Geppa

Pauper Princess's page

Organized Play Member. 72 posts (148 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character. 2 aliases.


RSS

1 to 50 of 72 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

I have enjoyed these very much!! My apologies for the late gratitude!


My question would be this... having Blind Sight, does the Moon Beast perceive normally beyond the 90ft? If a creature is located 95ft away, does the Moon Beast still perceive and locate said creature? Would the Moon Beast have to use Perception checks? How would the Moon Beast successfully locate a visible, audible, creature that is outside of its Blind Sight range?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thank you, James, for answering my question about the Wizard using Teleport with the Construct.

Here's an odd question my group faced... our Ranger was fighting Gray Goo and they attempted to Infest him. He succeeded his save and the Infest did not happen. He was in the process of putting on his Spectral Shroud to become incorporeal to get away when the Fighter in the group reminded him that he had Boots of Teleport and that he could just get away from the swarm.

Since it didn't occur, we didn't get a chance to find out if it would work or not.. but if the Gray Goo infested the Ranger, would he have been able to use Teleport and leave the Gray Goo behind? If not, would using the Spectral Shroud to turn incorporeal have worked to effectively stop him from being Infested?

Sorry for the wall of text, but this was a very interesting scenario and I'm dying to know what would have happened if the Infest would have occurred and those escape methods were attempted.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can a wizard with enough strength to carry a construct pick it up and teleport away with it?


How goes the progress?


It seems as though you are asking if only allies or if all creatures within the area of effect will get the bonuses? RAW, it seems as though that is the case.

I will point out as a comparison that a cleric's channel energy affects all creatures (harm or heal, whichever is selected, unless they have selective channeling to filter a number of creatures out. Also, Bless specifically says allies get the benefits.

I lean toward it meaning that all creatures get these bonuses since it's an aura and it's constant, i.e. no manipulating it, it can't be shut off, only anti-magic field would suppress it, etc.

But there is this question. Is RAI that it should only give the bonuses to allies? It doesn't state allies as other spells and spell-like abilities do.


You are correct, my mistake, not all abjurations are mind effecting.. I did post incorrectly. What I was trying to say is that Freedom of Movement is a mind affecting spell. So if an effect that causes the staggered condition is mind effecting, it would seem plausible that another mind effecting spell could reverse or negate, even if temporarily in this case, the effect causing the staggered condition.

I'm not being obtuse, I'm reading a spell description that looks as thought it will mitigate the staggered condition's effects of no double move and only having one standard action (one attack).


But Freedom of Movement is an abjuration, which means it's a mind effecting spell. So your mind would then be effected to go ahead and move normally and attack normally, as in double move and take all attacks available to the PC if the staggered condition were not on the PC.


From http://www.merriam-webster.com:

im·pede transitive verb \im-ˈpēd\
: to slow the movement, progress, or action of (someone or something)

Staggered makes it so that the PC can take one move action OR one attack.

I conclude that staggered does slow the movement, progress, AND action of someone as it does not allow two move actions (slowing the movement of) nor does it allow more than one attack (slowing the action of).


I think that the staggered condition does impede movement. Normally a PC can take two move actions and move a greater distance than when taking only one move action. The staggered condition from this SU attack also restricts the PC to only one attack.

Freedom of Movement spell grants the ability to move and attack normally. In this case, I believe this magical spell will suppress the staggered condition for the duration of the spell and allow the PC to take two move actions and attack normally, i.e. take all normally allotted attacks.


What concerns me is the creation time. I use Hero Lab for character creation as I don't have a lot of down time to create characters the old fashioned way on paper. I don't think Hero Lab supports this currently. If I were chosen, I would need a little help in the creation process simply due to the amount of time it would take me. If anyone would be willing to help out, I'm thinking of an Azlanti, Cleric/Barbarian named Shallendor, the Healing Protector.


