Becoming immune to non-lethal

Rules Questions

What happens if you become immune to non-lethal damage while having non-lethal damage? Does the damage go away? Does it sit there not doing anything? Does it vanish but return if the effect is temporary?

Grand Lodge

Through what means?

Hypothetical mostly. I was thinking on something and the question came to mind. After searching around, I couldn't find the answer. So here we are. xD

For the sake of an example I guess a Druid Wild Shaping into an Elemental or Plant?

Wildshape doesn't change your creature type.

You don't gain immunity to non-lethal damage.

That's not the question though. Cast Wish/Miracle and ask for non-lethal immunity for 30 seconds..

Grand Lodge

Answering your question, would be reliant on how you came into the immunity in the first place.

Ask your GM. There isn't a general rule that can be applied to a hypothetical situation.

I would argue that it doesn't remove the existing damage.

If we look at poison instead, check this out.

It grants immunity but doesn't remove the effect.

Becoming immune to critical hits doesn't retrospectively heal damage from critical hits you've already taken.

Matthew Downie wrote:
Becoming immune to critical hits doesn't retrospectively heal damage from critical hits you've already taken.

Another good example.

Generally, effects that grant immunity AND end existing effects of that type will say so.

If it doesn't say it removes it, it doesn't.

Things only do what they say they do, going outside of this leads to madness and arguments.

Case in point: the Sleep spell.

It does not say that it knocks you Prone, and also does not say that it forces you to drop your weapon (disarming you).

It is only a first level spell. It makes you go to sleep. On your feet.

It's magic, it doesn't have to make sense.

The way I look at it, Immunity to non-lethal would allow you to ignore all effects related to non-lethal damage. You would still have the non-lethal damage, if just would not effect you in any way, regardless of how much you have taken. You wouldn't accumulate more since you are immune to it for the time being.

Immunity to Poison? You aren't effected by the poison. No Fort save to resist it (it doesn't effect you). Existing poison in your system and you gain immunity? No need to make more Fort saves (auto-success) and you take no further damage from the poison but the existing damage you have taken remains. You aren't immune to ability damage, and if you did get that, you'd only ignore the damage/penalty until that immunity ended.

Same thing with Immunity to Disease. You don't need to save to avoid contracting it. It doesn't effect you. No need to save to avoid worsening effects, they don't effect you.

It should suspend any negative effect from taking non-lethal damage until the immunity passes and prevent you from taking more non-lethal damage. You are immune to it after all. If it caused some intermediary effect, like stat drain or exhaustion, you would suffer from it since you aren't immune to stat drain or exhaustion.

Digging up an old thread with new strange relevance::

I have a kinetisist (Aether/void2nd) of level 12 potentially in the campaign we are doing. At level 4 I will have enough to buy the Ghost Syrup to turn myself into a living, incoporeal, being. Incoporeal creatures are immune to non-lethal damage, so I cannot gain burn while incoporeal. Other items I will be getting will give me shape change abilities for various durations adding up to 2-3 hours per day. In the shape changed state I will be coporeal, and able to use and gain burn abilities. When I end the effect and become incoporeal again, does the non-lethal stay, and does the burn stay because

"A kinetisist who is immune to non-lethal damage can't accept burn"

Any thoughts/opinions?

Grand Lodge

You may be confusing incorporeal with undead. Being incorporeal does not inherently make you immune to nonlethal damage.

From the PRD wrote:
Incorporeal Subtype: An incorporeal creature has no physical body. An incorporeal creature is immune to critical hits and precision-based damage (such as sneak attack damage) unless the attacks are made using a weapon with the ghost touch special weapon quality. In addition, creatures with the incorporeal subtype gain the incorporeal special quality.
Incorporeal special quality wrote:

Incorporeal (Ex) An incorporeal creature has no physical body. It can be harmed only by other incorporeal creatures, magic weapons or creatures that strike as magic weapons, and spells, spell-like abilities, or supernatural abilities. It is immune to all nonmagical attack forms. Even when hit by spells or magic weapons, it takes only half damage from a corporeal source (except for channel energy). Although it is not a magical attack, holy water can affect incorporeal undead. Corporeal spells and effects that do not cause damage only have a 50% chance of affecting an incorporeal creature. Force spells and effects, such as from a magic missile, affect an incorporeal creature normally.

An incorporeal creature has no natural armor bonus but has a deflection bonus equal to its Charisma bonus (always at least +1, even if the creature's Charisma score does not normally provide a bonus).

An incorporeal creature can enter or pass through solid objects, but must remain adjacent to the object's exterior, and so cannot pass entirely through an object whose space is larger than its own. It can sense the presence of creatures or objects within a square adjacent to its current location, but enemies have total concealment (50% miss chance) from an incorporeal creature that is inside an object. In order to see beyond the object it is in and attack normally, the incorporeal creature must emerge. An incorporeal creature inside an object has total cover, but when it attacks a creature outside the object it only has cover, so a creature outside with a readied action could strike at it as it attacks. An incorporeal creature cannot pass through a force effect.

An incorporeal creature's attacks pass through (ignore) natural armor, armor, and shields, although deflection bonuses and force effects (such as mage armor) work normally against it. Incorporeal creatures pass through and operate in water as easily as they do in air. Incorporeal creatures cannot fall or take falling damage. Incorporeal creatures cannot make trip or grapple attacks, nor can they be tripped or grappled. In fact, they cannot take any physical action that would move or manipulate an opponent or its equipment, nor are they subject to such actions. Incorporeal creatures have no weight and do not set off traps that are triggered by weight.

An incorporeal creature moves silently and cannot be heard with Perception checks if it doesn't wish to be. It has no Strength score, so its Dexterity modifier applies to its melee attacks, ranged attacks, and CMB. Nonvisual senses, such as scent and blindsight, are either ineffective or only partly effective with regard to incorporeal creatures. Incorporeal creatures have an innate sense of direction and can move at full speed even when they cannot see.

Format: incorporeal; Location: Defensive Abilities.

It doesn't say you're immune to NL, so you're not. It's just that most incorporeal are also undead, which ARE immune to NL

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Becoming immune to non-lethal All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions