[ACG][OutPost I]Hawkmoon269's Season of Plundered Tombs Table 3 (Inactive)

Game Master Hawkmoon269

Loot List
POTENTIALLY SUMMONED CARDS:

Silver Chain Smuggler:

Henchman 2
Type: Monster
Traits: Human Rogue
To Defeat: Combat 12
Before you act, each other character at your location must summon and encounter the Silver Chain Smuggler.
Before you act, succeed at a Stealth or Diplomacy 5 check or you are dealt 1 Poison damage.
After you act, if your check to defeat did not have the Attack trait, examine the top card of your location. If it is a boon, banish it.
If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close the location this henchman came from.

Acid Pool:
Acid Pool
Henchman Barrier B

Traits
Obstacle
Acid
Veteran

Check
Intelligence
Craft
Wisdom
Survival
9

Powers
The difficulty to defeat is increased by the scenario's adventure deck number.
If undefeated, the Acid Pool deals an amount of Acid damage to you equal to the difference between its difficulty to defeat and your result.
If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close the location this henchman came from.

Aghash:
Aghash
Henchman Monster B

Traits
Outsider
Curse
Electricity
Trigger
Veteran

Check
Combat
11
OR
Divine
8

Powers
When you examine this card, discard a card from the blessings deck, then shuffle the villain Sandstorm into the blessings deck.
The difficulty to defeat is increased by twice the scenario's adventure deck number.
If undefeated, suffer a scourge.
If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close the location this henchman came from.

Blightwing:
Blightwing
Henchman Monster 1

Traits
Outsider
Curse
Poison
Veteran

Check
Combat
11

Powers
The difficulty to defeat is increased by twice the scenario's adventure deck number.
If undefeated, suffer the scourge Curse of Vulnerability.
If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close the location this henchman came from.

Giant Sand Eel:
Giant Sand Eel
Henchman Monster B

Traits
Animal
Veteran

Check
Combat
11

Powers
The difficulty to defeat is increased by twice the scenario's adventure deck number.
If undefeated, shuffle this card into a random open location and discard a card.
If defeated, shuffle this card into a random other open location, and you may immediately attempt to close the location this henchman came from.

Graven Guardian of Nethys:
Graven Guardian of Nethys
Henchman Monster 1

Traits
Construct
Nethys
Inquisitor
Veteran

Check
Arcane
Divine
9
OR
Combat
12

Powers
The Graven Guardian of Nethys is immune to the Mental and Poison traits.
The difficulty to defeat the Graven Guardian of Nethys is increased by the current scenario's adventure deck number.
You may discard a card that has the Nethys trait to defeat the Graven Guardian of Nethys.
If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close the location this henchman came from.

Natron Zombie:
Natron Zombie
Henchman Monster B

Traits
Undead
Mummy
Veteran

Check
Combat
12

Powers
The Natron Zombie is immune to the Mental and Poison traits.
The difficulty to defeat the Natron Zombie is increased by the current scenario's adventure deck number.
After you act, if your check to defeat did not have the Electricity trait, bury a random card from your discard pile.

Sandstorm:
Sandstorm
Villain Barrier B

Traits
Obstacle
Weather
Trigger

Check
None

Powers
When you examine this card or discard it from the blessings deck, each character moves to a random location, then examines the top card of his location deck; if it is a boon, shuffle his location deck. Then banish this card.

Theletos:
Theletos
Henchman Monster 3

Traits
Outsider
Trigger

Check
Combat
18
OR
Knowledge
Diplomacy
Divine
14

Powers
When you examine this card, if you have a card that has the Curse trait displayed next to your deck, banish a card that has the Curse trait; otherwise, draw the scourge Curse of Fevered Dreams from the box.
Damage dealt by the Theletos is Mental damage that may not be reduced.
If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close the location this henchman came from.

Voices of the Spire:
Voices of the Spire
Henchman Monster B

Traits
Human
Inquisitor
Veteran

Check
Combat
8
OR
Charisma
Diplomacy
7

Powers
The difficulty to defeat is increased by twice the scenario's adventure deck number.
If defeated by a combat check, or if undefeated, draw the scourge Curse of Vulnerability from the box.
If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close the location this henchman came from.