I'm not quite sure I understand Gestalt characters, or how to use one. I did some reading, but I don't think I'm getting it. Can someone sum it up in a paragraph or two?

Also, I don't think this can be done within Hero Lab. That is what I use for character creation. Please let me know if I'm wrong.


I don't really have specifics in mind, but I am looking for something out of the box, you know? Things such as 3rd party feats, maybe 3rd party classes or races, the use of monster races for PCs. Also if possible, not starting at level 1 is nice sometimes too. I would be up for anything other than steampunk or really modern stuff, I like the high or epic fantasy.

Thanks for the interest!


I'm a long time AD&D 2nd Edition player. I've been playing Pathfinder for 3-4 years now. I'm looking to get into a game that allows 3rd Party, home brew, High Magic, etc. Anyone?


Will be submitting one tonight!


GM_Fenwick wrote:
Pauper Princess wrote:
When you say all races, does this include monsters or monstrous humanoids, giants, etc.? What is forbidden?

Anything above Large is forbidden...

Bloodluster wrote:
@GM_Fenwick Out of curiosity, do you currently have many more interested players than available slots?
Undoubtedly. The max that I will be able to work with are six PCs. (The feeling of a college administrator intensifies...) Regardless, all of you are getting a fair chance to make it into the campaign.

Thanks for the clarification.


When you say all races, does this include monsters or monstrous humanoids, giants, etc.? What is forbidden?


What am I missing? I see in the tavern thread we are supposed to be linked to "the professor" but I don't see that in your requirements?? I'm utterly confused.


Bran Grindle is originally from Absalom, but that life was long ago.

Bran Grindle is a bit crazy.

He currently has no home, as he wanders around the cities, towns, and villages in between wandering the countryside of Varisia.

Bran witnessed the murder of his parents, wealthy aristocrats, by a common thief. He was young, only 15.

Due to the brutality of the murder he witnessed, his mind is a bit addled. The brutality was made worse by Bran's actions- when he witnessed the murder of his parents, he went into a rage and literally tore the attacker limb from limb.

It was a very grisly scene when the authorities arrived to see a young boy amid 3 bodies. Bran was to be taken in by another wealthy family, but he fled, wanting to get as far away from the city as possible.

He went north into the wilds of Varisia, suppressing his rage. One afternoon, however, it all boiled over- he was sitting at the edge of a small stream when two goblins crept up on him.

Too bad for them. He savaged both of them, beginning his barbaric path of destruction.

I have never played in play by post and would be grateful to be accepted.

Stats to follow today after work (5pm EST).


Okay, here's the relevant info:

Bran Grindle
Human (Varisian) Barbarian (Drunken Brute) 1
CG Medium humanoid (human)
Init +1; Senses Perception +5
--------------------
Traits
--------------------
Fortified Drinker
Oregent Desperation

