
Joras Iggins |

I thought I had it too easy in RL, an unknown individual used my bankcard number to make a fraudulent purchase, bank shut down card and I'm distracted dealing with the fallout. Posts may be limited a bit.

Roya Tani |

I think we verify that our path to the exit is still clear, then check the room with the fire(extinguished) to fetch the Key Joras claims he saw.
I'd assume Perri or Conrad to take point, with a light source provided by one of our casters, with a second light source on some pebble or small stone thrown in ahead of them.

Joras Iggins |

@ Dm Glad to hear your father is well, may fortune favor your mother and family.
@Conrad - According to the rules as written the answer is yes but limited to a max result of DC 10. Joras' Bardic Knowledge is an exception. So is access to a large library.

Dm Joseph Rauel |

I have to disagree with you Joras. Here is what it says under the skills section for trained/untrained
Trained Only: If this notation is included in the skill name line, you must have at least 1 rank in the skill to use it. If this notation is omitted, the skill can be used untrained (with a rank of 0). If any special notes apply to trained or untrained use, they are covered in the Untrained section (see below).
Untrained: This entry indicates what a character without at least 1 rank in the skill can do with it. If this entry doesn’t appear, it means that the skill functions normally for untrained characters (if it can be used untrained) or that an untrained character can’t attempt checks with this skill (for skills that are designated “Trained Only”).
Knowledge skills falls under trained only.

Perri Purrun |

I have to disagree with you Joras. Here is what it says under the skills section for trained/untrained
Trained Only: If this notation is included in the skill name line, you must have at least 1 rank in the skill to use it. If this notation is omitted, the skill can be used untrained (with a rank of 0). If any special notes apply to trained or untrained use, they are covered in the Untrained section (see below).
Untrained: This entry indicates what a character without at least 1 rank in the skill can do with it. If this entry doesn’t appear, it means that the skill functions normally for untrained characters (if it can be used untrained) or that an untrained character can’t attempt checks with this skill (for skills that are designated “Trained Only”).
Knowledge skills falls under trained only.
Specific rules over-ride general rules. Under the Knowledge skill it specifically adds the exception allowing the use of untrained Knowledge checks for DCs of 10 or less.
Your rule quote is accurate, but it is the generic rule for all skills compared to the specific rule for knowledge skills.

Dm Joseph Rauel |

Oh man, you are correct. Thank you for mentioning the rule located under the knowledge skills.
Untrained: You cannot make an untrained Knowledge check with a DC higher than 10. If you have access to an extensive library that covers a specific skill, this limit is removed. The time to make checks using a library, however, increases to 1d4 hours. Particularly complete libraries might even grant a bonus on Knowledge checks in the fields that they cover.
Hey everyone, feel free to let me know if I am ruling something wrong or not fully. I have been playing Pathfinder since the beta and that is a rule that I have been running incorrectly since then.
Thanks again Perri!

Brandark Ironhame |

Honestly, with so many rules, it can happen to anyone.
Glad to see that we were able to help sort out a rule for you though. :)

Miron Belodor |

Q: would my Cold Steel ability (gives weapon Frost property for 1 round) count as making the weapon magic, or would just the cold damage get through?

Dm Joseph Rauel |

Q: would my Cold Steel ability (gives weapon Frost property for 1 round) count as making the weapon magic, or would just the cold damage get through?
That is a great question, I would say that it would only do just the cold damage because it doesn't say your weapon becomes magical (+1 to attack & damage). It gains the Frost property.
I would be open to hearing other thoughts.

Brandark Ironhame |

unfamiliar with the term Phoenix Dawn ?? Roya, can you please clarify ?

Roya Tani |

Hej, as said, it's a joke from Final Fantasy - the phoenix dawn(basically a feather from a phoenix) is a recurring item that lets you resurrect one of your team members.
Also a recurring theme is that many games in the series feature a area/dungeon with "undead" enemies(and usually a boss) that absorbs e.g. physical damage, but is vulnerable to healing - so casting cure spells on these enemies deals strong damage. An easter egg that works for most of these bosses is that you can use a resurrection item(phoenix dawn) to instantly kill them. It's a guaranteed one-hit-KO on what is often a drawn-out and complex battle otherwise.
In many games you can't buy them, only find them - there's no shortage but you won't usually use limited supply items on enemies like that.

Joras Iggins |

@Roya - One trivial point, I think you mean Phoenix Down as in a Phoenix Feather, a running item in Final Fantasy, that resurrect, heals, or hurts undead or some combination in the various versions. In FF14, which I play, it resurrects party members without needing a healer but it's too rare to matter much.
@DM
Looking at the charred body Brandark walks over and pokes the adventuring gear with his Urgosh.
There isn't much we can do with him right now, but Yes, I will grab the key
He then pokes it to move it, and then picks it up.
Well, now to start getting myself back in order from the last month
In a previous post, Brandark picked up the key. Attention was drawn away from the dagger by the shadow, seemed more important to worry about.

Roya Tani |

Hm? What did I say? A...I said Dawn instead of Down. My fault, I was tired and then just ran with it.
Seems they were also quite more purchasable than I remembered.

Roya Tani |

Aye, you can crit with anything that requires an attack roll - albeit spells are only 20/x2 - that also includes touch spells, and ones using e.g. positive energy against undead.
You can not, however, critically "heal" allies - so even if your party member for some reason attempts not to get healed(e.g. a superstitious barbarian or some oracle curses), you can't "crit" on the healing.
But if used to deal damage, it follows the same general rules for spells with attack rolls - Touch Attacks: Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity. The act of casting a spell, however, does provoke an attack of opportunity. Touch attacks come in two types: melee touch attacks and ranged touch attacks. You can score critical hits with either type of attack as long as the spell deals damage.
and CLW's: Since undead are powered by negative energy, this spell deals damage to them instead of curing their wounds.
So it deals damage and is a touch attack, ergo you can crit.
AFAIK technically(armed attack but no melee weapon - some table variance on interpretation) you could even deliver a Coup de Grace with a CLW against an incapacitated undead if holding a charge - of course there would be no save (as it's Fort and Undead are not into that) but it would be a free Crit.

