If a task is that easy, just don't roll any dice and say it happens.
Nathan Nasif wrote:
That is specifically why I was getting on here today was to see if anyone had issues with the picture quality of the main character on the front cover, but then I looked at the picture of the image on the product listing, and it is as poor quality as mine. I guess we get to pretend she is using Starfinder tech that does a digital version of Blur. jk
Same, came to check and see if it was everyone or just me.
It mentions that merely destroying the contract would free the Azers only in principle, and that another Efreeti house would likely snatch them up and re-enslave them. They need a piece of paper saying they are free Azers.
Mitch Mutrux wrote:
Safe call, but yeah, it was run during a local convention.
Steven Schopmeyer wrote:
I hope Targos doesn't die, then. 3d6 is pretty rough versus its 6 HP, but a +13 Fly check almost assures that it will negate the damage.
Getting ready to run this again tonight and I'm trying to figure out the A Encounter mechanics again... Last time went pretty well but I realized I made several mistakes.
Are the PCs not supposed to start near the airship wreckage? I understand they are hurled out of it, but there's a mention of "Each PC takes 3d6 points of damage from being thrown into the ship (DC 20 Fly check negates, then DC 18 Reflex half )."
How can they be thrown into the ship when they are being thrown out of the ship? What's the trigger for this damage taking place?
I also know that the three hazards (other than the wreckage) start off in a random arbitrary direction and are all within 100 feet of each other at the start of the encounter? How much do they move during each round? "at the start of the encounter" seems to give me pause that they should be moving is well, making this a substantially more dynamic encounter.
When I ran this at GenCon, it went pretty much without combat so not a lot of this came up. There are folks that are signed up to play it tonight that are very much never interested in taking the diplomatic route (as players), so I'm expecting combat from the beginning.
On page 38, Fahaz can very possibly grant the wish of wrath, altering the next encounter's subtier lowering it by one. The most natural progression for PCs is to continue in the area they're in; the most immediate encounter is a haunt. Since it's not a creature, does that mean the wish of wrath doesn't apply to that, and to the first encounter with creatures? A twisted wish wouldn't make the haunt any harder since the Advanced Simple template doesn't change anything.
Also, heads up everyone, even though you only need to prepare the subtier assigned to you, you actually need to prepare the subtier immediately below yours, since PCs could trigger any unaddressed encounter after dealing with Fahaz
I made a call last night that the spell doesn't compel a creature with reach to move farther than its reach needs to make an attack roll, which ruined the intention of the player using it.
We moved on, but I want to get ready to source myself for being wrong and apologize about it (I didn't let the player recall the action because were subtier 10-11 when it didn't work out how they had intended).
"The target moves its speed towards you..." The 'you' was 15' away, so there's no way it can move its speed toward him since the distance was less than a full move. What demands the target moves beyond it's melee range to get close? Especially when it's a creature that does not want to be in melee in the first place? I know it isn't allowed to make an attack, but it moved into melee range. Should it have gone the additional 5 feet to be adjacent to the caster?
Chris Lambertz wrote:
Spam memes, duh.
For a house rule: If you add more time, it's pretty sensible that you could add a static +2 modifier for each additional hour you prepare your disguise. If you spend 5 hours setting it up, you're taking 10 with a +10 bonus.
But generally, I only allow the disguise check to be rolled when it's actually being tested, rather than having the PC roll it and the GM remember what the result was whether or not it even gets checked. I might, in hindsight, allow that static bonus to apply if they were especially mindful of allowing themselves extra time to apply the disguise.
Is Paizo planning on having a presence in San Antonio for this convention? I know you have events at the coastal varieties, but I haven't heard anything about this upcoming convention. I messaged the PFS venture captain but never got any kind of confirmation either yes or no.
I'm going either way, but it seems that this PAX is supposedly going to focus on tabletop, rather than mainstream (PAX Prime) or independent (PAX East) video games.