--------------------
Feats
--------------------
Level 1: Extra Rage, Power Attack
--------------------
Defense
--------------------
AC 14, touch 11, flat-footed 13 (+2 armor, +1 shield, +1 Dex)
hp 14 (1d12+2)
Fort +4, Ref +1, Will +1; +2 circumstance bonus vs. effects that require hearing, +2 Trait bonus vs. mind-affecting effects for 1 hour after drinking alcohol
Resist fortified drinker
--------------------
Offense
--------------------
Speed 30 ft.
Melee greataxe +4 (1d12+6+1(Whetstone 1st attack after use only, non-magical weapons only)/×3)
Special Attacks rage (12 rounds/day)
--------------------
Statistics
--------------------
Str 18, Dex 12, Con 15, Int 8, Wis 12, Cha 8
Base Atk +1; CMB +5; CMD 16
Feats Extra Rage, Power Attack
Traits fortified drinker, oregent desperation
Skills Climb +7, Intimidate +3, Perception +5 (+0 to hearing checks when using Earplugs), Survival +5 (+7 to avoid becoming lost when using Compass)
Languages Common, Varisian
SQ raging drunk, tireless rage
Combat Gear potion of cure light wounds, potion of enlarge person, meditation tea; Other Gear leather armor, buckler, greataxe, applejack (1 gallon), backpack, belt pouch, winter blanket, compass, crowbar, earplugs, flask, flint and steel, flotation device, marbles, marbles, marbles, marbles, mug/tankard, pot, rope, sack, Silver Key, soap, torch (10), trail rations (5), waterskin, whetstone, 1 gp
--------------------
Special Abilities
--------------------
Compass +2 circumstance for Survival or Knowledge (Dungeoneering) to avoid becoming lost.
Crowbar +2 circumstance bonus on Strength checks made to force open a door or chest.
Earplugs +2 save vs. hearing effects, -5 hearing-based Perception.
Flotation Device +1 circumstance bonus on Swim checks.
Fortified Drinker +2 save vs. mind-affecting for 1 hr after drinking alchohol.
Oregent Desperation (1/day) improve from dying to disabled but take 4 Int damage.
Power Attack -1/+2 You can subtract from your attack roll to add to your damage.
Rage (12 rounds/day) (Ex) +4 Str, +4 Con, +2 to Will saves, -2 to AC when enraged.
Raging Drunk (Ex) Move action: consume alchohol - this round does not count against rounds of rage/day and does not provoke AoO.


I will post info tomorrow, but Bran is a Human Barbarian. He will definitely not be waiting in the back to see what others are doing unless a wiser party member advises him to do so.


Bran Grindle hails from Absalom.

Bran Grindle is a bit crazy.

He currently has no home, as he wanders around the cities, towns, and villages in between wandering the countryside of Varisia.

Bran witnessed the murder of his parents, wealthy aristocrats, by a common thief. He was young, only 15.

Due to the brutality of the murder he witnessed, his mind is a bit addled. The brutality was made worse by Bran's actions- when he witnessed the murder of his parents, he went into a rage and literally tore the attacker limb from limb.

It was a very grisly scene when the authorities arrived to see a young boy amid 3 bodies. Bran was to be taken in by another wealthy family, but he fled, wanting to get as far away from the city as possible.

He went north into the wilds of Varisia, suppressing his rage. One afternoon, however, it all boiled over- he was sitting at the edge of a small stream when two goblins crept up on him.

Too bad for them. He savaged both of them, tearing one open so much the contents of its stomach flopped out- among them a silver key.

Bran has since kept this key in his pocket. His rage subsided, he often fingers the key to help calm him down in intense situations.

I have never played in play by post and would be grateful to be accepted.


Okay guys, I am the player. I do not want to make an awakened Rhino.

The feat Beast Rider has these prerequisites:
Animal Companion or Mount class feature
7th level
Orc or Half-Orc

I believe the Diabolist's Imp companion falls under Animal Companions, only the Diabolist cannot choose from the list of Animal Companions and is restricted to the Imp only. By choosing the Feat of Beast Rider, he can now add the other animals listed in the Feat per the description of said Feat.


Okay, so overwhelmingly NO to Enlarge Person working on an elemental. So, are there any core spells or third party spells that anyone knows of that can be cast on elementals that enlarge them and give a size bonus?


I use Hero Lab for a lot of my Pathfinder gaming. Hero Lab says that Enlarge Person is a valid spell effect to be on an elemental. I just want to clarify whether it is or not, because I have been told that it should not.

If not, are there spells that can be cast on them to enlarge them and give them a greater size and strength?

Any takers?


Sorry for the double post, but when I asked where the spell says how large of an object you can make, I meant to say how long or how wide. The spell does not define dimensions, only the total cubic feet of stone that can be shaped into a new shape. A square, rectangular, or irregularly underground tunnel shaped piece of stone can have a 50 foot long 1/4 inch piece of stone extending off of it and connecting to a wall. I don't see why this would not work.


