 1/1 tricks 4/4 YR 1/1 | spells 1st-4/4 | effects/conditions none

In Henrika's case the longsword is supposed to be as much a deterrent as a weapon. It likely won't matter for her readied action, but I'll specify nonlethal (with the penalty) on future attacks.


LN Human Bolt Ace 2/Sanctified Slayer 1| HP 27/27 | AC 18, T 15, FF 13 | Fort +6, Ref +8, Will +4 | Perception +8 | Grit: 2/2

Apologies, it's been a crazy weekend. I'll have my post up soon.


Tychus wrote:

Tychus ensures that Junior Senator Dou is ok, then he follows the Caydenite to go see the Princess.

I'll have to wait my turn to speak with Eutropia.

You can talk to the Princess' friend Lady Morilla or influence the Courtyard.


Trevor wrote:

Diplomacy (Charming): 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (16) + 10 = 26

Trevor steps forward to bow deeply to the Princess.
"Princess Eutropia. It is a great honor to make your acquaintance. My name is Trevor Kastner, a cleric of Cayden Cailean. Thank you for gracing us with your presence this day."

I was just looking at this. The only skill you learned to influence Princess Eutropia so far is Knowledge (local). I'll let you keep the roll though. It will still be a success.


Male
Skills:
Diplo +11 (Charming +12)|Heal +11|Kn. Nob +10|Kn. Rel +7|SM +9|Kn. His +6|Appraise +6
Aasimar Cleric/3rd|HP 24/24|AC 19|Fort +4, Ref +1, Will +6| Perception +5|Channel Energy 2d6, 7/7x/day

Can't stop, won't stop The Rizz!!


LN Human Bolt Ace 2/Sanctified Slayer 1| HP 27/27 | AC 18, T 15, FF 13 | Fort +6, Ref +8, Will +4 | Perception +8 | Grit: 2/2
GM Peachbottom wrote:
Tychus wrote:

Tychus ensures that Junior Senator Dou is ok, then he follows the Caydenite to go see the Princess.

I'll have to wait my turn to speak with Eutropia.

You can talk to the Princess' friend Lady Morilla or influence the Courtyard.

Ok, I added an Influence post.


LN Female Vishkanya Unchained Rogue (Deadly Courtesan) 3 | HP 26/26 | AC 17 (13 touch/14 FF | Fort +2, Ref +6, Will +-1 | Perception +5

Does anyone still need help completing their missions, or are we good? Just want to check before I start mingling 'for fun'.


Tychus and Trevor are the only ones left who need to complete their missions. I'll leave it up to them if they want help but both are almost done. Tychus has two more steps and Trevor has one step remaining.


Male
Skills:
Diplo +11 (Charming +12)|Heal +11|Kn. Nob +10|Kn. Rel +7|SM +9|Kn. His +6|Appraise +6
Aasimar Cleric/3rd|HP 24/24|AC 19|Fort +4, Ref +1, Will +6| Perception +5|Channel Energy 2d6, 7/7x/day

I thought Trevor had completed his mission. Shoot!


LN Female Vishkanya Unchained Rogue (Deadly Courtesan) 3 | HP 26/26 | AC 17 (13 touch/14 FF | Fort +2, Ref +6, Will +-1 | Perception +5

Yeah I'm looking at the missions doc now, looks like Trevor needs a Linguistics check to forge evidence and Tychus needs to get messages between people with Escape Artist.

I'm better at Escape Artist (can you even do Linguistics untrained?) and could help if Tychus wants the help.


Male
Skills:
Diplo +11 (Charming +12)|Heal +11|Kn. Nob +10|Kn. Rel +7|SM +9|Kn. His +6|Appraise +6
Aasimar Cleric/3rd|HP 24/24|AC 19|Fort +4, Ref +1, Will +6| Perception +5|Channel Energy 2d6, 7/7x/day

Okay. Trevor has no skill points in Linguistics, and that skill can only be used trained. Oops.


For the sake of the mission, you can use Linguistics untrained. It is an Int skill so just roll a 1d20+Int. If you use the book you stole, you add +2 to the roll.


LN Human Bolt Ace 2/Sanctified Slayer 1| HP 27/27 | AC 18, T 15, FF 13 | Fort +6, Ref +8, Will +4 | Perception +8 | Grit: 2/2
Liraela the Inkweaver wrote:
Not sure which Tychus wants me to do, I can deliver the message or return the files.

Feel free to deliver the message :)


Male
Skills:
Diplo +11 (Charming +12)|Heal +11|Kn. Nob +10|Kn. Rel +7|SM +9|Kn. His +6|Appraise +6
Aasimar Cleric/3rd|HP 24/24|AC 19|Fort +4, Ref +1, Will +6| Perception +5|Channel Energy 2d6, 7/7x/day

Trevor posted his Social Round 2. It took creative license. Hope that was okay.


