Class Abilities and Day Job checks


Pathfinder Society


Do class abilities apply to day job checks? The guide lists specific things that apply, which does not include class features:

Page 22 wrote:
Permanent bonuses from equipment, feats, racial bonuses, and traits affect your Day Job check as they would any check for the rolled skill, but temporary bonuses such as those granted by spell effects, other than crafter’s fortune, do not contribute, as the duration over which the Day Job check is made is undefined and represents a longer amount of time than a spell’s duration would permit the bonus to remain.

Although there are relatively few class abilities that give bonuses on Craft, Perform, or Profession, there are a lot that give bonuses on alternative day jobs. For example, with the Caravan vanity you can use Intimidate as a day job, which Inquisitors get a bonus on from the Stern Gaze class feature. Does this apply? It seems like it should.

Then there's the issue of the Alchemy class feature, which I've seen a lot of disagreement on. A lot of the argument against Alchemy applying to day jobs that it is situational, but the guide only makes a distinction of permanent vs. non-permanent bonuses. I feel like the guide doesn't clearly spell out what does and does not apply to day jobs.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Some class features do; some don't.

So long as the bonus applies to all uses of a skill, it qualifies for Day Job checks.

The Alchemist ability only applies when crafting, so it would not qualify.

Stern Gaze applies to all Intimate checks, so it would qualify.


I understand that's the general consensus. I was wondering if it has been backed up by any sort of writing, as it doesn't appear to be in the guide.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The Alchemist example does not make sense to me. The bonus is situational, but the situation seems like one that the character could easily use to make money.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber
jmclaus wrote:
I was wondering if it has been backed up by any sort of writing, as it doesn't appear to be in the guide.

Sure. This question comes up often enough.

The last time this question came up, my response was "Day Job modifiers must apply to the entire skill to be useful".

Three comments later, John Compton confirmed I (and another poster who answered similarly) was correct.

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Nefreet : The bluff check on one very specific use the mask applies toand the 99.999% of craft alchemy that would let you make money aren't the same thing

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I recognize people don't want Day Jobs to work that way.

The VC for my region allows the Alchemist bonus to apply to Day Jobs.

When I play my Alchemist, I still do not include it, despite his ruling.

The Exchange 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Texas—Dallas & Ft. Worth aka Belafon

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nefreet wrote:
jmclaus wrote:
I was wondering if it has been backed up by any sort of writing, as it doesn't appear to be in the guide.

Sure. This question comes up often enough.

The last time this question came up, my response was "Day Job modifiers must apply to the entire skill to be useful".

Three comments later, John Compton confirmed I (and another poster who answered similarly) was correct.

Scroll down a little farther for John's opinion on the alchemist bonus.

He thinks he remembers it applying. The answer now is the same as it was then. There's no official answer, but John seems to believe it does apply.

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

Nefreet wrote:

I recognize people don't want Day Jobs to work that way.

It's not a matter of want.

If you have survival as a dayjob you may have to make money at it tracking people, finding rare plants and herbs, getting people along in the wild comfortably, giving them bonuses vs the elements etc. There's a dozen uses for it and any and all.. probably all, of them will be how you make your money. Bumping just one or two of them isn't bumping the entire skill.

For craft alchemy to make money you sit in your lab and turn match sticks and lighter fluid into me...perfectly usable more expensive products for the adventuring professional, like alchemists fire.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Kevin Willis wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
jmclaus wrote:
I was wondering if it has been backed up by any sort of writing, as it doesn't appear to be in the guide.

Sure. This question comes up often enough.

The last time this question came up, my response was "Day Job modifiers must apply to the entire skill to be useful".

Three comments later, John Compton confirmed I (and another poster who answered similarly) was correct.

Scroll down a little farther for John's opinion on the alchemist bonus.

He thinks he remembers it applying. The answer now is the same as it was then. There's no official answer, but John seems to believe it does apply.

I read everything in that comment to suggest that the Alchemist's class ability would not apply to Day Jobs.

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

Nefreet wrote:


I read everything in that comment to suggest that the Alchemist's class ability would not apply to Day Jobs.

It's a good argument that it doesn't but it's hardly the end of the matter. One narrow use is not the main (nearly only) use of the skill, especially with regards to making money.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

His example is Bluff, but really any Day Job skill could be substituted using his reasoning.

Is Craft always about making items? Clearly not. Should we apply a percentage of that bonus, instead? What would that be? It gets messy and deviates to table variation.

It's better to only apply modifiers when they apply to every use of the skill.

If Campaign Leadership wants to make this an exception, fine. But I feel it's pretty clear as is.

Dark Archive

Nefreet wrote:
Kevin Willis wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
jmclaus wrote:
I was wondering if it has been backed up by any sort of writing, as it doesn't appear to be in the guide.

Sure. This question comes up often enough.

The last time this question came up, my response was "Day Job modifiers must apply to the entire skill to be useful".

Three comments later, John Compton confirmed I (and another poster who answered similarly) was correct.

Scroll down a little farther for John's opinion on the alchemist bonus.

He thinks he remembers it applying. The answer now is the same as it was then. There's no official answer, but John seems to believe it does apply.

I read everything in that comment to suggest that the Alchemist's class ability would not apply to Day Jobs.

So, you ignored the bit at the end where he said that he thinks it applies, but can't recall exactly? Because that would lead me to believe that the bonus might apply.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I point you to my comment directly preceding yours.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

There is one exception to the rule above.

If the class feature applies to "Using a skill to earn money" it applies to dayjob.

For example, street bard's glad handing, which doubles your dayjob earnings, or the stunt bard, who's name I am forgetting, who gets to use acrobatics in place of performance to earn money, get to use acrobatics for day jobs.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

There's a Dwarf Alternate Racial Trait that helps with that, too. It's +4, even.

Liberty's Edge

If the Dwarf Alternate Racial Trait Craftsman, which only gives a +2, is not legal for play (according to the additional resources list for the Advanced Race Guide). Exactly which trait gives a +4?

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Industrious Urbanite.

Liberty's Edge

Nefreet wrote:
Industrious Urbanite.

Ah, never even heard of that book before. Looks like this is one of those 1% times where the Archives of Nethys can't always be awesome.

Currently according to the additional resources, that is the only alternate racial trait from Heroes from the Streets that is Not PFS Legal.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

Industrious Urbanite is legal.
Illustrious Urbanite is not.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

Starfinder Charter Superscriber

^ what he said.

It's a very common misunderstanding.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Class Abilities and Day Job checks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.