Where in the spell does it say how large of an object you can make? Yes, it has the cubic feet of lump stone you're using, but there are no limitations of how large an item you can make. The spell doesn't say you can only make a door that is five feet long and 2 feet wide. What if the caster is only 1 foot tall and wants to make a 10 foot tall door, by some of the reasoning given here, since he can't touch the part of the door that is 10 feet away, he can't create the door. That is completely incorrect. In a similar fashion, the caster should be able to create a fence that is 10 feet long, and hence it would extend 10 feet away from said caster. Also, that being said, the caster should also be allowed to make an oddly shaped wall that begins with a very thin base and expands to a larger area.

If the caster of stone shape can be 1 foot tall and can create a 10 foot tall door, he can create the wall as described using the stone tube along the floor which expands at the point designated to be a wall. Think of abstract art.. those strange shapes that are one continuous piece of something, but some parts are thin and small and other parts are large and thick.

Does anyone disagree with this?


So for example:

1)The Medium sized creature is level 8 and at level 10 it will naturally grow to Large sized.

2)At level 8 the creature is enlarged with the Enlarge Person spell and then it is made permanent with the spell Permanency. So now the creature is Large sized at level 8 with magic.

3)The creature reaches level 10 and is already Large sized by magic. Does the creature naturally grow to Large size making the enlarge then move the creature to Huge sized?

As per the spell Enlarge Person:

"This spell causes instant growth of a humanoid creature, doubling its height and multiplying its weight by 8. This increase changes the creature's size category to the next larger one. The target gains a +2 size bonus to Strength, a -2 size penalty to Dexterity (to a minimum of 1), and a -1 penalty on attack rolls and AC due to its increased size."

It would seem that Enlarge Person would still apply as the magical enhancement is making the creature one size category larger. It seems that this would happen if the growth occurred naturally after the spell was on and made permanent. The spell should continue to make the creature one size category larger each time the creature naturally progresses to a larger size.


It sounds like what happens to a dragon as its age category changes and it increases in size naturally.

If a creature is Medium, and an @ LVL extraordinary feature causes him to change his size to Large (something that is a natural progression size change), will the permanent enlarge cause the humanoid to then become Huge. I believe this is the question?


So even if the PC that charmed the animal can speak to it in a language it understands, a Handle Animal check has to be used? Even though the Charm Monster spell (which is the same as the charm person and charm animal spell, only they are specific) states that the opposed Charisma check can be rolled to do the same thing, you're saying the PC can't do it??


Okay, so here is a scenario to consider:

"F" is for a foe of the PC that is one of the animal's allies

"A" is for an ally of the PC but a foe of the animal and its allies

  • The PC has successfully charmed an animal with the spell Charm Monster.
  • The PC wants to use an opposed Charisma check to convince, not force, the animal to attack "F" or stop "F" from attacking "A" or himself.
  • The PC uses his Speak With Animals special ability.(The PC is a gnome)
  • The PC speaks to the animal and tells it to attack "F" or defend "A" from "F's" attacks. (one or the other)
  • The PC rolls an opposed Charisma check against the animal and wins.
  • The animal is convinced and attacks "F" or defends "A" from "F's" attacks (whichever order was given).

Is this scenario correct according to the rules? It would seem that if the PC could not communicate with and be understood by the animal, the PC would have to use the Handle Animal skill to make or force the animal to do something. But, since the PC can speak to the animal, in a way creating a magical language so to speak that they both understand, it seems as though the PC can give an order using Speak With Animals. If the order is not something the animal would normally do, such as attack its ally or protect a foe, the animal is entitled to an opposed Charisma check to not go along with the order.

It seems pretty clear to me that the PC does not need to use handle animal to try to Push the animal, thereby forcing it, but simply use an opposed Charisma check in conjunction with Speak With Animals to convince it to do something it wouldn't normally do.