F NG human mesmerist 3 | HP 27/27 | AC 15 T 11 FF 15 | CMB +4 CMD 16 | F +3 R +3 W +5* | Init +2 Per +5 SM +5 | hero 1/1 tricks 4/4 YR 1/1 | spells 1st-4/4 | effects/conditions none

GM, can you remind us what influence points can be used for?


Influence Points track how much influence you've obtained for each location.

Each location has two thresholds. For example, for the Courtyard, the thresholds are at 15 and 30 points.

When you roll to influence a location, for each point over the DC that you roll, it adds 1 point to the Influence Points for that location. For example, if the DC was 12 and you rolled a 16, you would earn 4 points.

Once you earn enough Influence Points to meet or exceed a threshold, you earn a benefit, which is different for each location.

For the Courtyard, when you earned over 15 points, you gained the benefit of "Each PC learns a skill that that they can use on an NPC". When you reach 30 points, I will reveal what the next benefit is. There is no further benefit after reaching the second threshold so then that location is considered complete.


F NG human mesmerist 3 | HP 27/27 | AC 15 T 11 FF 15 | CMB +4 CMD 16 | F +3 R +3 W +5* | Init +2 Per +5 SM +5 | hero 1/1 tricks 4/4 YR 1/1 | spells 1st-4/4 | effects/conditions none

Ah, got it. Thanks!


Tychus wrote:

With a low cheerful whistling, he makes his way to the archives to return the files.

Escape Artist: 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (2) + 8 = 10

Right into a wall.

Trevor wrote:

Pleased Cayden's 'evidence' is going over so well, Trevor notices the beautiful Lady Glorianna Morilla is free. Like the Princess, trevor has been an admirer of Lady Morilla for some time. And now was his chance.

Diplomacy (Charming): 1d20 + 10 + 2 + 2 ⇒ (1) + 10 + 2 + 2 = 15 Damn!

Still a success.


LN Human Bolt Ace 2/Sanctified Slayer 1| HP 27/27 | AC 18, T 15, FF 13 | Fort +6, Ref +8, Will +4 | Perception +8 | Grit: 2/2
GM Peachbottom wrote:
Tychus wrote:

With a low cheerful whistling, he makes his way to the archives to return the files.

Escape Artist: 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (2) + 8 = 10

Right into a wall.

In my defense, it was a very well camouflaged wall ;)


F NG human mesmerist 3 | HP 27/27 | AC 15 T 11 FF 15 | CMB +4 CMD 16 | F +3 R +3 W +5* | Init +2 Per +5 SM +5 | hero 1/1 tricks 4/4 YR 1/1 | spells 1st-4/4 | effects/conditions none

We all still have one free reroll, right? Can we use it on non-social rolls?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The exact wording is "Each PC gains a one-time reroll that can be used on any skill check attempted during this portion of the adventure."

I believe it is intended for Influence checks for NPCs or Locations or for your missions. But if you want to use it for something else, as long as it is a skill check, sure. I can't think of many exceptions outside of social rolls but if you think of one, I'm sure it won't be game breaking.

This lasts just until the end of the Exaltation Gala.


So, you guys have made excellent progress on influencing things. Between events, there are still at least 7 more social rounds until the end of the gala. I say at least because one of the rewards you haven't found yet is "more social rounds". I don't think you'll need all the remaining rounds to complete influencing the last few people and places. If you do end up influencing everything, I'll just skip the remaining social rounds and just jump to the remaining events.

Edit: Or bonus Senators! I don’t know. What would you guys prefer? Are you ready to move on to more adventure or do you want more socialization?


Male
Skills:
Diplo +11 (Charming +12)|Heal +11|Kn. Nob +10|Kn. Rel +7|SM +9|Kn. His +6|Appraise +6
Aasimar Cleric/3rd|HP 24/24|AC 19|Fort +4, Ref +1, Will +6| Perception +5|Channel Energy 2d6, 7/7x/day

My vote is for more socializing. I love the Diplomacy skill!


M Human NG Human Investigator 3|HP 27/27|AC16T12FF14|F3R5W3|Per6 Insp4/4

Icabhod is learning that a security guard makes s poor socializer.


F NG human mesmerist 3 | HP 27/27 | AC 15 T 11 FF 15 | CMB +4 CMD 16 | F +3 R +3 W +5* | Init +2 Per +5 SM +5 | hero 1/1 tricks 4/4 YR 1/1 | spells 1st-4/4 | effects/conditions none
GM Peachbottom wrote:
What would you guys prefer? Are you ready to move on to more adventure or do you want more socialization?

I'm fine either way. Once we've done everything we can do, it makes sense to just move on. But roleplaying is fun too!

101 to 150 of 437 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / GM Peachbottom's War for the Crown Discussion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.