jmclaus's page

Organized Play Member. 154 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 12 Organized Play characters.



1 to 50 of 70 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

I'd like for my druid to take the Scalykind domain with the Venom subdomain. However, this domain is not one of the basic options available, so I'm looking at options that will allow me to take it.

This is for PFS, so I'd prefer PFS-legal options. Just posting here for more visibility.

The best option I've found so far is the Veiled Adept archetype, which allows me to choose a domain or subdomain from an Eldest, which includes Ragadahn who offers the Venom subdomain. This is overall a pretty good option, but ideally I'd like to take the Blight Druid archetype and it is incompatible with Veiled Adept.

Are there any feats, traits, prestige classes, or archetypes compatible with Blight Druid that would work? I'd like to avoid losing Wild Shape progression for elemental forms, but I'd rather sacrifice a few effective levels of that than Blight Druid.


In previous seasons, it was possible to rebuild your character completely as long as you had not played a session as level 2 or higher. This allowed a rebuild at the beginning of level 2 after having played 3 scenarios, before playing your 4th.

However, the latest version of the guide appears slightly different.

Quote:
1st-level characters may be rebuilt per the rules in Appendix 1: Character Creation. This is not a necessary step to completing a Chronicle sheet after an adventure, but a Chronicle sheet is required in order to confirm the changes. The same is true for retraining, as described below.

This means that you can no longer rebuild after three scenarios, as you would be level 2 immediately after completely the 3rd. Am I correct in my understanding of this change?


Calistria's Deific Obedience for Sentinels reads

Quote:
1: Lucky Strike (Sp) divine favor 1/day, align weapon (chaotic only) 2/day, or keen edge 1/day

I believe the Divine Favor 1/day is an error and that it should be 3/day. Every single other deity (to my knowledge) has its 12 HD benefits as a choice between: 1st level spell 3/day, 2nd level spell 2/day, 3rd level spell 1/day.

Furthermore, Milani offers Divine Favor 3/day as part of her Exalted 12 HD boon, as do Falayna and Irez for Celestial Obedience.

If this indeed a typo, I was hoping that a Campaign Clarification would be issued.


What is the effective level for the evolutions manifested by Evolving armor?

Specifically, what amount of resistance do you gain and can you select Improved Natural Armor twice?


Does an Eidolon Anchoring Harness prevent instantaneous effects that would force it backs to its plane, such as Banishment, Dismissal, or Blasphemy?

If so, does the Eidolon only have to expend a single use of its master's SLA or does it have to continue to expend a use each round it wants to remain?


If a Shadow Puppeteer's shadow conjuration dies while he is maintaining the performance that summoned it, can he immediately summon another creature or must he spend another action to restart his performance?


Is there anything preventing selling a pregenerated character's gear for money, buying diamond dust with it, and using that diamond dust to clear conditions?

I know that you can only spend prestige to clear your own conditions, but I'm not sure that applies to spending gold. A normal character could sell their gear, buy a potion, and give it to another player, which isn't particularly different from the example above.


The Grenadier archetype from the Monster Codex has the following ability:

Directed Blast (Su) wrote:
At 6th level, a grenadier can detonate a bomb so that it splashes in a 20-foot cone rather than affecting a radius. The cone starts at the alchemist and extends away from her in the direction she chooses. The alchemist designates one creature in the squares affected by the cone to be the target of the bomb and makes her attack roll against that creature; all other squares in the cone take splash damage. If the alchemist has the explosive bomb discovery and throws an explosive directed blast, the cone of splash damage is 30 feet long instead of 20 feet. This ability replaces swift poisoning.

How does this interact with Smoke Bomb, which is based on the splash radius of the bomb?

Smoke bomb* wrote:
When the alchemist creates a bomb, he can choose to have it create a cloud of thick smoke when it detonates. The cloud functions as fog cloud, filling an area equal to twice the bomb's splash radius for 1 round per level.

Also, does using Directed Blast provoke? You're still making a ranged attack roll to hit the target, but that would make it rather weak as you have to use it much closer to your opponents.


If a creature attempts to use a wand on a magic-impeded plane, does it have to make a concentration check? I know that you don't normally need to make concentration checks to cast a wand defensively, but I haven't seen anything that says spell trigger items are free of all concentration checks.