To sum it all up... Since the communication barrier is gone and the animal is charmed, it seems correct that the opposed Charisma check is legal to use to get the animal to do something it would not normally do. It seems to me that Handle Animal would be more of a non-magical compulsion that a charm. Using an opposed Charisma check would be a charm, not a compulsion.


If the PC uses Speak With Animals, he will then be able to communicate with "language" so to speak. If Dasrak is correct, the Handle Animal check would not be needed as he could then attempt to convince the animal to do something he would not normally do, such as attack foes of the PC or PC's allies (that are allies of the animal) or guard the PC's allies (since the animal is not "friendly" toward them at this point) with the opposed Charisma check listed in the Charm Person spell.


Can the PC that charmed the animal use the opposing Charisma check to convince the animal to attack one of its original allies (not the PC) or defend the PC that charmed without being able to communicate through language? Can the PC use the opposed Charisma check to convince the charmed animal to defend or block the original ally (baddie) from attacking said PC or an ally of the PC? That is listed in the Charm Person spell, which is how Charm Monster works, only Charm Monster allows you to charm any monster, animal, or magical beast.


It seems to me that if the scrag is in a pool in which the water level is at the ground level of the PC, the PC is on higher ground due to the scrag being in a trench of sorts. The pool, since the mouth of it is at ground level of the pc, is a trench of sorts and the scrag is in it.


Would the pool be considered a trench as on this post by Maveten citing the Core Rules:

Maveten wrote:


"Trenches on page 431 saying: Creatures outside a trench who make a melee attack against a creature inside the trench gain a +1 bonus on melee attacks because they have higher ground."

On this HERE.


What about the part of the spell that says the sheathe of ice is equivalent to wall of ice? Wall of ice:

Quote:

Wall of Ice

School evocation [cold]; Level magus 4, sorcerer/wizard 4, summoner 3; Bloodline boreal 4

CASTING
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (a piece of quartz or rock crystal)

EFFECT
Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Effect anchored plane of ice, up to one 10-ft. square/level, or hemisphere of ice with a radius of up to 3 ft. + 1 ft./level
Duration 1 min./level
Saving Throw Reflex negates; see text; Spell Resistance yes

This spell creates an anchored plane of ice or a hemisphere of ice, depending on the version selected. A wall of ice cannot form in an area occupied by physical objects or creatures. Its surface must be smooth and unbroken when created. Any creature adjacent to the wall when it is created may attempt a Reflex save to disrupt the wall as it is being formed. A successful save indicates that the spell automatically fails. Fire can melt a wall of ice, and it deals full damage to the wall (instead of the normal half damage taken by objects). Suddenly melting a wall of ice creates a great cloud of steamy fog that lasts for 10 minutes.

Ice Plane: A sheet of strong, hard ice appears. The wall is 1 inch thick per caster level. It covers up to a 10-foot-square area per caster level (so a 10th-level wizard can create a wall of ice 100 feet long and 10 feet high, a wall 50 feet long and 20 feet high, or any other combination of length and height that does not exceed 1,000 square feet). The plane can be oriented in any fashion as long as it is anchored. A vertical wall need only be anchored on the floor, while a horizontal or slanting wall must be anchored on two opposite sides.

Each 10-foot square of wall has 3 hit points per inch of thickness. Creatures can hit the wall automatically. A section of wall whose hit points drop to 0 is breached. If a creature tries to break through the wall with a single attack, the DC for the Strength check is 15 + caster level.

Even when the ice has been broken through, a sheet of frigid air remains. Any creature stepping through it (including the one who broke through the wall) takes 1d6 points of cold damage + 1 point per caster level (no save).

Hemisphere: The wall takes the form of a hemisphere whose maximum radius is 3 feet + 1 foot per caster level. The hemisphere is as hard to break through as the ice plane form, but it does not deal damage to those who go through a breach.