SCOURGE TABLE:
1 = Curse of Poisoning
2 = Curse of Poisoning
3 = Curse of Vulnerability
4 = Curse of Daybane
5 = Curse of the Ravenous
6 = Curse of Withering
7 = Curse of Fevered Dreams
8 = Curse of the Sphinx
9 = Curse of Blindness
10 = Curse of the Mummy

Curse of Poisoning:

Spoiler:
Curse of Poisoning
Scourge B

Traits
Curse
Poison

Check
None

Powers
While displayed, after you reset your hand, recharge a random card.

Curse of Vulnerability:

Spoiler:
Curse of Vulnerability
Scourge B

Traits
Curse

Check
None

Powers
While displayed, you may not reduce Acid, Cold, Electricity, or Fire damage dealt to you. If you are dealt 2 or more Acid, Cold, Electricity, or Fire damage, banish this card.

You may only have 1 copy of this card displayed.

Curse of Daybane:

Spoiler:
Curse of Daybane
Scourge B

Traits
Curse
Undead

Check
None

Powers
At the start of your turn, if the top card of the blessings discard pile has the Basic trait, you do not get a free exploration this turn.

You may only have 1 copy of this card displayed.

Curse of the Ravenous:

Spoiler:
Curse of the Ravenous
Scourge 1

Traits
Curse

Check
None

Powers
At the end of your turn, roll 1d4 and bury all cards in your discard pile of this type:
1. Blessings
2. Allies
3. Spells and weapons
4. Items

You may only have 1 copy of this card displayed.

Curse of Withering:

Spoiler:
Curse of Withering
Scourge 2

Traits
Curse

Check
None

Powers
While displayed, during your check, when you assemble your dice, replace all of your highest-size dice with the same number of next lower-size dice.

You may only have 1 copy of this card displayed.

Curse of Fevered Dreams:

Spoiler:
Curse of Fevered Dreams
Scourge 3

Traits
Curse
Arcane

Check
None

Powers
Display this card. While displayed, after you reset your hand, recharge your hand, then draw 1d4+1 cards.

You may only have 1 copy of this card displayed.

Curse of the Sphinx:

Spoiler:
Curse of the Sphinx
Scourge 4

Traits
Curse
Sphinx

Check
None

Powers
While displayed, when you would explore, first examine the top card of your location; if it is a boon, recharge your hand, reset your hand, then discard a card.

You may only have 1 copy of this card displayed.

Curse of Blindness:

Spoiler:
Curse of Blindness
Scourge 5

Traits
Curse

Check
None

Powers
While displayed, after you advance the blessings deck, discard a blessing or discard the top card of the blessings deck.

You may only have 1 copy of this card displayed.

Curse of the Mummy:

Spoiler:
Curse of the Mummy
Scourge 6

Traits
Curse
Undead
Mummy

Check
None

Powers
While displayed, when you are dealt damage that is not reduced, bury 1 card you would discard as damage.

You may only have 1 copy of this card displayed.



RULES: TRADERS:
In Season of Plundered Tombs, traders work differently than in Mummy’s Mask, in the following ways.
• When you are rewarded with a trader, instead of checking it off on the Bazaar card, record it on your Chronicle sheet.
• You do not visit traders after winning a scenario. Instead, at the start of each scenario in this Adventure Path, before setting out the locations, you may visit 1 trader you have recorded on your Chronicle sheet.
• Pay the trade cost with the usual number and type of cards from your deck, but instead of putting those cards in the box, put 1 in to your deck box and bury any others.
• At the end of the scenario, return the card you traded for to the game box, and put the card you returned to your deck box back into your deck.
For example, to pay the trade cost to a trader offering spells at a cost of 2 boons, put 1 of those boons into your deck box, bury the other boon, then add the spell to your deck. At the end of the scenario, return the spell to the game box and put the first boon back in your deck.

DURING THIS ADVENTURE:
The scourge die is 1d6.
When you are dealt Fire damage, if that damage is not reduced by at least 1, suffer the scourge Curse of Withering.
Before building the location decks, choose and set aside a random ally that has the Aspis trait from the box. At the start of the first turn, choose a character to draw that ally.

Replacement Cards:
Remove Curse
Spoiler:
Remove Curse
Spell B

Traits
Magic
Arcane
Divine
Basic

Check
Intelligence
Arcane
8
OR
Wisdom
Divine
6

Powers
Recharge this card to banish a displayed card that has the Curse trait.
After playing this card, if you do not have either the Arcane or Divine skill, banish it.