Miron Belodor |

ooh, I just remembered I've got arcane strike, so I'll be able to stab it with my +2 attack :)
throws wand into fire

![]() |

Sorry- forgot to add the armor and encumbrance penalties to Conrad's acrobatic check earlier... That's the problem with switching between a rogue and a barbarian in between campaigns!
It should have been a -5 penalty (-3 for Medium Encumbrance, -1 for Buckler, -1 for Studded leather armor), so just a +1 bonus to his Acrobatics check.
He rolled really well anyway (that would have still been an 18), but don't hesitate to remind me if I forget again.

Dm Joseph Rauel |

The stair you guys are talking about connects the room with the beetle to the room with the wooden statue. they go up and back down. Think like a walkway bridge over a road... but it's completely inclosed.
Where to now? The only remaining place is the door in the room with the pool. Also, would anyone like to examine the dagger? [occ]hint hint... lol[/ooc]

Perri Purrun |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Sorry- forgot to add the armor and encumbrance penalties to Conrad's acrobatic check earlier... That's the problem with switching between a rogue and a barbarian in between campaigns!
It should have been a -5 penalty (-3 for Medium Encumbrance, -1 for Buckler, -1 for Studded leather armor), so just a +1 bonus to his Acrobatics check.
He rolled really well anyway (that would have still been an 18), but don't hesitate to remind me if I forget again.
It should have been -3, taking the worse of either your encumbrance, or the combination of your armor and shield penalties.

![]() |

Conrad Mendelson wrote:It should have been -3, taking the worse of either your encumbrance, or the combination of your armor and shield penalties.Sorry- forgot to add the armor and encumbrance penalties to Conrad's acrobatic check earlier... That's the problem with switching between a rogue and a barbarian in between campaigns!
It should have been a -5 penalty (-3 for Medium Encumbrance, -1 for Buckler, -1 for Studded leather armor), so just a +1 bonus to his Acrobatics check.
He rolled really well anyway (that would have still been an 18), but don't hesitate to remind me if I forget again.
Thanks for the clarification!

Dm Joseph Rauel |

[b]"Or, you know, throw in one of the animal bodies...while we stay here
Now I have a visual of little Roya trying to drag in one off the horses or ponies to block the door...
You all do have pitons that you found on your way to the tomb, those could also work for the door if you don't want to load in a dead rotting animal.

Miron Belodor |

I think we only used one on the door out of the room with all the pit traps, so we should have two left

Roya Tani |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Ha, little Roya was strenght drained. I could fetch a bunny, maybe :D
That said, Carrying capacity is somewhat weird.
Even at Strenght 5, which is less than a Pixie, my "Heavy Load" is 50 lbs. And that means her limit for "pushing/dragging" is 5*50 lbs, or 250 lbs. That's 113 kg.
Average weight for a 12-year old girl is ~40 kg, so almost triple her own weight.
And, from having helped move a refrigerator and washing machine in the past year, I know that I - personally - would struggle to drag something weighing more than 100 kg across uneven ground.
Something Roya is clearly capable of, by the rules, even with her strength drained to almost half.
I'm afraid of her full power, now.

Dm Joseph Rauel |

Hey all! Sorry for my absence. This week has been crazy. My mom had another round of chemo, which was expected. My dad was in the hospital again and had to have a heart catheter done which turned out all clear. So there are still unknowns with my dad and his health. Also this week there was a drive by shooting at our junior high, they were using orbeez guns which are little water pellets. So there was fall out from that I was handling with my students and their parents.
All of this to say that I'm sorry I haven't said anything until now.
Let's rally the troops and I will make a post tomorrow to continue our journey. If anyone doesn't respond on here today/tomorrow let's try reaching out to them.
Thank you for understanding.

Brandark Ironhame |

Hoping things get better for you as well.
Still here, and ready to carry on when we all are.

![]() |

Hi everyone! I'll be off on a research trip to London from March 13th to March 20th. Posting rate might get hectic, but please feel free to bot me if needed!

Brandark Ironhame |

@gm, sorry, I cannot access a lot of things at work, due to restrictions on their internet.
Will try to get myself sorted out using my tablet later today.

![]() |

Ah, Curiosity as I know of at least 3 Londons.
I keep forgetting that plenty of cities in the US are named after European cities. I swear I stared at your question for a few seconds before it occurred to me that Oh Yeah, there are other Londons!
And about a dozen Venices. I like to think there was just this one guy who was really fond of Italy for some reason...

Dm Joseph Rauel |

@gm, sorry, I cannot access a lot of things at work, due to restrictions on their internet.
Will try to get myself sorted out using my tablet later today.
It's all good. I have moved the tokens they would be to my best guess. Having dropped 2 skeletons this round makes it less of a scary situation... then again 1s happen for PCs and 20s happen for baddies.

Dm Joseph Rauel |

I wanted to Channel, but none of them are wounded. If Miron felled one it would seem I could in theory get some with a good channel roll if they fail their save. But at this point I think it may be easier to knock them all down, wait until they rise again, then channel...
Even when they are fallen you can still channel to finish them off. Your call if you decide to change your mind. I'll continue with their turn a little bit later this evening incase you changed your mind.