
GM Mort |

Nigel - help me check out on Tamran city stats if any were published. From Pathfinder Wiki it says small city size, so there's up to 6th level casting. However getting there is a problem...

![]() |

Tamran's stats were published in Lands of Conflict.
Technically, as per RAW, it has up to 8th level spellcasting...
...but has a Base Value of 4400gp, which means you can't get the 5000gp Diamond that you would need for a Raise Dead.
Not to mention, the highest level spellcasters noted as around, are a Ranger 11, a Shaman 7, and a Bard 3.

GM Mort |

It also has a pathfinder lodge so I could always Park my level 13 cleric there as a cameo, so long as it's within the rules of the settlement casting limit.
Now the problem is how do you get there?
Pity I don't roll paladins

![]() |

Well, walking, presumably (or taking a boat down the river).
If well sell literally everything that we recovered (apart from the Bag of Holding, and the various healing consumables), *including* everything that various people have claimed (apart from stuff that has already been used, obviously), we will have just enough to cover two Raise Deads, and two Restorations, with 34.43gp left to share between the five of us.

Ratel Dier |

Wow, I didn't think that we would really consider doing two resurrections...
If you all really want to, I guess Ratel can give up his shield....
Moving on, can any of us wear the chainmail?

GM Mort |

Also I'll say outright you won't be expected to pay the full costs. Though you'll have to pay a small portion of it. That's equity.

Ratel Dier |

Raise Dead, not Resurrection - the latter we definitely could not afford...
sorry I keep forgetting there not the same thing.
*shrugs*
I have no issues sacrificing all of the loot, since it is a prequel, and the loot isn't factored into the AP, since this isn't actually part of the AP, so in the long run, we aren't penalised by the AP for being altruistic.
That's what I thought too, until I realized Ratel would lose his really cool new toy.
*shrugs too*
If you guys want to 'raise' these two, I'm in...

Ratel Dier |

Eh. Your 'new toy' is technically worth more than the entire wealth-by-level of a level 3 PC. I'm sure that you will survive ;-)
I know... basically a + 2 weapon
I wasn't planning on Ratel using shield bash, but it dropped in my lap so to speak. He will survive without it.
Any way, running around with two shields kind of looks dorky...

Hedran |

In any case, if we decide to go down this road of raising the dead we would probably:
- Travel to Tamran first;
- Sell our stuff there;
- Use the gold to purchase the casting of the necessary spells.
(Just realized we need to arrange for a method to transport the deceased with us somehow...)
So until we actually GET to Tamran, we can conceivably continue to use whatever may be more useful to us?
Perhaps some of the stuff we are sure we will not use can be sold right away, and the money kept. Used if needed only, and otherwise saved for the spellcasting purchase?
For now I feel we only need to decide if we WANT to do this or not - the selling of gear can wait for sometime more (so we can enjoy the new possessions some more :D)
And no, Hedran cannot use chainmail :P

GM Mort |

This weekend my activity will be scrappier then usual since on Sat we’re going to have a praying session at the temple, then on Sunday we’re going to have a praying session at my aunts place(which I’m pretty much party organizer). So there’s going to be party beehoon that needs to be cooked,Char siu,Shao rou and Shao ji, and fried chicken wings to be collected and laid out on the table for a huge family party. Probably going to delegate the collection of the cooked food to my uncle but still, long story short, there’s quite a bit to be done so I won’t be checking paizo very much.

Ratel Dier |

yes, everything looks delicious.
hhhmmmm, I wonder if we fed people better if they would pray more...
Ok, I'm up for a moment or two, then headed back to bed. I will think about how to talk to the paladin for a post in the morning.

GM Mort |

Nigel - off screen Sir Amrivast gained a sorcerer level (celestial bloodline), then goes around the world giving healing and succor when he's not running his orphanage. Since I usually give you 18th level at the end of APs, its not too far a stretch. Again you could do everything you wanted to do at 17, since you got your 9th level spells.

Ratel Dier |

ok, awake and going to post, could we put the bodies in the bag of holding? The humorous part will be piggybacking them back.
Also are we going to be in town long enough to buy things? If in fact we have any cash left?
I was thinking leather lamellar might be nice if we have money to split up...

GM Mort |

A human body is about 140 lbs so you're 30 short of stuffing both bodies in the bag of holding.

Hedran |

Guys, are we going to grab the opportunity to sell some loot before returning?
I think the only thing Hedran would want would be the Longsword +1, and the possibility to scribe the spells he does not know from the spellbook we found (or keep the spellbook itself or something)?
Otherwise maybe some more mundane items, like a bedroll, winter blanket and some others - but I can also buy them if there is gold to distribute.
By the way Nigel, the +1 Bashing Shield is marked as being in my possession, but it should be with Ratel at the moment?