Impeded Magic wrote:
Particular spells and spell-like abilities are more difficult to cast on planes with this trait, often because the nature of the plane interferes with the spell. To cast an impeded spell, the caster must make a concentration check (DC 20 + the level of the spell). If the check fails, the spell does not function but is still lost as a prepared spell or spell slot. If the check succeeds, the spell functions normally.


Can a creature that disarms a PC using a slam attack pick up the weapon as part of that disarm maneuver? In this case, the creature in question is a lightning elemental with a single slam attack but two arms.

The rules state that

Quote:
If you successfully disarm your opponent without using a weapon, you may automatically pick up the item dropped.

Technically, a slam attack is a natural weapon, so reading completely RAW this wouldn't work. However, an unarmed strike counts as a manufactured weapon, meaning that technically the quoted clause would never apply.


As the title says, can a creature with 15 foot reach attack a square that is 3 squares away in a diagonal direction from the creature's corner? I know that the space would be 20 feet away, but there is an FAQ allowing a creature with 10 foot reach to attack 2 diagonals away.


As outline in the PFS guide, players are not allowed to use their prestige to purchase spellcasting for other players:

Page 22 wrote:
Prestige Points are designed to be spent by characters on themselves.

Does this apply to rewards that affect multiple players? For example, can a player purchase Break Enchantment (which has a CL of 9) and include other players in the target? It seems a pretty big waste to only allow the player to target himself.


I had two question about Rod of Giant Summoning:

1. If a creature summoned normally comes with a weapon, e.g. a cyclops using Summon Nature's Ally V, does that weapon get resized. The polymorph rules and Enlarge X spell specifically says this happen, but those don't cover this case.

2. Can a creature be targeted by a size increasing effect if summoned using the rod? For example, could a druid summon a Giant Velociraptor and then cast Animal Growth on it? It seems to me that the Giant template isn't a size increasing effect, but rather something that changes the base size of the creature. Such a summon creature should still be able to be enlarged, such like a creature that is natively Giant or an animal companion whose 4th/7th level advance has increased its size.


What outsider sub-types are allowed when creating a weapon with Bane property? The actual weapon property itself simply says "pick one subtype." However, in my opinion picking extraplanar as the subtype is at the very least cheesy, if not illegal. Similarly, choosing incorporeal or native also significantly broadens the scope of Bane. Has there been any clarification on this?

In particular, I am curious if something like an Animate Dream can even be targeted by a Bane effect, as its only subtypes are extraplanar and incorporeal.


Has there been any news about whether the two pregen specials will affect other scenarios, similar to how playing Serpent's Rise affected the various scenario with Aspis Agents?


Do class abilities apply to day job checks? The guide lists specific things that apply, which does not include class features:

Page 22 wrote:
Permanent bonuses from equipment, feats, racial bonuses, and traits affect your Day Job check as they would any check for the rolled skill, but temporary bonuses such as those granted by spell effects, other than crafter’s fortune, do not contribute, as the duration over which the Day Job check is made is undefined and represents a longer amount of time than a spell’s duration would permit the bonus to remain.

Although there are relatively few class abilities that give bonuses on Craft, Perform, or Profession, there are a lot that give bonuses on alternative day jobs. For example, with the Caravan vanity you can use Intimidate as a day job, which Inquisitors get a bonus on from the Stern Gaze class feature. Does this apply? It seems like it should.

Then there's the issue of the Alchemy class feature, which I've seen a lot of disagreement on. A lot of the argument against Alchemy applying to day jobs that it is situational, but the guide only makes a distinction of permanent vs. non-permanent bonuses. I feel like the guide doesn't clearly spell out what does and does not apply to day jobs.


Are James Jacobs' forum posts valid for Pathfinder Society. Version 7.0 of the guide states:

Page 35 wrote:
If a particular issue comes up repeatedly or causes a significant problem in one of your games, please raise any questions or concerns on the Pathfinder Society Messageboards at paizo.com/pathfindersociety, and the campaign management staff or the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game development team will work to provide you with an answer to avoid confusion in the future.

This makes it seems like James' posts are valid rulings, as he is a member of the development team. However, he's not on the design team and he personally admits he's not a rules guy.

Does anyone have a source of him or someone else saying hist posts shouldn't taken to be rules?


If an Eidolon is under the effect of something that it grants it an extra attack, such as Haste, is it still subject to the number listed in the Max Attacks column.