Michael Brock wrote:
Dang, customer service never got back to me past "huh, that seems weird". I was really hoping to get to play in the Kobold Special.
This is custom territory so it is pretty much up to your GM to dictate how powerful a lesser deity is. A good compromise would be to make a smaller portfolio that stems from the patron deity, and have the favored weapon be the same or similar and not distinct without a significant justified reason.
My personal intuition is those things don't exist because the deity isn't powerful enough to have portfolios or grant spells yet.
I've changed my delivery address to my office rather than my home, so hopefully that'll be all that I need to keep things from being damaged. I wasn't expecting anything, so I'm overwhelmed to be getting a replacement copy!
You can already do this, hold shift to select a group, or control to select additionally, just like selecting multiple files.
trap in A4, it does 10 simultaneous attacks at +12 to hit, doing 1d8+1 damage with each hit, targeting everyone in the hallway. I have every reason the PCs will spot and disable this trap, but assuming they don't and activate it, it's basically game over at this point, right? None of the party is a rogue, and only one character has disable device as a ranger.
I don't want to end it prematurely, but these are guys I don't intend to softball either.
I ran this for some pregenerated level 7 players (2 of 5) without even looking at the boon sheet. We did the high tier, so
Because according to the Guide, pregenerated characters applying credit to a level 1 get 500gp but otherwise all of the chronicle boons, does that mean they also qualify for the 3,000gp free item for rescuing Zarta? I'm leaning toward the theory that they do, because it's a boon and not going to really break the economy in the end, since a free 3,000 gp item by level 7-ish isn't that gamebreaking anyway...
If there's some other way I'm supposed to do this, let me know.
She's not really actively antagonistic, just actively detached. She genuinely, as a player, wants the group to do well and she never intentionally does things to harm the progress of the party. But whenever there is an opportunity to throw a bomb and miss and do extensively more damage to the party, it always without fail works out that way. Her social reactions in-character have caused a lot of conflicts but that's role playing I guess. She doesn't offer help without compensation and enjoys the suffering of others, party typically excluded. She gained the ire of Ameiko by during the rescue, laughing in her face during the news her brother and father had been killed. Sheriff Hemlock doesn't like the group already since when he came back from Magnimar with more men to fortify defenses, the group was actually in Magnimar putzing around for Raise Dead, when the party encountered the Yeth Hounds. They didn't tell him that's why they were there, only that they do what they want.
Hey OP here, wasn't getting notifications about responses.
It was Mithril Breastplate specifically. I can't remember what the total cost was but it was the same in raw materials as normally crafting (1/3) + 450 for spellcasting services. He made a point to buy the raw materials from a different vendor so the Wizard wasn't going to immediately object.
I randomly determined the amount of skill ranks he would have in craft based on the minimum level required to cast the spell, and from that determined his minimum bonuses based on having that many ranks and the required intellegence bonus to cast the spell in the first place.
I think the total bonus was either +5 or +6, and required two craft checks, one for the breastplate part (DC 20) and one for the masterwork part (also DC 20). He passed both checks as I rolled them in front of him. I went ahead and gave him the armor because it make sense to allow that greed to flow.
The rest of the solution hasn't really happened yet. Ironbriar basically threatened him with the option of surrendering himself to "justice" for the deaths of the Foxgloves and the WizardVender (a bluff by Ironbriar to put the armor on the table), to surrender the armor to Ironbriar (who as a cleric would extremely benefit by that armor specifically and would use it in combat against the PCs later) and be banished from Magnimar, or to become one of his agents and do his bidding "cleaning up Magnimar in ways he can't in an official capacity". The player was extremely offended by the idea of me immediately attempting to force him out of his armor, so he chose to work for Ironbriar as well as the Skinsaw Cult in general without realizing it. They brought him blindfolded to the sawmill and locked him in a room overnight. At this point I had to start making stuff up to get back on track, but it didn't work so well.