Scarab Buckler
Spoiler:
Scarab Buckler
Loot Armor B

Traits
Shield
Alchemical
Healing

Check
None

Powers
Recharge this card to reduce Acid, Cold, Combat, Electricity, or Fire damage dealt to you by 3. If proficient with light armor, you may play another armor on this check.
Bury this card to shuffle 1d4+1 random cards from your discard pile into your deck or to add 2d8 to your check that invokes the Swarm or Poison trait.

Spear of the Watchful Guardian
Spoiler:
Spear of the Watchful Guardian
Loot Weapon 1

Traits
Spear
Melee
Piercing
2-Handed
Magic

Check
None

Powers
Reveal this card to add 1d6 to your Perception check.
For your combat check, reveal this card to roll your Strength or Melee skill + 1d6+1; you may additionally recharge this card to add 1d6.
If you fail a combat check with this weapon, you may discard this card to ignore the result and reroll the dice; take the new result.

Elemental Treaty
Spoiler:
Elemental Treaty
Spell B

Traits
Magic
Arcane
Divine
Basic

Check
Intelligence
Arcane
Wisdom
Divine
4

Powers
Display this card next to your location. While displayed, reduce Acid, Cold, Electricity, Fire, and Poison damage dealt to characters at this location by 1.
When this location is closed, if you do not have either the Arcane or Divine skill, banish this card; otherwise, you may attempt an Arcane or Divine 6 check. If you succeed, recharge this card; if you fail, discard it.

Tablet of Languages Lost
Spoiler:
Tablet of Languages Lost
Loot Item 1

Traits
Object
Magic

Check
None
0

Powers
After the roll, reveal this card to add or subtract 2 from your Charisma or Diplomacy check.
Recharge this card to add 3 to your check to defeat a barrier or your Intelligence or Wisdom check to acquire an item.

Game of Afterlife
Spoiler:
Game of Afterlife
Loot Item B

Traits
Object
Gambling

Check
None

Powers
Bury this card to banish a displayed card that has the Curse trait.
When you would fail a check, bury this card to reroll 1 die; take the new result.
After playing this card, you may succeed at an Intelligence 8 check to recharge it instead of burying it.

Akhentepi's Armor
Spoiler:
Akhentepi's Armor
Loot Armor 1

Traits
Light Armor
Magic

Check
None

Powers
Recharge this card to ignore a non-villain bane's power that happens before you act.
Bury this card to reduce Cold, Combat, Electricity, or Poison damage dealt to you to 0. If proficient with light armors, discard this card instead.
If proficent with light armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand.


Sunburst Market
Campaign Sheet


1,301 to 1,350 of 1,522 << first < prev | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | next > last >>

So many fun choices!
There are 7 Boon 3s: Weapon, Spell, Item x2, Ally x2, Blessing.
Honestly, I‘d be happy with any 2 of them, so I’ll pick through whatever’s left.

Can Cogsnap finally take Boon 3s, having completed 8 scenarios with the party? If so, I’d suggest offering VampByDay 1st and 2nd upgrade picks, for having to be patient while catching up.

Qualzar definitely wants Kafar :)
Not really any interest in Nefti the Bard.

3-3C reward: 1d20 ⇒ 10
Nope

Silver Crusade

Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

Oh, absolutely! Consider all of my picks to be of lower priority than VampByDay's.

The Exchange

Deck Handler

Boon: 1d20 ⇒ 14

Didn't see the other reward so here are my other priorities but they are flexible.

Weapon 3: 1d1000 ⇒ 313 Stronger weapon that can boost my WIS/PER checks.
Item 3: 1d1000 ⇒ 355 Item to examine and rearrange top 3 of a deck.
Ally 3: 1d1000 ⇒ 54 Recharge to boost RAN/DEX/PER.


Boon from 3-3C?: 1d20 ⇒ 1


Male Gnome Crazyman Alchemist Google Sheets Decklist thingie

Daddy needs a new pair of boons: 1d20 ⇒ 13
Just as an FYI, I'm super busy today, so I won't be able to look through my deck and figure out what I'm going to keep until late tonight. Sorry!


