Using a wand on a magic impeded plane


Rules Questions


If a creature attempts to use a wand on a magic-impeded plane, does it have to make a concentration check? I know that you don't normally need to make concentration checks to cast a wand defensively, but I haven't seen anything that says spell trigger items are free of all concentration checks.

Impeded Magic wrote:
Particular spells and spell-like abilities are more difficult to cast on planes with this trait, often because the nature of the plane interferes with the spell. To cast an impeded spell, the caster must make a concentration check (DC 20 + the level of the spell). If the check fails, the spell does not function but is still lost as a prepared spell or spell slot. If the check succeeds, the spell functions normally.


No, you dont need to make concentration check. When you use a wand you are not casting the spell. The spell has already been cast into the wand. You are just activating the wand.

Also from the wand section.

Quote:
Activation: Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.


That makes very little sense, considering a potion explicitly says the user is the caster and therefore the drinker of a potion would have to make a concentration check.

I'm guessing that's more of an oversight and a potion user shouldn't have to make a concentration check either. I realize now that there is no spellcasting ability score to base it off of.

Grand Lodge

I would personally disagree with wraith. Yes, the spell has already been cast. No, that doesn't make it automatically beat the impediment. In fact, it makes it much worse.

Concentration for a wand would be CL+minimum stat. So +1,+3,+4,+6 total for level 1,2,3, and 4 spells. (Possibly higher if the wand is of a higher CL.)

I'd also make my players aware of this interpretation before they started running around in an impeded plane.


tchrman35 wrote:

I would personally disagree with wraith. Yes, the spell has already been cast. No, that doesn't make it automatically beat the impediment. In fact, it makes it much worse.

Concentration for a wand would be CL+minimum stat. So +1,+3,+4,+6 total for level 1,2,3, and 4 spells. (Possibly higher if the wand is of a higher CL.)

I'd also make my players aware of this interpretation before they started running around in an impeded plane.

You numbers are off.

Level 1: min CL 1; min score 11 (+0 mod) = +1
Level 2: min CL 3; min score 12 (+1 mod) = +4
Level 3: min CL 5; min score 13 (+1 mod) = +6
Level 4: min CL 7; min score 14 (+2 mod) = +9

Grand Lodge

Whoops! Right you are! Still not very good. I used spell level by accident.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Using a wand on a magic impeded plane All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.