The bold bits are what I am referring to. So if it's the equivalent of wall of ice, would the area that the ice covers come into play as well? And since this is a question about the ice wall being bigger than the Dread Wraiths (or since they're incorporeal, the area they take up), ice wall allows 10 square feet per caster level, wouldn't that be big enough to stop the Dread Wraiths from passing through it, since it is one object taking up 1,000 square feet (at caster level 10) of space?

I ask you to consider that question and read this portion of the entry for incorporeal again:

Quote:
An incorporeal creature can enter or pass through solid objects, but must remain adjacent to the object’s exterior, and so cannot pass entirely through an object whose space is larger than its own.

If the answer is that the Dread Wraiths can go through it, are they able to go through ceilings and floors? I question this because of the entry for Wall of Force:

Quote:

Wall of Force

School evocation [force]; Level magus 5, sorcerer/wizard 5

CASTING
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (powdered quartz)

EFFECT
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Effect wall whose area is up to one 10-ft. square/level
Duration 1 round /level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no

DESCRIPTION
A wall of force creates an invisible wall of pure force. The wall cannot move and is not easily destroyed. A wall of force is immune to dispel magic, although a mage's disjunction can still dispel it. A wall of force can be damaged by spells as normal, except for disintegrate, which automatically destroys it. It can be damaged by weapons and supernatural abilities, but a wall of force has hardness 30 and a number of hit points equal to 20 per caster level. Contact with a sphere of annihilation or rod of cancellation instantly destroys a wall of force.

Breath weapons and spells cannot pass through a wall of force in either direction, although dimension door, teleport, and similar effects can bypass the barrier. It blocks ethereal creatures as well as material ones (though ethereal creatures can usually circumvent the wall by going around it, through material floors and ceilings). Gaze attacks can operate through a wall of force.

The caster can form the wall into a flat, vertical plane whose area is up to one 10-foot square per level. The wall must be continuous and unbroken when formed. If its surface is broken by any object or creature, the spell fails.

Wall of force can be made permanent with a permanency spell.

This spells says that Ethereal creatures can go through floors and ceilings to get around a Wall of Force, but it doesn't mention incorporeal creatures being able to do that.

I think Incorporeal is getting mixed up with Ethereal, because Ethereal can go through solid objects, even living creatures, but the entry for Etherealness does not list the restrictions Incorporeal does:

Quote:

Ethereal

An ethereal creature is invisible, insubstantial, and capable of moving in any direction, even up or down, albeit at half normal speed. An ethereal creature can move through solid objects, including living creatures. An ethereal creature can see and hear on the Material Plane, but everything looks gray and ephemeral. Sight and hearing onto the Material Plane are limited to 60 feet.

Force effects and abjurations affect an ethereal creature normally. Their effects extend onto the Ethereal Plane from the Material Plane, but not vice versa. An ethereal creature can't attack material creatures, and spells you cast while ethereal affect only other ethereal things. Certain material creatures or objects have attacks or effects that work on the Ethereal Plane.

An ethereal creature treats other ethereal creatures and ethereal objects as if they were material.

Any thoughts after what I have presented?


Okay, I was confused about how it works it seems. So with a contingency scroll used a character could also use a magical item to cast the spell linked to it?


Would a character be able to use a scroll of Contingency and then when the correct circumstances for Contingency are met could they use a scroll to cast the personal spell?


Yay! You have no idea how much this made my day(s)!


But since he has Craft Wondrous Item, how is he limited to what he can craft? Wondrous items can be anything, maybe save for weapons and armor, but the PC does have Craft: Weapons and Craft: Armor.


The 3d6 gp/day seems like extremely low earnings even rolling all 6's every single day all year long for a merchant. Optimally he/she would earn 126 gp per week. That means a merchant (even an adventuring one that would be selling magical items) only earns 6570 per year at best. That doesn't seem right to me. I think this was a "meh" attempt at the profession skills and earning money.