Male Gnome Crazyman Alchemist Google Sheets Decklist thingie

So, after some time, I think I'm going to go with my card feat as Item, Getting Noxious bomb back in my deck (AGIAN, ugh)

As for my card upgrades . . . that's where I'm stuck. I think I'll replace Clockwork Butterfly with ALLY 2 (Flensing Jelly)
As for the bonus deck upgrade . . . I just can't justify NOT going with the twitch tonic (Item 3). I tried really hard to resist the cheese. I did. I held out for a good 8 seconds, I swear.

So Replace the Nosious Bomb with Twitch Tonic.

Silver Crusade

Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

So far, then, the loot distribution is as follows:

Cogsnap:

  • Ally 2
  • Item 3

    Skizza:

  • Blessing 3
  • Weapon 3

    Estra:

  • Spell 3
  • Ally 3

    Qualzar:

  • Undecided

    Qualzar can have the Spell 3 over Estra if there's a strong interest in it, by the way. Besides an Item 4 once we get into AD4, I don't have any critical upgrades left.

    Remaining AD2+ cards left are as follows...

    Druid of the Storm (Ally 2)
    The Viper (Ally 3)
    Cleric of Nethys (Ally 2)
    Commander Abdallah (Ally 3)

    Blessing of Isis (Blessing 3)

    Bloodroot Poison (Item 3)
    Scarab Sand (Item 3)

    Disable Mechanism (Spell 2)
    Lightning Bolt (Spell 2)
    Detonate (Spell 3)

    Javelin of Lightning (Weapon 2)
    Ooze Falchion +1 (Weapon 2)
    Disrupting Rapier +1 (Weapon 3)


  • Please note that I'm going to be travelling tomorrow through Monday. I'll still have access, but my updates may be more irregular, and I'll still be prioritizing AoA.


    Could we get the Forgotten Pharaoh Cultist card text, for the Lamia Sister summon?


    It'll depend on my trader options, but I'm leaning toward forgoing Neferekhu this scenario. No immediate need for WIS/Knowledge, and higher need for Remove Curse handling electricity-induced curses.


    Looks like this is one of the lucky broken campaigns.

    Forgotten Pharaoh Cultists:

    Henchman B
    Type: Monster
    Traits: Veteran Human Cultist
    To Defeat: Combat 10 OR Charisma Diplomacy 7
    The difficulty to defeat is increased by twice the scenario's adventure deck number.
    If undefeated, examine all the cards in your location deck, then roll on the Scourge Table and shuffle the corresponding scourge into your location deck.
    If defeated, you may immediately attempt to close the location this henchman came from

    I'll put that in the scenario update.


    Qualzar will take both loot spells Remove Curse and Elemental Treaty, so Estra should adjust her deck.

    Rules question: how does Chain Lightning interact with the Towering Obelisk?

    Towering Obelisk wrote:
    After playing a boon that has the Electricity trait, you may place it on top of your deck.
    Chain Lightning wrote:

    For your combat check, display this card next to your deck to use your Arcane skill + 3d6. While displayed, you may use the result of this check for any combat check you attempt at this location.

    At the end of the turn, if you do not have the Arcane skill, banish this card; otherwise, discard it, or you may succeed at an Arcane 12 check to recharge it instead.

    Ie, if Chain Lightning was previously displayed, and I choose to reuse the result of a previous check, could I then topdeck the Chain Lightning?

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    Good question. I'd be tempted to rule that you can't, since that second paragraph (describing what happens at the end-of-turn) is not you 'playing' the card, by the definition of play (which basically requires you to display, reveal, recharge, discard, bury, banish or otherwise manipulate a card for an effect).

    You could probably topdeck it rather than display it as soon as you use it on the first instance, but it won't be displayed for the rest of your turn then.

    All in all, I'll step aside to Hawkmoon on this, and I'm very curious as to his response myself.


    I feel like Chain Lightning should work similarly to Caustic Fog? But I was admittedly confused whether using Caustic Fog counted as playing it.

    Caustic Fog wrote:
    Display this card. While displayed, you may add 1d8 and the Acid trait to a combat check by a character at your location; you may play another spell on that check


    When you use the power on it to apply the prior result to a later check, you are playing it again. So you could place it on top of your deck at that point. You can not place it on top of your deck related to the recharge check.

    Displayed boons are played when you display it and when you choose to activate it. You choose to activate Chain Lightning if you decide to apply it to a later check. So you are playing it then.