For example, consider an Eidolon for a 5th level summoner. It has a gore, a bite, and two claw attacks. The Max Attacks column limits it to these 4. After being affected by Haste, can it make 5 attacks or just 4?

Also, how exactly do manufactured weapon attacks come into play. I know that they're counted against the limit, but what if you don't plan on using a weapon.

Using the previous example, I could be wielding a longsword in one hand and have my claw attacks on my feet. That would allow me to make 5 attacks per round. Obviously, this isn't allowed. But am I allowed to select all of those evolutions (claw, bite, gore) with the promise that I will be using only those 4 attacks?


If a background knowledge check at the beginning of the scenario lists multiple knowledges for a single result set, does each player get to use each of those knowledge skills or does he just pick one?

Rules wise, I think you could roll each one and take the highest. However, I've only ever seen it as you pick one, usually your highest. That's also how I've always GMed it but I was hoping for a definitive source.


Does casting a spell with a material component but not a somatic component require a free hand?

I am guessing that the answer is yes, as according to the pinned condition:

Quote:
A pinned creature can take verbal and mental actions, but cannot cast any spells that require a somatic or material component. A pinned character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level) or lose the spell.

This implies to me that it is not enough to simply have the material component on your person. Additional, the general rules on magic state that

Quote:
To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any)

Therefore, I believe that you can't cast a spell if your hands are full. However, I was curious if there is any rule that spells it out more clearly.


As I understand it, natural attacks have little interaction with Two-Weapon Fighting, both the feat and the full-round action. While two-weapon fighting, you take a penalty only on the attacks made with your primary and off hands. Natural attacks such as a bite are not affected.

For example, if a character dual wields daggers and uses a bite attack in the same round, his full-attack would look like dagger -2 / dagger -2 / bite -5 before factoring in BAB, Strength, etc.

However, the Core Rulebook 6th printing states that:

Page 181 wrote:
Feats such Two-Weapon Fighting and Multiattack (see the Pathfinder RPG Bestiary) can reduce these penalties

The penalties that quotes refers to are the ones for secondary natural attack. Those penalties are changed from -5 to -2 by Multiattack but it's not clear to me why they mention Two-Weapon Fighting.

If you're only using natural attacks, Two-Weapon Fighting doesn't matter at all because natural attacks have no penalties for using multiple attacks past the basic -5 for secondary attacks. If you have two primary claw attacks, you can both of them without penalty unlike two manufactured weapons. And if you are using manufactured weapons in conjunction with natural attacks, all natural attacks are made at a -5 penalty regardless of whether you have Two-Weapon Fighting.

Is the quote from the Core Rulebook an error or am I missing something?


It looks a lot of the sub-types contradict the base form for starting evolutions.

For example, consider the Azata sub-type:

Azata sub-type wrote:
Biped (limbs [arms], limbs [legs]) or serpentine (limbs [arms], tail, tail slap).

Meanwhile, the base forms read:

Base Forms wrote:

Biped

Starting Statistics: Size Medium; Speed 30 ft.; AC +2 natural armor; Saves Fort (good), Ref (poor), Will (good); Attack 2 claws (1d4); Ability Scores Str 16, Dex 12, Con 13, Int 7, Wis 10, Cha 11.

Serpentine

Starting Statistics: Size Medium; Speed 20 ft., climb 20 ft.; AC +2 natural armor; Saves Fort (poor), Ref (good), Will (good); Attack bite (1d6), tail slap (1d6); Ability Scores Str 12, Dex 16, Con 13, Int 7, Wis 10, Cha 11.

Does a biped azata gain claws at first levels? The base form says it does but the azata sub-type makes no mention at it.

Unrelated, but it also seems that the author of the Magic Attacks evolution doesn't know how sub-types work:

Evolution wrote:
If the summoner is 10th level or higher, all of the eidolon's natural attacks are treated as the alignment of the eidolon for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction.
Unchained Eidolon wrote:
Alignment: The eidolon is a creature of this alignment. If its alignment is chaotic, evil, lawful, or good, it gains that subtype.
Subtypes wrote:
A creature with the good subtype overcomes damage reduction as if its natural weapons and any weapons it wields are good-aligned.

There are corresponding rules for each alignment sub-type. An eidolon automatically counts both its natural attacks and weapon attacks as its alignment.


As the title asks, can you make a claw attack while your hands are full?