What if the Earth Elemental was summoned partially burrowed, say all but its "head"? What if you summoned it perfectly shaped as the earth around (assuming there was no grass) with its body contouring to the ground? Could either of these be done causing some sort of perception check to notice it?


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

I need clarification on the Master Craftsman feat. Does having Master Craftsman allow a PC to use his ranks in a Profession to allow him to get the Craft Wondrous Item feat? Can he then craft wondrous items?

Here are the descriptions of Master Craftsman and Craft Wondrous Item:

Quote:

Master Craftsman

Your superior crafting skills allow you to create simple magic items.

Prerequisites: 5 ranks in any Craft or Profession skill.

Benefit: Choose one Craft or Profession skill in which you possess at least 5 ranks. You receive a +2 bonus on your chosen Craft or Profession skill. Ranks in your chosen skill count as your caster level for the purposes of qualifying for the Craft Magic Arms and Armor and Craft Wondrous Item feats. You can create magic items using these feats, substituting your ranks in the chosen skill for your total caster level. You must use the chosen skill for the check to create the item. The DC to create the item still increases for any necessary spell requirements (see the magic item creation rules in Magic Items). You cannot use this feat to create any spell-trigger or spell-activation item.

Normal: Only spellcasters can qualify for the Craft Magic Arms and Armor and Craft Wondrous Item feats.

Quote:

Craft Wondrous Item (Item Creation)

You can create wondrous items, a type of magic item.

Prerequisite: Caster level 3rd.

Benefit: You can create a wide variety of magic wondrous items. Crafting a wondrous item takes 1 day for each 1,000 gp in its price. To create a wondrous item, you must use up raw materials costing half of its base price.

You can also mend a broken wondrous item if it is one that you could make. Doing so costs half the raw materials and half the time it would take to craft that item.

See magic item creation rules for more information.

Per the description, if you have 5 ranks in a profession, you can get the Master Craftsman feat. You can then choose a profession that you have at least 3 Ranks in to qualify for getting the Craft Wondrous Item feat because the prerequisite to get the Craft Wondrous Item feat is that the PC is a caster of at least 3rd level.

1)The PC has Profession: Merchant with 20 ranks.

2)The PC picked Master Craftsman feat on a level up.

3)The PC picks Craft Wondrous Item feat on a level up because he has Master Craftsman feat and it allows him to treat his skill ranks in Profession Merchant as his caster level for the purpose of qualifying for CWI.

4)The PC can now craft wondrous items given that he has the spells at his disposal for the duration of the crafting and he can roll high enough to craft them.

Is this all correct or is there something that is being missed?


It sounds to me like the DM is upset that the player has a high AC and BAB, not just that he combined Vorpal with the Flash of Insight tattoo. It seems that the DM is begrudging the player for making smart moves and steering the PC in a direction that caused him to have high stats. What's next, only being able to heal a certain amount of hit points per day?


This isn't in any way an auto-decapitate. I did some digging and found this particular tattoo. It is called "Eye of Steropeps" and it is listed on page 25 of 4 Winds Fantasy Gaming's book "Inkantations - A Sourcebook of Tattoo Magic & Body Art". When you say it's a one-shot kill, consider the following:

1) Flash of Insight per the tattoo listing, as well as the actual Core ability listing, can only be used once per day. That means it will only possibly succeed on one creature or enemy that is susceptible to critical hits and/or has a head.
2) The PC has to roll a higher initiative than the enemy so he/she can attack first.
3) The PC has to move to the enemy and possibly be subject to one or more attacks of opportunity.
4) The PC must roll to confirm the critical.

The PC has to accomplish 3 goals in order to successfully use Flash of Insight to decapitate one enemy.

It sounds to me that if the player can do this every time, his dice are loaded or his character is built really well. I don't see why a player should be punished for doing things that are within the rules. It's a rather cleaver combination.

This also could allow this kind of opportunity..