    MM Rulebook p8 wrote:
    Choosing to activate a power on a displayed card also counts as playing it.

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    There's no way around it, I need clarification again on this, because I feel like I'm being told contradictory things and this is pretty essential to the functioning of numerous cards - including cards I intend to have in my character deck.

    Caustic Fog wrote:
    Display this card. While displayed, you may add 1d8 and the Acid trait to a combat check by a character at your location; you may play another spell on that check. After that check, you are dealt 1 Combat damage.
    "BR Hawkmoon", emphasis added wrote:

    When you use the power on it to apply the prior result to a later check, you are playing it again. So you could place it on top of your deck at that point. You can not place it on top of your deck related to the recharge check.

    Displayed boons are played when you display it and when you choose to activate it. You choose to activate Chain Lightning if you decide to apply it to a later check. So you are playing it then.

    MM Rulebook p8 wrote:
    Choosing to activate a power on a displayed card also counts as playing it.

    You see, I've been endlessly confused by this. Are you certain that if the first sentence of a card is just "display this" then it counts as playing it? Because whilst that makes intuitive sense to me - and appears to be the intent some of the time, like for Tower Shields - it doesn't seem to be the intent all of the time, and doesn't necessarily remain consistent with the definition of playing a card (which requires you to manipulate the card to have an outcome, which is why recharging a magical armor during your hand reset phase is not 'playing' an armor).

    If displaying it as per the first sentence of "Display this card", such as Toxic Cloud said, doesn't that directly contradict your previous ruling made here that says you can display Caustic Fog when you get into combat, and then also use its power? That sounds like playing 2 spells for one check, based on what you're saying here about displayed boons being played when you display them, and also played when you 'activate' them.

    (For the record, I've read and re-read the rules a lot of the time, and I believe that a lot of "Display" spells are either mis-templated or actually have to be displayed before you even start exploring, which makes a huge fraction of them absolute junk, including Caustic Fog. Hence why I brought up the conversation topic when using Caustic Fog earlier in this adventure.)

    (Also note that if the first sentence of these, like Caustic Fog's "Display this card.", is not considered playing a card, then that solves the issue... though raises new questions as to what are the timing limitations between using a card like that if it's not considered 'playing' a boon in the first place?)

    =======

    Regarding the scenario, it didn't quite click that the Sandstorms were in addition to the blessing deck blessings, rather than replacing them as is more common. That means we actually have 20% more turns in this scenario, so it may be worth intentionally conserving cards and exploring slower than usual, to make up for the serious damage threatened by the Lightning Storm sooner or later.


    2 people marked this as a favorite.

    I would agree that the display cards are a bit of a problem. The way I treat them is based on what has been stated in the forums as much as it is on what is in the rulebook. I think maybe the best place where any of this is explained is in this post. Vic says you can play Rage outside of an encounter or inside of an encounter.

    I tend to general see it as if they read "Display this card to gain this effect:..." instead of just "Display this card." It isn't what they really say, but it is the only way to understanding displaying them as a power in and of itself (performing an action with a card to gain an effect).

    As for why it isn't playing 2 spells, well, that is because it is only 1 spell. You can kind of make the argument you are playing it twice. But I see it as more that you are completing the play of it if you display and activate it all in one step.

    So, in summary:
    1. If a card says "Display this card." Displaying it is playing it.
    2. If you choose to activate a power on a displayed card, you are playing it.
    3. You may display such a card in an encounter as long as the effect you will gain relates to the step of the encounter.
    4. If such a card is displayed during an encounter that requires you to choose to activate it, you must choose to activate it so that it relates to the step of the encounter. Doing so does not count as playing it a second time in the same step.

    Again, I understand the confusion. I think if you want to try to get a response from Vic or Mike or someone on the rules forum, it would be worthwhile.


    VampByDay:
    Qualzar has a Remove Curse available! I’d have used it on Cogsnap before end of turn, assuming you want a full hand?

    Also, note that the Lightning Storm moves to a random location after it hits someone, which might have affected whether and where you moved? Hopefully you don't hit the 1/6 chance of it following you.

    Hawkmoon:

    BR Hawkmoon wrote:
    As for why it isn't playing 2 spells, well, that is because it is only 1 spell.

    This might be my favorite PACG ruling.