Ratel Dier |

I assumed we would have to sell any high value stuff here. Mort with the festival in town would a merchant in Phaendar be able to afford any of the magic items?
I think the only one of us that can use med. Armor is Robert, So,
@ Robert do you want the + 1 chainmail or the MW thieves tools?
@ Azmythe arn't you going to keep the bracers?

![]() |

Sorry about the brief disappearance - I unexpectedly pulled a double shift at work yesterday, meaning that I didn't have time to post in the evening :-/
Assuming Robert keeps the armor and Dax keeps the Bracers (and everyone else keeps what they have already claimed), everyone receives 1372.39gp.
I would, however, recommend that all of you spend 375gp on purchasing two communal Wand of CLW...
...which would reduce your individual take to a total of 997.48gp.

Ratel Dier |

It's cool, RL and doubles occasionally happens.
I think two communal wands is a very good idea.
1,465.38 997.48 gp. I didn't realize it would be so much... ok, not quite as much but still nice
Mort any limit on what we can purchase?
edit:Nigel, do you need any cash to purchase something? I don't think you claimed anything at all.

GM Mort |

Sorry, forgot Rangers had medium armor proficiency. I derp occasionally
Prequel so I'll just say get whatever you want.
MW thieves tools, Robert?

GM Mort |

Wherever you want to get stuff, whether it's in Tamran or Phaendar market, go get it,I'll just hardwave it this time because it's the prequel.

![]() |

I really wouldn't want Nigel to be on double shift. Nature of his work, you know.

GM Mort |

Don't forget to mark down teleportation costs of 600 gp back. You'll need to get Geran and Victor back to their families.
I'll probably pause a while here while the party decides what stuff to buy.
Shopping always takes a while for adventurers, I've noticed.
Scrolls of inflict light wounds are cheaper then potions, wands are even cheaper then that per use. Azmythe has inflict light wounds on his spell list.
Hedran if you want to copy spells out, pay the relevant costs,but copying a first level spell will take an hour, second level spell 2, etc, so remember to factor in the time as well.
Or keep the spellbook so you have ample time to copy it out.

GM Mort |

No buying of partially charged wands. If they appear as loot it's fine, because it's what the Mod/AP said. And I don't interfere.

Ratel Dier |

hey Nigel, since the shield is so much more than everything else, why don't you let me cover the other half of the wand...
speaking of the shielf Mort is it large and metal?

Hedran |

Nigel, the Basic Spellbook on the loot list is the one we found with cause fear, enlarge person, expeditious retreat, false life, levitate, mage armor, magic missile, ray of enfeeblement and all the wizard cantrips?
And yeah GM Mort, I think I'll just keep the spellbook ;)
As for purchases... Great idea on the 2xCLW wand Nigel. Thumbs up.
I was planning on going for a Cloak of Resistance off the bat, but it feels awkward to spend all my money in just one thing right at level one, so I am going with more mundane stuff - list will be up in a few, I need to get some coffee :D

GM Mort |

Note this about captured Spellbooks:
Wizard Spells and Borrowed Spellbooks
A wizard can use a borrowed spellbook to prepare a spell he already knows and has recorded in his own spellbook, but preparation success is not assured. First, the wizard must decipher the writing in the book (see Arcane Magical Writings, above). Once a spell from another spellcaster's book is deciphered, the reader must make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell's level) to prepare the spell. If the check succeeds, the wizard can prepare the spell. He must repeat the check to prepare the spell again, no matter how many times he has prepared it before. If the check fails, he cannot try to prepare the spell from the same source again until the next day. However, as explained above, he does not need to repeat a check to decipher the writing.
You may take 10 for non in combat Spellcraft checks.

GM Mort |

Copying spells:
Spells Copied from Another's Spellbook or a Scroll: A wizard can also add a spell to his book whenever he encounters one on a magic scroll or in another wizard's spellbook. No matter what the spell's source, the wizard must first decipher the magical writing (see Arcane Magical Writings). Next, he must spend 1 hour studying the spell. At the end of the hour, he must make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell's level). A wizard who has specialized in a school of spells gains a +2 bonus on the Spellcraft check if the new spell is from his specialty school. If the check succeeds, the wizard understands the spell and can copy it into his spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook). The process leaves a spellbook that was copied from unharmed, but a spell successfully copied from a magic scroll disappears from the parchment.
If the check fails, the wizard cannot understand or copy the spell. He cannot attempt to learn or copy that spell again until one week has passed. If the spell was from a scroll, a failed Spellcraft check does not cause the spell to vanish.
In most cases, wizards charge a fee for the privilege of copying spells from their spellbooks. This fee is usually equal to half the cost to write the spell into a spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook). Rare and unique spells might cost significantly more.

GM Mort |

To decipher an arcane magical writing (such as a single spell in another's spellbook or on a scroll), a character must make a Spellcraft check (DC 20 + the spell's level). If the skill check fails, the character cannot attempt to read that particular spell again until the next day. A read magic spell automatically deciphers magical writing without a skill check. If the person who created the magical writing is on hand to help the reader, success is also automatic.