I know you can't attack with the same limb twice in a round when combining natural attacks and weapon attacks, but what about when you're only making natural attacks.


Are creatures that are immune to paralysis, such as dragons, able to be paralyzed?

The way I see it is that paralysis specifically refers to the Universal Monster Ability / Special Attack which can paralyze creatures hit with a natural attack, such as that used by Ghouls.

I don't think it applies to the more general paralyzed condition, such as that caused by Hold Monster.

Is there any RAW to support one way or the other? Forums posts by developers would also be appreciated.


As described here, the 4th level advancement of the horse option for the animal companion gains the combat-trained quality. I had a couple questions about this.

1. Do the horse's hoof attacks become primary? In that entry, there isn't anything that says there is. However, in the Bestiary entry for a horse they have the docile property, which says their hoof attacks become primary once they are combat trained.

2. Do the 6 tricks that combat training entails count against the limit of tricks the animal can know?


Can an Unchained Monk who has the Two-Weapon Fighting feat and is not using Flurry of Blows make two unarmed attacks as a full round action? I am asking this because their Unarmed Strike class feature reads:

Quote:
At 1st level, a monk gains Improved Unarmed Strike as a bonus feat. A monk’s attacks can be with fists, elbows, knees, and feet. This means that a monk can make unarmed strikes with his hands full. There is no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk striking unarmed.

A very close reading of the rules would say that they are unable to make offhand attacks with a an unarmed attack and therefore cannot use TWF because it includes an offhand attack.


Are either of the two following strategies legal for Unchained Rogues in PFS?

1. Selecting Ninja Trick using an Unchained Rogue Talent, selecting Rogue Talent using said Ninja Trick, and selecting Offensive Defense (a rogue talent not on the list for Unchained).

2. Dipping a single level into the Pathfinder Field Agent PrC, which get a Pathfinder training at first level. One option for that training is taking a Rogue Talent she qualifies for.

The first strategy seems pretty against RAI, if not RAW, and I'd expect the table variance. The second strategy though doesn't seem to go against any precedents. A fighter that has nothing to do with a rogue could dip into Pathfinder Agent and take Offensive Defense (although it would do nothing for him), so it makes that sense an Unchained Rogue could do the same.


I have a cavalier interested in using a Mammoth Lance. However, he is a member of the Order of the Sword, whose 8th level ability reads:

Mounted Mastery wrote:
At 8th level, the cavalier ignores the armor check penalty when using the Ride skill, regardless of whether or not the creature he is riding is his mount. Whenever he makes a charge attack while mounted, he receives a +4 dodge bonus to his AC to avoid attacks set against his charge. When making such an attack, he can add his mount’s Strength modifier to the damage roll, in addition to his own. He also receives a bonus feat, chosen from the following list: Mounted Combat, Ride-By Attack, Skill Focus (Ride), Spirited Charge, Trample, or Unseat. He must qualify for the feat selected.

Would he be able to add his mount's strength modifier twice for the purposes of damage rolls when using the Mammoth Lance while mounted? I'm aware of this FAQ. However, damage rolls aren't as clear for that FAQ. In neither case is the bonus to damage described as a Strength bonus or "bonus equal to her Strength bonus." Furthermore, when using the lance two-handed, he would be adding separate bonuses equal to times-and-a-half the strength bonus and the strength bonus. What are other opinions of the legality of this stacking?


When a Tiny or smaller creatures shares a space with another, are they mutually providing cover for each other? Rules as written, I think it would apply but this seems overpowered. Also, it would mean that every opponent has cover from their melee attacks.

What about in the case where the Tiny creature tries to attack its opponent while in its square. Technically, the line from one corner of the Tiny creature's space to the opposite corner would pass through its opponent, meaning its opponent has cover against it. Is this the case?

Lastly, do Swarming Ratfolks have any special consideration for cover or does it work exactly like it would for Tiny creatures?


The Universal Monster Ability *Grab* reads:

Quote:
A successful hold does not deal any extra damage unless the creature also has the constrict special attack. If the creature does not constrict, each successful grapple check it makes during successive rounds automatically deals the damage indicated for the attack that established the hold. Otherwise, it deals constriction damage as well (the amount is given in the creature’s descriptive text).

I do not have a constrict attack in this. When it says "automatically deals damage", does that mean I do damage whenever I maintain the grapple and I can also choose one of the options?