    (Less facetiously, that does make sense. And it happens all the time with armor; I guess it's just unusual seeing it on a spell.)

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    Thanks for the cohesive ruling, Hawkmoon!

    Just a couple of notes.

  • The whole story of the Rage spell makes things more confusing to me, not less. Because it explicitly was FAQed (and later printed, I believe) to say that it can be played during an encounter... which just makes it seem like any spell that doesn't have that FAQ or line of text seem that they shouldn't be able to. Otherwise it's literally meaningless text, plus a meaningless FAQ.
  • In fact, that FAQ is an official source that very strongly implies that you shouldn't be able to display Rage if it wasn't FAQed like that, which seems to, again, contradict your comments on Caustic Fog. Hence my never-ending confusion on this topic, because I'm getting conflicting sources whether official or unofficial.
  • EDIT: To clarify, I'm really happy with your ruling, and I strongly believe that the intent is that these spells can be used during an encounter, but I maintain that the templating and rules surrounding them, even over numerous years, are poorly defined or suffer clear RAI vs RAW contradictions, with numerous sources appearing to support two conflicting interpretations. I'm certainly not upset at Hawkmoon, but I confess to being greatly frustrated with this whole debacle, especially since it's at least as old as S&S.

  • Also, it's probably less important whether you're playing 2 spells or not in Caustic Fog; rather, it's more important whether you're playing the same spell twice (implicitly for two different powers, since you're playing it twice). You're explicitly not allowed to re-use the same card in a check, which is why two cards like Belt of Incredible Dexterity don't infinitely combo back and forth for infinite Dexterity. (And, as far as I know, why you can't both reveal and recharge Deliquescent Gloves for its power).

    I'm honestly ever-more reluctant to post new threads in the Rules forums, because I feel like I have such a long backlog of things awaiting official input, and precious little interaction from official sources has occurred on it for well over a year. I feel like I'm both wasting my time and trying to keep track of an ever-growing queue of questions.

    I'm fully aware that the focus is on the next set (and I'd be very interested in seeing how, if at all, the rulebook of the upcoming Core Set has been changed from Mummy's Mask), of course, but that just further suggests I should wait for that before looking for rules rabbit-holes.

    ========================================

    As for the game/scenario, I'm really tired and don't feel up to a full gameplay post right now... plus I want to see what Cogsnap's hand looks like, since (as mentioned) his curse could/should have been lifted before he lost his hand to it.

    I also need to see where the Storm goes. 1/3 odds of it moving to Estra, due to the scenario rule. I did warn everyone that this storm was going to be nasty, and hence me prepping Elemental Treaties and the like. I'll take my turn tomorrow morning one way or another, though.


  • Yeah. The Rage thread is a bit of a headache to read. I cringed when I linked to it. So, the Rage FAQ was because it also requires the character you play it on to do something to make it meaningful: they have to bury a card. So the FAQ was to get around the "affecting the situation rule".

    MM Rulebook p9 wrote:

    RULES: AFFECTING THE SITUATION

    In some situations, you are limited to playing cards or using powers that affect or otherwise relate to the current situation. In these cases, the things you do cannot require anyone to do something else for your action to be meaningful—the things you do must directly affect the situation.

    Without saying you could play it during an encounter, you couldn't because it would have required someone else to do something to make playing it meaningful. The FAQ wasn't about addressing that you can't play a "display this card" during an encounter.

    The "using the same card twice" is about revealing cards. There is a rule about only using a card's power once per check or step. But I really don't think you are playing it twice. I think you are completing the power. Which is what the rules instruct you to do:

    MM Rulebook p8 wrote:

    When a card has multiple powers, you must choose

    one of them, and you must do everything that power says when possible.

    Granted, these cards don't have multiple powers, but I think the "do everything that power says" part has to be true of cards that have one power just as much as ones that have multiple powers. And that is what I think you are doing when you play a "display this card" kind of card during an encounter. You are gaining the effect from displaying it and you must do everything it says, which includes using that effect.


    Estra and Honaire wrote:
    You're explicitly not allowed to re-use the same card in a check, which is why two cards like Belt of Incredible Dexterity don't infinitely combo back and forth for infinite Dexterity. (And, as far as I know, why you can't both reveal and recharge Deliquescent Gloves for its power).