"The Perfect Strike ability for the Weapon Adept Monk. At 10th level, the Monk can roll to attack THREE TIMES and choose the best result and confirm a critical with the same set of rolls.
2)Using Hero Points to re-roll."

Keep in mind that there are the options of Fortification, being incorporeal, not having a head to sever, not needing a head to continue fighting, being immune to critical hits, being undead, being a vampire, or being a construct.


I seem to remember an AP that had some sort of fountain that when touched dealt magical cold damage to anyone that touched the waters.. something along those lines, but for sure the magical cold damage happened. I could just imagine a player sending a Wood Golem to splash around in the fountain and soak up the hit points.

So, really it would be a huge waste of resources to magical-cold-damage-buff your Wood Golem to a point where the extra hit points were worth anything.

I did miss MAGICAL at the very beginning, but I think I have my answers here. Thanks!


"A magical attack that deals cold damage breaks any slow effect on the golem and heals 1 point of damage for every 3 points of damage the attack would otherwise deal. If the amount of healing would cause the golem to exceed its full normal hit points, it gains any excess as temporary hit points. A wood golem gets no saving throw against attacks that deal cold damage."

Could this caveat be used to buff up a Wood Golem with lots of hit points? It says 1 point of cold damage per 3 points are healed instead of damage being taken and the extra points become temporary hit points. Is there a limit? Could a wizard, other spell caster, or monster intentionally deal massive amounts of cold damage to a Wood Golem to create a super tank?

What if a Wood Golem was in a climate where creatures sustain cold damage if no mundane or magical protection is present, theoretically a Wood Golem would gain massive amounts of temporary hit points. Is there any reason either of these arguments are incorrect?

I was just looking at this and it intrigued me. Anyone?


Actually, 1 ounce coats 1 square foot, 7 ounces would coat 7 square feet. If the vial contained only 4 ounces I would say that 4 square feet of coverage would be enough to hold a weapon and legs in place.


Baal is listed as a large creature, that would mean his bronze chainmail is large sized. Large sized bronze chainmail weighs 80 pounds. The chainmail could not be taken with him if he teleported away.

To foil the setting of the glue, Baal would have to take a move action as per the description of sovereign glue. Here is an excerpt from the item's entry:

"One ounce of this adhesive covers 1 square foot of surface, bonding virtually any two substances together in a permanent union. The glue takes 1 round to set. If the objects are pulled apart (a move action) before that time has elapsed, that application of the glue loses its stickiness and is worthless. If the glue is allowed to set, then attempting to separate the two bonded objects has no effect, except when universal solvent is applied to the bond. Sovereign glue is dissolved by universal solvent."

Note that in the surprise round, Baal cannot take an action, he is caught by surprise and the player character and/or allies will act only. That means he cannot take that move action to foil the setting of the glue. Once the surprise round is over, initiative is rolled to begin the next round. If the player character that poured the glue wins initiative, the glue is set. Also, the entry for sovereign glue plainly states that attempting to separate the two bonded objects has no effect unless the separation is attempted by using universal solvent. That says to me that if the construct is glued to him, even if the chainmail were not in the discussion, he could not teleport away because he could not be seperated from the construct and thus would have to attempt to teleport the construct with him. Due to the fact that the construct weighs more than 50 pounds, teleporting in this scenario would absolutely fail.

My question is still open.. wouldn't it just be a touch attack to have the golem "touch" the devil with a glue covered body part? It seems to me that it would be just like using a wand for a touch attack or casting a spell that requires touching the enemy as the only goal is to actually touch the devil. Having the glue on that body part shouldn't make the golem have to do roll differently.. he's just trying to touch the devil, not hit him and do damage. Also, I don't believe it would be a grapple roll because the golem isn't trying to tie up with the devil or use a combat maneuver. He is simply trying to touch the devil.


Wouldn't it just be a touch attack to touch the devil with a glue covered body part?

1 to 50 of 72 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>