For example, on the round after I start the grapple, I successfully maintain the grapple. Do I now have to choose to do damage or I can choose the move option and also automatically do damage? In the latter case, can I choose the damage option, effectively doing damage twice?


What is the damage type of a Spectre? It deals 1d8 with its incorporeal touch attach, but as far as I know those don't have a default damage type like natural attacks do?

I originally thought it was negative energy damage, but I don't see that supported anywhere.

Does it bypass DR? If it does, I can see that it largely doesn't matter for the damage type.


RAW, I believe that you can:

1. Take a class without an animal companion for 4 levels.
2. Take the animal ally feat.
3. Begin taking levels in a class with an animal companion.

For example, you could be a fighter 4 / druid 7. Animal Ally says your companion has an effective druid level of 8, your character level minus 3. Your 7 levels in druid will also give you a companion with effective druid level 7. The feat stats that the 2 effective druid levels will stack, giving you an animal companion whose effective druid level is 15.

Has there been anything specific to PFS (or just general errata) that disallows this?


Can you voluntarily release an animal companion in Pathfinder Society?

The standard rules are pretty clear about this and reference in the rules for Animal Bond:

Quote:
If a druid releases her companion from service, she may gain a new one by performing a ceremony requiring 24 uninterrupted hours of prayer in the environment where the new companion typically lives. This ceremony can also replace an animal companion that has perished.

Is there anything specific to PFS barring you from releasing an animal companion before or during a scenario?


This ability seems to base its function around stuff that has yet to happen. I could move past a person with the intent of turning around and ending up adjacent to them. Because I have the intent of eventually ending up next to them, they don't get an AoO. What if I move past them and get stunned by a readied action outside of their reach? I didn't end up adjacent to them so they should have gotten an AoO but it's too late for that now?


Do natural and magical size bonuses stack? For example, when creating new races, a large race automatically has a +2 size bonus to strength. If they were under a polymorph (or any other) spell that gave it a size bonus to strength, such as enlarge person, would they get the strength bonus associated with the spell?

As written, they wouldn't stack as only circumstance, racial, and dodge bonuses stack. This doesn't make a lot of sense mechanically or realistically, so I was hoping that it would be FAQ'd. However, I'm unaware of any FAQ or really any comment on the matter by the developers.

Another example is the Mammoth Rider PrC. This PrC seems to be set up for a druid (as it takes BAB 6+ and 9 skill ranks, which match up for a 3/4 BAB progression), but the size bonus to ability scores of your mount are negated by animal growth. Really makes no sense balance wise.


On page 16, the scenario reads as follows:

Quote:

The improvised pool is murky enough to provide

concealment against any attacks that travel through 20
feet or more of water, and a PC must succeed at a DC

In addition to supporting the ceiling, the pillars...

The paragraph ends abruptly in the middle of a description of a skill check. Does anyone know what the intended wording was?


Do Shurikens count as ranged weapon for the purposes of feats such as Snap Shot and Rapid Shot? They are listed under Ammunition ranger than Ranged Weapons, but it has been FAQd that those feats apply to weapons such as daggers when thrown. If Snap Shot does apply, can you use it with a shuriken that you do not have in hand because drawing it is a free action?


My mount has the Charge Through feat. Consider the case where enemy A is 50 feet away and enemy B is 20 feet away, between me and enemy A. If I use Charge Through to attempt to overrun B as a free action, but the mount fails the Combat Maneuver, I stop in front of B. Am I allowed to attack B as if I charged, or is my turn wasted? Can the mount act if it charged B?

On a different note, can my character Cleave after the mount has moved? The rules for mounted combat state that "If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack." Does Cleaving two enemies count as a single melee attack? It is unclear whether they are referring to the attack as a standard action or all attacks.


Does an SLA satisfy the pre-requisite for Arcane Strike? The FAQ mentions here that SLAs count as requirements the same as spells. It also says that they count as sorcerer/wizard spells, i.e. arcane.

This thread disagrees, but that was before the FAQ was added.


Can a druid cast enlarge person on his animal companion if he access to the spell? Share Spells allows a druid to cast such a spell on his companion, but only if the spell comes from a class that grants an animal companion. Enlarge person is on the Sorcerer spell list and it is possible to get an animal companion as a sorcerer using the Sylvan Bloodline.

Also, is it legal to use a wand of enlarge person? Share Spells says the "druid may cast a spell...". Does using a spell trigger item count as casting for the purpose of this ability.