    Is same *card*, different *power* not okay? (eg Yewstance’s Delinquent Gloves example; or armors like Buccaneer’s Breastplate or Snakeskin Tunic.) I thought that you’re explicitly not allowed to reuse the same *power* in a check, which is what prevents the infinite Belts of Dexterity.

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    Hawkmoon's points are exceptionally compelling, as always.

    @EmpTyger:
    I'm certain that the same card, different power is not okay. It's been explicitly called out, for example, that if you reveal Snakeskin Tunic (or another armor) to bolster your combat check, then fail that combat check, then you cannot use that armor (or any armor) to prevent the damage, as you've used an armor for that check already.

    =========

    Again, as for the ongoing scenario....

    I mixed up the scenario rule, slightly - certainly not 1/3 odds of hitting one of us, thankfully. I thought it always went to an occupied location for a minute there, and I was kicking myself for taking Elemental Treaties and Armor rather than Compasses.


    I think that Lightning Storm is at Shifting Dunes, not Towering Obelisk. Where Estra is too. So, will have to play Dimension Leaping by ear, depending on what happens with the Lightning Storm. Could go pass off Find Traps to Estra, could try to handle Cogsnap's Memories of Violence, could stay put.

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    Ughhh this sucks on so many levels. My Elemental Treaty being misused, and now that Sandstorm is putting me at the mercy of Lightning Storm when I'm out of means to protect myself. Unless I roll a 4 I'm going to lose some or basically all of my hand and get cursed.

    On the plus side, I can at least wipe my Curse out with Mask of the Forgotten Pharaoh, but it's looking like my next turn will be a wash.

    Cogsnap:
    That Memories of Violence is harsh. If you want to move to Estra's location then do feel free to do so, and I'll clear it off you by defeating it at the start of my turn. Even if I fail, I think I'll finally use my Faction Boon to clear it off if need be.

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    Just indicating that you can't put a liquid on Canteen if you're only discarding it. Canteen only captures liquids that would be banished.

    Your update still listed Cleric of Nethys in your hand.

    I'm on mobile right now; will hopefully be taking my turn tonight (in my timezone).


    So there are Sandstorms at the start of both Skizza's and my turns, and it's been too long a day for me to try to figure this out tonight.

    The Exchange

    Deck Handler

    Ah bugger...I tend to not even glance at the blessing unless I am about to use one. Time to figure out what to do with that turn.

    I parsed the info for mine and it did not change my turn luckily.

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    Not quite no change, unless "When your turn begins" means something different to "At the start of your turn" (Can I get clarification from the BR on that?)...

    By being moved to the Shifting Dunes as soon as he advanced the blessings deck, Skizza would have been forced to shuffle his Scarab Buckler back into his deck from the location power, which would have changed his turn by removing his ability to use it.

    The Exchange

    Deck Handler

    Yeah, from my reading of it since advancing the blessings deck is the first part of a turn in the rulebook it has already begun and then it only calls out "At the start of your turn effects" to happen after that. Looks like it does need a BR clarification and clarification for the rulebook or errata for the locations worded that way.


    I rolled for the next sandstorm. (Without foreknowledge I'd have used Dimension Leap on Skizza's turn to escape the Lightning Storm, so I cast it.)

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    I had my doubts for a while, particularly when comparing the luck of my Poog character with Estra, but I'm now 100% convinced.

    Estra is my unluckiest PFSACG character, by a strong margin.


    "When your turn begins" should actually be "at the start of your turn".

    The Exchange

    Deck Handler

    Alright. I will retcon my use of Scarab Buckler in a moment.

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    ANOTHER Sandstorm? Well at least we've cleared most of them from the blessings deck, and since we had them in addition to the normal 30 blessings we're still left with a bunch more turns than usual.

    Also, note that Elemental Treaty is displayed at the Sulfur Pits, which isn't on the scenario update yet.

    Also, does anyone have a strong desire for a Blessing 3, given that one was examined and shuffled in? (And whilst I'd like a Spell 3, not enough to spend a die bump for it, but thank you to the GM for the offer!) Estra herself will take it as a low-ish priority, but I'd like to get an idea as to what demand there is.

    Scarab Sages

    Sorry, completely missed that it was my turn. It’s been a week. I’ll post as soon as I can.

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    So, referring to my last turn, is there a strict rulebook paragraph or FAQ that covers my specific actions?

