Selling a pregenerated character's gear to clear conditions


Pathfinder Society


Is there anything preventing selling a pregenerated character's gear for money, buying diamond dust with it, and using that diamond dust to clear conditions?

I know that you can only spend prestige to clear your own conditions, but I'm not sure that applies to spending gold. A normal character could sell their gear, buy a potion, and give it to another player, which isn't particularly different from the example above.

Grand Lodge 4/5

You can only sell a pregen's gear to clear the pregen's conditions so that the player can use the resulting chronicle. If the best way to cure the condition is to buy some diamond dust, the pregen can sell gear to get that amount of diamond dust, and keeps the change.

Sovereign Court 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

If you were thinking of spending the pregen's gear to glitter-coat someone else's PC with diamond dust? Nope, can't do that. Only selling the pregen's stuff to heal the pregen herself.

Grand Lodge 3/5

Also, note that you need to pony up cash from your character/the chronicle sheet before you can sell off the pregen's stuff to clear conditions:

Season 8 Guide page 6 wrote:
The Roleplaying Guild character must contribute a minimum amount of gp before spending the pregenerated character’s wealth in this way,depending on her level: 0 gp for a 1st-level pregenerated character, 1,000 gp for 4th-level, and 2,000 gp for 7th-level.

1/5

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Markov Spiked Chain wrote:

Also, note that you need to pony up cash from your character/the chronicle sheet before you can sell off the pregen's stuff to clear conditions:

Season 8 Guide page 6 wrote:
The Roleplaying Guild character must contribute a minimum amount of gp before spending the pregenerated character’s wealth in this way,depending on her level: 0 gp for a 1st-level pregenerated character, 1,000 gp for 4th-level, and 2,000 gp for 7th-level.

Was that ever clarified as 'from the chronicle of the scenario where said conditions were obtained' or 'from the pocketbook of a character who may not have said resources YET' (for example, playing a sheet that's being held for L7 for a character that's currently L1 or 4?)

Sovereign Court 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Wei Ji: as I understood it, the funds can come from both of those sources.

I still consider it a bad rule just because the logistics of how to actually carry it out are so unclear. The base text in the Guide could mean anything.


I was considering the case where the GM plays a pregenerated character to fill out the table. Where does it say that the equipment can be sold like any other character?

1/5

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
jmclaus wrote:
I was considering the case where the GM plays a pregenerated character to fill out the table. Where does it say that the equipment can be sold like any other character?

Given that it's only for the character in question, I imagine that's part of why the restriction is in place -- to prevent a table of three selling off all the pregen's stuff, kicking them to the curb, and doing the scenario with better gear/expendables that they wouldn't normally have and/or taking all the pregen lunch money to clear up that little condition the three got while visiting a Calistrian temple?

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Selling a pregenerated character's gear to clear conditions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.