Could a druid cast "speak with animals" on his companion using a wand? This example ignores the issue of using a non-druid spell.


The PFSRD says the following regarding natural attacks:

Quote:


If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls. This increase does not apply if the creature has multiple attacks but only takes one. If a creature has only one type of attack, but has multiple attacks per round, that attack is treated as a primary attack, regardless of its type.

In also says that:

Quote:


Creatures with natural attacks and attacks made with weapons can use both as part of a full attack action (although often a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in that limb, be it a claw, tentacle, or slam). Such creatures attack with their weapons normally but treat all of their available natural attacks as secondary attacks during that attack, regardless of the attack’s original type.
Quote:

If you make a full attack with a creature that possesses a single natural weapon, would you still get full BAB and 1.5 Str on damage for the natural attack?

The attack is a secondary attack, as stated in the second excerpt. However, the full BAB and 1.5 Str bonus apply regardless of the type. For example, a monster with a single hoof attack, which is normally secondary, would still get those bonuses. When the first excerpt mentions multiple attacks, I assume it means multiple natural attacks. Is my interpretation correct?


Under the d20pfsrd.com page for [animal companions](http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/druid/animal-companions#TOC-V elociraptor), it says to use the [bestiary listing](http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/animals/dinosaur/velocir aptor).

However, the [PRD](http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/classes/druid.html#_animal-companions-d inosaur-deinonychus-velociraptor) contradicts this listing with regards to the starting Wisdom (14 vs 12).

I'm aware that the PRD is offical and takes precedence over d20pfsrd. However, I was hoping that someone with the source material could check this conflict. Was there errata issued for the velociraptor as an animal companion or was it simply not officially allowed until it got its own listing on the Animal Companion page.


If a character has multiple channel pools and takes Exalted of the Society (+1 channel / day) does he gain one additional channel in each pool or does he just choose? Currently, I have a channel pool coming from Hospitaler Paladin and an Oracle of Life revelation.


Does a druid archetype such as Lion Shaman get Wild Shape at level 4 and then have the ability modified at level 6 or does it not get it all until level 6?


This was previous discussed here but never answered.

Does the Mythic Paragon feat affect abilities granted by a Legendary Item bonded with a mythic player? One example is the Spellcasting sub-ability in the Intelligent Item ability.

The text for Spellcasting reads as follows:

Quote:
This item allows its bearer to cast a limited number of spells as spell-like abilities. This ability can be taken more than once. Each time it's taken, the bonded creature gains 5 points to spend on selecting what spells the item can cast. A spell costs a number of points equal to its level (minimum 1). The bearer can then activate the item to use each spell-like ability once per day. By spending double the cost, the bearer can use each spell-like ability three times per day. All spells must come from the same class's spell list. No spell can have a level higher than the bonded creature's tier. The caster level for these spells is equal to double the bonded creature's tier. The save DC for these spells is equal to 10 + the spell level + the bonded creature's tier.

The text for Mythic Paragon reads as follows:

Quote:
Your tier is considered 2 higher for determining the potency of mythic abilities, feats, and spells. This doesn't grant you access to mythic abilities or greater versions of mythic spells at a lower tier than you would normally need to be to get them, nor does it grant you additional uses of mythic power or adjust the dice you roll for your surge.

Would having Mythic Paragon open up new choices for spells or affect the DC of the chosen SLAs?

The text of Mythic Paragon specifically says it affects the potency of Mythic Spells, such as DC. It also explicitly states it does not change qualification for mythic spells. However, the SLAs being chosen in Spellcasting are only normal spells.

What is the ruling on this?


If I have two bonuses that are the same type, morale for example, and they affect different stats of my character, would they both apply on something that uses both stats.

For example, rage gives a morale bonus to strength and the rage power gives a morale bonus to an attack roll. Would both of these apply to a melee attack roll?

Another example, is the morale bonus to will saves while raging stacking with the benefits of superstition, which is a morale bonus against saves against spells and SLAs.

It seems like the answer to the first is yes, or else surprise accuracy is almost entirely useless. At level 20 it gives a +6 bonus while the strength bonus will already give a +4 bonus during rage. By the same reasoning, I would expect the second case to also stack but I was told my GM that superstition did not stack with the base will save bonus from raging, which made sense to me.

1 to 50 of 70 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>