    I wanted to recharge the Djinn's Favor Amulet to protect me from Acid Damage, particularly as doing so would also heal me. But I only took 1 Acid damage, and that was reduced to 0 by Elemental Treaty. Can I still reduce it further, or can I play my Djinn's Favor Amulet 'before' Elemental Treaty makes any modification?

    I'm still taking Acid damage for certain (just like Radovan's "When you are dealt X damage, display a monster from the box" power still works even though he reduced that element's incoming damage to 0 - being "Dealt" damage and "Discarding cards" to damage are two different things, after all).


    Per Hawkmoon’s earlier explanation, I would think that works?

    Hawkmoon269 wrote:
    At that point, any rules about the damage kick in. So, the scenario power increased it by 1 (1+1 = 2). Elemental Treaty reduces it by 1 (2-1=1). (Thanks to the order of operations you can apply those in any order really.) And you could of course play other cards to reduce it as well.

    The Exchange

    Deck Handler

    Between healing 5 and pulling a masterwork thieves' tools I went ahead and explored in howling sands. Closed it out but feeling skinny again so may not do much in the upcoming turns.


    That is indeed a terrible trap. Qualzar is not sticking around to fight it!


    That STR 8 check needed for the villain is going to be tricky for any of us. Estra has the best chance, but unfortunately no one is currently in position to tempclose the Windswept Chasm.

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    I'm afraid I don't have time to post and I will be travelling for a bit over two days. If the team wants to keep the game moving, please feel free to bot me, otherwise expect me to post late Friday for most of you (US-time).

    Estra has Honaire in her discard pile, and just cast her cure spell... but she can still pass the Strength check with the help of her start-of-turn 'exploration'-like power.

    For the time being, though, she has no means of combat in hand, so I would anticipate that Estra goes to the Windswept Chasm, examines with her ability, explores if it's safe to do so, and then uses her Lithomancy Stones for an Augury. I'll try to discard some cards to draw up some blessings - it may be better for someone to just try to brute-force the Strength 8 check with blessings than wait for Estra again.


    I think it’s Estra’s turn?
    Reminder to everyone to be very careful about exploring in the Windswept Chasm, because of that Rolling Sphere.

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    Yep, I didn't get to post last night after I got home due to other constraints, but taking my turn now.


    In case it got lost over the holiday: it's Skizza's turn!


    Really don't feel like it's worth risking that Rolling Sphere. No help for the STR check. Looks like it's up to Cogsnap!

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    So far so good, though I would have strongly recommended that Skizza used Good Omen to add 6 to his check to acquire the Blessing of Isis, because I don't think that spell is going to have any other use (as there's no chance of us having to make any closing checks anymore).

    (Also, I'm not sure how Skizza encountered Blessing of Isis from rolling 2 on a 1d6. At that time, there were 6 cards in the location deck, not counting the Sandstorm Roc on the bottom; 4/5/6/8/9. So Blessing of Isis should've been first in the sequence, since cards 1/2/3 were all moved to the bottom or banished/acquired by then.)

    (In order to clear these things up, I'd appreciate a scenario update once the GM has time.)

    The Exchange

    Deck Handler

    Oh I see what I did wrong now. I got confused and counted from the location again without thinking to remove the monster I encountered. And I completely missed Good Omen. Sorry.

    Silver Crusade

    Deck Handler // Searching for: Blessing 6 > Spell 6 > Spell 5 > Item 4

    Not a big deal - an honest mistake makes it just about as random as anything else. :)


    Sorry everyone. I got busy with holiday stuff. Updated posted. FYI: I will be at PAX Unplugged Friday through Sunday. I should be able to get an update in either in the morning or evening each day though.


    Male Gnome Crazyman Alchemist Google Sheets Decklist thingie

    Just an FYI, next week (starting this Sunday and going ‘till next sunday) is Winterfest in my area, a week-long IRL PFS/SFS gaming thing where there are games every night and also during the day on the weekends. Pay $1 to reroll any d20 and all proceeds go to Toys for Tots. Long story short, I may be slow posting because most of my free time will be taken up with that. I’ll try and keep up though.

    1,301 to 1,350 of 1,522 << first < prev | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | next > last >>
    Community / Forums / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / [ACG][OutPost I]Hawkmoon269's Season of Plundered Tombs Table 3 Discussion All Messageboards

    Want to post a reply? Sign in.