Ironbriar gave the PC instructions to end the life of a wealthy and influential banker in Magnimar, under the impression he had been ruthless in collecting debts and using it as an excuse to torture and enslave people. PC went back and met up with the "no help" alchemist, immediately recruited her for the murder scheme, and followed the son or their mark back to his house, end session. I have no idea what I'm doing making stuff up like this in what's already such a well crafted module.
The other two party members are desperately trying to piece together the clues in Sandpoint but are afraid to look into any of them until the party is whole again.
VTT Game Day 3: [MapTools / G+Hangout] PFS 05–12: Destiny of the Sands—Part 1: A Bitter Bargain [1-5]: Saturday, March 1st, 2014 @ 12:00 PM CST US [-6 GMT]
So I'm about to run this for people who won't have any context of who this "information broker" is, and therefore won't likely expect to
do anything to alter or manipulate the plans. As a scenario the whole things progresses okay without the players foiling Torch in the slightest, but in terms of secondary success the module states if Torch doesn't detect two ruses, not that necessarily any were performed. Would a 100% helpful party still get that credit for Torch getting his way? I'm prepared to be like "this guy is bad news for the Society" but having a venture captain and a faction patron initiating the dealings, I think the "cooperate" tenant of the Society may be too strong a pull.
I fully expect no check marks to be placed at the end.
Its more that the character is actively antagonistic toward being helpful. Selfish mad bomber style alchemist. Typically does more splash damage to the party than being able to harm the enemies in combat. Party as a rule hates the character, Sandpoint hates the character, generally unliked by everybody.
The player is fine, just sits at the table and crochets and if a bomb can't solve the problem, she isn't interested.
I really like this plan, and it should be able to implement itself cleanly. The armor thing was just me punishing myself for agreeing to let him buy mithril at a third the price.
First off, I know should not have staged the ambush in the Foxglove Townhouse, but I did. Here's what happened. tl;dr at the end.
Before anything even got started, during the "between Burnt Offerings and Skinsaw Murders" downtime, one of the PCs decided to travel to Magnimar to purchase a casting of Fabricate to have mithril armor made rather than paying full price for it. I didn't tell him not to try, that there was a chance of failure, and that local guilds would be skeptical of doing such a thing. He couldn't convince anyone save one character to go with him, so it split the party, 2/2.
After they made it to Magnimar, and "successfully" paid a spellcaster to Fabricate mithril armor, the same PC remembered that Foxglove asked them to look him up while he was in Magnimar. They found his townhouse and visited him. This is where I messed up.
I went ahead and put the Faceless Stalkers there to open the door, not realizing the house was meant to be boarded up and abandoned. They let the players in like they were strangers. When the PCs brought up knowing Foxglove, the Faceless Stalkers attacked and were defeated, one escaped into the streets.
The same instigator PC immediately went to local authorities to report impostor monsters, where I made my second mistake. The local authorities were Ironbriar, aware of who the PCs were based on Foxglove already having selected his target. He placed the instigator PC under arrest while the other fled. Now I'm stuck.
I would "intend" for Ironbriar to have the PC executed for the "deaths" of the Foxgloves, as well as for the murder of the greedy spellcaster that Fabricated the armor for him, the last person the PC was seen dealing with. I can't come up with a semi-reasonable way for the PC to get out of his situation (he has access to a rage power natural attack worst case), especially considering half of the party doesn't know he's been arrested and the PC that accompanied him is not interested in helping the party ever.
tl;dr: I broke script and maybe ruined the adventure in order to punish a PC for powergaming
Joseph Caubo wrote:
If you sign up to GM, you will be given the PDF of what you want to run added to your Paizo.com downloads.
Hey I don't want to be that guy, but I was really hoping to get my module prep done this weekend rather than rushing it through the week, as far as making the maps and tokens and populating NPCs. Any chance the .pdfs will go out before the end of the day today?